Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People to cycle with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Seen 2 tandums, got talking a bit to one of them, a yank couple.
    I was very happy to get round it in under 7 hours, a bit stiff now but the lubricant is working. Don't know what I would do without uncle arthur! Neil and Leo flew past me with a few miles left but I had to let them go without a race to the line because I was waiting for my mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭pot p

Well lads, who's headin out this week and when?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

I've a Duathlon tomorrow, a gig on Thursday and heading to Amsterdam for the weekend on Friday so the only night I might be able to do is Wednesday.

Any of you up for An Post Meath Heritage Cycle? Early Bird entry closes 19/07. Id be up for either the 100 or the 160.
    http://www.meathsports.ie/cycle-tour/routes.html

Any of you up for An Post Meath Heritage Cycle? Early Bird entry closes 19/07. Id be up for either the 100 or the 160.

maybe yea. i gotta check out whether or not have plans that weekend. i definately think i am going to do the Leinster loop though

http://www.leinsterloop.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=53

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

yeah already signed up for the 160km

I'm away for 3 weeks in August Ill miss the Leinster Loop, sure I'll sign up for the Meath one later, just need to check a couple of things first.

Yeah I might sign up for that, just hav to make sure that I don't hav any matches on, don't know if I've the legs for 160. I can't head out tomorrow evening, hurling training

Might be up for a spin on Sunday sometime if anyone is up for it? Not to severe, maybe something like this one we did a few weeks back

http://app.strava.com/rides/12015149

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

stevieob wrote: »
    Might be up for a spin on Sunday sometime if anyone is up for it? Not to severe, maybe something like this one we did a few weeks back

http://app.strava.com/rides/12015149

I'm up for that. Love that descent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Trek1000

Anyone up for a 100km spin around wicklow tomorrow morning. Say around 8 A.M

Leaving around Ballsbridge area?

funkyjebus wrote: »

Yea it is pretty good fun alright. Say about 10 bells on Sunday?
    Trek1000 wrote: »

Sounds good for another time but I'm busy tomorrow. Want to join us Sunday?

I'm goin to try join ye on sunday

Sorry, forget to get back to you. Yep 10 in the morning at Aras sounds good. See you there.

Won't make it this mornin

Anyone up for a cycle tonight?

I'm nackered, just home from 4 days in Holland. I'll have to see how I feel after work, what type of distance and route are you talking?

Nice one, hope you got descent weather over there. I've no route worked out yet (might recycle one of Steves routes) but something around the 40km as was out this morning and don't want to overdo it :-)

jaqian wrote: »

Nice one, hope you got descent weather over there. I've no route worked out yet (might recycle one of Steves routes) but something around the 40km as was out this morning and don't want to overdo it :-)
    I can't have a match, headin out thursday night tho if anyones around

can't make Thursday evening but hope to get out that morning.

Ill join you tonight, if nothing else I will sleep easy tonight :)

Does Tyrellstown roundabout at 7pm suit you? I sent you my number in a pm.

Perfect

• Administrators Posts: 54,619 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

anyone on the southside heading out tonight?

Thanks for the cycle tonight VinylJunkie, actually did 55.8km all-in-all counting the trip up to Blanch and back :)

Yeah was a good spin, we were fairly motoring. Faster average speed than the last time I done that route and there was only the two of us.

I was surprised at how fast we went considering we were both tired. My Strava app paid we averaged 28.1km, which is a new one for me :-)

fair play lads, that was pretty quick. meanwhile i was skulling pints just as fast in the RDS :)

its nice to know you were with us in spirits ;-)

Have any of ye signed up for the meath heritage cycle?

pot p wrote: »
    Have any of ye signed up for the meath heritage cycle?

tempted, but not signed up just yet. if i do it will probaboly be for the 100k. reason being, i would like to do the lonmger distance, but i think i would probably just get left behind by the group and ebd up doing it on my own!

just see now that i missed early bird registration

thought it was expensive till i realised you get a free jersey with your entry

I've not signed up for it yet but i'm very very tempted. Don't know what to do

Also tempted. Will be doing the Sean Kelly for sure though.

definately wont be doin that. unfortunately though because i would love to but am not available that weekend. swmbo has me minding the kids cause she is off on a hen!

im definately going to do the leinster loop though on the 19th

just see now that i missed early bird registration

just sent them an email to see if they will still honour the early bird registration

what distance would you guys be on for signing up for if you were to go ahead with it?

pot p wrote: »
    I've not signed up for it yet but i'm very very tempted. Don't know what to do

Yeah I signed up for the 160km, I advise you to sign up, I will need the company :)

thought it was expensive till i realised you get a free jersey with your entry
    Where did you see that?

Edit: See it now, PINK! :O

I'm doing the 160km as well if a few of you want to meet up.

btw don't forget you can pre-register on Saturday and save yourself a lot of hassle.

Its just dawned on me that I might be biting off a bit more than I can chew :O

Where did you see that?

Edit: See it now, PINK! :O

Man up! Its not that bad as far as pink goes, in fact......I kinda like it :o

Let me know if you get an email back Steve, if I can stil get the early bird I'll definately do it, although I feel slighty scabby saying that considering it's a chartiy event!

Think I'd do the 160k, its only 750m of climbing.

Man up! Its not that bad as far as pink goes, in fact
    Oh I am man'd up, it's just I've nothing that matches it :D

funkie will lend you his boards bib shorts

Here ya go! Time to euro it up!

If im rocking that pink jersey, I'll probably have to wear my boards bibs for symmetry, although the pinks don't quite match, so I might look stoopid! Oh what to wear:p

You'll be fine for 160k, sure you did over 100kwith loads of tough climbs a few weeks ago and you were looked fine.

Anyone around today? I'm going to head up towards Sally Gap.

Got in a nice 66km up to the viewing point then around to Jonnoie Foxes, anyone on for a spin in the morning?

Playing a match in the morning so i'm not around but let me know when Ur heading out during the week

I'll be out most nights this week after work I reckon.

I'll give u a shout Monday so an find out what the story is

Fair play to ya vinyl, gettin a nice few k's in there. I might head out on Tuesday with ya.

I'm out on the lash next Saturday so gonna knock the Meath challange on the head for next Sunday, don't fancy doing it with a head on me!