Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Revenge of the Post Here When You Get Something New thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Damn you Tesco!
    I think I'm free then you wrap in your tendrils and drag me back in!
    Picked up the Megadrive Tee, I don't mind the dodgy cart.
    And then I bought five packets of 3000 Wii Shop points for €3 each :(
    Or should that be :)
    I'm so conflicted!

My local has nought but €10 Punch-Outs; high levels of jelly on my part.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,623 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

these wii points, are they kept with the gift cards, itunes vouchers etc, or with the games?

They were with the Wii games, the 3000 cards used to be about €40 but were discounted to €3, but the other denominations, 1000 and 2000, are still full price.
    Balbriggan, Clarehall and Ashbourne have none left, can't say about the others.

Going to buy Uridium for the C64 VC on the Wii, nice to be able to play that again. Great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

They were with the Wii games, the 3000 cards used to be about €40 but were discounted to €3, but the other denominations, 1000 and 2000, are still full price.
    Balbriggan, Clarehall and Ashbourne have none left, can't say about the others.

Going to buy Uridium for the C64 VC on the Wii, nice to be able to play that again. Great game.

C64 games got dropped in August of last year, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

What a game:pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,623 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Apparently Andrew Braybrook works for an insurance company now, we should all head over and give him some love for creating such an amazing game.
    Uridium via the Wii VC via WiiU here we come!

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    C64 games got dropped in August of last year, no?

Nooooo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,164 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Received my BVM today. Hurrah - or maybe not.

The package was about twice the size of the monitor. It had more bubble wrap than I've ever seen on an item. Has to be in perfect condition, right?

I finally get to the monitor, lift it out and hear the noise of something rattling around in side. Bollocks.

The front looked fine, must be something to do with the back. Yep, it's after getting a smack on the back. The one bloody soft spot on the whole thing. It's hard to see in this photo, but there's a huge crack across the middle. The back has also come away at the top.

IMG_20140609_191236460_zps2eefdc10.jpg

Well this is a sure sign of something being borked, better open it up before I try and power it on.

It got such a smack on the back, some of the inner casing has smashed off (the rattling sound)

What sits right at the back? Yep, you guessed it, the neck board.

Bye bye neck board.

Actually you can see the crack better here on the inside of the casing.

IMG_20140609_191212054_zps97eef1a0.jpg

IMG_20140609_191225112_zps3124eb6c.jpg

What's really frustrating is that other than cosmetic damage to the case and the neck board literally being cracked in half, everything else looks 100% fine. If I could repair/replace the neck board I reckon it'd be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Ah man thats ****ing ****!

Try and get something from the postage company? Since it was due to being mishandled?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Aw ffs :( I wonder if you might be able to source a neckboard for it...

Master of the Universe

I've contacted Parcel Motel. The feckers better give me something.

I didn't think it was too pricey but then added it up and you know what, it cost me almost €100!

67 euro for the monitor with UK postage and then 24.50 Parcel motel charges)

Master of the Universe

Myrddin wrote: »
    Aw ffs :( I wonder if you might be able to source a neckboard for it...

Was thinking that alright, reckon I'll ask around :)

Although it'll probably be one of those scenarios where it's just less hassle to purchase another monitor!

o1s1n wrote: »
    Was thinking that alright, reckon I'll ask around :)

Although it'll probably be one of those scenarios where it's just less hassle to purchase another monitor!

If it comes to that, & you get another of the same type, rip the chassis out of the above one if even for spares

Thats heartbreaking mate, so sorry to hear, beautiful monitor too for a great price :(

Ah ffs.
    That sucks big time.
    Should be an easy fix tho. I've seen neck boards stapled back together.

urbanledge wrote: »
    Ah ffs.
    That sucks big time.
    Should be an easy fix tho. I've seen neck boards stapled back together.

Looks like plenty of traces broke on this one, no amount of staples can help here...prob even more on the other side too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Doge

Awww oisin that's awful dude!

Its almost as painful as the the time safetyboy's Vectrex arrived in Smiddereens. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Doge

Damn you Tesco!
    I think I'm free then you wrap in your tendrils and drag me back in!
    Picked up the Megadrive Tee, I don't mind the dodgy cart.
    And then I bought five packets of 3000 Wii Shop points for €3 each :(
    Or should that be :)
    I'm so conflicted!

Delighted you got the tee, I love mine and its funny what kind of people it attracts on the street, some randomer came up to me talking about the mega drive games he played as a kid, he was having a serious nostalgia buzz talking about it.

We could go as twins at the next beers! :p

Master of the Universe

Had to take some shots for a claim, thought I'd stick this one up here just to illustrate the force of impact. The little screw things literally all popped out!

You can see without them how far the back casing goes in. This presses right down on the neck board. Bad bit of design really.

[IMG][/img]DSC_0668_zps929b19bc.jpg

Might be a bit of a project anyway. I'll try and pop the neck board out when I get a bit of free time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

002_zps3e3551d4.jpg?t=1402439580

Master of the Universe

I've never played any of the DS Fire Emblem games, but would really like to after enjoying the 3DS one so much.

Are they hard to pick up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I've never played any of the DS Fire Emblem games, but would really like to after enjoying the 3DS one so much.

Are they hard to pick up?

Should pick them up easily enough and cheap enough, nothing like the GC version.
    One of the gba titles is meant to be excellent, I think it's the remake one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

I got another new tee
    160x5bn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,270 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Had to take some shots for a claim, thought I'd stick this one up here just to illustrate the force of impact. The little screw things literally all popped out!

You can see without them how far the back casing goes in. This presses right down on the neck board. Bad bit of design really.

[IMG][/img]DSC_0668_zps929b19bc.jpg

Might be a bit of a project anyway. I'll try and pop the neck board out when I get a bit of free time.

Not really bad design - they are designed to be racked into a broadcasting rack and used by professionals. If they are going to be moved/shipped they would have been shipped in a specialised crate or AV case rather than being badly packed/shipped across countries :) If the person who shipped it had packed it right, mostly likely with the tube pointing downwards it might have faired a bit better.

The casing is relatively easy to take apart is due to them being professional monitors with technician serviceable parts inside with the pots to setup the screen being located on the internal PCBs.

Any luck dealing with parcel motel on it? Any way to figure out if it was damaged before it hit them?

Master of the Universe

KeRbDoG wrote: »
    Not really bad design - they are designed to be racked into a broadcasting rack and used by professionals. If they are going to be moved/shipped they would have been shipped in a specialised crate or AV case rather than being badly packed/shipped across countries :) If the person who shipped it had packed it right, mostly likely with the tube pointing downwards it might have faired a bit better.

The casing is relatively easy to take apart is due to them being professional monitors with technician serviceable parts inside with the pots to setup the screen being located on the internal PCBs.

Any luck dealing with parcel motel on it? Any way to figure out if it was damaged before it hit them?

Bad design in the sense that if any pressure is applied to the plastic back cover the neck board splits in two. :pac: there's literally nothing to protect it.

I do know what you're saying, but it just seems a bit baffling as the rest of the monitor would withstand a bomb blast. Yet you have this one little Achilles hell..

Yeah he packaged it extremely well with loads of bubble wrap, but the tube wasn't face down so who know's what happened on the journey in between.

I've sent Parcel Motel on photos of everything now and there's a case in progress.

On the other end the seller has a case open with Parcel Force. So hopefully we'll get a resolution on one end at least! :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

A little late to the Wii-U party but better late than never I guess. Was going to wait until later in the year but didn't want to miss the Mario & Luigi bundle.

Gamestop have an offer when buying any Wii-U bundle you can get any other 1 game for €40, so nabbed 3D World. They also have a Summer Sale deal, buy any Wii-U console and get two free games from the following: Wind Waker, Fifa, Sonic Racing and Nintendoland. Went with Zelda and Nintyland.

I'm not actually sure the Summar Sale deal is supposed to work with bundles but the lads in the shop put them through anyway, fair play to them. Nabbed a Pro controller while I was there as I needed a 4th controller. Just need to get MK8 from Amazon and Pikmin 3 with it and that'll be it for the time being. Happy out. :)

nTzGPww.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Andrew76 wrote: »
    A little late to the Wii-U party but better late than never I guess. Was going to wait until later in the year but didn't want to miss the Mario & Luigi bundle.

Gamestop have an offer when buying any Wii-U bundle you can get any other 1 game for €40, so nabbed 3D World. They also have a Summer Sale deal, buy any Wii-U console and get two free games from the following: Wind Waker, Fifa, Sonic Racing and Nintendoland. Went with Zelda and Nintyland.

I'm not actually sure the Summar Sale deal is supposed to work with bundles but the lads in the shop put them through anyway, fair play to them. Nabbed a Pro controller while I was there as I needed a 4th controller. Just need to get MK8 from Amazon and Pikmin 3 with it and that'll be it for the time being. Happy out. :)

Welcome to the party pal......
    Definitely make sure you get Pikmin 3 as the free game, it's brilliant.

You won't be disappointed the Wii U is great even though a lot of folks on the ould interwebs are bad mouthing it citing lack of games etc.
    not exactly true though as yes there is not millions of games available but those that are available are of an extremely high quality.
    / * Fanboy */

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

pdbhp wrote: »
    Welcome to the party pal......
    Definitely make sure you get Pikmin 3 as the free game, it's brilliant.

You won't be disappointed the Wii U is great even though a lot of folks on the ould interwebs are bad mouthing it citing lack of games etc.
    not exactly true though as yes there is not millions of games available but those that are available are of an extremely high quality.
    / * Fanboy */

Cheers.

Quick questyion actually - trying to set it up at the minute. I entered the wifi settings, then went to register my existing Nintendo ID but it tells me I need a system update before I can register. How do I exit out of the setup process, go do an update then come back? The Home button on the gamepad doesn't let me escape. I don't have to go create a 'New User' do I?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭airmax87

Alpha anthology for 13 quid, sealed !
    Have seen it go for as much as 50 on ebay recently, thank you sweden.
    Tekken & Hyper were in or around a tenner.

tumblr_n70tdjcE2t1tt0qkeo1_1280.png

nTzGPww.jpg

As Pdbhp so eloquently put it...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

Cheers.

Quick questyion actually - trying to set it up at the minute. I entered the wifi settings, then went to register my existing Nintendo ID but it tells me I need a system update before I can register. How do I exit out of the setup process, go do an update then come back? The Home button on the gamepad doesn't let me escape. I don't have to go create a 'New User' do I?

You can use your existing NNID providing you ave one.
    It should just give you the option to update from where you are in the registration menu, at least thats what happened to me but I already had mine set up and was retrospectively adding my NNID