Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Who should represent Ireland Eurovision 2013?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

sheesh wrote: »
    they would be great !

Would the Europeans get it though? Hell I'm Irish and I don't get them. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Is it true that Sweden are in the EU but have their own Krona currency ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Dance to Tipperary fields of athenry remix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Jammy Donut

sheesh wrote: »
    they would be great !

Would the Europeans get it though? Hell I'm Irish and I don't get them. :pac:

If they were given a proper act and song..... That people could relate to.. Call it Debt Crisis or something and really go for it, we would have a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,348 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Is it true that Sweden are in the EU but have their own Krona currency ?

Yes its true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Great I can imagine Sweden is like the UK then .............own currency , possible double dip recession but nothing to worry about .

They look after their own and not worried about the Euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

If they were given a proper act and song..... That people could relate to.. Call it Debt Crisis or something and really go for it, we would have a shot.

notta bad idea kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭rednik

Ardal O' Hanlon.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

How about Ming, the surviving Dubliners and Mary Coughlan?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Shane MacGowan and that christmas song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Shane MacGowan and that christmas song.

They'll have to dig up Kirsty Maccoll first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

They'll have to dig up Kirsty Maccoll first.

Nah, someone else can replace her.
    I'll do it sure.
    Be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

woodoo wrote: »
    Get Brian Cowan loaded up on Guinness and send him over to belt one out.

He actually has a bit of a voice on him. Pity he didn't use it to tell the bankers to get to fcuk.

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

It has to be Ronan Keating next year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

sgb wrote: »
    It has to be Ronan Keating next year

Unfortunately for Ronan, they need someone to sing but then again half of the Euro's can't sing :P

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,592 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Have a guy in a suit, sitting on the edge of a bed, crying, with pants down around his ankles and his flaccid lad in his hand. All the EU leaders can relate to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mosi

Tom the junkie!

• Registered Users Posts: 5 tracie2000

They should have auditions for it I'd love to try and represent my country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Johro wrote: »
    Nobody. The whole thing is ridiculous and a waste of time and money. I don't know why people still bother. It's pure shite.

This. Why do people give such a crap about a song contest?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

No one, there is just nobody there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

KKkitty wrote: »
    Absolutely no one. We should give up sending anyone to it. Neighbouring countries voting for each other has it ruined.

In fairenss, the best song one and the Russians were always going to come somewhere (pun not intended).

Who should we send? Serious answer - Jedward, if then can tone it down a bit (what the **** was all that mistimed jumping??). Or if someone els can do the cheorography: compare that to the matial arts stuff in the Swedish entry.

Non-serious answer? Bosco.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

The singing priests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

mikemac1 wrote: »
    This isn't new, it always went on!

The UK almost always give us douze points

We hardly ever return the favour though :P
    They can keep Graham Norton as long as they always send over the douze points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭mhairesa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭MrMojoRisin

They should send Dancing Dave, Cork's finest dancer:

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭blowtorch

Luan Parle? Wallis Bird ? Two singer-songwriters, well up to the mark.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It would be funny just to keep send Les Enfants Terribles.

I reckon I know how to win it anyway, if we want to actually win it, somebody from eurovison ireland pm me and I'll win it for you for a reasonable fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭yellowtrout

Not that it matters because it's all block voting, but send someone who has a catchy song..like the winner's song last night.
    None of this Irish folky trad music-it's a gimmick.
    I don't really care who we send, just send someone who can belt out a nice lively number and leave the fiddles and bodhrans at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Some people will pull out of an old folks home it worked well for Russia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Niles wrote: »

Nul point. Not even from the UK!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Fester and Ailin'. I hear they need a few bob now that the Revenue expects them to pay tax (what a grotesque idea; Bono doesn't!). :rolleyes:

They're a bit corny, but their style is distinctively Irish.:D

And, unlike the two grimy boys, they can hold a note.:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ibQHZGlirI

BTW, did you hear what happened to the stone outside Dan Murphy's Door?
    Bord Failte put another one beside it and made a bollocks of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Sound of system breakdown!

It should be open auditions and we should pick something different jedward where awful there other song for euro vision was good but this was awful

Sweden was amazing so glad they won love that song euphoria!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Crystal swing.

tracie2000 wrote: »
    It should be open auditions and we should pick something different jedward where awful there other song for euro vision was good but this was awful

The problem theer is that Jedward ARE the spawn of open auditions!

That said, get the right bloody song in there and you can pick just abotu anyone to win it. The last four or five winners have been just regualr performers, no gimmicks, just singing damn good songs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Bree Olson , can't find anything of her singing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

They should send Dancing Dave, Cork's finest dancer:

Love it lol

Gives a whole new meaning to "party for one"

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    tracie2000 wrote: »

The problem theer is that Jedward ARE the spawn of open auditions!

That said, get the right bloody song in there and you can pick just abotu anyone to win it. The last four or five winners have been just regualr performers, no gimmicks, just singing damn good songs.

That's completely true, people are saying get joe Dolan, crystal swing for gods sake people what's wrong with ye this is why we are losing!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Mick "The Bull" Daly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭blingrhino

Joe Dolan :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭supernova84

blingrhino wrote: »
    Joe Dolan :P

Be hard to pull that off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

mary harney, just send herself she could do a duet

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

phil coulter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Craig Doyle, the muppet is everywhere these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

the cranberries

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Take a few years off to reaccess our position and then try and make a return. We were badly embarrassed by that pair and Marty Whelan last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

KKkitty wrote: »
    Absolutely no one. We should give up sending anyone to it. Neighbouring countries voting for each other has it ruined.

This is such a load of whiney nonsense.

The best song won last night, it got points from every country bar one (Italy).
    We gave the UK their second highest points score (one of only 4 countries to award them points).

Dry your eyes.

I don't know why a lot of Irish people seem to think we should still be winning it every few years. There used to be 12 -18 countries in it, 42 took part this year.

It's a lighthearted entertainment competition, keep the toys in the pram and the chin up ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Take a few years off to reaccess our position and then try and make a return. We were badly embarrassed by that pair and Marty Whelan last night.

What are you on about? The only people who heard head nor tail of Marty Whelan were people watching on RTE.

Do you think he was broadcasting to every country in Europe?