Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Mark Zuckerbergs stingy tipping practice

• 30-05-2012 4:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

Can't link to the article but I read that Zuckerberg is on his honeymoon in Rome,they went out for dinner had a meal for 32 euro and left no tip,the same the day before they had a meal and left no gratuity.
    I know there is going to be folk here saying why should you tip etc and I can understand it if the meal is overpriced,not good or your skint but he is a multi billionaire and I think just a bit too stingy,even a fiver.
    I tip whenever I can if the factors are favourable,good food,good service,a win at the casino but what's your opinion is he being stingy or just making a point.

maybe the service was crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

Service was included in the bill, non story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

So what?
    Who cares what some guy we don't know does or doesn't do?
    It hardly impacts on any of us.
    It's not anyone's business!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

Sappa wrote: »
    Can't link to the article but I read that Zuckerberg is on his honeymoon in Rome,they went out for dinner had a meal for 32 euro and left no tip,the same the day before they had a meal and left no gratuity.
    I know there is going to be folk here saying why should you tip etc and I can understand it if the meal is overpriced,not good or your skint but he is a multi billionaire and I think just a bit too stingy,even a fiver.
    I tip whenever I can if the factors are favourable,good food,good service,a win at the casino but what's your opinion is he being stingy or just making a point.
    I tip if the service is good but I never saw the point of it tbh, why tip someone for what they are paid to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

If anyone of us had his money we'd be arseholes too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Not another tipping thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

what's your opinion is he being stingy or just making a point.

Don't know I wasn't with him at the time, it could be either.

I tip occassionally for some particular reason. I don't tip automatically... plus it's not like he's walking around with a billion quid in his pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

the guy has lost about 3 billion in the last week....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I dislike when people at restaurants expect a tip, its irritating. While in New York we had our waiter hover over the table waiting for a tip, and a friend of mines mother got chased down the street and yelled at because she didnt tip.

I dont care how low your wage is. If you genuinly work hard and provide a good service then Ill give you a small tip. I like how tipping here isnt proacticed that much, and a on a recent trip of mine I did not tip once, as its rude to do so in that country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

i tip my hat as i leave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Typical TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

i bet the waiter got a good 'tip' for the story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,802 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The guy is a fcuking geek, he wouldnt understand the social injustice that some would see in him being a multi billionaire and not tipping.

Anyway, more importantly, where is your source for this information?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I heard he paid with a facebook share, only looks stingy now that the share is worth less than the meal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

So because he's loaded he should be required to tip lots of money?

If there's a rule that your tip is proportional to your income does this mean I can ask the waiter to pay me for eating in his restaurant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

To quote Bill Gates: "I didn't get rich by writing a lot of cheques"

kippy wrote: »
    The guy is a fcuking geek, he wouldnt understand the social injustice that some would see in him being a multi billionaire and not tipping.

It's a lose-lose to some extent. No tip - he must be a tight feck. Tips €5 booooo he's a billionaire, why not more?..... Tips €500 he's a flash bollix throwing the cash around.

What is the accepted rate for a billionaire to tip at these days?

prinz wrote: »
    It's a lose-lose to some extent. No tip - he must be a tight feck. Tips €5 booooo he's a billionaire, why not more?..... Tips €500 he's a flash bollix throwing the cash around.

Tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Bout €350.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

And the same journalist happened to be in the same restaurant both nights?

Also why can't you link to the article?

I call bullsh1t myself.

seamus wrote: »
    So because he's loaded he should be required to tip lots of money?

other people have money! that's not fair! wah! i want it for nothing! make him give it to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

Fizman wrote: »
    Bout €350.

It's tree fiddy ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The OP is a communist :eek:

Just because others have money it doesn't mean you are entitled to a share

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I tip like a Rockefeller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

syklops wrote: »

I call bullsh1t myself.

I heard this on the radio news earlier.
    I think it did happen.
    What the f it was doing on the radio news though is beyond me.
    Must be a slow news day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

No Im sure he does. Probably a lot better than you to be honest.

mikemac1 wrote: »

Just because others have money it doesn't mean you are entitled to a share
    Try telling that to Fianna Fail when they were in government.

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

He has never seemed very flashy to me so leaving a massive tip wouldn't be out of the normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,447 ✭✭✭Riddle101

What the f it was doing on the radio news though is beyond me. Must be a slow news day.

..and some muppet is getting paid a salary somewhere to get that information and another few muppets getting paid to relay it to us. Frankly that's a much worse use of resources when you think about it. If I was Zuckerberg I'd keep doing it just to make a point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

A Billionaire stingy bastard! must be a libertarian then so.

cocoshovel wrote: »
    No Im sure he does. Probably a lot better than you to be honest.
    How are things Mark?

Mee...****ing...ow!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

10 seconds of my life I aint ever getting back.

Yakult wrote: »
    10 seconds of my life I aint ever getting back.

Is that your new status update on facebook?

bluewolf wrote: »
    other people have money! that's not fair! wah! i want it for nothing! make him give it to me!

This is about tipping not begging, your ignorance in regards to waiting staff is a bit disturbing. Do you beat your slaves to keep them in line too ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

syklops wrote: »

I call bullsh1t myself.
    I'm on my phone,it was in the telegraph yesterday,google it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

also heard it on the radio this morning

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

We dont tip in Ireland and I certainly never noticed anybody tipping when I was in europe. Tipping is bullshit anyway. I'd do it in America or Canada but only because I'd be afraid of one of them spitting on my food or going on some self righteous rant about how hard they work. Why should I have to pay extra just because they wont elect a government that believes in a fair minimum wage.

Link to Guardian.
    Lunching out with his new wife, Priscilla Chan, on their honeymoon, the Facebook co-founder Zuckerberg ran up a not-so-massive bill of €32 (£25) at the restaurant Nonna Betta this week, neglecting to add any tip at all, according to reports.

The story was broken by Italian daily Corriere della Sera, which ran the headline "Zuckerberg in Rome – a €32 bill and no tip", adding that Chan had been nicknamed 'Chansaccodesoldi' on the internet, which roughly translates as "She's got a sack of cash".

The couple stuck to antipasti of deep-fried artichoke and just one dish of seabass, artichoke and tomato ravioli, washed down with water and a pot of tea.

The restaurant's owner, Umberto Pavoncello, defended Zuckerberg from the barbs, claiming the billionaire was "in a hurry".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

He's not in America so he doesn't have to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

We dont tip in Ireland and I certainly never noticed anybody tipping when I was in europe. Tipping is bullshit anyway. I'd do it in America or Canada but only because I'd be afraid of one of them spitting on my food or going on some self righteous rant about how hard they work. Why should I have to pay extra just because they wont elect a government that believes in a fair minimum wage.

Of course we do. I have often tipped in restaurants, especially if I have received decent service.

Looks like he was short of cash:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/mark-zuckerberg/9300133/Facebook-founder-Mark-Zuckerberg-unable-to-withdraw-cash-on-Italy-honeymoon.html
    The 28-year-old multi-billionaire was unable to access his vast personal fortune when he tried to withdraw money from a cash point on the island of Capri.

The young internet tycoon and his new wife, Priscilla Chan, went by boat from the picturesque Amalfi Coast to the island in the Bay of Naples earlier this week.

From the island's tiny port they took an open-topped taxi to have lunch at Da Giorgio, a local restaurant.

They then found a nearby ATM machine, owned by Banca della Campania, in a whitewashed alcove of Capri's main village, a haunt of Hollywood celebrities and the super-rich.

A video shot by a passer-by showed Mr Zuckerberg looking at the cash machine quizzically and asking advice from a fellow tourist, before abandoning the attempt to withdraw money and walking away.

The guy is a fcuking geek, he wouldnt understand the social injustice.....

Just coming back to this bit, his speciality is people, not the techy/geek side... that's why he majored in Psychology at Harvard as well as computer science.

Geeks aren't all into 'puters you know........
    Some of the most intelligent people/geeks in the world have absolutely no social skills......

(I am getting too serious here, my remark was a throwaway on)
    If I were him, I'd be pretty pissed off that my honeymoon was making front page news.

We dont tip in Ireland and I certainly never noticed anybody tipping when I was in europe..

LOL, how hard are you looking? Tipping on the continent is a regular thing and expected many places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Italian restaurants have a cover charge and tipping is not usual. You might leave a Euro, but not a New York style 15%-20%. Zuckerberg could have played the rich boorish American, ignored local custom and left an ostentatious tip.
    He did not, fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

LOL, how hard are you looking?

Who do you look hard? Do you have to furrow your brow or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Rules for managers for pricing meals in restaurants:-

1) pay your staff fairly
    2) print a menu that tells me what my meal will actually cost me.

Rules for staff for serving meals in restaurants:-
    1) take my order
    2) bring my food
    3) take my payment
    4) bring my change
    5) take any issue of low pay up with boss, not customer.

The waitress, considering she sold the story was probably hovering over his table ruining his meal convinced she'd get a big tip.. Fuk her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

karma_ wrote: »
    A Billionaire stingy bastard! must be a libertarian then so.
    Actually works the other way around. If he doesn't believe that relying on private charity to supplement minimum wage is acceptable....that would make him a.....a.....socialist:eek: