Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI summer talk/transfers/rumours 2012.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

sonic85 wrote: »
    dont know if this is the right place to put this but didnt want to start a new thread. i want to start going to the odd LOI game for the craic but im not sure which club to watch. the only clubs im aware of around me are wexford youths and waterford united. kilkenny city arent in existence anymore and im not sure if FC carlow are still going.

just want peoples opinions on what team i should watch? its about an hours drive to both wexford and waterford but which team plays the better football has decent parking etc?

thanks

If Wexford and Waterford are both around an hour away from you, why not try take a trip to both venues and see for yourself which team plays the better football? Do you know anyone from your area that follows any of those sides?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Yeah, you should try both! If it was me, i'd say Waterford! Decent stadium. But Wexford could do with the support as well!!

Just go to both and see what you think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭kksaints

dont know if this is the right place to put this but didnt want to start a new thread. i want to start going to the odd LOI game for the craic but im not sure which club to watch. the only clubs im aware of around me are wexford youths and waterford united. kilkenny city arent in existence anymore and im not sure if FC carlow are still going.

just want peoples opinions on what team i should watch? its about an hours drive to both wexford and waterford but which team plays the better football has decent parking etc?

thanks

How far from Dublin would you be? Depending on what part of Carlow your from Dublin wouldnt be impossible to get to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

If Wexford and Waterford are both around an hour away from you, why not try take a trip to both venues and see for yourself which team plays the better football? Do you know anyone from your area that follows any of those sides?

i dont know anyone that watches any LOI football never mind follows waterford or wexford! ill go to a couple of games and see how it turns out

kksaints wrote: »
    How far from Dublin would you be? Depending on what part of Carlow your from Dublin wouldnt be impossible to get to.

id be about an hour and 45 minutes away from dublin roughly. it wouldnt be impossible to get to but id prefer a localish team to be honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭kksaints

id be about an hour and 45 minutes away from dublin roughly. it wouldnt be impossible to get to but id prefer a localish team to be honest!

Fair enough. I often travel to Dublin on the Bus to get to Inchicore so with the motorway it takes only an hour to get there from Carlow town but you seem to be a bit far from there. Hope you enjoy either Waterford or Wexford.

kksaints wrote: »
    Fair enough. I often travel to Dublin on the Bus to get to Inchicore so with the motorway it takes only an hour to get there from Carlow town but you seem to be a bit far from there. Hope you enjoy either Waterford or Wexford.

yeah im a good bit away from carlow town - down the south of the county. thanks for the reply anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Don't rule out FC Carlow just yet.

The Airtricity League 'A' Championship side played in Balon at Burrin Celtic's ground. But the 'A' League has been disbanded for now.

And the Airtricity League U19 side played at the home venue in Carlow Town.
    The 2011/12 season finished. August - April.
    http://www.airtricityleague.ie/matchzone/dr-tony-oneill-under-19-league/league-table

Enjoy the games you go to.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

thanks

Hi Sonic85, I drive to Tallaght for home games, you're more than welcome to come, I work in Carlow.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

It's a real shame that there's people who are willing to support a LOI club but literally have to drive for hours to do so. Then there's barstoolers who ignore football on their doorstep.
    It sickens me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,379 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

We've signed Ryan Connolly after his trial. Not sure why we need another winger but anyway.

Latest pic of the new stand from Michael Melly on facebook. It is much bigger than I thought it would be. Delighted with it even though I loved the terrace.

318010_3382650850418_1842167309_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

A building site where no-one is wearing a hard hat?

Who is doing the building work, a community of locals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Des wrote: »
    A building site where no-one is wearing a hard hat?

Who is doing the building work, a community of locals?

Yeah, a couple of lads wearing runners also.
    Has it got planning permission yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A minor trifle, lads. A minor trifle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Yeah, a couple of lads wearing runners also.
    To be fair the lads wearing runners are just in for a look.

Planning permission?! Fuck no. Sure bang it up and apply for retention, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

AgileMyth wrote: »
    To be fair the lads wearing runners are just in for a look.

They should be escorted around then by someone in charge as opposed to being just allowed to ramble around on their own as it seems from the photo.

Everyone on the site, regardless of working or just nosing, should be wearing hard hats, steel capped boots and high-vis vests/jackets.

Otherwise any accident could see some costly compo payout.

Also potential H&S fines.

The only thing that can fall from above and hit them is bird shite.

Oatesy23 wrote: »

I can see a crane lifting into place the long concrete slabs that are holding the red seats in that picture, there are two lads in hi-vis vests moving it into place after the crane has lowered it down.

Posting that comment does not absolve those running a construction site of their legal responsibilities.

There is not a hope in hell I would work on a construction site with such a blatant disregard for basic H&S. Frightening to think of what else is being ignored.

I really hope nobody is injured. Or worse.

I can see a crane lifting into place the long concrete slabs that are holding the red seats in that picture, there are two lads in hi-vis vests moving it into place after the crane has lowered it down.

A hard hat isn't saving anyone if that precast concrete falls on you.

They wore hats earlier in construction when they had do, yesterday was warm enough so I wouldn't be wearing one either when there is nothing above your head other than the clouds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Sigh...............

A hard hat isn't saving anyone if that precast concrete falls on you.

They wore hats earlier in construction when they had do, yesterday was warm enough so I wouldn't be wearing one either when there is nothing above your head other than the clouds.

So what about those walking around a construction site in runners? :confused:

What's your excuse for ignoring H&S legislation?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    So what about those walking around a construction site in runners? :confused:

What's your excuse for ignoring H&S legislation?

I don't have one, because I could not give a f*ck to be honest. They only came in to take a look, talk about blowing something out of proportion :rolleyes:.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I'd rather be walking under precast concrete than in some stands across the country if I was taking in H&S concerns, including Tolka.

Ballybough is closed and not ever used.

For that reason.

I've not been in the Riverside in a good few years, but afaik it's safe.

I wish I'd quoted your original text from that post dfx.

New Mod already abusing priveleges!!! :eek:;)

I don't have one, because I could not give a f*ck to be honest. They only came in to take a look, talk about blowing something out of proportion :rolleyes:.

Nobody is blowing anything our of proportion. People are just commenting on the lack of obvious H&S. As someone who has worked on building sites where there have been fatalities, it's not right.

If you don't give a f*ck about that going on in your ground ,that's your right. But it could have serious reprecussions for your club if something goes wrong.

:p

I thought I should be a bit more diplomatic - in that it's not just Tolka if you're looking at H&S.

In terms of the Riverside last Thursday (albeit a very wet night), there's holes in the roof leaving standing water, sections cordoned off and of course, you had to walk through the Ballybough end and up into it to avoid the huge standing water lake behind the goal and to the toilets/refreshments and queue in it to exit the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

New Mod already abusing priveleges!!! :eek:;)

A rovers fan as a mod!! :eek:

The inmates have taken over the prison....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

anyone hear anything about a LOI player failing a drug test recently?

redzerdrog wrote: »

Probably a Pat's player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Probably a Pat's player.

rumours of a drogs player but havent heard anything reliable yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭shanec1928

for the H&S worriers here.the builder who was working during the game was wearing a hard hat.:p

Dean Kelly should be a Shels player in the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,592 ✭✭✭✭CSF

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Flood joining yous?

CSF wrote: »
    Flood joining yous?
    rumoured to be was at the match tonight. Would rather Murphy off mons tbh

Would rather we took Flood, and you could have whoever.

If we could refrain from naming or guessing at anyone without substantiation, that'd be great.

and pay him with what? :confused:

It's a strange assumption that Flood would earn anything significant more than Dean Kelly, but sure carry on nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

The few bob we have left in our budget that Matthews tried using to get Pat Sullivan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Was tweeted last night by Mark Cummins (Irish journalist) and he claims his source is realible and he knows who the player is but isn't saying.

Someone on our forum is saying our game against Bray on the 7th has been moved to Saturday afternoon for TV.

I despise RTE. If we win Friday in Dundalk we would have had a really good home gate on the Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Was tweeted last night by Mark Cummins (Irish journalist) and he claims his source is realible and he knows who the player is but isn't saying.

"Drogheda United player has failed a drugs test......"

https://twitter.com/markcummins1/status/217725487101906944

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Heard it wasn't recreational drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

Was something purchased from a chemist apparently.

Seems honest error if you could call it that and it is thought he will be cleared from what I was told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

I reckon it was from an energy supplement like jack3d, lots of these contain 1-3 dimethylamylamine which is banned, even though it's just a stimulant...

Newstalk said we signed Flood last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

DL Saint wrote: »
    I reckon it was from an energy supplement like jack3d, lots of these contain 1-3 dimethylamylamine which is banned, even though it's just a stimulant...

Correct...http://pfai.ie/news/303-statement-regarding-drogheda-utd-player

As far as I know the rules are fairly clear on ignorance not being an excuse so I'd say he is going to get a ban.