Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pub locals

• 04-06-2012 9:45am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭

Me and 7 of my friends were out yesterday for a few drinks in the pub.
    We were on our 3rd pint and planning to stay for another 3 or that before hitting town.
    Anyway the pub was packed, and this old fella come in (about 85) and tells 2 of my friends to move as we were in his seat.
    They moved and 2 of them had to stand up.
    I was going to ask the barman what they story was but one of the fellas that moved told me that its known as his seat and people always have to move for him.
    We left straight after that pint and they lost out on €100 by us leaving.
    Hate that bullsh!t.
    Any of ye experience this crap from old people who think you owe them something?
    Tagged:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

are you seriously trying to argue that it's ok to sit in another mans seat?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

So you're upset that somebody stood up to let an 85 year old sit down, do you knock children and pregnant women over in the park for kicks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

They'd have made the €100 on someone else. Everyone was in the pubs yesterday. :p

As for the old guy, well, it's probably the big thing in his life, having his designated seat in his local... let him off.

Why did he need two seats though?

Edit - in case he pulled!!! I get it now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Was one of your friends sitting on another one's lap?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

unless there was no other seats, he should have just sit elsewhere.
    so what if that's "where he always sits", a whole group of customers who are spending alot more than he is shouldnt have to magically jump out of the way.
    name and shame the pub please.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,283 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

They probably were down 100e that day. but how much would they loose if the old boy didn't get his seat and went off and found a new local.

I have walked into pubs before and there was even a sign on the wall for the guys seat.
    Locals make the Irish pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

People have no respect for seniors these days.

This is the reason elder abuse is on the rise.

You oughta be ashamed of yourself OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

looking after regulars is the name of the game in pubs. If the oul fella didn't get his seat he would never come back.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

chrismon wrote: »
    We were on our 3rd pint and planning to stay for another 3 or that before hitting town.
    Anyway the pub was packed, and this old fella come in (about 85) and tells 2 of my friends to move as we were in his seat.
    I was going to ask the barman what they story was but one of the fellas that moved told me that its known as his seat and people always have to move for him.
    Hate that bullsh!t.
    Any of ye experience this crap from old people who think you owe them something?
    I run a bar.
    All the regulars have their usual spots. If someone else is in it when they get in, tough sh!t. Move to the next seat. Everyone still gets treated the same.
    Give special privileges like allowing someone to have his own seat is looking for trouble.
    Now to give an old man a seat out of kindness is a different story, if he demands it, then he can go jump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Meh, 85 year old thinking he has his own seat?

We've a 35 year old in our local goes mad when you try and sit in his chair too.
    He also complains that we're always pushing him around and talking behind his back!

in fairness to him though, he has no legs and is in a wheel chair

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

unless there was no other seats, he should have just sit elsewhere.
    so what if that's "where he always sits", a whole group of customers who are spending alot more than he is shouldnt have to magically jump out of the way.
    name and shame the pub please.
    For what? The barman didn't tell them to move.

looking after regulars is the name of the game in pubs. If the oul fella didn't get his seat he would never come back.

Yes he would.
    Creatures of habit. Old people don't like too much change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Adyx wrote: »
    For what? The barman didn't tell them to move.

but he obviously seems to think it's okay, and if your friends said no I'm sure he's get involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Your €100 is probably small change compared to what he has left there over the years.

I was like him when I lived in a different town, had my local and the barman had a seat reserved for me. Even had my name engraved at the bar, so when I came in if someone was there they had to move.

A good business man will always look out for his best customers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The elderly man probably drinks in there every day. You're obviously a blow in. Have a bit of respect.

jester77 wrote: »
    Your €100 is probably small change compared to what he has left there over the years.

I was like him when I lived in a different town, had my local and the barman had a seat reserved for me. Even had my name engraved at the bar, so when I came in if someone was there they had to move.

A good business man will always look out for his best customers!

You can still treat regulars well without making people move from seats.
    That will make you lose future business. Not great practice.

If the seat is taken, shout the regular a drink. He/She will be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

You could be talking about my local pub here. There's an 85 year old man who comes in and if someone is in 'his' seat they get up. You are obviously young enough if you were out on the tear with the lads (as in, you are not 85!) so I think that yes, your friends should have given this man his seat. So what if they had to stand? It's unlikely you got seats in whatever pub you moved on to anyway. I would have no gripe whatsoever with an old man getting his usual seat. He has probably spent thousands in that pub over the years do in sure the bar wouldn't have been too upset over loosing your €100 in comparison to the trade this usual/regular customer has given them! You should lighten up as in decades to come you could very well be this same old man in need of your usual seat by the bar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Your €100 doesn't mean a lot to management

That man keeps the pub going on quiet nights when you are nowhere to be seen

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Are you really pissed that you friends let an old man sit down in a packed pub. Fair play to them. Everywhere has the old character. In my local area there was a gang of old men that had they own area in the local, church anywhere they was a meetup. My granddad was part of the gang. If he saw a gap between two young ones in the line up for communion they would get a dig with his stick and he was had the gap filled.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,222 ✭✭✭✭biko

Fair play to your friend. I'm glad we still have upstanding young men like him in society today.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

My problem with the situation is that he told us to move. He didn't ask could he move he literally tapped my friend on the shoulder and said "move, I sit there ".
    I have no problem giving up a seat for someone who needs it. But not demanding the seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

My problem with the situation is that he told us to move. He didn't ask could he move he literally tapped my friend on the shoulder and said "move, I sit there ".
    I have no problem giving up a seat for someone who needs it. But not demanding the seat.

Old men in pubs are notoriously grumpy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

Old men are notoriously grumpy.

FYP :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

It'd be different if he was a young fella, but imo there's no big deal in giving an aul fella a seat in a packed pub, whether he considers it 'his' seat or not. Ya never know, if ye had engaged him in conversation ye might have learned a thing or two! ;)

Jason Todd wrote: »
    It'd be different if he was a young fella, but imo there's no big deal in giving an aul fella a seat in a packed pub, whether he considers it 'his' seat or not. Ya never know, if ye had engaged him in conversation ye might have learned a thing or two! ;)

How to be an alcoholic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

you didnt wanna give up a seat to an 85 year old man?... wait til u hit his age...you'll be hoping people do that for you

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

To be honest I wouldn't expect more than a quick few words from an 85 year old in a packed pub. Fair play that he was able to project his voice loud enough, I certainly won't be able if I ever get to that age, I find it hard most of the time now.

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Years ago there was an early house pub my mates and I used go to sometimes and there was a really grumpy old man who had drank there for years, no matter what new metamorphosis the pub underwent, he continued to drink there. At this stage the pub's metamorphosis involved being full of people still partying from the night before and very loud dance music, but still he drank in that pub. It used take him an age to shuffle from his seat to the bathroom, which meant making his way through people dancing, and if you tried to help him (which people often did) he'd get really pissed off.

One day, as I was leaving, he grabbed my sleeve to get my attention and then instructed me to get him a taxi, while he sat in his seat and waited for me to come get him once I'd managed to flag down a passing taxi for him. Once his taxi arrived, he allowed me to escort him to the car and help him in to the passenger seat. When he was in, he shut the door and instructed the driver to drive on. Not a word of thanks or acknowledgement to me.

He was the crankiest old man I've ever had the misfortune to meet in a pub, but I couldn't help but admire his stubborn tenacity to continue to drink in the pub he'd always drank in even though all his old drinking buddies (if he'd ever had any) were no longer around, and the pub was a million miles removed from the kind of pub it would have been when he first decided he liked it enough to make it his local.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Hate that bullsh!t.

Hmmmm....I reckon to earn that seat the auld chap had spent a bit more than that over the years...who do you really think is a valued customer?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Hate that bullsh!t.
    not to insult but you sound like just u just turned 18 and your pubes just started growing :D as for mans seat if he sat there for last couple years so fair play to him its his seat.I had situations where you would leave for a minute and find a couple sitting in your spot,and tell them to move on somewhere else no trouble there,or if theres a group of girls just leave them at it,and not go crying on AH about 85 old man and your sucky 100e.