Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish Spring?

• 23-05-2012 3:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭

I just saw on Sky News that Egypt are voting in a proper election for the first time. Fair enough. But then they said in the 5,000 year history of this great nation they are deciding their own fate! I think we should say bollix to this and kick out FG, FF, SF, Labour and all those eejits out of the country and reorganize the whole country. What would you do if you were in charge of the transition? And do you think we should do something similar?
    I would:
    Start a peaceful rebellion, using civil disobedience and Gandhi's tactics. I would then reorganize the whole economy to start with. I would provide "free" water and cheaper electricity. Then I would install a better electric grid and excellent high-speed broadband across the country (if you think this is a silly idea it's been promised for years) and lower taxes for foreign industry, give incentives to high-tech companies and farmers who export a certain amount.
    Also I would keep the ones already in place, for films and computer companies. I would put more spending on culture, science and healthcare.The whole curriculum in schools, especially Irish would be re-written. To afford all these things, everything would be cut back on but in a different way. For example, workers on the electricity and internet and other services would be a mixture of the current workers and people off social welfare.

Their salaries might not be very good but their benefits would be excellent, this would be the same for teachers and all public sector workers. Poor people would be given small jobs alongside them to start them off, and the empty apartments would be converted into space for the homeless, and all the people responsible for the recession would be put in prison and have their money confiscated, the Guards would be entirely restarted, I would make them armed and crimes would have worse punishments, murder and large scale drug offences would carry a mandatory life sentence and by life I mean in prison until they die.
    Once all the drug criminals are dealt with all drugs would be made legal and the more dangerous ones would be very expensive and carry high taxes, while softer drugs would be cheaper.
    Drugs would be sold by the government and maybe some strictly regulated dealers. Guns would become legal for self defence but the laws would be VERY strict only over 30's (maybe younger) could own them and anyone else can have a stun gun or non lethal weapons. Also only handguns would be allowed unless they have a good reason for having a larger gun, one per house and only a certain amount of ammo a year and only allowed to shoot someone if you or someone else is actually being physically attacked.
    Do you agree? What changes would you make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

A wall of text

• Registered Users Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

tl;dr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

In 1989 Berliners ripped down the most oppressive symbol their city had ever seen.

It's now 2012 and you insist on recreating the experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

What changes would you make?

Few paragraphs wouldnt go astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭housetypeb

I would make paragraphs mandatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

I thought this was going to be about soap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

I just saw on Sky News that Egypt are voting in a proper election for the first time. Fair enough. But then they said in the 5,000 year history of this great nation they are deciding their own fate! I think we should say bollix to this and kick out FG, FF, SF, Labour and all those eejits out of the country and reorganize the whole country. What would you do if you were in charge of the transition? And do you think we should do something similar?
    I would:
    Start a peaceful rebellion, using civil disobedience and Gandhi's tactics. I would then reorganize the whole economy to start with. I would provide "free" water and cheaper electricity. Then I would install a better electric grid and excellent high-speed broadband across the country (if you think this is a silly idea it's been promised for years) and lower taxes for foreign industry, give incentives to high-tech companies and farmers who export a certain amount. Also I would keep the ones already in place, for films and computer companies. I would put more spending on culture, science and healthcare.The whole curriculum in schools, especially Irish would be re-written. To afford all these things, everything would be cut back on but in a different way. For example, workers on the electricity and internet and other services would be a mixture of the current workers and people off social welfare. Their salaries might not be very good but their benefits would be excellent, this would be the same for teachers and all public sector workers. Poor people would be given small jobs alongside them to start them off, and the empty apartments would be converted into space for the homeless, and all the people responsible for the recession would be put in prison and have their money confiscated, the Guards would be entirely restarted, I would make them armed and crimes would have worse punishments, murder and large scale drug offences would carry a mandatory life sentence and by life I mean in prison until they die.Once all the drug criminals are dealt with all drugs would be made legal and the more dangerous ones would b very expensive and carry high taxes, while softer drugs would be cheaper. Drugs would be sold by the government and maybe some strictly regulated dealers. Guns would become legal for self defence but the laws would be VERY strict only over 30's (maybe younger) could own them and anyone else can have a stun gun or non lethal weapons. Also only handguns would be allowed unless they have a good reason for having a larger gun, one per house and only a certain amount of ammo a year and only allowed to shoot someone if you or someone else is actually being physically attacked.

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭rKossi

I'm not reading that..
    You should have posted it in one of the smart people forums like Anthropology, Sociology & Culture

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭CajunPenguin

No.

OK.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i think we can safely say no one will read this.

OK.

One blank line doesn't meet my criteria of legibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

You absolute maniac. I pray, for Ireland's sake, that you never find yourself in a position of power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,795 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Seachmall wrote: »
    In 1989 Berliners ripped down the most oppressive symbol their city had ever seen.

It's now 2012 and you insist on recreating the experience.

They then enjoyed David Hasselhof's talents. Have to be careful about these things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

have you taken a few yokes and decided you can fix the world, man....

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭Captain Morgan Freeman

Why yes, of course drugs and guns are the solution to our economic problems. Lets just turn Ireland into a regular old harlem.

First time I have heard of some in favour of handguns and opposed to longer firearms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

From what I gather OP you want something like this, or specifically something like this.

Nah...

OP, I've reformatted your post and cleaned it up a bit. Copy/Paste to OP and begin discussion.
    I just saw on Sky News that Egypt are voting in a proper election for the first time. Fair enough. But then they said in the 5,000 year history of this great nation they are deciding their own fate! I think we should say bollix to this and kick out FG, FF, SF, Labour and all those eejits out of the country and reorganize the whole country.

What would you do if you were in charge of the transition? And do you think we should do something similar?

I would:
    • Start a peaceful rebellion, using civil disobedience and Gandhi's tactics. I would then reorganize the whole economy to start with. I would provide "free" water and cheaper electricity.
    • Upgrade electric grid and excellent high-speed broadband across the country (if you think this is a silly idea it's been promised for years) and lower taxes for foreign industry, give incentives to high-tech companies and farmers who export a certain amount.
    • Conveniently, I would keep the ones already in place, for films and computer companies.

Kindly, I would then put more spending on culture, science and healthcare.The whole curriculum in schools, especially Irish would be re-written. To afford all these things, everything would be cut back on but in a different way. For example, workers on the electricity and internet and other services would be a mixture of the current workers and people off social welfare.

Drugs are another issue that need to be addressed.
    I would regulate and tax them strictly.
    Correspondingly, guns would become legal for self defence but the laws would be VERY strict only over 30's (maybe younger) could own them and anyone else can have a stun gun or non lethal weapons.
    Knowing this only handguns would be allowed unless they have a good reason for having a larger gun, one per house and only a certain amount of ammo a year and only allowed to shoot someone if you or someone else is actually being physically attacked.

I vote Seachmall for benevolent dictator.

First time I have heard of some in favour of handguns and opposed to longer firearms.

specifically more powerful firearms. airguns are grand

I vote Seachmall for benevolent dictator.

Your requirements for dictator are too tight.

I apologetically must decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭housetypeb

.....Once all the drug criminals are dealt with all drugs would be made legal and the more dangerous ones would be very expensive and carry high taxes, while softer drugs would be cheaper.
    Drugs would be sold by the government and maybe some strictly regulated dealers......

Yep.That makes sense.
    Lock up the dealers and take over their patch in the name of the state.

You absolute maniac. I pray, for Ireland's sake, that you never find yourself in a position of power.

What did I do wrong? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

OP, I've reformatted your post and cleaned it up a bit. Copy/Paste to OP and begin discussion.

thats great seachmall... but its still aload of bollix :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

I would:
    Start a peaceful rebellion, using civil disobedience and Gandhi's tactics. I would then reorganize the whole economy to start with. I would provide "free" water and cheaper electricity. Then I would install a better electric grid and excellent high-speed broadband across the country (if you think this is a silly idea it's been promised for years) and lower taxes for foreign industry, give incentives to high-tech companies and farmers who export a certain amount.
    Also I would keep the ones already in place, for films and computer companies. I would put more spending on culture, science and healthcare.The whole curriculum in schools, especially Irish would be re-written. To afford all these things, everything would be cut back on but in a different way. For example, workers on the electricity and internet and other services would be a mixture of the current workers and people off social welfare.

Their salaries might not be very good but their benefits would be excellent, this would be the same for teachers and all public sector workers. Poor people would be given small jobs alongside them to start them off, and the empty apartments would be converted into space for the homeless, and all the people responsible for the recession would be put in prison and have their money confiscated, the Guards would be entirely restarted, I would make them armed and crimes would have worse punishments, murder and large scale drug offences would carry a mandatory life sentence and by life I mean in prison until they die.
    Once all the drug criminals are dealt with all drugs would be made legal and the more dangerous ones would be very expensive and carry high taxes, while softer drugs would be cheaper.
    Drugs would be sold by the government and maybe some strictly regulated dealers. Guns would become legal for self defence but the laws would be VERY strict only over 30's (maybe younger) could own them and anyone else can have a stun gun or non lethal weapons. Also only handguns would be allowed unless they have a good reason for having a larger gun, one per house and only a certain amount of ammo a year and only allowed to shoot someone if you or someone else is actually being physically attacked.

the best laugh i've had in years!!! :pac:
    how 2 run a country for dummies written by a 2 yr old

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Suas11 wrote: »
    tl;dr

he'd like to be a dictator,

legalise drugs and tax them (soft drugs maybe but heroin / crack should always be illegal)

jail the crime lords for actual life (a great idea in theory but how will we pay for it?)

arm guards (not a bad idea as currently the criminals have no fear of guards)

allow over 30's civilians have guns (a terrible idea - look at the us to see how bad the problem is)

cut everyones wages - they have been cut enough already except for politicians/bankers/lawyers which still get paid too much

Your post comes off as the ramblings of a mad man.

Take my reformat of it, which is structured (even has lists!), and edit your original post. It's more legible and comes across less of a maniacal manifesto and you'll get less criticisms from people who haven't even read the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

I thought this was going to be about soap.

i was thinking water tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

you made the assumption that running a country as a successful enconmic unit is as simple as 1,2,3.
    Not the case if it was every country would be rich!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

Obama done put Irish spring in robbie keanes locker

Socialism!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Well you havent done anything yet thank Christ.
    Insofar as your proposals go they are terrifying.
    You want to start a peaceful revolution and then arm everyone to the teeth. With handguns no less, the very weapon that most governments are trying to outlaw due to their popularity amongst criminals.
    You then want to take the gardai and turn them into a paramilitary police force and throw them into the mix. Not forgetting that you have started with them from scratch so i assume these are all inexperienced new recruits. In the middle of a drugs war you intend starting no less. A drugs war with the aim of jailing all the drug dealers (for life, a hugely expensive endeavour) just so you can then legalise drugs. (Im all for legalising drugs, it's your way of going about it that confuses me.)
    On top of that you want to cut everyones wages and flood the market with unskilled, unmotivated labourers.
    You do introduce some interesting ideas, such as drug legalisation, the use of abandoned housing projects to tackle homelessness and jailing those behind the crash.
    It's a strange mix of left wing idealism and right wing lunacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

I just saw on Sky News that Egypt are voting in a proper election for the first time. Fair enough. But then they said in the 5,000 year history of this great nation they are deciding their own fate! I think we should say bollix to this and kick out FG, FF, SF, Labour and all those eejits out of the country and reorganize the whole country.

What would you do if you were in charge of the transition? And do you think we should do something similar?

I would:
    Start a peaceful rebellion, using civil disobedience and Gandhi's tactics. I would then reorganize the whole economy to start with. I would provide "free" water and cheaper electricity.
    Upgrade electric grid and excellent high-speed broadband across the country (if you think this is a silly idea it's been promised for years) and lower taxes for foreign industry, give incentives to high-tech companies and farmers who export a certain amount.
    Conveniently, I would keep the ones already in place, for films and computer companies.

Kindly, I would then put more spending on culture, science and healthcare.The whole curriculum in schools, especially Irish would be re-written. To afford all these things, everything would be cut back on but in a different way. For example, workers on the electricity and internet and other services would be a mixture of the current workers and people off social welfare.

Drugs are another issue that need to be addressed.
    I would regulate and tax them strictly.
    Correspondingly, guns would become legal for self defence but the laws would be VERY strict only over 30's (maybe younger) could own them and anyone else can have a stun gun or non lethal weapons.
    Knowing this only handguns would be allowed unless they have a good reason for having a larger gun, one per house and only a certain amount of ammo a year and only allowed to shoot someone if you or someone else is actually being physically attacked.

It's all good except for the bit about the ideas.

he'd like to be a dictator,

legalise drugs and tax them (soft drugs maybe but heroin / crack should always be illegal)

jail the crime lords for actual life (a great idea in theory but how will we pay for it?)

arm guards (not a bad idea as currently the criminals have no fear of guards)

allow over 30's civilians have guns (a terrible idea - look at the us to see how bad the problem is)

cut everyones wages - they have been cut enough already except for politicians/bankers/lawyers which still get paid too much
    Actually I said all drugs should be illegal it would mean criminals can no longer make money and it would make huge profits
    And fine then we won't pay for them. just dump them on the blaskets and let them fight it out until one emerges as king

Well you havent done anything yet thank Christ.
    Insofar as your proposals go they are terrifying.
    You want to start a peaceful revolution and then arm everyone to the teeth. With handguns no less, the very weapon that most governments are trying to outlaw due to their popularity amongst criminals.
    You then want to take the gardai and turn them into a paramilitary police force and throw them into the mix. Not forgetting that you have started with them from scratch so i assume these are all inexperienced new recruits. In the middle of a drugs war you intend starting no less. A drugs war with the aim of jailing all the drug dealers (for life, a hugely expensive endeavour) just so you can then legalise drugs. (Im all for legalising drugs, it's your way of going about it that confuses me.)
    On top of that you want to cut everyones wages and flood the market with unskilled, unmotivated labourers.
    You do introduce some interesting ideas, such as drug legalisation, the use of abandoned housing projects to tackle homelessness and jailing those behind the crash.
    It's a strange mix of left wing idealism and right wing lunacy.
    No the Gardaí would be scrapped and the officers would be put into the new police force, an Garda cajunpenguin (I'm joking,btw- I would step down to prevent myself having a mad power fit and attacking the EU or someone) NOT new recruits, and actually now I look at it jailing the drug barons seems like a bad idea, I'd confiscate all their assets and force them to work for the council or something, and take a portion of their wages for life. If they break the rules or stop working then they get put in jail.

Chain gang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Oh it's okay, he'll step down once the transition begins. Like every other coup in the world, where they step down immedia... no wait... :o

dulpit wrote: »
    Oh it's okay, he'll step down once the transition begins. Like every other coup in the world, where they step down immedia... no wait... :o
    Once he has a nice retirement fund and dacha everything will be fine.

I would:

"I SAT ODD"?

Weird acrostic.

Your OP is a real bitch to read btw. I don't know why you don't like my reformat :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Why hasn't anyone posted this yet

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

Actually I said all drugs should be illegal it would mean criminals can no longer make money and it would make huge profits
    And fine then we won't pay for them. just dump them on the blaskets and let them fight it out until one emerges as king

You do know the difference between legal and illegal, don't you?
    Illegal is against the law i.e the status quo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

And fine then we won't pay for them. just dump them on the blaskets and let them fight it out until one emerges as king[/QUOTE]

in your OP you said drugs should be legal :rolleyes:
    Once all the drug criminals are dealt with all drugs would be made legal and the more dangerous ones would be very expensive and carry high taxes, while softer drugs would be cheaper

"I SAT ODD"?

Weird acrostic.

Do you spend your time on boards looking for them?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Yes, this country needs brainwashing.:):) With this:

http://i.walmartimages.com/i/p/00/03/50/00/14/0003500014127_500X500.jpg

Do you spend your time on boards looking for them?

Don't be silly. I typically spend my time browsing AH looking for interesting topics. Commenting occasionally if I think I can add something to the discussion. Kind of how I live my life really; passively until I can contribute.

Some day I will be remembered for helping others out, like reformatting unintelligible posts. Until then I shall be a breeze in a wind. Constantly there but never noticed, just adding to a larger good. Kind of like sheep. Except without the negative connotations. Really.

See if you can find the acrostic in that one.

Clearly you're all decadent vestern pigs who care nothing for the proletariat.
    Yer all stoopid liburrels too, tryin to take away us good folks' rights.
    My ideas don't seem to have gone down too well. Maybe Ill spend some time revising them and put them somewhere else.
    BUT when my internet block comes into effect, AH will be the first place to go. Followed by Facebook

Clearly you're all decadent vestern pigs who care nothing for the proletariat.
    Yer all stoopid liburrels too, tryin to take away us good folks' rights.
    My ideas don't seem to have gone down too well. Maybe Ill spend some time revising them and put them somewhere else.
    BUT when my internet block comes into effect, AH will be the first place to go. Followed by Facebook

Give it one hundred years and your ideas will be regarded as visionary.

What?

What?

You have written a manifesto right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 159 ✭✭kermit_the_dog

I would:

sounds like you want a reverse spring , dictator paddy mubarak