Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

euro 2012 how safe will it be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Pdfile wrote: »
    I was just watching BBC1 Panorama about Euro 2012 and how safe will it be for fans who will be travelling, some serious stuff on it which only happened lately,
    racism and violence at a peak, tis not somewhere I would like to be going right now, most if not all games showing Polish fans giving the seig heil shout with the right arm straight salute, it shows a group of Indian students at a game in the family section supporting the local team receiving a beating from the local fans,
    so how many of you guys going over? will shin pads be enough protection.
    poland is safe providing you know which swear words are acceptable and ones aren't... you notice how many poles speak fluent english but won't to you etc etc. ukraine is f***ing nuts.... seriosuly... they hate russia but are just like them... Travellers beware.

There will be bigger numbers of hools in Poland but the Ukrainian ones are a lot more vicious and violent.... Mad is an understatement lol....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

From wiki:

"2000 onward

Even though the Polish government tried to erase hooliganism, incidents were still common in Polish stadiums. However, like hooligans in Western Europe, Polish firms now pre-arrange their fights, which in Poland are known as ustawka, and are mainly fought in meadows, rural terains, far from city centers and cops. In December 2005 a huge organised fight took place in a forest outside Frankfurt between Polish and German hooligans. Although the fight was broken up by German police, it was feared that the fight was a warm up for more fights during the World Cup which was to be held in Germany the next year."

Sure let them at it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

You can say it was sensationalism, but the footage they shot at the game spoke for itself. The attack on those young Indians sitting in the family section, by "fans" from their own side, was one of the more shocking things I've ever seen caught on camera - I thought they were going to be killed.

The reporter was standing in the stand when a large brawl broke out about 2 feet behind him with fists and feet meeting heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Oh; yeah they got some hardcore hooligans. Completely pwn'd northern Ireland when they went there n they are whiter than white / thugger than thug anyhow

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

italodisco wrote: »
    Why woud u not take the word of someone who lived there, who knew foreign students that were attacked for being Arab etc.... I love the country, I wouldn't go out my way to put it down ... But I have seen the reality and only want to warn people.... And believe me, you don't have to look for trouble .. those lads have spotters out looking for small groups to jump etc... Sure I've known and.still do know guys Involved in that nonsense in Poland ...
    I'm not a keyboard warrior or a fear monger, I just want decent people to be fully aware of the danger tat will be there especially heading home from bars etc.... Don't jump all over me for trying to be decent .

I understand the point your making but I just dont think that there will be that kind of trouble there to be honest. I am sure both Poland and Ukraine does have scumbag issues. A polish lad I used work with showed me slash marks on his shoulders from scrapping when he was younger. i got the impression he liked the scrapping though.

For the Irish games I dont foresee trouble in the grounds. I would imagine irish fans and italians and spanish etc will socialise in city centre areas which will be well policed and with some common sense any nastiness can be avoided touch wood. The same thing was said before the world cup in south africa funnily enough most people made it out alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭To Alcohol

There's world wide attention on these finals. There's not a hope in hell a minority of scumbags will be allowed derail the event. City centre, stadiums and the fan parks will be flooded with police and spotters. Stick to these areas and with a group and no problems.

Lol in fairness it would be fairly handy to have owned those northern IRL fans seen as though half of them getting jumped were over 50 lol .....

In reality though there's some awful hardcore ultras from dutch clubs and.the aul Italians have had some mega scraps at games ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

dirtyden wrote: »
    To an extent I agree with you. The atmosphere in stadiums has improved no end. There is still an undercurrent there though that breaks out every now and again, the west ham milwall cup game a year ago, the rangers fans in manchester last year.

I dont think they are in a position to throw stones and i dont believe there will be any significant trouble in poland or the ukraine. I have embedded a clip of the famous lech poznan fans.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhM41wwh3VI

Note that their youth team lost and they cheered the winning team for 5 mins after. panorama did not show this ill bet.

thats another clip of Lech Poznan fans from Prague.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6k_aYB_0N38

watch this:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

darokane wrote: »
    it'll be grand over there, as long you're not English

They're not exactly fans of the Irish either.

darokane wrote: »
    it'll be grand over there, as long you're not English
    They're not exactly fans of the Irish either.

Thank god someone else knows the score too.... Sure they ain't fans of is here , probably fuming that their women are marrying us mad micks lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I wouldn't be surprised to see some retribution for the way Polish males were/are treated in Ireland by some. I was just Googling Irelands exports earlier and found a random comment completely unrelated to the subject pretty much just to abuse Polish males.

Marcin_diy wrote: »
    thats another clip of Lech Poznan fans from Prague.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6k_aYB_0N38

watch this:-)

They appear to be a pretty passionate lot.

Sure they ain't fans of is here , probably fuming that their women are marrying us mad micks lol

I remember I was ordering a coffee at a mcdonalds about 4am one morning and not one to harrass girls but i must have cracked a smile or something; appreciated the interaction abeit a basic transaction all of a sudden this juiced up nazi.. which is what he looked like bulging out of the Mc Ds gear darted over to pull her aside n tell her off, was well weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

If you are going to the Euros make sure not to wander about dressed as a swan!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Old Tom

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Nazi salutes from the Ukrainians?

Copying the crowd who considered them sub-human?

What's going on

Guess who guarded the concentration camps :)
    All those guys on the watch towers were from Ukraine. Nazis, just like the Italians, Romanians also majority of scandinavians countries. And probably more I couldn't be arsed to read about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

In 2014 we'llall be shot by Rio gangsters.
    Roughly 2 years to the day since the BBC were running programs about how everyone was going to be mugged, kidnapped, raped and neck-tied at the World Cup in South Africa.

Necklaced, surely. Or is neck-tied when they use a bicycle tire?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

And when Ireland hosts it the foreign supporters shall be attacked by skangers in stolen flying saucers :-)

Old Tom wrote: »
    Guess who guarded the concentration camps :)
    All those guys on the watch towers were from Ukraine. Nazis, just like the Italians, Romanians also majority of scandinavians countries. And probably more I couldn't be arsed to read about.

I think you should be arsed to read about it. You might get it right then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

realies wrote: »
    And when Ireland hosts it the foreign supporters shall be attacked by skangers in stolen flying saucers :-)

Nah, they'll have the heads pucked off them by hordes of GAA players spoiling for a fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Louthdrog

Not arsed trawling through the thread but just like to give my opinion on the whole thing so apologies if anything is repeated.

I generally take an interest in the whole ultras/hooligans culture. Actually had pints with members of the Dynamo kiev ultras back in 2008 when Drogheda united played them. They gave us a mini tour of the city, brought us out to the stadium where the final will be played. Some of these guys were hardcore. (I know that sounds a bit fruity but I dont really know how best to describe mad b*stard) They dont have any issue with the Irish at all as suggested above.

Whats shown on these documentaries are generally very very isolated incidents. Kiev must have had at least 3 black players playing against Drogheda, and they didnt receive an ounce of trouble. I actually got a replica jersey with one of the black players name on the back and wore it with the ultras. If 2 or 3 groups in the ukranian leagues are racist nazi's, its a tiny percentage in the grand scheme of things. Something which should definately be stamped out, but considering the popularity of football over there, and the amount of ultras/hooligans, it could be a far bigger problem. Are the english media really forgetting the nazi culture which existed/exists in english football??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Whats the craic with the swans?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Whats the craic with the swans?
    I don't think they like Swansea City supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭mac_iomhair

i foresee english fans getting a right hiding by those ukrainians in a few weeks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

goose2005 wrote: »

Necklaced, surely. Or is neck-tied when they use a bicycle tire?

Think you are right - it even looked wrong as I typed it.

it is important the irish fans out there stick together and look out for one another, as im sure they will. good bunch of fans we have!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I'd say the British tabloids are salivating at the thought of trouble at the Euros so they can compare it with the Olympics which should be a trouble free event.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    I'd say the British tabloids are salivating at the thought of trouble at the Euros so they can compare it with the Olympics which should be a trouble free event.

and if there is trouble they now have somebody to blame other than english fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Patser

I'd say up Irish fans (I'm heading over) will be ok. You have to remember that whatever problems there may be with Polish and Ukrainian fans, we'll be playing neither of those teams. So we shouldn't be meeting big, organised groups of their fans.

On top of that, a fair few reports are saying the Irish will be the biggest travelling supporters. Since we'll mostly be staying in centralised areas like Poznan and Gdansk, the large groups of Irish fans together should provide safety in numbers.

That's not to say some unlucky individuals wont get into drunken rows or beaten up but I can't see any organised, large scale attacks on us

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Nazi salutes from the Ukrainians?

Copying the crowd who considered them sub-human?

What's going on
    Oh boy...

The Poles didn't like the Germans because of the many partitions of Poland between Germany and Russian in the past. Imagine how we would feel if the British had re-invaded in 1939

Ukrainians welcomed the Germans as liberators

At some of the Extermination Camps most of the guards were Ukrainian. Lithuanians were also guards in other camps. And the Yugoslavs had their own Extermination camp. :(

Anyway , usual rules apply

1 - wear a distinctive Irish jersey.
    2 - never, ever take it off or sell to anyone.

The brits, dutch, italian , eastern europeans will be too interested in each other to care about us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,726 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

There's a big difference between hooliganism in local football and international games.

Local hooliganism tends to be a case of history between the two teams and that's why there's killings, just look at Shels v Bohs over here and Rovers etc, there's always fights and what not, and of course the Bohs and Derry scandal.

I haven't heard of much hooliganism in an international match in the past 20 years, apart from maybe Ireland v England in '95.

International games tend to be a lot more family based and more blow-in supporters, as opposed to hardcore local fans looking for trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I'd say a lot of this is hype.

South Africa was said to be uber dangerous, crime infested, female fans will get raped and all this nonsense. And the WC passed off fine. :)

Give the tournament a chance, I'd say it will probably be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gnobe wrote: »
    I'd say a lot of this is hype.

South Africa was said to be uber dangerous, crime infested, female fans will get raped and all this nonsense. And the WC passed off fine. :)

South Africa is notorious for all of those things. Just because certain tourists were better protected by the authorities at particular events; doesn't mean that problems like rape and violent assaults aren't endemic there.

Fcuking hell.. 25% of men once said that they had raped a person.. of that 25%; half admitted to doing so more than once.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/8107039.stm

It's not exactly a paradise like.

But fook it.. the sports event passed off without me being raped/robbed/reprimanded-for-saying how it really is.. anyone that says otherwise is a terrorist.. and more than likely a thieving pedophile with no insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

Irish have nothing to be afraid of inPoland.
    Do you remember atmosphere during the friendly game on croke park few years back?
    it was great, no problems at all.

nobody will chase or rob you cos you boys in green ... come on lads, poland is not a 3rd world country...

of course few of you will be robbed, maybe beaten, thats nothing unusual when you are one of 30.000, drunk, and waving your full wallet in a front of some scumbags. but im sure that vast majority will have just good time :-)

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

There will be no bother at all apart from isolated incidents. Trust me.

Although, Holland v Germany could be an issue, mainly on the Dutch side, but i'm sure this will be a tournament where the football does the talking. Don't listen to the British ****ing media. TBH, why i've even contributed to this thread, I don't know - I like actual FOOTBALL.

Danzig has a lot of beautiful old buildings that could potentially crumble down on yore head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Old Tom

I think you should be arsed to read about it. You might get it right then.
    If the day wasn't that beautiful I'd waste more time for debates with all-knowing, witty people like you sir.

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭Jorah

To an extent I agree with you. The atmosphere in stadiums has improved no end. There is still an undercurrent there though that breaks out every now and again, the west ham milwall cup game a year ago, the rangers fans in manchester last year.

I dont think they are in a position to throw stones and i dont believe there will be any significant trouble in poland or the ukraine. I have embedded a clip of the famous lech poznan fans.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhM41wwh3VI

Note that their youth team lost and they cheered the winning team for 5 mins after. panorama did not show this ill bet.

Have you ever been to a football game in England? There's CCTV on every street corner surrounding the stadium and police on horseback control the crowds with ease.

We're not "throwing stones". We're assessing the potential threat to Black and Asian fans who may be travelling to Ukraine to support England. The fact remains there is a significant danger for fans that aren't white which is why the family of many of our black players won't be going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Oh and Scotland is not a country just yet.

Yes it is. It's not a soverign nation, but it is a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

token101 wrote: »
    They also conveniently gloss over the irony of lambasting Ukraine and Poland for their take on racism, as John Terry has had his racism trial delayed to avoid being jailed for the tournament.

You can't get jailed for the crime that Terry is being prosecuted over. It's a £250 fine maximum penalty, I believe.

Nice joke though.

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭Mairzydoats

I think if we're sensible then we should be ok.
    Of course, it's all well and good saying that before we've spent the day drinking cans of strong Polish lager in the sun...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭Mairzydoats

I'm going to go out on a limb here and predict that I will probably see more fighting between Irish people in the campsites in Poznan and Gdansk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Why woud u not take the word of someone who lived there, who knew foreign students that were attacked for being Arab etc.... I love the country, I wouldn't go out my way to put it down ... But I have seen the reality and only want to warn people.... And believe me, you don't have to look for trouble .. those lads have spotters out looking for small groups to jump etc... Sure I've known and.still do know guys Involved in that nonsense in Poland ...
    I'm not a keyboard warrior or a fear monger, I just want decent people to be fully aware of the danger tat will be there especially heading home from bars etc.... Don't jump all over me for trying to be decent .

Everything you have said about Poland Ive heard about Limerick, and yet I am in one piece after spending a few years there. I know guys who were beaten up and jumped and I've heard the stories of spotters etc. I don't know anyone who got in serious trouble who didnt either do something really stupid, or was involved in something already.

Also the fact you mention polish dole recipients in Ireland in one of your posts gives a glimpse into how you think of Polish people.

Be respecttful to people and often times they will be respectful back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Pdfile wrote: »
    poland is safe providing you know which swear words are acceptable and ones aren't... you notice how many poles speak fluent english but won't to you etc etc.

ukraine is f***ing nuts.... seriosuly... they hate russia but are just like them... Travellers beware.

Many Ukrainians, particularly in the east have favourable views of Russia and many, in some areas more than 50% of the population speak Russian as a first language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

There will be no bother at all apart from isolated incidents. Trust me.

Although, Holland v Germany could be an issue, mainly on the Dutch side, but i'm sure this will be a tournament where the football does the talking. Don't listen to the British ****ing media. TBH, why i've even contributed to this thread, I don't know - I like actual FOOTBALL.

Mostly the Dutch will demand they get their bicycles back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Didn't some of the black football players have to send their wives and families home because of the violence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

The English must be happy to be able to look down on other fans for once

The OP watched a BBC program
    The Daily Mail has been lashing the Ukraine all today

I'm sure the other papers will do the same

i wonder how the english media will react if poland/ukraine start posting images and articles about last summers london riots, 10 days before the Oplymics start?

every country has scumbags in it, poland and ukraine is no different. however, the policing there is no tolerance and i believe this will be stamped out well in advance.

poland v russia (which i am going to) is my only concern there really and i dont care what happens in the Ukraine, until if/when its our turn to be there.
    Gee Bag wrote: »
    I'd be more scared of going to the Euros if they were on in England

no, no you wouldnt.
    smash wrote: »
    Didn't some of the black football players have to send their wives and families home because of the violence?

this is the danger of internet whispers and people talking about things they dont have a clue about.

the tournement hasnt even started yet. 2 england players have said their families wont be going, due to potential racist nature in ukraine. big difference from what you said above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

I would imagine that many of these hooligans are well known in their countries at this stage.

Perhaps they are planning on doing stuff but I guess like in all recent football tournaments the local police will be following them or locking them up for the duration of the tournaments.

Poland and Ukraine cannot really afford to not protect the travelling fans as this will destroy so much future tourism into the countries so I would expect very little trouble.

Everything possible will be done to stop these animals for the month of June so I would think it will not be the same as when their club teams are playing.

At least I hope so, as I’m going to Poland myself for the 3 games.

Anyway we should be safe in a crowd of 30,000 Irish fans.

Come on the boys. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

this is the danger of internet whispers and people talking about things they dont have a clue about.

the tournement hasnt even started yet. 2 england players have said their families wont be going, due to potential racist nature in ukraine. big difference from what you said above.

But I asked a question, I didn't make a statement!