Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

How many can speak Irish in AH

• 02-06-2012 2:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭

How many people in AH can speak a good level of Irish,, conversational level at least? I can hold me own but what about the rest of yiz?

21/25

Do you have good Irish? 249 votes

I have fluent Irish
    0% 0 votes
    I have quite good Irish
    26% 65 votes
    My Irish is quite lacking
    32% 80 votes
    My Irish is non-existent
    41% 104 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

faigh bas asal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Know very, very little, which means more than I need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,359 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I can, but I rarely if ever post here. Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

Níl a fhios agam -cé mhéad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

endacl wrote: »
    I can, but I rarely if ever post here. Does that count?
    Yes, it counts. And I'm sorry, but you may be sane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,359 ✭✭✭✭endacl

uch wrote: »
    How many people in AH can speak a good level of Irish,, conversational level at least? I can hold me own but what about the rest of yiz?
    Sorry! Feck! Forgot it was AH. You can hold your own what?

Lol, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

She’d go “Aon focal, da focal ,two focal eile!"

And I not knowing no focal at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 672 ✭✭✭Battered Mars Bar

I can but my keyboard has English buttons :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Tá caighdeán mhaith agam, ach níl me líofa cosúil le duine éigin ón Ghaeltacht, mar shampla.

Níl ach "Gaeilge scoile" atá agam, ach tá mé in ann caint le daoine gan fadhbanna mhór.

Ach, táim cinnte go bhfuil a lán botúin déanta agam ins an post seo :).

TI;DR: I speak a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

Tá caighdeán mhaith agam, ach níl me laofa cosúil le duine éigin ón Ghaeltacht, mar shampla.

Níl ach "Gaeilge scoile" atá agam, ach tá mé in ann caint le daoine gan fadhbanna mhór.

Ach, táim cinnte go bhfuil a lán dearmadaí déanta agam ins an post seo :).

nil fada ar mo eochairchlar, as india, an eochairchlar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

Tá caighdeán mhaith agam, ach níl me laofa cosúil le duine éigin ón Ghaeltacht, mar shampla.

Ach, táim cinnte go bhfuil a lán botúin déanta agam ins an post seo :).

You've the best sig i've ever seen

Go raibh mait agat as do phóst, ach ní fháca mé riamh aon síniú cosiúl le do síniú

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

uch wrote: »
    You've the best sig i've ever seen

Go raibh mait agat as do phóst, ach ní fháca mé riamh aon síniú cosiúl le do síniú

Go raibh maith agat, is as leabhair íontach é, "Last and First Men."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

seems I know more fùckin french

LH Pathe wrote: »
    seems I know more fùckin french

:confused::confused::confused:

21/25

I know enough to put down on the census that I can speak Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

Mise :)

Ach níl Gaeilge líofa agam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

soinneáin di piss

efb wrote: »
    soinneáin di piss

Google doesn't count

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

póg mo thoin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Níl. Dúirt mé Gaeilge uafasach.

charlemont wrote: »
    Níl. Dúirt mé Gaeilge uafasach.

You say Irish horribly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

You say Irish horribly?

First way I could think to say it in Irish, What I meant it to mean is My Irish is crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

an bhfuil cead agam dul go dtí an leithreas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

chuaigh mé go dtì meanscoil làn gaeilge, ach tà an chuid is mo dearmadtha agam ag an àm seo. Tà sè deacair an gaeilge a cleachta ì NZ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

is feidir liom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 mintoffdom

With rare fluency :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Ms.M

Mise! And I've been helping my buddies learn recently. They seriously underestimated their Irish. I think a lot of people do. That's why I think Bernard Dunne's Bród club is a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,676 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

charlemont wrote: »
    First way I could think to say it in Irish, What I meant it to mean is My Irish is crap.

That's grand, I'll put you down as fluent, so.

/Census
    efb wrote: »
    póg mo thoin

And how long will you be visiting Ireland for?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Tá mé ábalta cúpla focal a chuir le chéile.

I stopped using Irish over 20 years ago. Even then, I was offered a course in Trinity to do Irish, even though I was good at written Irish, but all of the lectures were spoken. Out loud. As Gaeilge!

I even struggle with English, verbally...

tá bergán gaeilge agam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

Tá cúpla focal agam freisin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Ms.M

This thread could do with a poll op. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Aon uair a deirim rud eicint tagann foclaí brocach lofa salach amach..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I can hold a basic conversation in it. I wouldn't be able to understand much listening to TG4 or Irish language radio though. I could get the gist reading it. I'm glad I have a bit of it. Silly to forsake it completely IMO - it's an important part of our heritage.

If people have no interest in speaking it themselves, cool, but to dismiss it outright as pointless and to be done away with is uncalled for IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭mongdesade

Never learned Irish, much to my regret...raised abroad until I was 15 before my family returned to Ireland.

DOE exemption when I started in the Irish school system :(

Would love to learn it given the opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

an will cead agam dul go dti amach an lethoras ?

That said, I never went back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

an will cead agam dul go dti amach an lethoras ?

That said, I never went back.
    You never came back from the toilet? Brazen pup! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭davetherave

I could have a simple conversation or get the basic gist of a page out of foinse but that's about it. Shame really, 14 years of learning a state language and that is the height of my explotations these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Nílim iomlán líofa, agus ní bhíonn seans agam mo Ghaeilge a cleachtadh mar cónaím tharr larr anois, ach ceapaim go bfhuil caighdeán réasúnta agam fós.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Tá Gaeilge líofa agam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Went to an all Irish school, so can hold a conversation but it was over 10 years ago so I've forgotten most of it and replaced a large portion of what I remember with other languages I've had a crack at learning since. My brain seems only able to remember 'English' and 'Other'.

To wszystko Sín é

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Gaeilge líofa 'gam féin ón gcliabhán :)

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭The Master of Disaster

I used to be pretty good at it when I was in school; I got a B1 in higher level. But like a lot of people I just haven't used it since I left school. I can't speak it or write at all really now though I can still read it reasonably well (Suppose when it's put in front of you and you don't have to remember the words or grammar etc. it's a bit easier).

Yeah, unless you're in an Irish speaking area, you really have to be active about looking to speak it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I got a C in Honours Irish in my Leaving Cert (before they brought in the C1, C2, C3 and especially C4 business) so I wasn't too bad at it.

In the mid 90s, I went for a while without a telly so I'd listen to the radio. I'm into quizzes so the 'as Gaeilge' quiz every week was a highlight. Even though I didn't fully know the questions, I used to get the answers... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Irish is my first language a bhitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Remember very little of it from school. It's a pity that we aren't taught to speak and appreciate the language, as opposed to wasting time on poems, stoires etc.

I was unlucky enough to have to endure Peig :( for my LC, so that killed any interest I had in the language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Enkidu

Tá súil agam go bhfuil mo chuid Gaelainne ag dul i bhfeabhas. Go deimhin, tá sí thar mar a bhí sí dhá bhliain ó shin, ach caithfead a rá ná fuil sí cruinn fós. (Ní mhian liom mo líofacht a mhéadú thar na beartaibh) Léim, mar a déarfá, trí leabhair sa tseachtain mar is breá an cnuasach focal a bhainir as na leabharaibh.

Enkidu wrote: »
    Tá súil agam go bhfuil mo chuid Gaelainne ag dul i bhfeabhas. Go deimhin, tá sí thar mar a bhí sí dhá bhliain ó shin, ach caithfead a rá ná fuil sí cruinn fós. (Ní mhian liom mo líofacht a mhéadú thar na beartaibh) Léim, mar a déarfá, trí leabhair sa tseachtain mar is breá an cnuasach focal a bhainir as na leabharaibh.
    Is follasach go bhfuil tuiscint mhaith ar an nGaeilge agat, a chara :) Is maith an rid é roinnt canúinte a fheiceáil mar théacs ó am go ham.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Never learnt it in school. I know more Japanese than Irish.