Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Online Dating Thread 3..**READ 1ST POST Oct 2012**

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Honey-ec wrote: »
    I would absolutely love the balls to show up wearing those...

That's it. Next* date I get I'm SO doing that!
    Daveysil15 wrote: »
    I really think those guys would be better off visiting an escort website instead. I can't see them doing a whole lot of copulating as a result of sharing dic pics on a dating site.

I doubt they think it's a good way to get laid. I'd say hey're just trolling TBH.

*Speaking of which, got a phone alert from POF telling me that a very attractive, interesting and articulate woman in my area wants to 'meet me'. Logged into the site just there and she doesn't show up on the list or in the 'viewed me' section either. Deskeptisean is skeptikal...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Full moon working in my favour. All's good in the hood again. Yay!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

'FIRST DATE: Suprise me '

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

'FIRST DATE: Suprise me ':rolleyes:

Bring them to the most expensive restaurant you can find and when its time for the bill go hide in the jacks . :D:D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

'FIRST DATE: Suprise me '

Spelling test :D

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭ladylost

Mince Pie wrote: »
    Full moon working in my favour. All's good in the hood again. Yay!
    That sounds promising :)

ladylost wrote: »
    That sounds promising :)

Only time will tell. :)

Good luck with it anyway. Nice to hear some positive news :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

Still very scared! Have done out my profile but not uploading a pic. Just said if they want one, just ask! Eeek!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Still very scared! Have done out my profile but not uploading a pic. Just said if they want one, just ask! Eeek!

I would make sure to include your pic on your first mail. To be honest, a lot of people don't bother with profiles without pics so you might be at a disadvantage from the word go with no pic.
    I don't even look at profiles without pics so i'm sure it's the same for guys. So unless you intend on sending out mails I can't see a profile without a pic being too popular when there's so many with pics.
    Just my opinion.

I see YOLO is still very much a thing. *blergh*

andreac wrote: »
    I would make sure to include your pic on your first mail. To be honest, a lot of people don't bother with profiles without pics so you might be at a disadvantage from the word go with no pic.
    I don't even look at profiles without pics so i'm sure it's the same for guys. So unless you intend on sending out mails I can't see a profile without a pic being too popular when there's so many with pics.
    Just my opinion.

I'd have to agree. I virtually never mail profiles without a pic because it always leads to the inevitable and awkward, "So... got a picture?". It's very very awkward when they send you one after asking and you don't find them attractive.

Galvasean wrote: »
    I see YOLO is still very much a thing. *blergh*

Now whats all this YOLO stuff you're talking about?

It means You Only Live Once , its a load of crap that people spout now . The clothes with it on it are making a mint though it might be a new business venture for some of us boardsies :D

I get what it means but not in the context of what Dinosaur Boy meant. :)

ETA: I'm always on board for trying to make some dosh.

Carpe Diem for the illiterate.

Ah right, I thought it was a new "duckface" pose. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I really despise the 'YOLO' crap going around.

Pics of my friends in a puddle of their own vomit sitting half naked on a toilet appear on Facebook. Most people would be absolutely mortified seeing that sort of pic of themselves, but noooooo, my friend says 'Ahahaha, YOLO babez.'

Seems like a way for skanks and idiots to justify their behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,342 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Online dating is a serious disaster for me, keeps running its course before anything happens, great conversations then goes no where and run's its course, nightmare!!!

LyndaMcL wrote: »
    Seems like a way for skanks and idiots to justify their behaviour.

http://newsfeed.time.com/2012/09/19/aspiring-rapper-drunk-tweets-yolo-just-before-fatal-car-crash/

I shouldn't find this funny, but damn I love it. :pac:

That's the thing, though. This 'yolo' crap has people justifying doing really stupid things. I actually have a (previously well behaved, classy) friend who has started trying recreational drugs because 'yolo.' While I don't particularly care if any of my friends do drugs (their body, their choice, I personally wouldn't touch 'em), hello? That cocaine you're snorting could be laced, you don't know what's in it. That joint could have PCP, which can make you really ill.

Seriously, you might 'only live once' but surely you'd want it to be a long, happy, healthy life?? :confused:

LyndaMcL wrote: »
    I shouldn't find this funny, but damn I love it. :pac:

That's the thing, though. This 'yolo' crap has people justifying doing really stupid things. I actually have a (previously well behaved, classy) friend who has started trying recreational drugs because 'yolo.' While I don't particularly care if any of my friends do drugs (their body, their choice, I personally wouldn't touch 'em), hello? That cocaine you're snorting could be laced, you don't know what's in it. That joint could have PCP, which can make you really ill.

Seriously, you might 'only live once' but surely you'd want it to be a long, happy, healthy life?? :confused:

I know this a horrible thing to say but some people really need to see the consequences of drugs being used especially if they are laced with something and then they might cop on . I have smoked abit of hash in the past but have never touched anything else . I saw it first hand 9 months ago when I saw a fella taking E's to be cool and then he collapsed on the ground having fits and being carted away in an ambulance . He had to be pumped out that night . So if you want to be stupid by all means go for it but using a phrase like YOLO to hide dumb behaviour is ridiculous . Some people need to cop on and really fast .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

folks, stay on-topic please

• Registered Users Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Date organised for tomorrow night. We've been chatting for over a week online and by text but he's not the most talkative. Hope it's flows a bit more tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

I have a date Thursday night! With my ex! :eek::eek:

Meeting someone for coffee Thursday night. Kind of doubting myself at the moment though. Need to pick up some positivity before then :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Dovies wrote: »
    I have a date Thursday night! With my ex! :eek::eek:

Was that by design or by accident??

3 posts in a row about dates, doing well lads and ladies! :)

Dovies, I thanked it because it's a date, but is it a good thing or a bad thing?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,117 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Was that by design or by accident??

I had tickets for a show so I text to see if he still wanted to come with me and he said he would love to! Didnt expect him to say yes but there ya go. So see how it goes!

Dovies wrote: »
    I had tickets for a show so I text to see if he still wanted to come with me and he said he would love to! Didnt expect him to say yes but there ya go. So see how it goes!

Good luck! I hope it goes well! :)