Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Defination of irony you have witnessed in your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Women that wear low cut tops and hate it when you stare.

WHATSUPWITDAT?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Chamone MF wrote: »
    some graffiti i once saw, 'Dave is a retart'.

i facepalmed for them.

Ahh Dundalk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

I was in Tesco yesterday when this woman dropped down dead in front of me.

She'd just bought a bag for life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Varied wrote: »
    Women that wear low cut tops and hate it when you stare.

WHATSUPWITDAT?:pac:

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Namlub wrote: »
    No.

Aye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

A tattoo that says 'Nothing Is Permanent'

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

When I was in school all the fights used to happen in a place called the peace park.

Gimme an 'S'!

Gimme an 'ummerhill'!

Summerhill! Summerhill! Summerhill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Defination of irony you have witnessed in your life.

Anyone remember? "Vote yes to Lisbon, yes to jobs."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Stephen Ireland not wanting to play soccer for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Fistycuffs

Jesus coming here for sinners but then turning up his nose at them when they get to heaven!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭baldshin

Earlier tonight I went to fold in the wing mirrors on the car for protection on the street, only for one of them to break off in my hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Sofaspud wrote: »

Unfortunately its a fake :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

It's an unwritten rule that if someone mentions irony, someone else will quote an Alanis Morrisette song & someone else will quote from an Ed Byrne routine.

isn't' it ironic? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

charlemont wrote: »
    Stephen Ireland not wanting to play soccer for Ireland.

Or Nicky English not wanting to play hurling for England. Could never understand it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

A duck took flight from the pond during lunch yesterday on a low trajectory.

I had to shout 'Duck!!!!'

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

I always wanted to get some spraypaint and spray on the wall 'I hate graffiti and hypocrites.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

One day on my way to work as an air control operator I was struck by a low flying 747 and killed to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

I saw yer man from the Bee Gees on 'Live with Jools Holland' earlier this evening.

Which is ironic, seeing as he's dead.

Was he singing Staying Alive ?

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭CrazyFish

Saw a small van with a missing bumper on it and the van was a company van for car parts saying how they have all your part needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

A woman driving while on a mobile phone cutting in dangerously in front of me, while displaying a huge BABY ON BOARD sign.

• Registered Users Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

Just had an ironic moment.

I was just texting my friend telling him he should be ashamed at his drawings on DrawSomething. They are appaling. He takes no time whatsoever and his lack of effort is obvious.

"Take some pride in your work" I texted.

This is all being done while I am on the crapper for a solid 35 mins during work ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,721 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Friend answers phone while driving.
    Sorry I cant talk im driving behind a garda car.
    This is the gardai ringing in relation to your court summons for driving while on a mobile phone.
    friend hangs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭kevin65

On Ian Dempsey's programme one morning, they were listeners for examples of irony, to which one caller said 'a minister for health who is morbidly obese'. There was an awkward silence after that! This was when the previoius government was in power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

When I was being pursued from a man his first message to me was:

Respect

Just the word respect.

Ironic because he had absolutely none for me. He got his hole filled and fcuked me over filling me with lies leaving me in a loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

ilovesleep wrote: »

Respect

Just the word respect.

Ironic because he had absolutely none for me. He got his hole filled and fcuked me over filling me with lies leaving me in a loop.

You fúcked ali g?

At oxygen a couple of years ago i saw a girl passed out and wrapped up in a drink aware banner:D

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭njals_saga

A very years ago Eamon Dunphy won some stupid award for being the Dublin party goer of the year.
    And then he didn´t turn up for the award´s party.
    I use this when defining irony.

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Friend answers phone while driving.
    Sorry I cant talk im driving behind a garda car.
    This is the gardai ringing in relation to your court summons for driving while on a mobile phone.
    friend hangs up.

Did something simular with my insurance company. I was sitting in the car ready to go somewhere when they rang. They were on the phone for 5 minutes just to ask me to forward proof of NCB. Without thinking I said, "Yea, I'll send that to you tommorrow, sorry but I have to go, I'm coming up to a roundabout."

(I wasn't really driving)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

Watching France England in Euro 2004 in Bakers Corner, some gorilla was screaming vile abuse at every English player for 90 solid minutes, when Zidane knocked in the last minute winner the gorilla went absolutely ape :D with joy, as I said to my mates, does anybody want to go over to the England hater and point out the irony of him wearing a Chelsea shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Unfortunately its a fake :(

You sure about that ?
    I know who he is.

Pal wrote: »
    You sure about that ?
    I know who he is.

I read somewhere that it was from a sketchshow and a few journos saw the image and thought it was serious. The article I read had a link to the image posted before that match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

lets just say that he is well known to Gardai

Pal wrote: »
    lets just say that he is well known to Gardai

What for?

Come on, you can't just say you know that lad then leave it at that!
    Was it a joke or did he genuinely not know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

My sister talking about herself non stop then i bring up finishing college she flips out and comes out with "the world doesn't revolve around you" then continues to talk about her self for the rest of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

ironic that the amercan that did Tokyo a disservice with the aggressive sexually motivated murder of an Irish girl and his friend, who is also american / raped another irish is under suspicion of being part of nikki minaj's entourage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

Man United fans complaining that City have bought their success!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Man United fans complaining that City have bought their success!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 cheif_pigum

ilovesleep wrote: »

Respect

Just the word respect.

tonnes of people seem to think if they use words like respect , that means they deserve a large chunk of it

i once worked with a ghoul who used to specialise in accusing people she didnt agree with of being arrogant , that was her word , irony wasnt her strong point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i often prevent fols from being perv'd by taking out my 6 pack and using it for good...

well 6 pack of beers while im naked.

im a good distraction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Niall558

Profiler wrote: »
    Ireland had a morbidly obese Minster for health...

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot :confused:

Our minister for foreign affairs isnt foreign either :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

My two friends and I got assaulted on MacCurtain street in Cork outside the centre for Christian charity.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Seen as he was mentioned hear already.

Ed Byrne..........comedian.

If Barack Obama had a son he'd look like King T'ight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Mary Harney having been Minister for Health when obese isn't actual irony though I don't think; it's irony when the results of a persons actions are the opposite of what was intended.

It would be ironic if, as Minister for Health, she reallocated funding away from non-generic drugs, went to a doctor looking for a drug to treat her obesity, but couldn't get the drug because it's too expensive/non-generic, then became more obese/unhealthy as a result of her policies, and her worsening health affected her job and caused her to enact bad policies that harm the health of the overall country, undermining her job as Minister of Health.

Rap is like Rave, but without the e

Rave is Rape in disguise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

An old friend of mine was a fierce bad racist and a rap fan. He hated blacks and foreigners. He was in a terrible crash and blaze on the N2 and a black chap rescued him from the fire. When he was asked to drop by the family house to thank him his mother recognised him as the man who raped her 30 years earlier. The black lad was in fact his father and son of a famous African anti rape campaigner. I was there and thought it somewhat ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

When I was 15, I told my brother to F--k off in the yard. Next thing, Mam sticks her head out the kitchen window and shouts:"WATCH YOUR F--KING LANGUAGE." Funny and ironic all in one go.

That's Rap artist if you will...

or Rapist; in short gonna let me some pervert blood...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Jay Fullmer, 38, yesterday became the first American to get to grips with the concept of irony.

"It was weird" Fullmer said. "I was in London and like, talking to this guy and it was raining and he pulled a face and said, "Great weather eh?" and I thought - "Wait a minute, no way is it great weather".

Fullmer then realised that the other man's 'mistake' was in fact deliberate.
    Fullmer, who is 39 next month and married with two children, aged 8 and 3, plans to use irony himself in future.

"I'm, like, using it all the time" he said. "Last weekend I was grilling steaks, and I burned them, and I said "Hey, great weather."