Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids falling down drunk in Ballsbridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

That is true.

But if the children were bought up to behave in a responsible manner and know when to drink and when not to, they'ld be a lot more responsible as adults too.

Adults going to concerts will go and have a few drinks. Adults going out for a meal or to watch a match or having a bbq will have a few drinks... the kids don't lick it off the ground.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

smash wrote: »
    Drinking is social behaviour. I never mentioned damaging property. Everyone tries drinking as a youth. The parents can not be held accountable for how it makes their children react.
    Not everyone tries drinking as a youth (I didn't, nor did a number of my friends).
    Even those that do wouldn't generally behave in such a manner - some people are being a little too blasé about such things.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,872 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

There were plenty of youngs lads and girls possibly from the northside while I was on the 7 bus tonight.

Wtf? :confused:

Castleknock? Clontarf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Kids falling down drunk in Ballsbridge

Black rimmed glasses?
    Flat top haircut?
    Short sleeved white shirt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

mikom wrote: »
    Black rimmed glasses?
    Flat top haircut?
    Short sleeved white shirt?

Freckles
    Gold chain
    Ghoulbag laugh
    Red neck
    Rosy cheeks
    Spoiler the size of a 747 on a 1.0 starlet

• Registered Users Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Wtf? :confused:

Castleknock? Clontarf?

They could be from the likes of West Dublin in places like Tallaght or Clondalkin as well. You could never know were they are from.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

They could be from the likes of West Dublin in places like Tallaght or Clondalkin as well. You could never know were they are from.

Even when drunk the accents are different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

DarkJager wrote: »
    That music is a bit too tasteful for the likes of 13/14 year olds.

no its not. deadmau5 is trash.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

So is this a step up or down from bush drinking?

Seems to be the same type of stuff going on, only now it's in the middle of urban areas as opposed to somewhere out of the way.

What I would like to know is where they are getting the booze. Surely the parents would know if their booze was disappearing on a regular basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

So is this a step up or down from bush drinking?

Seems to be the same type of stuff going on, only now it's in the middle of urban areas as opposed to somewhere out of the way.

What I would like to know is where they are getting the booze. Surely the parents would know if their booze was disappearing on a regular basis.

Do people really keep so much booze at home that they don't notice it going missing?:eek:
    If I fancy a beer at home I would only buy what I am going to drink not case fulls!

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Emerald1

I didn't have a drink until I was 17, and to be honest I'm glad I waited till then. But part of it was not only due to the concious decision I made myself not to drink, but it was also due to the people I hung around with - most of them weren't into drinking and getting drunk. I'm not saying that now, as an 18 year old, I don't get drunk myself, but I think I'm more aware of where to draw the line when it comes to getting too drunk.

IMO, teenagers of 13/14/15 don't have the capacity to tolerate alcohol like an older teenager would. In my town recently a girl of about 15 got hammered and ending up having an "accident" on the floor of Supermac's in front of a group of her friends, not to mention the other people who would have been in Supermac's at the time.

I know you could argue like the previous posters and say "well everyone makes mistakes at that age and you learn from them" but the reality is, this girl did not learn from the experience and still drinks and gets drunk. I know this because my sister is in the same year as her in school.

But to be honest there's no easy solution to situations like this - drinking excessively is too embedded in our culture and is considered on a whole as being normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

mishkalucy wrote: »
    [/B]

Do people really keep so much booze at home that they don't notice it going missing?:eek:
    If I fancy a beer at home I would only buy what I am going to drink not case fulls!

It's more from the older generation but it still happens. My parents have vodka, whiskey and wine in the house. They use them for special occasions. Also they get given them as gifts at birthdays christmas etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭Sea Filly

Wompa1 wrote: »
    The cycle of alcoholism continues. Awwwww it's adorable. Cute little drunks, they'll do us proud in years to come when they are unemployed, using their dole to buy a few pints every day and stay in the pub for the day. Cuties

Yeah, that'll only happen to a small percentage of them. The amount of accomplished people I know who indulged in knacker drinking as teens is well, a lot! Nice self-righteousness though.

It's more from the older generation but it still happens. My parents have vodka, whiskey and wine in the house. They use them for special occasions. Also they get given them as gifts at birthdays christmas etc.

That's fair enough, my granny had a little bottle of "something" always in the house.
    Medicinal ;)

But if these kids are 14/15 their folks are not old timers they are my age bracket(not tellin:P)

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Muir

The concert was over 16s and I know when I was younger going to concert they tended to look for ID. So I can't see loads of drunk 14 year olds being allowed in.

Aside from that, you can't hold parents responsible for every single thing their kids do. Yes, some parents don't care and allow their kids do what they want, but most do care & would probably be disgusted if their teenager got drunk and caused damage to someones car etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Muir wrote: »
    The concert was over 16s and I know when I was younger going to concert they tended to look for ID. So I can't see loads of drunk 14 year olds being allowed in.

Aside from that, you can't hold parents responsible for every single thing their kids do. Yes, some parents don't care and allow their kids do what they want, but most do care & would probably be disgusted if their teenager got drunk and caused damage to someones car etc.

Why not hold them responsible?
    And if they were disgusted at such things, then they should know about it and do something.

Well parents can hardly follow their 16 year olds around everywhere just incase. They don't always know, did your parents know everything you did as a teen?

And aside from that, there are also circumstances when the parents do everything they can for a child & it doesn't do any good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I disagree, the parents are responsible. It is parents with an attitude like yours insofar as they believe they are not responsile for their own children that is the cause of the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I disagree, the parents are responsible. It is parents with an attitude like yours insofar as they believe they are not responsile for their own children that is the cause of the problem.

Agree completely. It's also the reason that most of these drinking laws have been passed (10pm off licence closing times, proposed minimum price alcohol), all because these useless ***** expect the state to parent their children than doing it themselves.

Well parents can hardly follow their 16 year olds around everywhere just incase. They don't always know, did your parents know everything you did as a teen?

And aside from that, there are also circumstances when the parents do everything they can for a child & it doesn't do any good.

Saw and knew EVERYTHING I did, I got away with nothing.
    I guess I believe if you want to know everything your child is up to, you can.

An attitude like mine? I'm not saying people shouldn't be responsible for their children, there are kids where I live whose parents do nothing to control them and that pisses me off to no end.

I know someone who is struggling very much with a teenager at the moment. A teenager who was brought up well and with respect, got in with the wrong crowd and is now nothing but trouble. It most certainly is not a case where the parent is at fault. Obviously that situation is not the majority of cases but it happens and I don't think people realise how difficult it is.

But in the majority of cases, a parent can't always know everything a teen does. As much as most of them want to, it isn't possible. And bringing up a teen to be responsible and make good decisions doesn't mean they wont go out and make a mistake now and again. Everyone makes mistakes.

Some parents do not care, and I can't stand that. Obviously they should bring their children up to have respect for other people and themselves. But not all parents do this, they let their children do as they please & that's not right.

Saw and knew EVERYTHING I did, I got away with nothing.
    I guess I believe if you want to know everything your child is up to, you can.

Well fair play to your parents. But I genuinely don't think it's always possible. Teenagers can always lie.

I have to say I think the difference was then and now,,,,,,,,

Fear!

My folks never put a hand on me or were abusive but I knew that if I did anything way out of line, I would be stuck in the house for months:D

No more dancing for me, stuck in watchin Gaybo while my pals were having a ball!
    Feck that for a game of soldiers;)

I have to say I think the difference was then and now,,,,,,,,

Fear!

My folks never put a hand on me or were abusive but I knew that if I did anything way out of line, I would be stuck in the house for months:D

No more dancing for me, stuck in watchin Gaybo while my pals were having a ball!
    Feck that for a game of soldiers;)

Well I would have been the same but I can't honestly say I never did anything my parents wouldn't approve of. Nothing extreme though and nothing that ever caused any harm or inconvenience to anyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Agree completely. It's also the reason that most of these drinking laws have been passed (10pm off licence closing times, proposed minimum price alcohol), all because these useless ***** expect the state to parent their children than doing it themselves.

I'm not totally convinced that those laws are really to address underage drinking
    Personally, I think it is to benefit the pub trade
    If the state are parenting our children; trying to alter attitudes to drink and drug abuse or address the existing problem they're doing a very bad job.

Absolutely the parents have a duty of care and should instil some morality / cop on into their kids but in this case the gig organisers should also be more in control. The kids are ultimately responsible for themselves, their choices and their behaviour but when they are out in public

I was far from an angel but certainly whilst I was underage my parents had a good knowledge of where I was and who I was with. I definitely wouldn't have been going to a gig on a week night or have the schools finished up for Summer now ? One of my parents would have collected me afterwards or at least would still be up waiting for me when I got home. So, if I was very lucky I could hide being a bit tipsy,any worse than that and I would have been grounded for some time.

I think society as a whole needs to be more intolerant of this low level bad behaviour to stop the kids going totally feral.
    Look what happened in London last year when a lot of the kids (adults too) saw they could run riot without much consequence.

The problem at the moment is how to we achieve that. If there were people falling down drunk, puking and making a nuisance of themselves why were they not carted off in paddywagons and escorted home ?

In theory I've no objection to people blowing off a bit of steam, being a bit rebellious or even having it large but even when doing any of that they need to be aware of boundaries - acting the ass on public transport, damaging property or hassling members of the public is not fun and shouldn't be accepted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭dominiquecruz

Bit of an unreal expectation on the parents here. Mine were very diligent, keeping tight tabs on myself and my siblings at all times, and I still found a way around it. I would even wait until they were asleep, and sneak out of the house.. some children just want to feel like adults, and parents can try their best to quell this behaviour, but if someone's decided they want to drink, there's no stopping it. I was absolutely bollocked out of it if I was ever caught even slightly tipsy before 18, but I learned the best ways to avoid being caught.

In saying that, never at that age did I want to intimidate anybody or destroy property, I was just looking for harmless craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Every time I see the thread title I think its "Kids falling down the stairs". Even though I've seen and corrected myself umpteen fcukin times.

I think my brain is broked. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Laneyh

LordSmeg wrote: »
    Every time I see the thread title I think its "Kids falling down the stairs". Even though I've seen and corrected myself umpteen fcukin times.

I think my brain is broked. :(

They probably fell down stairs too if there was any

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

If my parents knew the things I did between the ages of 16-19 they would disown me.

Now I'm 21 and still do it, but I'm an adult so its ok :P

The way I see it, teenagers can lie. Parents should be held responsible to a certain degree...but I think some parents put too much trust in their teens. Oh not my Mary, my Mary doesn't drink...and Mary's out shagging john outside wez but they think she's in Jane's house...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

No, it's not the reason. FG said in their manifesto they would introduce the minimum pricing to prop up the pubs.
    They are just trying to put a "for the kids" spin on it now, but make no mistake, it's all about the pubs.