Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda lane correcting on m50 today....funny imo

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Can I ask, what do the people who condone middle or fast lane hogging say about this?

I was coming down the M6 today, quiet enough but I came along this van tipping along in the outside lane at about 110kph as close as I could judge, I was in the inside lane as I should be, and usually I would just say f*** them and tip past them on the inside.

However I decided to move out behind them first and give them a chance to move in out of the way, which they didn't, even after a hoot and a flash of the lights. I went back in, and as I was about to go past they decided to swerve in to that lane, no indicators, almost forcing me off the road. I managed to fall back, went outside them, blasted them with the horn, and pulled in up further to report careless driving, (which I have never done before, however tempted I've been!:rolleyes:)

Question is, who is in the wrong there if there was an accident, I would suggest I would probably get the blame for undertaking, but realistically there would have been no danger whatsoever if they were in the correct lane, or pulled in when I flashed them.

Then I will be berated for being some young lad bombing down the fast lane flashing ("those I think not worthy of being there" I think someone put it)! Whereas I was going about 130kph on the speedo, in or around the speed limit when bias is considered, and was doing nothing wrong!

Sorry, that was a bit of a rant, still raging!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

A simple and relatively cheap solution would be to fix signs over each lane on all overhead gantries and bridges.

DRIVING LANE - OVERTAKING LANE - OVERTAKING LANE (NO HGV's)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Padkir wrote: »
    Can I ask, what do the people who condone middle or fast lane hogging say about this?

I was coming down the M6 today, quiet enough but I came along this van tipping along in the outside lane at about 110kph as close as I could judge, I was in the inside lane as I should be, and usually I would just say f*** them and tip past them on the inside.

However I decided to move out behind them first and give them a chance to move in out of the way, which they didn't, even after a hoot and a flash of the lights. I went back in, and as I was about to go past they decided to swerve in to that lane, no indicators, almost forcing me off the road. I managed to fall back, went outside them, blasted them with the horn, and pulled in up further to report careless driving, (which I have never done before, however tempted I've been!:rolleyes:)

Question is, who is in the wrong there if there was an accident, I would suggest I would probably get the blame for undertaking, but realistically there would have been no danger whatsoever if they were in the correct lane, or pulled in when I flashed them.

Then I will be berated for being some young lad bombing down the fast lane flashing ("those I think not worthy of being there" I think someone put it)! Whereas I was going about 130kph on the speedo, in or around the speed limit when bias is considered, and was doing nothing wrong!

Should be viewed as attempted murder.
    Don't worry, it's just some arsehole acting the cnut, he probably does that all day long.
    I call these people self-appointed road warriors, one can only hope that they will be taken out over the years by the inevitable crashes they will cause.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Question is, who is in the wrong there if there was an accident, I would suggest I would probably get the blame for undertaking

1. You can't prove there were no indicators used by the other driver.
    2. You passed the other car on the left.
    3. You can't prove that the other driver wasn't trying to move left rather than trying to force you off the road.

Legally, I don't think that you have much of a leg to stand on.
    The other driver could equally say that they were mid-manoeuvre when you started undertaking them - you can't prove otherwise.

However, it is likely that a court would find both drivers somewhat liable.

kbannon wrote: »
    1. You can't prove there were no indicators used by the other driver.
    2. You passed the other car on the left.
    3. You can't prove that the other driver wasn't trying to move left rather than trying to force you off the road.

Legally, I don't think that you have much of a leg to stand on.
    The other driver could equally say that they were mid-manoeuvre when you started undertaking them - you can't prove otherwise.

However, it is likely that a court would find both drivers somewhat liable.

That's pretty much what I thought, the annoying thing is that if I wanted to obey the law to it's letter I'd have had to stay behind her until she decided to move in of her own accord!

PS, I don't think she was trying to force me off the road, I think she was just oblivious and ignorant to what was going on around her, not the best way to be when driving on a motorway really! Or else I have some enemies i don't know about...!:p

That's pretty much what I thought, the annoying thing is that if I wanted to obey the law to it's letter I'd have had to stay behind her until she decided to move in of her own accord!`
    Not just behind them but also in the driving lane!
    PS, I don't think she was trying to force me off the road, I think she was just oblivious and ignorant to what was going on around her, not the best way to be when driving on a motorway really! Or else I have some enemies i don't know about...!:p
    Which is one reason why the law against passing on the left is there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Seen a garda car with driver on the mobile phone the other day. Not the best example..

if it was me or you, 80 euros thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

prospect wrote: »
    A simple and relatively cheap solution would be to fix signs over each lane on all overhead gantries and bridges.

DRIVING LANE - OVERTAKING LANE - OVERTAKING LANE (NO HGV's)

Good point....take down those feckin J7 5-7 mins etc....not needed.

Flashing signs with STAY LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

An Irish School of Motoring Corsa hogging the outside lane on the N25 eastbound at Carrigtwohill gave me a tutorial on car distance in his rear view mirror today, when I pulled up to get him - rather ironically - to look in his rear view mirror and get out of my bloody way. He also brake-checked me. I gave up and undertook him, and he sped up and flashed as I pulled back out to overtake someone else. He stayed out there as far as the end of the dual carriageway in Midleton, about 8 clicks down the road.

These are the people /teaching/ these clueless morons to drive. Is it any wonder they're oblivious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

mcwhirter wrote: »
    Seen a garda car with driver on the mobile phone the other day. Not the best example..

AFAIK they are exempted from the particular law regarding using a mobile while driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

mcwhirter wrote: »

special people can talk on their phones ie EMG and other such people why I do not know if you are a cop on the on the phone or if you are a punter on the phone whats the diff ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I've been driving with a dash cam for a good while now, you should get yourself one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Mylow

dahamsta wrote: »
    An Irish School of Motoring Corsa hogging the outside lane on the N25 eastbound at Carrigtwohill gave me a tutorial on car distance in his rear view mirror today, when I pulled up to get him - rather ironically - to look in his rear view mirror and get out of my bloody way. I gave up and undertook him, and he sped up and flashed as I pulled back out to overtake someone else. He stayed out there as far as the end of the dual carriageway in Midleton, about 8 clicks down the road.

These are the people /teaching/ these clueless morons to drive. Is it any wonder they're oblivious?

Saw a similar thing on the M1 all the way from J4 to J9, where he got off motorway....lane 2, straight up the slip way past the junction markers....plus this particular Corsa has a very distinctive driving school body wrap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

duckysauce wrote: »
    you are a cop on the on the phone or if you are a punter on the phone whats the diff ????
    Its as it is with most laws.. A kid straight out of his test has the same laws applied to him as to me, even though ive put up 15 years and around 1million miles incident free..

The law makers know most of us are capable of using the phone while driving or doing over 120kph on the motorway safely, but cant be seen to discriminate.

As for EMS, they probably get the special dispensation due to training and requirement.

I feel your pain, but undertaking makes you the dangerous driver. No point lowering your own driving standards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Why do people always assume that wanting to get past is always about getting somewhere faster? Ever think we might just not want to drive behind these idiots; or god forbid, drive at our own pace?

dahamsta wrote: »
    Why do people always assume that wanting to get past is always about getting somewhere faster? Ever think we might just not want to drive behind these idiots; or god forbid, drive at our own pace?
    Point taken, post edited

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Squ wrote: »
    Its as it is with most laws.. A kid straight out of his test has the same laws applied to him as to me, even though ive put up 15 years and around 1million miles incident free..

The law makers know most of us are capable of using the phone while driving or doing over 120kph on the motorway safely, but cant be seen to discriminate.

As for EMS, they probably get the special dispensation due to training and requirement.

what special training and equipment can you have to say you can drive with a phone and none else can , and please don't say an emergency as you see them sticking their lunch down their gobs on them :confused:

duckysauce wrote: »

what special training and equipment can you have to say you can drive with a phone and none else can , and please don't say an emergency as you see them sticking their lunch down their gobs on them :confused:
    Ive no idea, thats why i said probably.. Must be some reason they are allowed? Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

The problem there is that if they say that all good drivers (5 years/100k miles) can use their phones, a cocky young lad will think sure I'm a better driver than him so I'm well able to use my phone too.

I feel your pain, but undertaking makes you the dangerous driver. No point lowering your own driving standards.

I admit undertaking is dangerous, and that's why I gave her a chance to move in so I could do it properly. The point is, if she hadn't moved in was I supposed to just stay there for the remaining hour journey to Galway 100m back in the left hand lane, therefore blocking the entire motorway for anyone who happened to come up faster behind us?

What is the correct thing to do? And don't anyone give me any self-righteous BS about "just slow down and relax and you'll get there". I had somewhere to be and I was banking on being able to go the limit on the motorway to get there on time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I admit undertaking is dangerous, and that's why I gave her a chance to move in so I could do it properly. The point is, if she hadn't moved in was I supposed to just stay there for the remaining hour journey to Galway 100m back in the left hand lane, therefore blocking the entire motorway for anyone who happened to come up faster behind us?

What is the correct thing to do? And don't anyone give me any self-righteous BS about "just slow down and relax and you'll get there". I had somewhere to be and I was banking on being able to go the limit on the motorway to get there on time.
    I'd pass on the left, but carefully - as you now know, you need an escape route planned in case they pick the wrong moment to change lanes. Give them room, and use the horn to make sure that they know you're there.

Anan1 wrote: »
    I'd pass on the left, but carefully - as you now know, you need an escape route planned in case they pick the wrong moment to change lanes. Give them room, and use the horn to make sure that they know you're there.

Yeah that's pretty much what I do, and what I did! It's just annoying to think if anything went wrong then I'd be the one in the wrong because they can't see what's going on around them!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I totally understand and agree.
    Some people drive in the right hand lane at 80-90 km/h because they know they can block traffic that way and they are arseholes, pure and simple.
    If you patiently wait behind them till they move, you will be stuck there for the entire journey, so nuts to that, I'm not going to.
    It doesn't happen often to me, once or twice a year max on my commute, but those people cause quite a tailback, absolute mayhem and yet they carry on absolutely oblivious to what happens around them.
    Or maybe not, they know what they're doing, it's just that they have problems (I don't know what kind, but I'm sure it's hard to pronounce) and they enjoy bringing a little bit of misery and mayhem to others.
    Because if you carry on in the outside lane at 80 km/h, with the inside lane totally clear of cars and you apparently can't see or hear the flashing, beeping, hand gestures, etc... you have something wrong with you and shouldn't be on the road, actually you should be in care.

I have to say again, this is a very rare occurrence, I don't see it on a daily basis, I often see people in the outside lane for longer than they need to be, but mostly driving near enough the speed limit, no bother there, they all move over eventually, but there are headcases out there.
    Also, beware, not all of them are lunatics. If it's a rental, chances are they're American and just are lost or don't know any better.

I'm just reminded of my old thread on this subject: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055748414

OSI wrote: »
    They were originally allowed due to the limitations of their radio system in the past. So a mobile phone could be used when their radio had no or poor reception. It's also a lot harder to listen in on a mobile phone call, than a radio broadcast.

In saying that, I believe the radio system was upgraded to a proper encrypted system that has much better coverage, so it may well be a case that the exception is overdue a review.

I'm sure they need mobile phones at all times and have to be able to use them on the way, what I find ridiculous is that there isn't some sort of bluetooth handsfree kit set up in the squad cars, which picks it up as soon as they get near it. Have something similar in a truck I drive for my father occasionally, and it's a godsend!

No awkward earpiece or anything, just a mike and a speaker in the cab. I know you still have to dial and stuff but it's still a brilliant piece of kit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

I was driving on the N7 yesterday on the section between baldonnel and the M50 I witness a garda van been driven in a manor the which could only be described as crazy! The van tail gated ever single car in turn in the overtaking lane. The van was less than 2m away for the car in front when it passed me at over 100kph. No blue lights etc....on to indicate an emergency. I was very tempted to report this lunatic but was not sure who to report it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 reverselogic

bonzos wrote: »
    I was driving on the N7 yesterday on the section between baldonnel and the M50 I witness a garda van been driven in a manor the which could only be described as crazy! The van tail gated ever single car in turn in the overtaking lane. The van was less than 2m away for the car in front when it passed me at over 100kph. No blue lights etc....on to indicate an emergency. I was very tempted to report this lunatic but was not sure who to report it to.

Reminds me of one night I was on the m50. Outside lane was moving very slowly and the middle lane jerks were moving even slower; Some prick on a motorbike was tailgating me, I had no intention of moving over until I (and the cars in front of me) had finished overtaking. When he started flashing his lights at me I showed him the middle finger! When I saw the blue flashing lights I moved right over :D

I've heard before that the usage of the siren is logged and has to be explained later or something.. (Maybe somebody can confirm this?) In your case they were probably just on their way home, rather than pursuing criminals. :)

Reminds me of one night I was on the m50. Outside lane was moving very slowly and the middle lane jerks were moving even slower; Some prick on a motorbike was tailgating me, I had no intention of moving over until I (and the cars in front of me) had finished overtaking. When he started flashing his lights at me I showed him the middle finger! When I saw the blue flashing lights I moved right over :D
    How did you manage to move over when you were overtaking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 reverselogic

Anan1 wrote: »
    How did you manage to move over when you were overtaking?

Into a small gap between two other cars. As I said both lanes were moving slowly, probably a 5km per hour difference between the two. Yes, I would have been tailgating after the maneuver.

I'll take your word for it.. ;)