Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chase: 6.2 miles in 35 minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

I'm not well. Perfect timing:mad: I've had the worst sore throat of my life develop over the last couple of days. Drinking tea this morning felt like I was trying to swallow a hedge-hog. I jogged into work this morning but I really didnt have much energy, I was struggling to hold 8m/m. Plenty of rest on the cards tonight (after my jog home) and tomorrow, so hopefully I'll be back to normal come Sunday. Fingers feckin crossed!

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

Play it cool man, don't fret, take lots of rest and review how you feel tomorrow afternoon. If you think it's not much more than your mind playing tricks on you with a few sniffles, then just have confidence in your level of fitness and you will blast it. If you feel it is something more, then there are lots of 10k races around, and better to run another race in top form than bomb on Sunday and spend a month getting your confidence back!
    Good luck with it!

and?????

wrstan wrote: »
    and?????
    Ah man.... This was a bit of a disaster. Well, some stuff went well but I didnt get the opportunity to give goal pace a proper go. I'll write up a full race report later tonight.

Look forward to reading it. Just remember though there's nothing worth beating yourself up over! :D

Peak: Week 17

Mon, 10 Sep - Rest Day

Tue, 11 Sep - Mixed Intervals including: included 2k @ 6:15m/m, 1 mile @ 5:37m/m, 2x400m @ 5m/m, and a 200m sprint (:33).

Wed, 12 Sep - 8m in/out of work @ base pace

Thu, 13 Sep - Long Intervals. 1m warm-up, 2m @ race pace, 1m warm-down.

Fri, 14 Sep - 8m in/out of work @ base pace

Sat, 15 Sep - Rest Day

Sun, 16 Sep - Great Pink 10k
    I wasnt feeling well in the days leading up to this race but was feeling good on race day so I wanted to give this a really good go and see where all this training has left me. We got there in plenty of time before the race, I jumped in the ridiculously long Q to reg while my girlfriend used one of EIGHT portaloo's provided for three thousand people:mad: By the time I got reg'd I only had about 10 minutes to do a warm-up (only managed half a mile) before I fought my way through the crowd towards the front. I shouldnt have bothered because the start was delayed by 20 minutes making my meager warm-up pointless :(. When we were finally let away I shot out and around the crowd and found myself leading in the first 50 metres. I took a right turn to head west along the liffey and I was met with a ferocious head wind. Immediately I knew that getting near my goal pace was going to be a struggle but I leaned forward and battled on. This part of the race was pretty surreal tbh, it was just me and a moto-garda for the first mile or so, I was hoping for someone faster than me to be ahead so I could keep an eye on him. I knew I had to run this windy section twice ( nearly 2m in all) so I wasnt too confident of setting a good time. After about 3k I began to hear footsteps behind me. About 4k in I was over-taken but I matched him for pace. As we were heading towards the turnaround point he started to accelerate, I sped up too but then I figured out that he must be doing the 5k so I left him to it. I passed 5k in 18:02 so if I matched that in the second half I was on for a decent time. But this is where the race got ridiculous.... At the turnaround point I fought into the headwind alone (my garda escort pulled over at 5k). Heading towards Samuel Beckett bridge I could see a stream of runners crossing the road and I had to run through them!! I shouted at a marshal and asked him was I going the right way - he just shrugged :( As I made my way through the stream of runners I shouted at a garda and asked him was I heading in the right direction - he said "ehh.. yeah, I reckon so... sure you're flying anyway dont worry!":mad: I was getting pretty pissed off at this point but eventually I saw a route marker which was a relief. At about 7k in I could see that I was catching the walkers/buggy-pushers/dog walkers in the race. I didnt think it would slow me down too much but the crowds got too thick and I was weave my way through it was impossible to keep any kind of steady pace and I knew a decent time was slipping from my grasp. The crowds were ridiculous in the last mile, both lanes of North Wall Quay were jam packed with people - I bumped into a fair few people as I was ducking and diving through the crowds. There was finally a bit of clearing in the last meters and I crossed the line in 37:17.

So this race was a major let down for me. I had hoped to run significantly faster but with the wind, poor marshaling and having to pick my way through throngs of back-markers it was never going to happen. I'm pretty pissed off with myself for even entertaining the idea of doing this race. I should have known better that a 2-lap fun run was going to have some major disadvantages. Looking at the positives 37:17 is a new PB and another step on the road towards 35:00. Oh, did I mention I won the race??:cool:

Total running: 35.52

So this is the end of my 10k training cycle. I have to say that I feel like I've come on leaps and bounds strength and fitness wise but I'm disappointed I wasnt able to set a bigger PB at the end of the training program. I know I'm able to run faster than I did in my last race, but it didnt come together in the end. I enjoyed all the training though and feel like I have a great base now to go on and get a lot better. Work is going to be busy for the next couple of weeks so I'm going to just keep up base-pace running and leave the intervals for a while. After that I'm going to have to start looking for a new training plan. Any suggestions welcome. Ideally I'd like to join a club but where I'm living/work/other commitments would make it hard to join one. I'm considering talking to the Champions Everywhere guys, that way I could get some proper coaching but I could still train whenever suits.

Ah man.... This was a bit of a disaster.

FFS DSS You won the race!!! leading from start to finish! Major congratulations! That's a feckin brilliant result, one that most people would hardly dare dream of. I bet you wouldn't have dreamed of it when you started out this cycle. Really well done! :cool:

Sounds like you should forget about the challenges that were outside of your control, and spend some time basking in the glory of topping the podium. So you didn't hit the target time, but for sure there were mitigating circumstances (poor marshalling, crowded course, adverse weather, bugs and diseases ...) - dodging crowds is a real time sapper!

I fully agree that these fun/charity/lifestyle type runs are rarely if ever the place to go target time hunting, but 37:17 is still a savage time.

I'd be interested to see what you do next, for sure it sounds there is another good chunk to come off that PB at the right event and in the right conditions. So I guess the question is whether you try to find that event in the next 6 - 10 weeks and extend your training cycle, or take some time out and then start another cycle.

Reading your log there is no doubt you've come on in leaps and bounds. What's been really impressive is that you've achieved that training solo and that's no mean feat. For sure joining a club and finding some fellow runners at your level to share a session with and to hold yourself accountable to, combined with some experienced coaching input into your programme would bring you on even further.

My summary of this cycle: huge progress behind you and lots more ahead of you!

Take it EZ man and really well done again!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Great run and result DSS and great to get a win. Shame about the race organisation but you get that a lot with charity races, they are usually only concerned with collecting money for the cause as opposed to actually providing a quality event for the runner. You are going much better than myself so I'm probably in no position to be giving you advice but I would recommend a few things.
    If you can find a good club organised 10k any time soon I would jump into it because with a better course and a good strong field you would get dragged to a much better time, at least sub 37 as it seems like you have more to give over the distance. I would also recommend joining a club if possible, it's the single biggest thing that has had an impact on my training, just doing sessions with guys who are better than me. Really enjoyed the log and look forward to seeing what you tackle in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Well done on the win. Those charity/fun runs, for the most part, are to be avoided like that black death itself. That race sounded like a complete mess. You're better off sticking to club races. Raheny 5mile in january is top class, as is dunshaughlin 10k, bohermeen 5k, ballycotton 10mile and a few others I cant think of right now. If you're looking to have a bash at another 10k then I'd target the national 10k(road)in april, or if you're looking for a time, dunshaughlin in june. Daniels 5-15k plan is the buachaill. If you're targeting national 10k you'd have to start in november as its a 24 week plan(including 6 weeks of base building).

wrstan wrote: »
    FFS DSS You won the race!!! leading from start to finish! Major congratulations! That's a feckin brilliant result, one that most people would hardly dare dream of. I bet you wouldn't have dreamed of it when you started out this cycle. Really well done! :cool:

Cheers man, I'm trying to look at the positives and enjoy the fact that I won now. I was pretty bummed before about it though. Just annoyed with myself for choosing that race to be the end-point of my training cycle, it kinda tarnished the previous 16 weeks of hard work I'd put in. But I suppose I said in post #1 that I would be happy if I set a big PB and I've taken 1:30 off my 10k time so far. And I am happy with that. But I know that if I went out tomorrow and ran a 10k I could do it in 36:XX. So I'm a little disappointed that I didnt run a time that all my training deserved. Ah well, I'll get there someday! ;)

pconn062 wrote: »
    Great run and result DSS and great to get a win. Shame about the race organisation but you get that a lot with charity races, they are usually only concerned with collecting money for the cause as opposed to actually providing a quality event for the runner. You are going much better than myself so I'm probably in no position to be giving you advice but I would recommend a few things.
    If you can find a good club organised 10k any time soon I would jump into it because with a better course and a good strong field you would get dragged to a much better time, at least sub 37 as it seems like you have more to give over the distance. I would also recommend joining a club if possible, it's the single biggest thing that has had an impact on my training, just doing sessions with guys who are better than me. Really enjoyed the log and look forward to seeing what you tackle in the future.

Thanks for the advice pconn, it seems a club is definitely the way to go. I'll be looking into it over the next few weeks. The closest clubs to me all seem a bit 'fun-runner-y' though (:p) so I might have a bit of travelling to do!

Edit: Actually, just did a quick search there and Dundrum AC train in Cabinteely park on Sundays so might head up to them a see what they get up to.

tunguska wrote: »
    Well done on the win. Those charity/fun runs, for the most part, are to be avoided like that black death itself. That race sounded like a complete mess. You're better off sticking to club races. Raheny 5mile in january is top class, as is dunshaughlin 10k, bohermeen 5k, ballycotton 10mile and a few others I cant think of right now. If you're looking to have a bash at another 10k then I'd target the national 10k(road)in april, or if you're looking for a time, dunshaughlin in june. Daniels 5-15k plan is the buachaill. If you're targeting national 10k you'd have to start in november as its a 24 week plan(including 6 weeks of base building).

Cheers tunguska, those races are a long way away! Kinda itching to get this monkey off my back as soon as I can! :D Both you and cwgatling have recommended Daniels 5-15k plan so if thats the program you speed demons are following I better get the finger out and buy a copy!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Well done on the win and forget about the time(still a pb though)
    If you get into a better quality field and pace yourself right you will take chunks of your pb.
    Try not to put too much focus on time when racing !!!
    The times will coem with good racing if the training is done.

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭cwgatling

Well done on the race win and PB, DSS. Keep building, you're doing great workouts and are definitely in 36 min shape, with a decent race (which that last one wasn't).

Mon, 17 to Fri, 21 Sep - total of 31.5 miles to and from work.

Sat, 22 Sep - Rest Day

Sun, 23 Sep - 10k Time trial

After feeling cheated out of a good time in my last race I felt I owed it to myself to see where the last 17 weeks of running have brought me. It might have come across that I wasnt happy winning the race, I was happy, but I would have been happier if I'd have finished 50th but ran a time closer to what I think I am capable of. So I decided to do a 10k TT to see where I'm at.

I tried to make this as much like a race as I could. I got plenty of rest the day/night before, I set a strict start-time, and had my usual pre-race breakie of porridge and jam, b-vits, lucozade and coffee. The only thing was I didnt taper as much as I would have liked, but anyway. Also, I didnt have the pre-race adrenaline rush that ya usually get but sure what can ya do :cool:

I picked a 2mile loop around my local park. It has a couple of minor bumps along the way (116ft of elev gain for 10k). I did my usual 2 mile warmup and a couple of strides. I noticed that there was a strong headwind along one of the longer straight sections (about .75m long) which I wasnt too excited to run into 3 times :(. I set off at 12 and got into goal 10k pace. Nothing much to report about the first mile, I was feeling strong and fresh. Time: 5:32. Mile 2 is where the fun began as I was running directly into the head wind for the first time. It definitely had an affect on my pace. Time: 5:47. Started mile 3 thinking 'this is grand, only two more laps' but I should have been keeping a closer eye on my pace. Time: 5:47. Mile 4 brought more wind. Time: 6:04. At the start of mile 5 I was breathing hard but I felt in control. Probably could have pushed harder. Time: 5:59. Mile 6 was hard, I was gasping but fought through the headwind. Time: 6:02. Feckin' LEGGED it for the final .22 Time: 1:11.

Hit the watch and saw 36:28 staring back at me and was chuffed with that once I stopped seeing stars! :) So its an unofficial PB. I took 50 seconds off my previous best time for 10k. Link here. I know the garmin isnt 100% accurate but its a good indication of what I'm capable of running. So, since I started this training program I've taken over 2 minutes off my 10k PB. Only another 90 seconds to go!!!

Total Running: 41.89
    Weight: 131.6lbs

Its quarter-end so work was mad busy this week. No time for sessions so just ran to and from work on Monday to Friday. 40miles in total. Had a look at the race calendar and there doesn't seem to be another 10k for a long while. Well, the aware 10k is in December but I'm steering clear of 2-lap charity runs for the foreseeable! I signed up for hell and back with a mate just for the fun of it. Dont really know what to be doing with myself running-wise these days. Part of me wants to try something a bit different like the Clonakilty marathon in December, and then get back to faster stuff in Jan and Feb. The marathon is 10 weeks away so not loads of time to train properly but I've been hitting ~50 miles a week for the last 16 weeks, so its not like I'll be starting from scratch:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Just came across here after your post in the Clon Marathon thread.
    "The marathon is 10 weeks away so not loads of time to train properly but I've been hitting ~50 miles a week for the last 16 weeks, so its not like I'll be starting from scratch"
    I've not had a chance to go back through your thread yet but based on that statement alone I'd say to definitely give Clon a go if you are thinking about it. It will give you a great base for the New Year and you have a lot of miles already in your legs so I'm guessing all you have to do is add in longer runs and a few hills but I'll revert when I've read a bit more of your background.

Thanks for that. I'll start adding a longer Sunday run from now on and make a decision about it in 3 weeks or so. Theres a lot to think about before I make my mind up, accomodation, travelling to/from Cork, time off work etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Part of me wants to try something a bit different like the Clonakilty marathon in December, and then get back to faster stuff in Jan and Feb. The marathon is 10 weeks away so not loads of time to train properly but I've been hitting ~50 miles a week for the last 16 weeks, so its not like I'll be starting from scratch:rolleyes:

Don't do it man, don't go to the dark side!! :pac: Seriously though another option if you are looking for something different to do would be to consider some X-country races, the BHAA races are starting this month and run the whole way to March, great cheap races. The speed you have built up would serve you very well in these. Calender here: http://bhaa.ie/evlist/index.php?op=list

The first one is in less than two weeks, just another option!

Haha thanks for the input man! I havent really given the x-country any thought so far. I prefer to run on grass when I can so it should be something I'll enjoy. I was worried I'd lose what speed I have gained over the last couple of months by doing marathon training, but the plan I have has enough interval sessions in it to keep my 10k race-pace up. Ahhh decisions decisions...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I was worried I'd lose what speed I have gained over the last couple of months by doing marathon training

Marathon training will not kill your speed. Done properly, it will almost certainly make you faster for anything 1500 up because you will simply be much fitter.

Mon 24/9 - Fri 28/9 - Mad busy in work so did all my running on the way to/from work. Picked up a slight injury which was weird as I was just running at base pace :confused: ended up with the balls of my feet/toes really sore and my left foot got quite swollen. I put it down to too much running in my adizero's so switched them out for my lunarglides (way more cushioning). Between the lunarglides and nurofen I think I have it sorted. I must try and switch my runners more often from now on.

Running total: 39.35

Mon, 1 Oct - I missed out on a long run the previous weekend and I'm trying to see if I'm cut out for a marathon so did a long run on Monday. Did 12m around ballybrack, dalkey, DL etc.

Tue, 2 Oct - Short Intervals. Did 4 x 1k @ 5k pace on the track.

Wed, 3 Oct - 8m to/from work @ base pace

Thu, 4 Oct - I wouldnt be able to do a long run at the weekend so I did it on Thursday instead. It was getting dark so instead of planning out a route I just did two big loops of my local parks. I took it really easy to start off with and kept it around 8m/m pace. By 7.5 miles I was bored out of my mind so I popped the pace up to 7m/m for the rest of the run. I felt much more comfortable at the faster pace, I hate slow running! 14m in total.

Fri, 5 Oct - 8m to/from work @ base pace.

Sat, 6 Oct - Rest day

Sun, 7 Oct - Hell & Back
    You cant really write a normal race report for Hell & Back! I knew it was going to be hard but I was surprised how hard I found it :eek: There was a lot more climbing than I was expecting but the obstacles were great craic. Finished in 7th which I was happy with considering I had a heavy enough week. Time 54:35. Legs/arms/back/stomach are all sore after the race, covered in cuts and bruises too! :eek:

Running total: 58.6m

The marathon plan called for a 5miler @ 10k pace, there was no way i was in the mood for that so I decide to do 5x1m @ 10k pace instead. Got down to the park, it was very windy so couldnt get anywhere near 10k pace. I managed 2x1m before I nearly decided to call it a day. I finally grew a pair and headed to the track and did 12x200m sprints in 38-40 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Great stuff going on here. Just catching up on the win! Fair play.

The general wisdom on here seems to suggest you'll get faster after marathon training. I'm planning the opposite, 10k plan over winter after the marathon.

Getting jealous seeing your 10km times
    tumbling down.

Raheny five mile in Jan is a great race.

Cheers bud, I'm enjoying the change of scenery with the marathon training. I think if i stayed focused on the 10k stuff I might get a bit bored with it all, especially with the lack of races over the winter. So its nice to have a bit of variety and keeping my running spicy! You seem to be back on track yourself fair play, how are ya finding the long runs?

Sunday - DLR Community 5k

After s e v e r a l pints the night before I lined up for this one in my local park today. Lovely day for it, but I was pretty hungover and couldnt really get in the mood for a race. That said, I've never done a 5k before so I wanted to see what kind of time I could do it in. I hoped for sub 18 minutes.

After the start I cut my way up through the field and passing all the over-eager young lads and lassies. I settled into 2nd place after about 1k and shadowed the guy in front. I let him lead me around the first of two laps. I was keeping track of my pace and I slowed on the second lap but I told myself I was better off trying to get a win than going at a pace that was too fast for me (I think that was the hangover talking:o). Me and the guy in front started making our way through the walkers and he slowed considerably so I took the front but he latched onto the back of me and we were proper racing now. With about 1k to go he got back in front on a slight downhill and made a break for it. I didnt react quickly enough and let him build a 10 meter lead. I put on a bit of a sprint in the last 500m but I couldnt catch him so finished in 2nd place. The course was a bit long but according to the garmin I passed 5km in 17:25 so glad with that. According to McMillan that should enable me to run a 36:10 10k. Must do another 10k TT in a few weeks to see where I'm at.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Well done man! I ran this myself and was down around 9th or so. I managed to keep an eye on you guys for most of the race - ye looked comfortable enough.
    Tough stuff on 2nd lap having to go round all the walkers so that 5km split is extra impressive!

Thanks a million, good running yourself! The second lap was tricky enough, the poor Garda on his bike was screaming at people to move out of the way. But everybody was chatting amongst themselves so no one really paid any attention to him :rolleyes:. But all in all in was great value for a fiver.

Mon, 8 Oct - 8m to/from work

Tue, 9 Oct - Short Intervals. 5x1k @ 5k pace w/ 2min active recoveries.

Wed, 10 Oct - 8m to/from work

Thu, 11 Oct - Mixed Intervals. 2x1m @ 10k pace and 12 x 200m sprints in 38-40sec w/200m active recoveries.

Fri, 12 Oct - Rest Day

Sat, 13 Oct - DLR Community 5K. Finished 2nd in unofficial PB of 17:25.

Sun, 14 - 16m run @ 7:30m/m average. Ran from my house towards Bray, I just followed the bus route down. Once there I ran along the seafront and headed along the cliff trail for a bit towards Greystones. Took a break at 8m for a quick drink/stretch and headed back the way I came. Good run. Nice mix of scenery and terrain. My longest run to date.

Total Running: 53.88 mi

A decent enough week. I thought my mileage for the week would be higher though... The 5K pace intervals went well, the race and my long run were good fun too. My 10K intervals weren't great though. Really have to stop being such a namby when it comes to running into the wind.

Well done on the 5k DSS, it's been a great year for you!

If you ever fancy introducing a bit of serious hill into that route, there is a great turnaround from the cliff walk that takes you back almost over the top of Bray head :eek: and down the far side of Bray golf course to the end of the Southern Cross. There's some serious climbing in it but it makes for a beautiful vista on a sunny Sunday morning - not that there's likely to be many of those for a few months. I'll try to dig out a GC route and send it to you.