Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

DaveNoCheese's 1000th Post (not so) Special Giveaway

• 22-05-2012 10:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

Howdy Folks,

So said I'd do something for the 1000th post and this was the best I could think of :rolleyes:

So tis very simple, I have a bunch of DVDs listed on adverts, I'll give two of these away (winners choice) to the top poster as voted by ye (vote using thanks option).

To enter, all you have to do is post something that will tickle the ole funny bone, whether it be a one liner or a short story. You can post as many times as you like.

Will try pick a winner by Friday evening, give it ye're best :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

DaveNoCheese - awful taste.

Prize - do not want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Now dave, this wouldnt be a sneaky way to try and flog your dvds, would it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

At least some of the DVD's won't be as cheesy as some of the replies you're going to get...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Now dave, this wouldnt be a sneaky way to try and flog your dvds, would it??

Why what ever do you mean ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

No body watches DVDs any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

No body watches DVDs any more.

Both dismissing the whole idea and getting a post that will probably get you a good few thanks in at the same time. I like your style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Offer a broken Ford Escort carburetor and ten Alf pogs

Hey, this is you haggle on adverts.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Also For Sale 1996 Nissan Micra.

Am I doing this rite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

who in gods name would want DVDs when all can be downloaded with the click of a finger.

oh it's feels great to be a thief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

DaveNoCheeseTaste in Movies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

DVD? Why don't you just flog floppy discs and Beta max while your at it.

*puts on cape, leaves*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Hi Dave, I have cheese - emmenthal, brie and a knob of gouda. Fancy a swap? Can meet halfway. This is the guerilla Ads thread, isn't it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

do you pay postage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

If only I was witty, I could be two DVD's richer!

Wait.. People still use DVD's? Oh.. Well this is awkward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

Jedward are arsholes!

Got thanked once. Felt appreciated. Realised the user had liked every post in the thread. Cried. =(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Jedward are arsholes!
    Eloquent and Brief. You will go far. Might not win any DVDs, but there ya go-there are bigger prizes awaiting you, no doubt. Grindle mate, any chance you'd un-thank me^^, I feel a bit...grubby with that lingering there. Cheers. Edit aarrgh, there's no arrow down symbol key on this keyboard, the curse of Grindle:-)

Got thanked once. Felt appreciated. Realised the user had liked every post in the thread. Cried. =(

Don't feel bad

Anyway, should you not be on the side of the road selling strawberries?

It's the only thing Wexford is known for :p

It's my second-best guarantee against winning that prize.

My first-best is that I haven't been thanked at all.

EDIT: PISS OFF RAINBOWDROP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

grindle wrote: »

You have now!!!:D

Pretty good thanks-whore thread, in fairness.
    Maybe DaveNoCheese's real motive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

DVDs.

Lol.

Buy a DVD, forced to sit through an anti-piracy warning

Download a film, no anti-piracy warning

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Don't feel bad

Anyway, should you not be on the side of the road selling strawberries?

It's the only thing Wexford is known for :p

I wish I was. Could do with the money. :rolleyes:

Wanna buy some?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

2 euro each or 5 for 10, bargain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

I need to win the DVD's because my granny needs an operation.

grindle wrote: »

EDIT: PISS OFF RAINBOWDROP.

You're f*cked now.

You should have known that openly expressing that you don't want thanks would lead to you getting thanks. Unless..... You sly fecker, this was your plan all along!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

danniemcq wrote: »
    do you pay postage?

Yup, I'll cover postage as long as it's within Ireland ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

earpiece wrote: »
    DaveNoCheeseTaste in Movies

Platoon, Shaun of the dead and 28 days later are acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Everyone thank the OP.

He'll have to post the DVDs to himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

After a while every thank you makes you feel emptier...

You're f*cked now.

You should have known that openly expressing that you don't want thanks would lead to you getting thanks. Unless..... You sly fecker, this was your plan all along!

Nah, if I "win" I'll just have the worst DVDs sent to someone I don't like.

Then I win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Note to self, if ever ya need to sell something advertise it in AH.

Tut tut mods, tut tut indeed :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I should get the DVDs because I'm so great.

In fact, I think that I should get both the parachutes DVDs incase one of them fails.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭funnilenough

dvd ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Everyone bashing DVD's would sell their right nut to win this competition, me included

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Offer a broken Ford Escort carburetor and ten Alf pogs

Hey, this is you haggle on adverts.ie

Remember Alf? He's back! But in pog form!

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I should get the DVDs because I'm so great.

In fact, I think that I should get both the parachutes DVDs incase one of them fails.

You son of a bitch! You stole my post!

And you didn't even get the quote right, just to add insult to injury!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

Some people take boards.ie waaaaaaaay too seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭funnilenough

boards.ie ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

Pedant wrote: »
    Some people take boards.ie waaaaaaaay too seriously.

quoted purely for the username/post irony! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

if only you had car that i could download.
    then i would be in,but...dvds.
    in the words of the dragons,im out!
    (looks at dvds for sale,nope still out)..... : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Thank this post if YOU are sexy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Tremors trilogy??? There's 3 of them??? :eek::D

Tremors 1 is honestly one of the greatest films ever made, if not the best. Absolutely love it! I can only assume the sequels are equally as good, yes?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Luap

Postage will cost him more then the DVD's, he lives in some foreign place called Luimneach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Come on people of After Hours! Someone here must have the intelligence to post something that will make DaveNoCheese's honouring his commitment absolute hell. I wish I was intelligent enough...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

Ill give you the remainder of my anti-biotics to remove the non-cheese that you have.

Sacrifice that is for my future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Uses for DaveNoCheese’s DVD’s to the Boards poster that wins:

To stop the boss creeping up behind you or to see what is going on behind you, stick a CD to the corner of your PC monitor using Blu-Tack (like a rear view mirror).

Most Boards poster have a dark work space and limited light, stick them to the sides and under anything hanging over the desk and then aim the light source at them. You end up with way more light than before due to the reflection.

Cover an outfit with CD and go as a "Software Pirate" or modern chain mail by drilling holes in opposite edges and stringing them together, vertically and horizontally.

Put two disks together and wind wool through centre hole, over edges and back through centre hole. Continue in this manner until disk completely covered with wool and the centre hole is full. Cut wool around outside edge, between two disks. Gently separate the two disks in order to allow you to tie through middle. Pull disk completely off (or cut away) and you are left with a pom-pom.

Pile them up and see how far you can kick all of them. Get your friends to see if they can beat your score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭LaVail

I can't watch DVD's because I've been EMP'd :(