Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Online Dating Thread 3..**READ 1ST POST Oct 2012**

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Galvasean wrote: »
    Worst case scenario - you buy your sandwich elsewhere in future.

Best case scenario - you end up with the girl of your dreams.

The potential reward far outweighs the potential risk in this case.

And discounted sandwiches. Boo yah.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 833 ✭✭✭snafuk35

Well, some lads just are not that forward, I've genuinely always viewed asking girls out on the spot as making a complete nuisance out of yourself. I think it's a ridiculous thing to do, to ask a girl out without making any effort to find out if she is single or not. I know many guys wouldn't give a f*ck if she is single or not, it's water off a ducks back to them if she isn't, or whatever, but that isn't every guy and it most certainly isn't me.

If she isn't married, there isn't a ring on her finger and you aren't breaking up a family what's the problem? If she agrees to go out with you and leaves her bf behind they probably weren't right for each other any way. If a girl is serious about her man she won't walk off and leave him. And any way it's no harm making a new friend if she just wants to be platonic and sure even if you met her bf the couple are sure to have other friends who are single.

That_Guy wrote: »
    And discounted sandwiches. Boo yah.

An army marches on its belly!:D

Kind of off-topic but also on topic hehe, a girl working in my local Spar shop has appeared on my radar over the last two days! She seems my age, is definitely my type, but the problem is, if she's in or around her early-mid 30's, how would I ever know if she's single or not? So you (I!) could take the chance and make a t*t out of myself or just let sleeping dogs lie and do nothing... What to do, what to do...!

Hand her a slip of paper and say "Here could you check that number out?" with your number on it and give her a wink!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,799 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Mod Hat on:
    (3) This thread IS NOT for a place to pick up
    Do not come in here to pick up a boardsie, your posts will be deleted. If in the Mods view, this is why you have come to our forum, then you will end up banned, possibly permanently.
    Similarly, this is not a thread in which to learn the art of "Picking up" someone. It is against the Charter of the forum, therefore it carries a Permanent Ban.

Bring it back on topic please and thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Sarah**

Northclare wrote: »
    I'm so glad I reverted to offline dating.
    POF hmmmm
    I tried and tested them all and maybe its for some and not for others.

The sheer arrogance of some profiles...

"If your not into Rugby,there's no point in going on a first date "

"Love my girlies" we all love our fkn friends well I do anyway

"

I had to respond to this... people say "I love my girlies" to let prospective people know that they enjoy time out with their friends as quite possibly they have been in a relationship previously where this has caused issues....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Sarah** wrote: »
    I had to respond to this... people say "I love my girlies" to let prospective people know that they enjoy time out with their friends as quite possibly they have been in a relationship previously where this has caused issues....

I doubt it. I often see it accompanied with poor spelling and posing pics. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

I don't think that explanation could really account for the over use of the phrase on POF to be honest with you. I'm not singling out girls for this mindset, clearly lads at a certain age want to do the whole, "I'm going on the lash with the lads" thing, but you grow out of it, and the same I think is true for girls. I wouldn't have an interest in a user who had, "I love my girlies" up on their profile, because its telling me that she is probably still in a phase of her life where she is falling in and out of pubs and nightclubs all weekend with "her girlies". Same as guys in their 20's only want to go on the p*ss with their mates all weekend, but as I said, I do think you grow out of this phase and start looking for something more fulfilling in your life... I'm of course not saying that people can't have friends and continue socialising with them if they meet someone and get into a relationship, but I'm just making the point that I don't think your explanation offered above, really quite covers the use of the phrase these days...

I seen one profile where the girl stated how she was fed up with the pub/nightclub scene, and was looking for something more.

Under activities I then read "going out with the girls"

Where do they be going so?!:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Panthro wrote: »
    I seen one profile where the girl stated how she was fed up with the pub/nightclub scene, and was looking for something more.

Under activities I then read "going out with the girls"

Where do they be going so?!:confused:

To the shops?

To the theatre?

To art galleries?

Nah, it's probably going out to pubs and clubs. In fairness, she may be fed up with pubs and clubs but for socialising in Ireland, that's what the majority of people do.

I do see the irony in what you've posted though.

Jeez, I don't mention anything about my family or friends in my profile. I must be a heartless wench! :D

How do folks feel about tatoo's? Another fly in the ointment for me, not a complete show stopper but nearly as good as, no wonder I'm single!

I wouldn't be keen on them really either.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Samich wrote: »
    I wouldn't be keen on them really either.

I wouldn't be too keen on tramp stamps either, but if we're talking an Angelina Jolie lookalikey I could be persuaded.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

if my experience is anything to go by, you probably haven't heard the last of her.

You where 100% right , i got 4 messages on my phone by 1 today . I text her back saying " I like you but there is no point in us seeing each other again because I don't think I would ever be able to trust you again after last night "
    She then text back saying " What if i was single " I just said to myself its time to ring her and knock this on the head . So I rang her and told her not to bother getting in contact again because that was a horrible stunt to pull . I then told her just delete my number and work things out with your boyfriend or break up with him because I am not on POF to play games with people . She then said fine you won't hear from me again . I really hope I don't because if I do i'll ignore her .

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Here's the thing. I wouldn't be a fan of tattoos at all OR smoking but a few years back I met a guy who had a tattoo (I know its only one) and smoked, and we got on so well, I ended up going out with him for 3 years.

With online dating, I think (and I'm defo guilty of it) one can be too quick to judge a person. Tis the major downside of OD. Tis why I'm coming round to the idea of one of those POF meetups. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Northclare

I sometimes work with the women who love their girlies nights out.
    And when were in work they tell me all about the craic etc.
    Nothing wrong with it..

My late teens and 20's
    I was out there in Sir Henry's in Cork one weekend,the next weekend I was in Spirals Tralee,and following weekend in The Grill in Letterkenny.
    The Queens Ennis,The Castle Salthill...CJ's...
    The Pod Dublin,Back to Sir Henry's again up dancing to Carl Cox,Greg and Shane,Laurent Garnier...many more lol
    I burned the candle at both ends now I'm here....
    I enjoyed every last minute of it all.

Now I go to the likes of Funky Sheomra or any of the World Music DJs there's more of a good boho chics/artists/models/musicians just more of my kind of people,been there done that kinda crowd :)

I survived it all.
    so all I'm saying is there's nothing wrong with being young and going mad,it's all part of self discovery

You where 100% right , i got 4 messages on my phone by 1 today . I text her back saying " I like you but there is no point in us seeing each other again because I don't think I would ever be able to trust you again after last night "
    She then text back saying " What if i was single " I just said to myself its time to ring her and knock this on the head . So I rang her and told her not to bother getting in contact again because that was a horrible stunt to pull . I then told her just delete my number and work things out with your boyfriend or break up with him because I am not on POF to play games with people . She then said fine you won't hear from me again . I really hope I don't because if I do i'll ignore her .

I'm telling ya, you aren't out of the woods there yet by a mile if my similar experience was anything to go by! And it's not easy when you find that all elusive chemistry with someone and there is mutual attraction. It's like Murphy's Law, the one girl you run into that you fancy and fancies you back and you have truck loads of chemistry with, the whole thing just cannot be... You could go out on the same date with 20 single women and never experience that same chemistry & mutual attraction, as the man says, sure it's Murphy's Law...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

Met a girl from OKC last night, she was cute, funny and interesting looking like we are going to meet up again as well.

Good stuff Derek :)

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Sarah**

I don't think that explanation could really account for the over use of the phrase on POF to be honest with you. I'm not singling out girls for this mindset, clearly lads at a certain age want to do the whole, "I'm going on the lash with the lads" thing, but you grow out of it, and the same I think is true for girls. I wouldn't have an interest in a user who had, "I love my girlies" up on their profile, because its telling me that she is probably still in a phase of her life where she is falling in and out of pubs and nightclubs all weekend with "her girlies". Same as guys in their 20's only want to go on the p*ss with their mates all weekend, but as I said, I do think you grow out of this phase and start looking for something more fulfilling in your life... I'm of course not saying that people can't have friends and continue socialising with them if they meet someone and get into a relationship, but I'm just making the point that I don't think your explanation offered above, really quite covers the use of the phrase these days...

That's fine but I also think it demonstrates that they are independant... It also shows that they want to have time with their friends should they meet someone. (And no this doesn't mean falling in and out of pubs - I am a girl in my twenties and I love my girls and would like to think I'm not a massive party animal but I love nothing more than having a girls day where we get DVD's and chill out in one of our apartments.) If what you were saying is true, then I have aged before my time as I am 26 and not in the phase where I want to be falling in and out of pubs every weekend... Maybe I'm a rarity.

Perhaps, and feel free to correct me, you are tarring people with the same brush and judging people before even talking to them. I mean look at the above.... you ruled me out before even talking to me (I have "I love time with my girls" on my POF profile).

I'm by no means having a "pop" but I do think you are too quick to judge...

I also have a tattoo... I drew it myself and it means alot to me. It's hidden away from people generally but if I was away and walking around in a bikini you would see it... I personally have no issues with tattoo's.

That's fine but I also think it demonstrates that they are independant... It also shows that they want to have time with their friends should they meet someone. (And no this doesn't mean falling in and out of pubs - I am a girl in my twenties and I love my girls and would like to think I'm not a massive party animal but I love nothing more than having a girls day where we get DVD's and chill out in one of our apartments.) If what you were saying is true, then I have aged before my time as I am 26 and not in the phase where I want to be falling in and out of pubs every weekend... Maybe I'm a rarity.

Perhaps, and feel free to correct me, you are tarring people with the same brush and judging people before even talking to them. I mean look at the above.... you ruled me out before even talking to me (I have "I love time with my girls" on my POF profile).

Who doesn't love having time with their friends though? :P

I also have a tattoo... I drew it myself and it means alot to me. It's hidden away from people generally but if I was away and walking around in a bikini you would see it... I personally have no issues with tattoo's.

It's actually the phrase in itself that sounds ridiculous I think. If a girl has up on your profile, "I love time with my friends", it sounds completely healthy and normal to me, but one word can make all the difference, "I love time with my girls/girlies", just has a completely difference affect on me, I don't know exactly why it annoys me, and I fully accept the point you make that I'm rushing to judge on the subject... I know "girlie nights" are sometimes nights in as opposed to nights out, just like I'd often drag my mates over for a game of poker in my house instead of us going out to a pub or whatever, and this decision could often not be down to anything other than one or two of us having a cash crisis that week, so staying in could be doable as opposed to heading out not doable, for some in the group...

To be honest with you, I just think that on some level the phrase, "I love time with my girls/girlies", it just sounds childish (I fully accept your point that it actually isn't!), but no matter how many times I read over that phrase, I can't stop thinking that it sounds childish...

It sounds like the girlies are meeting up to play with barbies and plat their hair :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 29,030 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Was just reading the last few pages and for some reason it popped into my head(maybe the mention of criteria or the woman being 8 years older) but what age range do you usually go for?
    I'm 31 and for some reason I go for 26/27 to 33. It's just in my head that that's about a right range.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,030 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Samich wrote: »
    It sounds like the girlies are meeting up to play with barbies and plat their hair :pac:

Pillow fights and talk about boys

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Was just reading the last few pages and for some reason it popped into my head(maybe the mention of criteria or the woman being 8 years older) but what age range do you usually go for?
    I'm 31 and for some reason I go for 26/27 to 33. It's just in my head that that's about a right range.

I'd entertain Susan Boyle at the moment! :D:D:D

EDIT: I've just realised that after I turn 36 within the next fortnight, I'll be unable to mail any women with profiles that specify that the guy must be between X and 35!

CastorTroy wrote: »
    I usually go 4 years above or below my own age (28) But for some reason, the one that's 8 years older than me caught my attention, I'd just love to meet her in person and see what's she like.
    I'd entertain Susan Boyle at the moment! :D:D:D
    Grim.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Well to add my stance to the smoker thing I can't give out about smoking because I smoke myself . I don't think I could date somebody who is a horrible anti smoker because right now I am not giving them up . On the issue of tattoos I like em and I have one myself . The only thing that would put me off someone if they stated they hated dogs or animals because I own two dogs and would never get rid of them .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Well to add my stance to the smoker thing I can't give out about smoking because I smoke myself . I don't think I could date somebody who is a horrible anti smoker because right now I am not giving them up . On the issue of tattoos I like em and I have one myself . The only thing that would put me off someone if they stated they hated dogs or animals because I own two dogs and would never get rid of them .

I have dogs as one of my POF interests :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

I love a boy with tattoos as long as they're tasteful. But it's not a requirement. I have 3 myself and they're mostly hidden, but unusual I like to think. I can understand that when some guys think of a girl with tattoos, they immediately think of a tramp stamp, and find it off-putting.

As for smoking, I'm a smoker myself but I wouldn't be a heavy smoker at all. Depends what I'm doing. If I'm out drinking or spending time with other smokers I tend to have more, whereas if I'm at home or hanging out with non-smokers I don't smoke at all. I hate the smell of stale smoke on clothes, or kissing a heavy smoker. For this reason I have as one of my answers on OKC that I'd only date an occasional smoker/non-smoker which may seem hypocritical, but that's just me.

Smileyj I totally agree about the animal thing, I adore animals and if someone had on their profile that they didn't like animals at all, that'd be a deal breaker for me.

On a side note, date 2 went very well indeed :)