Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Fire escape from bedroom?

• 06-06-2012 5:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5

Hi, I'm new to Boards, so not sure if I'm posting this in the right place...

My question is whether a bedroom off a kitchen is an inner room. The kitchen has a very small utility room outside it and the back door is off the utility room. The bedroom has no windows; just a vented rooflight that cannot be opened. The owner of the house in question maintains that since the distance from the bedroom to the back door is less than 4m, it complies with building regulations for fire escapes. However, I haven't found anything in TGD B that backs up this claim.

Does anyone know if this room can be classed as a bedroom or any habitable room?

Comments

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 10,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭BryanF

Caitriona9 wrote: »

My question is whether a bedroom off a kitchen is an inner room. The kitchen has a very small utility room outside it and the back door is off the utility room. The bedroom has no windows; just a vented rooflight that cannot be opened. The owner of the house in question maintains that since the distance from the bedroom to the back door is less than 4m, it complies with building regulations for fire escapes. However, I haven't found anything in TGD B that backs up this claim.