Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The *ONLY* After Hours thread about the European Championships.

Jesus Christ and Roy of the Rovers wouldn't save us now.

I actually lol'd

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

awec wrote: »
    To be honest I think Ireland suffered from the hype that usually follows the England team in this tournament. Expectations were not realistic.

It was an achievement to get there, for Ireland to get out of this group would have been an upset. All 3 teams in the group are better than Ireland IMO.

No shame in getting battered by the world and euro champions either.

That's exactly it. They rode their luck to get there and got a group where the most likely outcome was always going to be 3 bad results and going home.

It's a shame that we play such negative football too though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

At least there will be no more goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Bring on Paul O'Connell

And Stephen Cluxton :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

It's a shame that we play such negative football too though.

Careful, you'll be accused of whinging next.:rolleyes:

Varied wrote: »
    Yes I have which has to do with what?

I can have an opinion on how theyre playing thanks but you go ahead and keep talking inane **** throughout the thread.

Ah sorry :) I hate when people give out about them when they are trying so hard.

hondasam wrote: »
    At least there will be no more goals.

Honestly wouldn't be so sure.

At least there are no vuvuzelas.

Although, if we got one really long one we could use it to blow the football toward the Spanish goal.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-e5HeupH2Aoc/Tu8zAh1K5jI/AAAAAAAAGAw/hmxdh0j9iX0/s1600/blow.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Bit fucking late now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Make things worse this is the first time we lose two games in a row at a major tournament.

Duff's last game for Ireland I would say.

mod:

Cut down on the personal stuff now please folks.

At least there are no vuvuzelas.

[/URL]

There's a bloke in the shop next to the bar I'm in with one. Feckin noise of him!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ItAintMeBabe

Now we bring on McClean :rolleyes:

The country is in a mess, the Irish team are just as bad, least we're consistent :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭_Gawd_

It's a disgrace to think we're taking up someone elses place in this tournament.

What a waste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

Not a hope!!! He will win his 100th cap against Italy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Now we bring on McClean :rolleyes:

Yeah, didn't he say he wouldn't be playing him (starting him, like) because his confidence wasn't right? How is putting him on at 3-0 down to Spain going to help that?

Feel for the lads, I'd say they'll be off to sunnier pastures after this nightmare.

mod:

Cut down on the personal stuff now please folks.

Sorry boss :(

80 mins past. We should see a few subs now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

hellboy99 wrote: »
    The country is in a mess, the Irish team are just as bad, least we're consistent :rolleyes:
    At least the weather is nice. :pac:

Wait.

Hang on.

How long is Trap's contract?

He's going to be Ireland manager after this?

• Administrators Posts: 54,119 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Four. Pure crap defending.

Trap will start with more or less the same that played today. Mad stuff.

We want one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Is there anything to be said for having another mass?

And I thought Father Ted was the only funny thing this country had to offer :D

:(, Irish players should offer to pay the costs for all Irish fans in the stadium.

Yes I am joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well at least I wont have to worry about who to support in a possible England v Ireland Qtr Final.

Spain are 2 or 3 levels above Ireland, 1-11.

Wait.

Hang on.

He's going to be Ireland manager after this?

Retirement or death which ever comes first. I'm going for the second option.

We want one!

Who needs to win?
    All you gotta do is not lose :rolleyes:

Goddamn I hate that smiley.

Is there anything to be said for having another mass?

Go back to your rugby.

This Spain team are great to watch.

An absolutely brilliant side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

To bring on a player without a ****ing club and leave Shane Long on the bench is disgraceful.

irish-stew wrote: »
    Well at least I wont have to worry about who to support in a possible England v Ireland Qtr Final.

We will be supporting England now.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

Retirement or death which ever comes first. I'm going for the second option.

he gets paid millions to work about 4 days a year, no way hes "retiring"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭_Gawd_

I hope Ireland get trounced 7 or 8 nil now.

Only a score like that would finally push a lot of these older players out - it's whats needed, an entire re-building programme before the World Cup. Time to develop a couple of kids...we've two years. It's not even that Spain are marvelous (don't get me wrong, they're not the WC winners for no reason) - but I've never seen a such a group of hopelessly inept, incompetent sorry excuse for footballers in my entire life.

Ireland are purely unmitigated sh!te.

Two more years.

You know the scary thing? Monday could be a repeat of this. Easily.

It's amazing to hear the crowd belt out the fields of Athenry. 4-0 down and you can't even hear the Spanish for them. Amazing stuff.

Fields of Athenry sounds good.

Best fans in the ****ing world.

The fans are putting a better show on than the team that's for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

All credit to our Great Supporters

:pac:Sing all night

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ItAintMeBabe

Yeah, didn't he say he wouldn't be playing him (starting him, like) because his confidence wasn't right? How is putting him on at 3-0 down to Spain going to help that?

Exactly my point. Fair play to the fans over there though, 4-0 down and The Fields of Athenry is still belting out:)

Jesus it makes me wanna cry :(

Some crowd alright.

Jesus it makes me wanna cry :(

Me too, I am a little emotional I must say.

I feel so sorry for them.

Irish people are fucking fantastic. :)