Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things that would make a shít-load of money if they were invented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭oxo_

I'm bored too so here's a few more...

1. Safe, Long range high powered wireless electricity.
    Tesla actually did this but it was abused as a weapon which he demonstrated by levelling acres of forest in Tunguska from his machine based in America, while trying to raise funds to further his research.

2. A pill that would always induce lucid dreaming.

3. A unit that you hook up to the outside of your head that could project and visualise your thoughts on to a device for playback later, a dream recorder if you will.
    I tried to make one of these myself when I was about ten, by using bits from an old TV and an old VCR :/

4. A cure for baldness.

5. A pill you popped that permanently made your willy bigger, with a limit say of an extra 12 inches max, depending on your ethnicity. Asian men would get the full effect (poor chaps) and Africans would barely notice any change.

6. X-ray glasses.

7. A device you used that would stop time until you used it again. The possibilities here are endless but I'd probably use it mostly for bad things and checking out random women to see if they shave their fanny.

8. A device that instantly killed anyone who tried to bum a smoke off you, if they were also wearing a tracksuit, hoodie or lynx deodorant.

9. Mona drinking yogurts.

10. Life size holographic viewing device. Lots of great uses but I'd just want it for porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

oxo_ wrote: »
    7. A device you used that would stop time until you used it again. The possibilities here are endless but I'd probably use it mostly for bad things and checking out random women to see if they shave their fanny.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

A poo dispensing coat, that dispensed poo on to people everytime they bumped into you. Oh how I'd spend hours walking up and down Grafton St with that coat on all day...

Still laughing. :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭southcentralts

smartphone pregnancy test app
    *would love to see if anyone would actually try it*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭GaryIrv93

1. Magic Wishing Lamp (if only!)

2. James Bond laser watch

3. That flying yoke the Green Goblin stands on in Spiderman....hey, and a web-spinner that clips onto you wrist!

4. Commercially cheap hovercrafts, like the one's in Die Another Day, mini jets, and hovercars for personal use.

5. And obviously, 'knowledge chips' if you will, that could be inserted onto or into the head, eliminizing the need for the horrible 14+ years of 'education' that we all have to face at a young age! :D

- They'd be my top 5 anyway,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

A bit boring (okay, very boring) but, a device that recycles used staples. Lets say a small collector unit on stapler removers that you can tip into a device that recycles them into reusable form.

I think all offices would have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Reasons to charge people for water which is of course in abundance.. think I just witnessed 5 years worth of precipitation and counting. Walls to wall w/ teh wet stuff, they're heavin' gonna have to get the army out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

A woman translator would sell about 4 billion units guaranteed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Solar powered mobile phone.

Feckin smart phone my arse if the batteries dead after an few hours of moderate usage. Remember when you'd charge your old Nokia on a Mon morning, and it wouldn't need recharged again until Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I remember similar back in the eighties long before mobile phones

You whistle and it beeps back at you

I had one of those!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

mikemac1 wrote: »
    The man who invents calorie free ice-cream will be a multi-millionaire

Same for the guy for invents calorie free chocolate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

A weight loss drug that actually made you lose weight- not just an expensive laxative- whoever invents this will be a bazillionaire!

The drug already exists, been on the market for years, prescribed for weight loss and narcolespsy, its called Desoxyn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Life like sex robots.
    If you have a fetish to want to live like a sex robot :eek:

'Life-like sex robots' is not quite the same as 'life, like sex robots'

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

LordSmeg wrote: »
    Room temperature super conductors.
    still have the problem of current density

photolysis of water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

If you have a fetish to want to live like a sex robot :eek:

'Life-like sex robots' is not quite the same as 'life, like sex robots'

Thank you Mr. Eats, shoots and leaves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭GaryIrv93

Magic Beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭amtw

A transporter like the ones they had in Star Trek, you know beam me up Scotty but they would be better if you could just beam yourself to wherever you wanted to go.

A laser gun mounted on the front of your car so you could blast all the idiots who can't drive. Or maybe just a version of the transporter above that you could use to transport the offending car and driver out of your way.

Thank you Mr. Eats, shoots and leaves.
    Amazing

That's what your misses calls me too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

a silent hairdryer, noise off the goddam things

Today I will show you something that will blow your mind. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

a5y wrote: »
    Today I will show you something that will blow your mind. :pac:

Where can I purchase one of these??:eek::eek::eek:

Electricity went off for an hour and a half this afternoon and I couldn't make a cup of tea - remedy that and I will award you a knighthood in the realm of boards.

P.S. middle of countryside, empty gas cylinder, old metal kettle but no way to heat it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Electricity went off for an hour and a half this afternoon and I couldn't make a cup of tea - remedy that and I will award you a knighthood in the realm of boards.

P.S. middle of countryside, empty gas cylinder, old metal kettle but no way to heat it.

storm kettle?

or buy that hexi stove thing Aldi have going now and use it to heat up an existing kettle or sauce pan. if you're really stuck there is always the old food tin filled with water over a fire method

eth0 wrote: »
    storm kettle?

or buy that hexi stove thing Aldi have going now and use it to heat up an existing kettle or sauce pan. if you're really stuck there is always the old food tin filled with water over a fire method

Thank you Sir eth0 of Boards. Fearless keyboard warrior who battled the wild interweb and slew scores of trolls along the noble path to enlighten the peasants.

P.S. if I had electricity I could have asked boards and had an answer in 5 mins, I don't fancy our chances of surviving without the internet anymore.

Something that can bring people back from the dead!:D would be very tricky though. overpopulation and that... could also be used for bad too:rolleyes:

Great invention though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

A shower unit that also sucks jacks blows dries you off. An additional setting where hot air comes out of the hose rather than water. I reckon it could be decent enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Is OP some sort of modern-day Thomas Edison, planning on stealing our ideas and inventions?

Something that can bring people back from the dead!:D would be very tricky though. overpopulation and that... could also be used for bad too:rolleyes:

Great invention though.

haven't we had enough zombies lately, though if you do invent this DO NOT show it to the zombie survival forum.

I was thinking that... how traumatic would it be to bring your lovely old nan back from the dead only to have her bite your face off:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Owen_S wrote: »
    Is OP some sort of modern-day Thomas Edison, planning on stealing our ideas and inventions?
    Tesla can go **** himself. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Cocolola

Remote-controlled house keys. The amount of times I've tried to open the door with my car keys is unreal :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

A breathalyser for computer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

A breathalyser for computer

Or a breathalyser for your phone at 4am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Funglegunk wrote: »
    Or a breathalyser for your phone at 4am.
    That should come standard on all phones! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

magic wand.

I'm not too sure if you're kinky and After Hours is innocent, or you're innocent and I'm kinky.

frysquintyeyes.jpg

FYP

My god.. the things you could buy.. or if you were really greedy you could send yourself to every lottery and just rake it all in. I would definitely do that. you'd be P Diddy rich:cool:

Imagine making it so you win the Euromillions week in, week out for months on end. You'd send the place into fits.
    M5 wrote: »
    A woman translator would sell about 4 billion units guaranteed

Human trafficking is illegal. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You've gotta think simple. See this ad?

An Irish flag onesie. Get them into every spar and centra in the next five days and you will easily sell 100,000 of them in less than a week. I guarantee it.

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭pearliefan

seamus wrote: »
    You've gotta think simple. See this ad?

An Irish flag onesie. Get them into every spar and centra in the next five days and you will easily sell 100,000 of them in less than a week. I guarantee it.

How has this not been done yet?! Genius. I'd buy one for the laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

3. A unit that you hook up to the outside of your head that could project and visualise your thoughts on to a device for playback later, a dream recorder if you will.
    I tried to make one of these myself when I was about ten, by using bits from an old TV and an old VCR :/

Did it work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Southern Dandy

Healthy cigarettes....tobacco could be one of your five a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

pearliefan wrote: »

theyre called morphsuits, you can buy them on the morphsuit website

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Owen_S wrote: »

Well his sig says that he's a mechanical engineer:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭Southern Dandy

pearliefan wrote: »

It has: http://www.thecostumeshop.ie/costumes/ireland-morphsuit.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Healthy cigarettes....tobacco could be one of your five a day.

Tobacco is 5 of my 5 a day...you mean its not healthy?!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

I'd love a brain wash of the filth i've absorbed .

Morphsuits are a full lycra bodysuits. The Morphsuits have a zip to open at the back and are designed so you can see where you are going and even drink through them.

If you can drink through then, do you need to take them off to have a leak ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A pill that could extend yourlife span by x amount of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

steddyeddy wrote: »
    A pill that could extend your life span penis by x amount of years inches.

Holy Viagra, Batman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

A keyring that rings when you call it on your phone. Never lose your keys again :).

They should do something similar for a phone!

I am always losing my phone when there is no phone available!

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭CajunPenguin

Funkfield wrote: »
    A hangover cure that worked.

/thread

1 vitamin b tablet per pint
    NOT VITAMIN C I never tried either but I remember my ma did once and she woke up green and vomiting. She called my aunt and said "I took the vitamin C ad I'm sick" "Ya fúckin eejit" came the reply :D
    Also a glass of water, like I said I haven't tried it but... Science!

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

A never ending can of <insert favourite beverage here>, which is always perfectly chilled..

Oh Yes! Two of them for me.:rolleyes: