Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hanging up the guitar...

Options
  • 01-06-2012 11:32am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭

I've been playing guitar on and off for over 15 years. During these years I have at times played for weeks on end, other times it would just gathered dust for other weeks on end. It was only in the last 3 years that I got serious and began to learn a bit of theory, jam with other folks and gave it an honest attempt at composing.
    I think I've reached a point where I just recognize that there are some folks who maybe have an innate ability or orientation to certain instruments or music itself. I only ever played for myself, to play something that gave that feeling when I hear other music I like but with the guitar, electric, accoustic, it has reached a certain plateau where I've said I cant quite access something musically "inspiring", something that goes beyond learning scales and genres.
    Im wondering has this ever happened anyone else? Im sure it has but what kind of analysis or understanding or even reaction did you give to it. Hard work is always endorsed and yes it is a big part but there is a something else, be it talent or whatever, that goes beyond the rational side to playing.

Your views?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 10,664 ✭✭✭✭maccored

im in my 40s and Ive been playing music since i was 11 and ive been through the whole giving up playing saga many time, until sometime around my mid 20s I realised, **** it.