Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The *ONLY* After Hours thread about the European Championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

_Gawd_ wrote: »
    what time does this start at?

19:45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Haven't time to go through thread; what's the best result for us in the Italy v Croatia game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Haven't time to go through thread; what's the best result for us in the Italy v Croatia game?

Italy win. If we draw tonight and beat Italy we are therefore through.

However if Italy Cro draw tonight, we draw against Spain and Spain beat Croatia we'll be out regardless of what we do against italy (head to head).

The amazing thing is we can actually still qualify by finishing on 2 pts whereas we can't if we finish on 3. Unlikely but a bizarre stat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭shizz

cgpg5 wrote: »

However if Italy Cro draw tonight, we draw against Spain and Spain beat Croatia we'll be out regardless of what we do against italy (head to head).

The amazing thing is we can actually still qualify by finishing on 2 pts whereas we can't if we finish on 3. Unlikely but a bizarre stat

Would this not leave us on the exact same points as Italy though? How would we be through straight away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

shizz wrote: »
    Would this not leave us on the exact same points as Italy though? How would we be through straight away?

The first tiebreaker is head-to-head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I've taken these two ...it might be that sort of match

Ireland to win 2-1 @ 33/1

Spain to win 3-2 @ 33/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I have this

Draw 1-1 @ 10/1

Draw 2-2 @ 33/1

Spain 2-1 @ 17/2

Spain 4-1 @ 20/1

Also have England,Holland or Portugal to win it.

Any word on the team being named yet??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Idioteque

cgpg5 wrote: »

Few different options...
    Italy win now then see above.

Second option:
    Croatia Win now vs Italy.
    Croatia DRAW vs Spain.
    Ireland DRAW vs Spain.
    Ireland WIN vs Italy.

Croatia 7pts
    Ireland 4pts
    Spain 3pts
    Italy 1pts

Quite unlikely but at least it's a chance.

Last option:

Ireland WIN both matches!!! Then who gives a f*ck what hapens tonight :D

I've a fiver on Italy to win 3-1. Couldn't bring myself to bet on Spain winning their game :o

Corker!

• Administrators Posts: 54,119 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

For some really strange reason I fancy spain to win tonight, so might have a flutter on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Nearly broke a rib there diving for the remote....they should have some sort of viewer discretion warning when them two are about to appear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭_Gawd_

Paul McShane is playing...might as well forfeit the game now.

awec wrote: »
    For some really strange reason I fancy spain to win tonight, so might have a flutter on them.

Imma gonna punch you in the face in Galway :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

One change, Doyle out cox inn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

hondasam wrote: »
    One change, Doyle out cox inn.

Putting Cox out in the wrong situation can lead to all sorts of problems.

Nodin wrote: »
    Putting Cox out in the wrong situation can lead to all sorts of problems.

Feel sorry for Doyle, he was not the worst the last game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭_Gawd_

Feel sorry for Doyle, he was not the worst the last game.

Will you be watching the game tonight from the kitchen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Torres starts for Spain.

Win for Ireland.

The cat is in the sack

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Torres starts for Spain.

Win for Ireland.

You really think we can beat Spain?

_Gawd_ wrote: »
    Will you be watching the game tonight from the kitchen?

No I don't have a kitchen in my house or if I do I don't frequent it often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,435 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Doyle played much better than Keane against Croatia.

Trap doesn't care about meaningless details like that. He does his own thing and isn't afraid of anything. He's like the honey badger.

Hopefully Torres has one of his famous ' off days ' and leaves his shooting boots at home .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Spain to win 2-0.

Torres, Pique.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Nervous as fuck.

I now no longer smoke cigarettes, Ive taken to eating them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

No I don't have a kitchen in my house or if I do I don't frequent it often.

Anything can happen in football.

Look at chelski.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I feel more positive than i was before.

8-1 spain

Anything can happen in football. That's the beauty of the game.

We're fcuked.

Look at chelski.
    IrishAm wrote: »
    Anything can happen in football. That's the beauty of the game.

Ok maybe I should have more faith in them. I dunno why I'm nervous but I am. Looking forward to the game.

Cmon Ireland and good luck lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

mon Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Look at chelski.

Chelsea might be slightly better than us though...!:rolleyes:

Padkir wrote: »
    Chelsea might be slightly better than us though...!:rolleyes:

On paper maybe :D

I'm sorely tempted to put a fiver on Spain to win 5-1

40/1 to do it!

I mean I very much want Ireland to win, but if we're going to lose it may as well be a drubbing!

Ah a message from our president ;-)

I would really love us to beat Spain,My heart wants us to but my pocket says different.

Fair play to the travelling Irish supporters, they have been a credit to the country.

The noise of them, the stadium is rocking.

'' we shall fight them in the streets of our towns and villages ,we shall fight them on the beaches '' :cool:

Oh ...er ...wrong country .

Ah c'mon lads. Get them back for 2002.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

Did any of the spanish team sing their national anthem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

Glen Whelan available on player cam ;)

Is it not just a musical :confused:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

Let's win this lads. Maybe a dodgy peno or the ball goes in off Keane's arse, something!

It doesn't contain any lyrics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

Is feider linn....

I'm not usually one for praying, but if you're up there Superman...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

IrishAm wrote: »
    It doesn't contain any lyrics.

What the hell were the fans signing then?

Torres ye little fecker. class goal all the same.