Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Official After Hours Eurovision Final MegaThread [Sweden Wins]

• 22-05-2012 6:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭

Well good people of after Afters Hours, tonight Jedward begin their quest to totally bankrupt the country by qualifying from the Eurovision semi final, to take part in the final this Saturday night, and win the whole damn thing. Unless you have been living under a rock, this is what they are subjecting mainland europe to...

But this is not just about our lovable twins, its everything about our guilty pleasure, the one thing we all love to hate, ITS EUROVISION!!! After hours stylie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Awwww I was so looking forward to this but I promised the next door neighbour I would castrate his cat this evening :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

rock and roll kids in 1994 was probably the best ever eurovision song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

The Eurovision is the worst thing ever inflicted on mankind.
    The holocaust is a close second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

These guys are inspirational.

They cannot sing; they cannot dance; but that doesn't stop them trying and now for the second time, they are representing their country in an international singing and dancing contest.

It goes to show that a positive attitude will take you far in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭Palytoxin

Dean09 wrote: »
    The Eurovision is the worst thing ever inflicted on mankind.
    The holocaust is a close second.
    Close, ye right! The eurovision is a mile worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

After watching this, I think the Armenia song would have been great, but they seem to have pulled out.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

What timezone is Azerbaijan? This won't be on at 4 in the morning or anything no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

What timezone is Azerbaijan? This won't be on at 4 in the morning or anything no?

Think I read somewhere that the boys are on at 1.30am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Archeron

I'd vote that accolade to the voice by Eimear Quinn, the only eurovision song I've ever actually liked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Archeron wrote: »
    I'd vote that accolade to the voice by Eimear Quinn, the only eurovision song I've ever actually liked.

i still have the cd single

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Was always way too good for Eurovision. Was the only Eurovision winning song that never made number one in it's country of origin, was kept of the number one spot by riverdance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

They're not singing until 1:30am (Irish time).. fook that. If it was on at 9 I might watch it in order to have a good moan

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

My favourite song is from 2000. 'My Star' by quirky Latvian band Brainstorm.

Gordon wrote: »
    After watching this, I think the Armenia song would have been great, but they seem to have pulled out.

Armenia and Azerjiban (spelling) hate each other! Apparently people who voted last year for Armenia in protest against their government got picked up by the state police in Azerbijan and questioned quiet vigorously!

Estonia should have won it last year. Catchy bitch of a song.. no idea what it's about though

One Two Seven Three? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭tigger123

They're not singing until 1:30am (Irish time).. fook that. If it was on at 9 I might watch it in order to have a good moan

Just checked, it's on RTÉ from 8pm till 10pm ... so you've no excuse!

Estonia should have won it last year. Catchy bitch of a song.. no idea what it's about though

One Two Seven Three? :confused:

Very Lily Allen, I actually liked this song.

Nope, semi final starts at 8pm GMT

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01j741p

tigger123 wrote: »
    Just checked, it's on RTÉ from 8pm till 10pm ... so you've no excuse!

Nice one! It's actually 1:30am Azerbaijan time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

I like "Sokrates" by Iceland in 1988
    It didn't do very well.

Also, I liked Israel's song in 1987 - "Shir Habatlanim"
    It didn't do very well either.

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭helen1

Its starting at 8 Irish time and jedward r on last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

helen1 wrote: »
    Its starting at 8 Irish time and jedward r on last speed, obviously

FYP

I watched Panorama on BBC last night, it was on the Government in Azerbaijan, pretty horrendous stuff, the country is more or less run by one super rich family.

There was a citizen last year who voted for Armenia (their sworn enemy) in the Eurovision and received a visit from the Secret Police .... no joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Ah feck, the other half isn't working tonight, so I can't be on boards discussing it while watching. That's if he'll even let me watch it. :(

I've actually liked the winning songs since (and including) Lordi, apart from the butch lesbian one and last years winner.

This one is going to be remembered for years:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Archeron wrote: »

I remember most of the wins in the nineties but I didn't remember this one at all

Checked it out, love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Ghey.

Ghey.

Now now, play nice... it's camp darling, CAMP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Didn't watch it last year but watched it all in 2010

Germany won and hard to argue with it, pretty girl, dancing, catchy tune, upbeat and puts you in a good mood :)

Romania were excellent

Armenia was a bit unusual but a song you'd remember, another good entry

That's enough from me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Go jedward make us proud to be Irish.

hondasam wrote: »
    Go jedward make us proud to be Irish.

They are gonna bring the title to it's rightful home! Fecking sure of it!

RachaelVO wrote: »

Ya I have money on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Fingers crossed for a lighting rig collapse during Jedwards "performance"

hondasam wrote: »
    Ya I have money on them.

I genuinely do think they are gonna win it! The song has already charted in some countries, which has only happened I believe once in Eurovision history, and they are plastered all over telly, radio, magazines all over europe!

Last year they were asked did they think they were victims of the eastern block voting, and their answer was great, "We're not victims, We're Jedward" :D

Fingers crossed for a lighting rig collapse during Jedwards "performance"

You don't like them no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

RachaelVO wrote: »

And Jedward's rightful home is in the Eurovision, they're tailor made for it, catchy tune, stylish (ahem) and in yer face. Best of luck lads

• Registered Users Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Garseys

Very catchy song again this year.

Interesting to see what the weirder entrants are this year.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I never grew up with Eurovision so I still find it so cheesy and hilarious.

I love how camp it is. It cracks me up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭volvoman480

I'm looking forward to it, it's a pure cheesefest and a great laugh. Ok, there's always a couple of very weird ones but they make it worth watching. Not a huge fan of Jedward but I'm wishing the lads well for tonight, I think they're perfectly cut out for eurovision. For what it's worth, this is my all time favourite eurovision song....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,589 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Why do they always have to SCREEEEEEEAAAAAAMMMMMMM :eek:

1989 :eek:

Talk about making half their audience feel ancient!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Afghanistan...they did a great job rebuilding it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Lucky git standing between them two lovelys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

This was a great one - Gina G Spot!

Ah, reminds me of school discos :) I linked the recorded version rarher the live performance because Gina sounds a little off singing live.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

These hosts make Tubridy and the Seoige sisters look ultra professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Is this a song, or a comedy act?

Sheesh, you'd think he could've made the effort and at least washed his hair for the occasion :rolleyes:

Sexy start.... it can surely only get better from here.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

What in the name of fúck is this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Stand aside Eminem :D:D