Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The NUIG "off-topic" thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 I_smell_fear
    ✭✭

J o e wrote: »
    We've lost the Lost & Found? :eek:

Don't panic, it's only a matter of time until it's found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,344 MadYaker
    ✭✭✭✭

So what were ye at for Arthur's Day? Town fupping mental. I was in the Roisin for the silent disco and DJ Kormac after, twas great craic altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 Nailz
    ✭✭✭

MadYaker wrote: »
    So what were ye at for Arthur's Day? Town fupping mental. I was in the Roisin for the silent disco and DJ Kormac after, twas great craic altogether.
    I went to O'Connells, great crowd, older than the rest of the venues in Galway, plenty of friends around, great music too. Pissed off I missed Alabama 3, I'm a fan of theirs and it would've been good seeing them, but I have lectures until 8 on Thursdays so I wasn't willing to miss them just to see A3. The DJ's they had on afterward were exceptional, they played good mature electronica, unlike any of the shite you'd hear in clubs. Good night all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 LoonyLovegood
    ✭✭✭

I was in town, I usually go in on a Thursday, it was horrible, Everywhere was packed, charging more to get in than usual and the atmosphere was awful. Never again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,344 MadYaker
    ✭✭✭✭

Arthur's Day seems to be becoming one of those nights where clubs are best avoided, its like paddys day, new years eve, halloween, race week etc. You'll have to queue for ages and pay to get in and it will be disgustingly packed so either go to a late pub or stay at home. I walked past Carbon at around 10 and there was already a queue forming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 LoonyLovegood
    ✭✭✭

MadYaker wrote: »
    Arthur's Day seems to be becoming one of those nights where clubs are best avoided, its like paddys day, new years eve, halloween, race week etc. You'll have to queue for ages and pay to get in and it will be disgustingly packed so either go to a late pub or stay at home. I walked past Carbon at around 10 and there was already a queue forming.

I was in town at 8 and there was a queue. Never again, I'll stay home next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 RolandIRL
    ✭✭✭✭

Anyone else noticed how exceptionally busy the reading room is this year? I've been in most evenings this past week, and it's usually 1 person per desk. Was in on Sunday, and it didn't start clearing out til around 10.30/11pm.
    Don't remember it being that busy last year, least of all in September :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 joeKel73
    ✭✭✭

A lot of postgrad thesis deadlines that are usually the end of August got extended to the end of September after some meeting of the deans. So a lot of people on deadlines, might have been that.

Was in there most nights for the last couple of weeks until near enough 1.30am! We lost our research room at the start of September when the new class came in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 RolandIRL
    ✭✭✭✭

Ah right, that must be it so. Someone actually sat down at the same desk as me today :eek: That's only ever happened at exam time before!

Can't wait til the Security office gives me access to one of the specialist computer suites so I can get out of the reading room. The temperature in there was awful finicky today. First too hot then too cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 Cocolola
    ✭✭✭

Does anyone know if it's possible to print wireless in the college from an iPad? I'm guessing no since you need to download some software?

✭✭✭

You can - you don't need to download software to access the WiFi.

✭✭✭

J o e wrote: »
    You can - you don't need to download software to access the WiFi.

No I meant the software to print on the NUIGWifi, I thought there was a print package that had to be installed?

EDIT: I found it

http://www.nuigalway.ie/information-solutions-and-services/students/wireless/wireless_printing.html

✭✭✭

Sorry - completely missed the print bit!

✭✭✭

No worries! I should have done a bit more Googling anyway before asking really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 aperture_nuig
    ✭✭✭

So has anyone found the lost & found?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ISS Service Desk

Cocolola wrote: »
    Does anyone know if it's possible to print wireless in the college from an iPad? I'm guessing no since you need to download some software?

At the moment wireless printing is not available from an iPad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 laoch na mona
    ✭✭✭

you know the way people just seem to leave their stuff in the libary and go away for ages would it be rude to take their seats

✭✭✭

you know the way people just seem to leave their stuff in the libary and go away for ages would it be rude to take their seats
    Not at all, I'll tell you what is rude though; fucking off for hours leaving all you stuff behind so that no one will take that seat for when you come back. Inconsiderate ignoramuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ciano1
    ✭✭✭

LiboCop seems to be doing his job very well these days. I was looking for a seat yesterday and he moved someone's stuff for me! :D

✭✭✭

ciano1 wrote: »
    LiboCop seems to be doing his job very well these days. I was looking for a seat yesterday and he moved someone's stuff for me! :D
    What a machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ISS Service Desk

Thanks laoch na mona for bringing it to our attention, we are investigating possible options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Wardy92

The reading room is the worst for that, made it in early enough to get a seat a few times last year. A few people would be leaving down books and laptops for their friends then leaving again. Head wrecking!
    On another note has anyone ever gotten a seat and had to face the wrath of the person whose stuff was moved? Awkward enough i imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 nobbo
    ✭✭

In a comp suite trying to get work done. HEads fried, surrounded by people doing actual work....kinda wanna shoot the lot of 'em. Might make the 6 news if I do. Be more productive than what I'm getting done for college.

✭✭✭

What's the deal with those metal gutter-type things on the steps coming off the quincentennial bridge? Please don't say they're for bikes 'cause nothing was wrong with just using the slopes at the sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 Ficheall
    ✭✭✭

Cocolola wrote: »
    What's the deal with those metal gutter-type things on the steps coming off the quincentennial bridge? Please don't say they're for bikes 'cause nothing was wrong with just using the slopes at the sides.
    Ah they're not leaving those horrible things in, are they?
    I thought they were just putting those down to expand the concrete bit :(
    The metal bit is daft.

✭✭✭

Ficheall wrote: »
    Ah they're not leaving those horrible things in, are they?
    I thought they were just putting those down to expand the concrete bit :(
    The metal bit is daft.

I don't know I was just ranting without having a clue what's going on :o
    Your idea makes much more sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 eog22

Hi i would like too bring in a microwave dinner to eat for lunch and was wondering if their was any microwaves in college other than the one in smokeys? maybe in the cairnes/engineering building side? do you have to pay to use it?

✭✭✭

eog22 wrote: »
    Hi i would like too bring in a microwave dinner to eat for lunch and was wondering if their was any microwaves in college other than the one in smokeys? maybe in the cairnes/engineering building side? do you have to pay to use it?
    A mate of mine in my course who's big into his health & fitness, and is therefore microwaving self-made meals according to his gym diet, always uses the microwaves on the third floor of Cairnes or the second floor in St. Anthony's, so you could use those I guess. They're small staff kitchens as far as I know, so if you want to feel safe you could ask someone based on those floors whether you can use them or not because he's been given out to for using it on one occasion, but generally I don't think anyone gives a shit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 Squeeonline
    ✭✭✭

eog22 wrote: »

Microwave in the hub is open late too and free/meant for students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 iamanengine
    ✭✭✭

Anyone know when the results are usually out for 1st years?