Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

child abuser problem

• 23-05-2012 12:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭

Hi all looking for some help here, I know a person who works in the hse who is a convicted child abuser.I have informed the hse and they state he has done nothing wrong.He also has access to his children who i know are afraid of him.
    The reason he seems to be getting away with everything is because in this country if you abuse a child and get convicted there is a reporting blackout imposed.
    So nobody knows you did it.
    So even though i showed the article with his details to te hse because his name was missing they dont believe it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Was he actually convicted (in a court) of child abuse? (I ask given their response)
    When you say that you informed the HSE, to whom (as in their dept & level) did you report it?

If he was convicted of abuse and is in contact with children, then something must be done. However, if as the HSE say, he has done no wrong, I doubt much could (or possibly even should) be done and you could end up looking like a slanderer.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tom Young

Do not post any further details here please.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭med1

hi tom i wont give exact details but yes he was convicted in court .

just wondering if i stood outside his workplace with a placard what would the outcome be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

med1 wrote: »
    just wondering if i stood outside his workplace with a placard what would the outcome be?
    Slanderous, maybe you should approach the gardai tell them your suspicions and if there is a conviciton im sure they will sort it quickly

thanks i will try that but when that was last asked they said their hands were tied as it was a hse matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

If you are 100% sure then write a formal registered letter to the Minister, head of HSE etc stating the facts, date of conviction etc and giving the HSE 4 weeks to reply (specify a date) and state that if a written reply is not received by that you will go public.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

I wonder......

I can't reveal the full details of this story, as I can't prove anything. And the person who told me story - it's not a idle tittle tattle, can't prove anything either and they had no joy progressing it.

A person working in a part of the HSE, where they have access to vulnerable children, was caught by a colleague viewing child pornography at work. They were reported - and by magic, all evidence vanished - computer as clean as a whistle - internet log clean. No grand conspiracy, just a mixture of paddywhackery, croneyism, and wanting to avoid a scandal.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 Break The Silence

If you are concerned then go to your local Garda Station.

Or you could go to

Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Investigation Unit
    NBCI
    Harcourt Square
    Dublin 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Or you could go to

Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Investigation Unit
    NBCI
    Harcourt Square
    Dublin 2

Is that a Garda unit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hi all looking for some help here, I know a person who works in the hse who is a convicted child abuser.I have informed the hse and they state he has done nothing wrong.He also has access to his children who i know are afraid of him.

Hang on - he works with children, or he does NOT work with children, but lives with his own children? Bg difference, because (open to correction) you can still work for the HSA, just not in certain units. I find it very difficult to believe that the HSE are hiring a person convicted of paedophilia to work with children!
    The reason he seems to be getting away with everything is because in this country if you abuse a child and get convicted there is a reporting blackout imposed.

This is not true - the blackout can be lifted if the victim allows it to be, or if there was no contact with the victims. (i.e. child porn). Even if it were, the guards and the hse will certainly know about it, as per the terms of being on the sex offender register.
    So even though i showed the article with his details to te hse because his name was missing they dont believe it.

Then this begs the question: how do YOU know?

Overall? You don't seem to have concrete evidence, and even if you did, the HSE know about his past. If you are 100% sure and he has been convicted of child abuse and are 100% sure he's working with children, I'd make formal complaints with the Guards, the HSE and the Minister, as someone pointed out, and possibly even get the media involved.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

BrianD wrote: »
    Is that a Garda unit?
    NBCI = National Bureau of Criminal Investigation
    http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=32&Lang=1

Thank you kbannon

I have a question has he actually been convicted of child abuse or was it a sex offence (viewing child abuse on line or similiar).

If he actually abused a child I'd be more concerned.

Then this begs the question: how do YOU know?

Overall? You don't seem to have concrete evidence, and even if you did, the HSE know about his past. If you are 100% sure and he has been convicted of child abuse and are 100% sure he's working with children, I'd make formal complaints with the Guards, the HSE and the Minister, as someone pointed out, and possibly even get the media involved.[/QUOTE]

i know as he was family thats what annoys me so much about it

[

If he actually abused a child I'd be more concerned.[/QUOTE]

it was abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

i know as he was family thats what annoys me so much about it

Sorry to hear that.

So, as you pretty much 100% sure, that leaves the other question: is he working with children?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

OK, so assuming that you have evidence (i.e. court conviction details, etc.) and assuming that this person has been convicted of child abuse and is now working in an position that brings them into contact with children, do as amen earlier suggested; "write a formal registered letter to the Minister, head of HSE etc stating the facts, date of conviction etc and giving the HSE 4 weeks to reply (specify a date) and state that if a written reply is not received by that you will go public." The threat of the media should be enough for action to be taken. However, you must follow up if they do nothing

In this letter, I would also refer to the names of those that you previously dealt with in the HSE requesting why they did not take appropriate action when given the information. If it were the case that they didn't want the hassle or whatever, this mentality or the current procedures oir whatever it is needs to be stopped using whatever means possible.

You also need to know that as the "whistleblower" on a case such as this, your/your family's name may be revealed (it shouldn't be but I would prepare for it anyhow) so discuss your actions with your family and with the victim(s) beforehand.

I'm also taking you on your word here with this advice and obviously I know nothing of the details of this but good luck with it.

hi thank you all
    i am going to photocopy all the reports we have and write the letter
    we dont mind the family name coming out as his fellow colleagues in work all know us and also are anoyed by the way it hasnt been dealt with
    thanking you all again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Med - I find it very hard to believe that someone with this type of conviction passes the checks needed to get the type of job you describe. I would highly recommend you speak to a solicitor before you progress this any further. They guy will end up owning your house if it turns out you have defamed him.

Hi all looking for some help here, I know a person who works in the hse who is a convicted child abuser.

I'm surprised....(then unsurprised, this being Ireland).. that he was able to get the high paying, secure job in the first place.
    I have informed the hse and they state he has done nothing wrong.He also has access to his children who i know are afraid of him.

Record everything. Keep a diary. Speak to the children.

But this has the whole ring of old Ireland again. Back in the "good" old days, you had nearly prove you were a child abuser before they'd let you have a job around children.

As far as I understand - though someone could correct me...The HSE do have access to this information.

If you know the details of the case, you could inform the victims, and get them to make a complaint. But you revealing the persons identity may be breaking the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

krd wrote: »
    I'm surprised....(then unsurprised, this being Ireland).. that he was able to get the high paying, secure job in the first place.

Where does it say he was high paid or job secure?
    Record everything. Keep a diary. Speak to the children.

Speak to his children? Whatever about the HSE you can be sure his family know about his conviction so if he has access to his kids it is at a judges order and nothing to do with the op.
    But this has the whole ring of old Ireland again. Back in the "good" old days, you had nearly prove you were a child abuser before they'd let you have a job around children.

What nonsense.
    As far as I understand - though someone could correct me...The HSE do have access to this information.

Ig he was vetted his convictions would be made known to them by the Gardaí.
    If you know the details of the case, you could inform the victims, and get them to make a complaint. But you revealing the persons identity may be breaking the law.

Op you have already been advised the best course of action, write to his employer and the local garda Superintendent outlining your concerns. Don't expect a reply though as you are not entitled to information about another persons dealing with their employer or the Gardaí.

MagicSean wrote: »
    Where does it say he was high paid or job secure?

Sean, in the private sector, most people struggle to get over 30k a year. But then again, those people would be the dirt people, made for the good paddies to ride around like donkeys - Their tenants. Their "rent cattle".

And, essentially, we're a fire at will country.

Jesus, Sean....Some times I think, the next time I get pulled for tax and insurance, I'll pop the glove box and pull out an Millenium 45, and go "Tax and insure this, muthafackahs"

Speak to his children? Whatever about the HSE you can be sure his family know about his conviction so if he has access to his kids it is at a judges order and nothing to do with the op.

Speak to the children he's dealing with, in his job. He is dealing with children. That's where the problem is. Paedophiles dealing with adults wouldn't be a problem.
    Ig he was vetted his convictions would be made known to them by the Gardaí.

And what if they didn't follow the correct vetting procedures. What if they thought, he's a good paddy, with good family connections, why don't we turn a blind eye to his child ridin', and give him the 45k a year job for sitting on his deserving fat paddy of an arse of a decent ignorant child molesting fat paddy arse.

Op you have already been advised the best course of action, write to his employer and the local garda Superintendent outlining your concerns. Don't expect a reply though as you are not entitled to information about another persons dealing with their employer or the Gardaí.

Yes. Get everything in writing. Write letters. Keep records.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Sean, in the private sector, most people struggle to get over 30k a year. But then again, those people would be the dirt people, made for the good paddies to ride around like donkeys - Their tenants. Their "rent cattle".

I made 50K a year working in retail with no degree.

Fire at will - LOL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

That doesn't really explain your assumption though. He could be a temporary janitor for all you know.
    Jesus, Sean....Some times I think, the next time I get pulled for tax and insurance, I'll pop the glove box and pull out an Millenium 45, and go "Tax and insure this, muthafackahs"

What are you on about?
    Speak to the children he's dealing with, in his job. He is dealing with children. That's where the problem is. Paedophiles dealing with adults wouldn't be a problem.

If the op starts speaking to children about paedophiles then it's the op that will be in the ****.
    And what if they didn't follow the correct vetting procedures. What if they thought, he's a good paddy, with good family connections, why don't we turn a blind eye to his child ridin', and give him the 45k a year job for sitting on his deserving fat paddy of an arse of a decent ignorant child molesting fat paddy arse.

How do you know he's fat or on 45k?

I made 50K a year working in retail with no degree.

Fire at will - LOL!

50k retail?............Doing what?......Selling your arse?....Retailing your buttocks?

During the buildery boom, you'd have people answering the phone in some bathroom tile place and getting 50k - but in real world jobs. Ones that made a real world contribution to the economy - 50k was tough hit. Though I know, you'd have some fat little pig woman trotting around, earning 50k a year, just for clicking okay on the "click okay to continue" button on the payroll software. A baby Mary Harney. Trotting around on her fat legs.

GCD.....Education means nothing.......Being a good fat paddy, is like having a money printing machine. Good fat paddys will always be looked after. Ireland is run to make sure good ignorant fat paddys, or fat paddy women, like Mary Harney, get the good life. Why do you think the country is being run into the ground?

MagicSean wrote: »
    That doesn't really explain your assumption though. He could be a temporary janitor for all you know.

Even HSE janitors start on more than 30k a year.

What are you on about?

You know what I'm talking about.

If the op starts speaking to children about paedophiles then it's the op that will be in the ****.

No. They talk to them about yer man's carry on. They're afraid of him for a reason. Find out what the reason is. More likely than not, he's one of these evil fat paddys who's been given a job around children because it pays so well, but the guy shouldn't even be allowed own a cat.

How do you know he's fat or on 45k?

Statistics, Sean.....Statistics.

What has the salary of someone working for the HSE got to do with this thread exactly?

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tom Young

Contributors: Stay on track please. KRD your posts above are more ranty than not. You might consider editing?