Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sinn Fein appealing to the lowest common denominator

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Martin McGuiness dropped a bomb on Sean Gallagher on live TV.

Ah yes, Gallagher, the FF bagman.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Martin McGuiness dropped a bomb on Sean Gallagher on live TV.

Maybe thats why gallagher squinted so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I disagree with SF on almost every one of their policies but of all the political parties in Ireland now I think they are the only one working to change Ireland in a way they think it better.

The other parties are killing the country with apathy, which I think is far more harmful because it is damnably persistent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Varied wrote: »
    Must be nice living in a bubble.

Try being Irish or a catholic in Northern Ireland in the decades before the troubles. Then spout your tabloid cliches.
    My mother and her mother before her were Irish and Catholic in Northern Ireland.

Both opposed Sinn Fein with every bone in their bodies, and there's many more like them.

The party of pipedreamers, populists and sh1tstirrers.
    And that's just the mild ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

There is no way on God's living earth I would ever vote for Sinn Fein. They are a cynical bunch of vote targeting b&stards, even worse than any other political party we have. It sickens me the way they have targeted communities where (fair enough) no one else bothered with and manipulate them to support their agenda.

In case no one else remembers, they are the POLITICAL WING OF A TERRORIST ORGANISATION.

I can't even remember what this thread is about, just that I had to open my gob when the Shinners fanciers came in.

Yeah, cos FF and FG with their rampant corruption and the way they sent off all those kids to be raped and tortured by the scum in the RC church are way classier. :rolleyes:

Where To wrote: »
    My mother and her mother before her were Irish and Catholic in Northern Ireland.

Both opposed Sinn Fein with every bone in their bodies, and there's many more like them.

The party of pipedreamers, populists and sh1tstirrers.
    And that's just the mild ones.

Lucky them.

Funny that, my family and a lot of my friends familys were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

humbert wrote: »
    I disagree with SF on almost every one of their policies but of all the political parties in Ireland now I think they are the only one working to change Ireland in a way they think it better.

The other parties are killing the country with apathy, which I think is far more harmful because it is damnably persistent.

Fair enough but I never hear any realistic solutions from them, just that their against every single thing that the governement are doing, seemingly because it's the government doing it. They are the classic opposition party with nothing to offer but loud noises.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

There is no way on God's living earth I would ever vote for Sinn Fein. They are a cynical bunch of vote targeting b&stards, even worse than any other political party we have. It sickens me the way they have targeted communities where (fair enough) no one else bothered with and manipulate them to support their agenda.

In case no one else remembers, they are the POLITICAL WING OF A TERRORIST ORGANISATION.

I can't even remember what this thread is about, just that I had to open my gob when the Shinners fanciers came in.

Which?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

summerskin wrote: »
    My father in law was both. Never felt the need to murder children and pensioners though. Funny that.

Yes because the sole aim of the resistance of persecution and oppression was to kill children or pensioners.

Seriously.

Growing up in an Irish catholic family in England I grew up wanting a united Ireland, which got me into much trouble at school etc.

As I've got older I realise that what Ireland needs is not to be united, as most of the nordies want to stay British for whatever reason, and with the prejudices i have encountered from many of them I'd rather they were neither British nor Irish.

What Ireland needs is a separate county or three, or even a country, for all the shinners and all those republicans in the north who want a republic so dearly that they can't be arsed moving 30 miles down the road as it means they'd lose the NHS and their other benefits.

Then the rest of the country could get on with life without all the bull**** sprouted by students etc who have "bobby sands" in their usernames but weren't even born in the 80s and now see themselves as "activists" and then prance around in man united shirts.

Still, at least the IRA bomb in Manchester resulted in us getting a decent city centre at last....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

They main reason I fear Sinn Fein getting into power is down to their policies (Ih have no party allegiance). I have read their manifesto on their website and most of it (especially the economic areas) is absolute nonsense, down right laughable at times. Putting aside their past and involvement with unsavoury characters, their lack of any sort of viable plan when it comes to running an economy should be enough to put any one of voting for them. I live in Louth and Gerry Adams called round to my house to canvas I questioned him about his party's economic plan (at the time, their big line was about rejecting the bailout), I asked him how they would fund the country and his only line (and I repeatedly picked him up on this) was "the national pension reserve". That was it. He had not one other suggestion, the rest of the time he just spouted the usual populist stuff that we hear every day from his party and the United Left at which point I stopped listening and he soon went away. That's why I hope they never get into power.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

Growing up in an Irish catholic family in England I grew up wanting a united Ireland, which got me into much trouble at school etc.

As I've got older I realise that what Ireland needs is not to be united, as most of the nordies want to stay British for whatever reason, and with the prejudices i have encountered from many of them I'd rather they were neither British nor Irish.

What Ireland needs is a separate county or three, or even a country, for all the shinners and all those republicans in the north who want a republic so dearly that they can't be arsed moving 30 miles down the road as it means they'd lose the NHS and their other benefits.

Then the rest of the country could get on with life without all the bull**** sprouted by students etc who have "bobby sands" in their usernames but weren't even born in the 80s and now see themselves as "activists" and then prance around in man united shirts.

Still, at least the IRA bomb in Manchester resulted in us getting a decent city centre at last....

Ethnic cleansing. Good idea. Sounds exactly like something Paisley would say would have said before he had a chance to work with Sinn Fein and develop respect for the nationalist community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Yeah, cos FF and FG with their rampant corruption and the way they sent off all those kids to be raped and tortured by the scum in the RC church are way classier. :rolleyes:
    The above doesn't in any way mitigate what the IRA did, nor did that poster praise FF/FG.
    What was done to Catholics was super disgusting and there was bound to be retaliation, but it went miles and miles too far.
    I actually agree with a lot of SF policies though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

lol, Sinn "we have no answers" Fein. If people think this country is fúcked now then they're in for a nasty surprise if those shower of **** ever got into power.

prejudices

Delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

pconn062 wrote: »
    They main reason I fear Sinn Fein getting into power is down to their policies (Ih have no party allegiance). I have read their manifesto on their website and most of it (especially the economic areas) is absolute nonsense, down right laughable at times. Putting aside their past and involvement with unsavoury characters, their lack of any sort of viable plan when it comes to running an economy should be enough to put any one of voting for them. I live in Louth and Gerry Adams called round to my house to canvas I questioned him about his party's economic plan (at the time, their big line was about rejecting the bailout), I asked him how they would fund the country and his only line (and I repeatedly picked him up on this) was "the national pension reserve". That was it. He had not one other suggestion, the rest of the time he just spouted the usual populist stuff that we hear every day from his party and the United Left at which point I stopped listening and he soon went away. That's why I hope they never get into power.

But the shower we have are just borrowing money without tackling the disgraceful waste we have we need pain big time to get out of this Shoite.

lol, Sinn "we have no answers" Fein. If people think this country is fúcked now then they're in for a nasty surprise if those shower of **** ever got into power.

I bet you're prepared to give a frank and fair reason as to why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Fair enough but I never hear any realistic solutions from them, just that their against every single thing that the governement are doing, seemingly because it's the government doing it. They are the classic opposition party with nothing to offer but loud noises.

Oh yeah, I think they'd be awful in government but they might polarise the Irish political spectrum and so we might then have a choice more appealing that which line of insipid bullshit is slightly less offensive(and nobody could be more insipid and inoffensive than Kenny)

forfuxsake wrote: »

Ethnic cleansing. Good idea. Sounds exactly like something Paisley would say would have said before he had a chance to work with Sinn Fein and develop respect for the nationalist community.

Not ethnic cleansing at all. If I lived in a country where I was in a minority in wanting a particular set of rights/government/anything fcuking else I'd leave. Especially if what i wanted was available a short drive away.

Bollocks to all this about being driven out of your home, if you don't like somewhere, move!

The British govt were absolute twats to Catholics in the north for years. The clever ones left, the rest fought for "freedom". Guess which ones had the better lives?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Yes, because they're clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Hootanany wrote: »
    But the shower we have are just borrowing money without tackling the disgraceful waste we have we need pain big time to get out of this Shoite.

True, but how is SF's "austerity is not working" cry going to fix this if they get into power?

In what way?

Economically - they literally have no idea as to how they'd fund the country if they were in charge. They scream and shout against borrowing from the EU and IMF, they insist that our meagre pension reserves will be enough to fund the country indefinately, and yet they're against every single cut the government make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

pconn062 wrote: »
    True, but how is SF's "austerity is not working" cry going to fix this if they get into power?

I for one voted this shower in on there promises we got BUTT FXXD
    Let SF have a go cant be any worse can it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Economically - they literally have no idea as to how they'd fund the country if they were in charge.

Don't worry, any of us not on social welfare will be taxed to fúck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Can't get more frank than that!

Economically - they literally have no idea as to how they'd fund the country if they were in charge. They scream and shout against borrowing from the EU and IMF, they insist that our meagre pension reserves will be enough to fund the country indefinately, and yet they're against every single cut the government make.

Have you actually read their economic policies?

Bollocks to all this about being driven out of your home, if you don't like somewhere, move!

Is that what your parents did?

And you have the neck to come on here!You worry about your own country and we'll worry about ours.

And finally, are you going to answer my question, who did Sinn Fein bomb in the south??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Anyway back to the OP.

Personally I am more annoyed by Fine Gael. I really don't care what Tony Ward or Sean Boylan thinks about the treaty.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/181300_10150911338593211_2007980746_n.jpg

gerryo777 wrote: »

And you have the neck to come on here!You worry about your own country and we'll worry about ours.

And finally, are you going to answer my question, who did Sinn Fein bomb in the south??

Yep my family moved to England to get away from it. Grandfather from enniskillen, grandmother from Westport, both catholic, both had enough and left. Simple really. As a result they gave their family opportunities they wouldn't have had in the north in the late 60s.

And it wasn't me who mentioned bombing in the south, was another poster.

Mountbatten.

Sinn Fein?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Agricola wrote: »
    Well you either have big business parties like FF and FG scaremongering the population into believing we will all die in the ditch if we dont give "confidence" to the investors, or you have SF spouting populist leftie crap about how the elites all hellbent on crippling the country. Parties appeal to their respective demographics with their respective brand of bullshít
    *Bows* Pretty much the nail on the head.
    That's my issue with them too. If the devil himself was offering real solutions not daft "I've just been to the freshers ball and have an opinion" type economics I'd vote for him. My issue with Sinn Fein is bugger all to do with their past.
    Their economic policies are beyond daft. Ideas from the nuttier end of socialist thinking and as is typical of that kinda thinking they're great at spending money without a bulls notion how to make money in the first place*. Low taxes for "the working man"(so long as he is well under what they consider moral) high social spending, but who's gonna write the cheques for all this? Ehhhh Tax the RICH!!!! Burn the bondholders!!! Tell the IMF to fcuk off!! Bastards!!!.

*Nuttier rightwingers/libertarians are the opposite, great at raising money, crap at spending it or at least hate to do so. Hence I prefer the middle ground.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Sinn Fein?
    Who else?

Mountbatten.

Sinn Fein?

Political arm of the provisional
    IRA. So yes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yes.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

My mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

smash wrote: »
    Consistently they seem to target their propaganda at the weak and/or uneducated. I remember during the Lisbon treaty they had a billboard in Tallaght stating "remember 1916", which had sweet fck all to do with anything.

Today I saw the following sign and it really annoyed me because it seems that a lot of educated people seem to be swinging in the Sinn Fein direction using the excuse of 'there's nobody better'. But ffs, talk about bullshít campaigning!

I really hope these tools never get into power.

SF are just appealing to their voter base (Potential Voter base). Sadly they are no different to FF, FG etc Who aim their crap at their Potential voters.

They represent people on the dole and the "tougher" parts of Ireland and "Dublin"

Why would they do anything different?

SF "Hi Rich People, We'd like to take loads of money off you but not cut welfare" will not appeal to rich people but does to their potential voters.

FG " Hi rich people and you lot who thing you know sh1t cos you are middle classes, we have just taken over from FF and remain calm, you guys will be looked after, as will your interests" appeals to their voter base.

It is not rocket science.

Didn't bother reading past the first post so sorry if this has been said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Anyway back to the OP.

Personally I am more annoyed by Fine Gael. I really don't care what Tony Ward or Sean Boylan thinks about the treaty.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/181300_10150911338593211_2007980746_n.jpg

As Sinn Fein didn't do that, its judged by a different set of standards. For some reason.

I have indeed and I'd encourage everyone to do likewise http://www.sinnfein.ie/economy . It's absolute pie in the sky nonsense. No-one's going to lose their jobs, they're be no cuts, no tax-increases, they'll take back the banker's bonuses and we'll all be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭hungrypig

smash wrote: »
    Consistently they seem to target their propaganda at the weak and/or uneducated. I remember during the Lisbon treaty they had a billboard in Tallaght stating "remember 1916", which had sweet fck all to do with anything.

Today I saw the following sign and it really annoyed me because it seems that a lot of educated people seem to be swinging in the Sinn Fein direction using the excuse of 'there's nobody better'. But ffs, talk about bullshít campaigning!

I really hope these tools never get into power.

imagine that, a political organisation acknowledging that not everyone is educated to the same level and reaching out to them. its a pity some of the other parties are not inclusive of all the population and not just those with an insight into treaties and legislation.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ehhhh Tax the RICH!!!! Burn the bondholders!!! Tell the IMF to fcuk off!! Bastards!!!.

*Nuttier rightwingers/libertarians are the opposite, great at raising money, crap at spending it or at least hate to do so. Hence I prefer the middle ground.

Ok, so I have not heard nor seen any of this in their economic policies.

Try again.

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭hungrypig

Yep my family moved to England to get away from it. Grandfather from enniskillen, grandmother from Westport, both catholic, both had enough and left. Simple really. As a result they gave their family opportunities they wouldn't have had in the north in the late 60s.

well my grandparents were burnt out of their homes in belfast by brittish backed 'loyalists'. they then became refugees in dublin and for a long time, catholics from the 6 counties represented the largest refugee population in the south

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

good or bad, they'll milk this for all its worth, they'll just love for this to be a hot topic on liveline or the like.. anything to get free publicity.....just by having this thread is a boost for them,

best to ignore them me thinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm not a fan of SF but admit it... threads like this make you wet yourself with excitement eh? ;)

Not excitement, just stress, so you will be glad to hear I am going to keep out of this one.

enjoy - bye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I have indeed and I'd encourage everyone to do likewise http://www.sinnfein.ie/economy . It's absolute pie in the sky nonsense. No-one's going to lose their jobs, they're be no cuts, no tax-increases, they'll take back the banker's bonuses and we'll all be grand.

And it won't matter what the state of the global economy is, once you vote us in, everything will be fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

hungrypig wrote: »
    imagine that, a political organisation acknowledging that not everyone is educated to the same level and reaching out to them.
    For yourself and others that have made this point, did you miss this sentence?

"it seems that a lot of educated people seem to be swinging in the Sinn Fein direction using the excuse of 'there's nobody better'."

Ok, so I have not heard nor seen any of this in their economic policies.

Try again.
    I will. By wondering if your suggestion to others was something you didn't do yourself? Have you read their economic policies?

Burn the bondholders

Tax the rich

Tell the IMF to fcuk off

You try again.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Protestant behind enemy lines

I won't be voting for Sinn Fein. I think everyone should reject this party which represents everything wrong with modern politics and religion. Hopefully they meet their maker and are punished for the evil deeds they have done on this Island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,527 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Dudess wrote: »
    They've got their right-on, "we love the gays" thing going on too. :)

They love them, but not in a gay way or anything.

I won't be voting for Sinn Fein. I think everyone should reject this party which represents everything wrong with modern politics and religion. Hopefully they meet their maker and are punished for the evil deeds they have done on this Island.
    Usernames like that make me :mad: