Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

More Revenue Shenanigans from Mick Wallace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

He is no more corrupt than 90% of the sitting Td's unfortunately,hey it's Ireland and these guys will only see the inside of a jail cell on a guided tour of Kilmainham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

Philco71 wrote: »
    Perhaps you're right. They have certainly shown themselves to be just the same as the rest of our elected leaders. Its just depressing when you think of politics in this country.

It is but take solace. Elected officials are nothing more than puppets for the real rulers of this and many other countries. Ireland is run by senior civil servants, corrupt union bosses and corporate giants, the monkeys in the dail are just shuffled around every few years to give the illusion of choice and freedom. I'm sure local TDs have some ability to get boilers fixed and parking tickets quashed but when it comes to the real reins of power, I don't think they're in the hands of Enda Kenny.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

StudentDad wrote: »
    Wow the hypocrisy surrounding this is something else. How many politicians of whatever party over the years have been caught with their hands in the cookie jar? How many have given the one fingered salute to the electorate? Now this guy, who as far as I can see is a business man who ran for election and won a seat.

This is a good auld fashioned witch hunt.

SD

I don't think you will find one poster here who will defend Bertie, Lowry, Cooper-Flynn, Callelly, Haughey, Lawlor and the many others.

Please show me the hypocrisy demonstrated?

Where have we seen another TD who has done similar crimes go unscathed on this forum? I would love to see that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭StudentDad

I don't think you will find one poster here who will defend Bertie, Lowry, Cooper-Flynn, Callelly, Haughey, Lawlor and the many others.

Please show me the hypocrisy demonstrated?

Where have we seen another TD who has done similar crimes go unscathed on this forum? I would love to see that.

I wasn't just referring to this forum. The establishment has been calling for his head since this story broke. Funny how the heads of those you mentioned were not sought, nor are they being sought today.

SD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

What kind of public pressure would it take to actually get Wallace prosecuted?

Is there solid evidence of crimes, or does it need to be investigated in more detail first to determine that?
    If there is solid evidence, would (by past precedent in Irish politics) that automatically lead to prosecution, or would it require public pressure?
    If it went to prosecution, would that lead to conviction or (once again) would that require public pressure?
    If it lead to a conviction, would it be a proper conviction or would it just end up with a token slap-on-the-wrist, unless public pressure was applied?

At any of those stages/circumstances, what would it take to generate enough public pressure and attention to actually force something to be done?

There is always talk about "they're all the same", "nothing will ever be done about it" etc., but a detailed discussion on what could be done, and where those efforts would fall down, would be interesting.

It seems to me, there's a certain defeatist attitude from the Irish public when it comes to dealing with corruption, which tends to hinder any potential efforts of changing things, and which even dissuades discussing actions "it's pointless" etc..; it would be good to do away with that, and actually see what can be done and what does/doesn't work.

It would be good to see a little something more happen, than the stupidly meek reaction of nagging him into a voluntary resignation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

But realistically what can the public do unless the current politicians want to make the changes, out of 160 odd politicians only 2 have come out and said he should resign, why more aren't is obvious imo, they don't want to set a precedent. Once one TD is forced out for shenanigans more will be and I would imagine they are all scared ****less of that happening. FFS Kenny hasn't even called for him to resign, saying it's not his place, ****ing right it's his place he's been chosen as the leader of the country he should be leading be example. Sure he's as bad to a certain extent, how long was he a TD and still claiming part of his teachers pay and working up his pension.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭SMASH THE UNIONS

Wallace was simply a bad joke that went too far. The pink shirts, the long greasy hair, the runners - people thought it would be funny to stick him in the Dáil with "the suits"...until the dust settled and they realised they'd be stuck with him for 4 years as their incapable representive.

He hasn't made one single useful contribution to the Dáil and, despite appearances, he is just as corrupt the rest of them. He should resign and I'd prefer if his seat remained unfilled. A by-election will only cost us another fortune and it's too soon after the Fiscal Stability Treaty referendum for another costly campaign with the unsighlty posters and speeches of lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭SMASH THE UNIONS

Also I'd urge everybody to write to their Dáil reprensativies to put pressure on them to call for Wallace's resignation. I understand that most of the proles are distracted by the Euro Football Championship at the moment (luckily for Wallace) but please take 5 mins out of your day to contact your TD. A decent man got a few years in prison for failing to declare tax on garlic but Wallace gets off scot-free? One set of laws for the ordinary man, another set for the elites.

But realistically what can the public do unless the current politicians want to make the changes, out of 160 odd politicians only 2 have come out and said he should resign, why more aren't is obvious imo, they don't want to set a precedent. Once one TD is forced out for shenanigans more will be and I would imagine they are all scared ****less of that happening. FFS Kenny hasn't even called for him to resign, saying it's not his place, ****ing right it's his place he's been chosen as the leader of the country he should be leading be example. Sure he's as bad to a certain extent, how long was he a TD and still claiming part of his teachers pay and working up his pension.
    If that's the case then people need to write to their TD's, submit letters or articles to newspapers, and in general try to spread publicity about the issue and demand prosecution not resignation.

It is ridiculous that the few TD's making noise about this are only demanding that he resign, when he should obviously be fined and put in prison; a public campaign to actually imprison him would have an effect, it would need to gain enough support though.

In general I don't understand that: If people are going to make noise for something to be done about this, demand prosecution not just resignation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I reckon he'll end up resigning. I know that's almost an alien concept in Irish politics but I suspect he knows he has been utterly compromised and enough pressure will grow. Can't wait until he makes an intervention during a Dail debate and if he disappears from the house cos its awkward for him the people of Wexford will demand his leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

A decent man got a few years in prison for failing to declare tax on garlic but Wallace gets off scot-free? One set of laws for the ordinary man, another set for the elites.

Please dont construe this as a defence of Wallace, who I think is a lying self righteous dick, but all this stuff about the Garlic Man bugs me. Yes, Begley was a well liked, charitable, family man. But you dont get to choose the laws you obey.

He grew his company to be Ireland’s largest fruit and vegetable companies through unfair competition: that means some other company and their employees were loosing out.

He didnt pay his tax, which meant the state (you, me, the sick, the elderly, the children, etc) were loosing out.

Judge Martin Nolan imposed the maximum term as Begley had engaged in a “grave” and “huge” tax evasion scheme.

He said he had to impose a significant jail term because such offences are difficult to uncover and therefore the only effective deterrence is lengthy prison terms for those who are caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Please dont construe this as a defence of Wallace, who I think is a lying self righteous dick, but all this stuff about the Garlic Man bugs me. Yes, Begley was a well liked, charitable, family man. But you dont get to choose the laws you obey. . .

. . . a point ignored by the fraudulent TD in order to save his own skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I think someone in the government or even someone in the Dáil needs to offically ask the revenue to please explain why they came to a settlement with wallace when they musty surely have known his company was in trouble.

Why didn't the revenue instigate legal proceedings against wallace in order to try and get him personally responsible for his actions as director of a company.

The revenue is always the first to be paid no matter what.

Through wallaces's actions he has insured that revenue will not get paid because there is no money and the company is insolvent.

This isn't just a resignation matter, it is a criminal matter.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Last night Joan Burton talked about needing to see the details of the deal subject to Wallace being willing to allow it (disclosure of such deals is subject to both parties agreeing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,456 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

what i dont get is mick wallace admits that he deliberatly under-declared his vat submissions, now that isnt the company going under behaviour (where you dont pay anything because you dont have it). its deliberate and premeditated tax evasion honestly dont know why the revenue came to agreement (apart from its their primary course of action).
    In my opinion he should be jailed (i think 5 years is the max for vat evasion) and he should be barred from being a company director (not sure about the legals on that mind)

this isnt a mistake or an oversight or circumstances from what he is saying its deliberate evasion

mike65 wrote: »
    Last night Joan Burton talked about needing to see the details of the deal subject to Wallace being willing to allow it (disclosure of such deals is subject to both parties agreeing)
    That's ridiculous; so there's no way to uncover the details surrounding that deal?

The law needs to be changed there, to such an extent that at least TD's don't have a right to privacy when it comes to their tax declarations; and that when there is suspicion of fraud, there is a mechanism to force disclosure of such information when it's in the public interest (from anyone not just TD's, because this is money stolen from the public after all).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

jmayo wrote: »

Not entirely true.
    In this case, the company should have ceased and the liquidiator is first to be paid. Then the staff.

I thought the revenue was first after liquidator
    And then the staff ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

There is absolutely no way in this life or the next that tax dodger Mick will resign his seat, he clearly doesn't give a dam about anything other than his pocket, he doesn't care about his reputation, he cares about eating in fancy restaurants and going to Euro 2012 and having a lovely fresh pink shirt ready to wear every morning.

Maybe I'm just jealous but it really galls me that this cheat who owes millions can go on dream holidays and dines out like a king while many people are struggling to get by.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2060900/Anyone-venison-Broke-builder-Mick-Wallace-dines-restaurant-just-yards-cash-strapped-parliament.html#ixzz1qvrvWHcy

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Deputy-Mick-Wallace-escapes-to-Poland-after-admitting-he-cheated-the-Irish-taxman-158079775.html

There is something rotten in the state of Denmark Ireland. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭Paddy De Plasterer

Heard some local editor of a paper that Wallace writes for in Wexford saying he is still very popular in there, and that is why none of the other TDs there criticise him. By the way why did Revenue "settle" with him when he could not pay it - they should have left it open, and seeing that he lied, they must reopen it now.
    As Reg Mauling said what an awful fúcking country !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Sappa

He is a scumbag,it wouldn't surprise me one bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/tax-cheat-td-mick-wallace-resigns-from-technical-group-3136227.html

I see he has now resigned from the technical group probably in order to save his seat. Most of the technical group signed a petition to get rid of him (wow, a petition that worked!).

It is noticeable that Uncle Joe, Richard Boy-Wonder and the rest of the ULA mob didn't sign - does that mean that these so-called socialists support tax-cheating developers when the developers want the ordinary taxpayer to carry the bill while they go off to Poznan and dine in upmarket restaurants? You couldn't make it up, or could you?

"No question now, what had happened to the faces of the pigs. The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which."
    - George Orwell, Animal Farm, Ch. 10

I hope the people of Ireland remember the way the ULA supported tax cheats the next time we have an election.

the one thing I would like to thank mick wallace for is debunking the myth and all the sh*** pedalled by the self righteous ULA and People Before Taxes (they have decided on a recent name change).
    And we can include other notable political reformers in there such as Ming "turfman" flanagan.

The next time one of them gets on their high horse about cuts all that needs to be flung at them is those cuts mightn't be necessary but for their friend in the pink shirt.

and what about Vincent Browne. He sort of goaded Wallace into running, but the other night had not one word to say about Mick the thing the cat brought home on a frosty morning. Instead he attacked Pascal Donoghue.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

jmayo wrote: »
    I think someone in the government or even someone in the Dáil needs to offically ask the revenue to please explain why they came to a settlement with wallace when they musty surely have known his company was in trouble.

Why didn't the revenue instigate legal proceedings against wallace in order to try and get him personally responsible for his actions as director of a company.

Through wallaces's actions he has insured that revenue will not get paid because there is no money and the company is insolvent.

This isn't just a resignation matter, it is a criminal matter.

Imagine us all living in Wallaceland?....... do as you like, say what you like, do not pay for anything and accountable to nobody. All the BS that Wallace has uttered since he took office. He opposed the household charges and his pretend moral outrage. Just a chancer where there is no law for him, but the law is only for the rest of us mugs. He has no respect for anybody and his dress sense epitomizes that. Go be a rebel somewhere else Wallace but save us from your sanctimonious double standards.

And Wallace is a legislator ! And take the high moral ground on ethical issues, even got emotional in Dail while speaking on some moral issues. His morality of course.

VB show last night, Vincent ranting and defending Wallace - its only just 2.1 million he owes by being a VAT cheat and a liar. VB the Equality man ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

VB show last night, Vincent ranting and defending Wallace
    A born contrarian craving attention will do things like this. Best way to deal with such rubbish is ignore it and starve it of any airtime.

and what about Vincent Browne. He sort of goaded Wallace into running, but the other night had not one word to say about Mick the thing the cat brought home on a frosty morning. Instead he attacked Pascal Donoghue.

Donoghue should have fought back more.
    The one thing that VB likes most is when he can shout down the rest.
    vb is very fond of using the old line about "Labour's way or Frankfurt's way".
    Well the next time he uses it the Labour rep should just counter by asking him if would he rather "Wallace's Way"
    VB show last night, Vincent ranting and defending Wallace - its only just 2.1 million he owes by being a VAT cheat and a liar. VB the Equality man ?

browne has been shown up as well in this saga.
    The best thing the major parties, including SF, could do is just pain refuse to go on the show.
    I know it won't happen, but if the show was left to him and his usual cohort of buddies it was soon fall flat on it's face and be seen for what it is.

Any clip of VB showing that? I don't watch VB much, but surprising as I had the impression he had a certain amount of integrity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

Mick Wallace has been in financial death for a while and watching him publically in the dáil i notice that he seems to be emotionally unstable and mentally delicate.

And yes he is a legislator.....you see these are the people making fiscal decisions.

They are guilty broken and in a dream world.

I suspect many 'arrangments are reached'...and people wonder why burning bond holders is never an option..without EU funding ..they are dead.

VB likes to portray himself as a socialist....he is far from it....he is paid handsomely (nothing wrong with that in fairness)..his personal affiliations and relationship with Mick Wallace reveal someone just as close to the venal and corrupt hypocrytical charcters in this country as anyone...his political statements are as many point out contrarian and often condtradictory..

To be honest there is no real independant voice in the media in my opinion

He actually CRITICISED the media for covering the story saying they had more important things to cover ..ie the spanish/Euro banking crisis..WELL VB WHAT CAUSED SAID CRISIS...??? Deficit (lak of tax revenue)..and bank debt fuelled by (in this country anyway) developers unable to pay back loans which bad banks should never have issued....

TOTAL MENTAL AND MORAL DISCONNECT in a muh much more grave serious way for Mick Wallace of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

From watching Vincent Browne and the review of the papers tomorrow it would seem Wallace only voluntarily disclosed his liability when notified of a Revenue Audit. The Audit would have found the undisclosed sales so you get a grace period to notify them of any discrepancies.

That is different from the version painted by Wallace, that he came forward under no pressure and volunteered the information.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

I smell a by-election in Wexford coming on.

If Wallace is still a TD this time next week, I will be both shocked and embarrassed.

2.1 million, what would that fund? I'm sure a lot of sna teachers for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

plasmaguy wrote: »
    I smell a by-election in Wexford coming on.

If Wallace is still a TD this time next week, I will be both shocked and embarrassed.

2.1 million, what would that fund? I'm sure a lot of sna teachers for a start.

It is the issue of conflicted interests and separation of powers...how on eart was that 'arrangement reached'....i cant think that influence did not come into it.....the flouting of financial law and corporate law and banking law got us into this mess....this is just a microscopic example .....

We need real legal action and a total clean out ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Mulan

Mick Wallace is an easy target now. We didn't have the balls to punish the people who got this country into the S**t a couple of years ago. Shame on us. What about the "Moriarty Tribunal"? tell me again who was punished. A joke. Drive on Mick Wallace. Your in good company up in the Dail.

Vincent Browne is as previous paoter said, a contrarian and attention seeker. Cant u nderstand how any politician from government parties or FF go on his show. He never attacks Independents like Wallace, Daly, etc. He is a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

Who in the tax office gave Mick Wallace a tax clearance cert:confused:
    Why was he given a tax clearance cert:confused:

More on Ivor Callely,
    Frustrated officials subsequently sought advice from Attorney General Maire Whelan on how to deal with the issue, but were told there was no way to legally oblige Mr Callely to hand back the money.:confused: Why not?

Mr Lowry continues to serve as an Independent TD for Tipperary North:confused:

Become a TD and your untouchable. Break the law and the goverment will
    make sure that you wont be held accountable.

No one has been held accountable for corruption.
    Does our current government FG/LAB have any real plans to hold corrupt TDs accountable.
    Does our government have any real plans to hold any bankers accountable
    or is it something thats on the long finger. (oh theres someone looking into that):mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

VB has his own skeletons. Partners and Investors in Village magazine were not given accounts for over 2 years. Eventually he was forced out. He ended up selling his house Dalkey in 2011 for €2.7million. Village magazine has debts of €1.5million of which Vinnie had given a personal guarantee for €450k of it. Not sure if he cleared the 450k or the 1.5 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Mick Wallace just announced in the Dail that he is going to use half his TD salary to repay his tax liability. So he is going to use public funds to pay his tax bill there is something very wrong there.

Sorry I can't post a link because I'm on my phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Here's a link to the Journal article: http://www.thejournal.ie/mick-wallace-dail-tax-affairs-statement-487227-Jun2012/

Apparently it's up to the wexford people to discard him when they see fit.... provided they see fit during an election year, obviously.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭sheeper

It's a good job he wasn't smuggling garlic as that is such a worse crime !!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭cristoir

75 years. It would take Wallace 75 years to pay 2.1 million at the rate he has outlined.

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭EI_Flyboy

cristoir wrote: »
    75 years. It would take Wallace 75 years to pay 2.1 million at the rate he has outlined.

I wonder how long it will take the crooked lying politicians who drove up the costs of the Mahon tribunal to pay off those hundreds of millions...? Oh right never in a million fecking years coz scum like that has no conscience!

MadsL wrote: »
    VB has his own skeletons. Partners and Investors in Village magazine were not given accounts for over 2 years. Eventually he was forced out. He ended up selling his house Dalkey in 2011 for €2.7million. Village magazine has debts of €1.5million of which Vinnie had given a personal guarantee for €450k of it. Not sure if he cleared the 450k or the 1.5 million.

If Mr.Equality man got 2.7 million for it he did well. He must be a bit like Rich Boy Barrett living there in the good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

cristoir wrote: »

Yeah fair point, but for whatever perverse reason he would get reelected in Wexford tomorrow if there was an election, same goes for 4 years time so the act is somewhat commendable.

If anyone thinks I'm defending him I've attacked him twice on this thread and I don't post much on this forum okay.

He's a tax cheat but he's given a token gesture, it's better than nothing and I've become used to absolutely nothing but utter selfish greed from every politician, just saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭sheeper

Wallace has do do jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Forgetting about all the other factors here, his position as an opposition TD who rails against austerity, cuts, etc., is surely untenable. He'll never be taken seriously again, so what's the point in him being there?

We can`t expect fair justice if we protect our own and expect some other county to hold their politicians accountable.
    Tipperary want to keep Lowery, their criminal son.
    Wexford seems to want to keep Wallace their criminal son.
    Until the country grows up and stop acting like knackers who point the finger
    at others, than we have only ourselves to blame.
    As they say we deserve our government.
    We the people are to blame, yes me too.
    We put the scum where they are and we want the scum to stay there.
    Wouldnt it be just grand if the politicians up the country were held accountable. Oh not Mick sure hes one of our own.

sheeper wrote: »
    Wallace has do do jail
    And so does a lot more like him, politicians and bankers who gambled our country down the drain.
    Our country will never recover without accountability.
    Accountability and justice is what is supposed to protect us from the criminals. But there is no accountability or justice in this country, so criminality will florish here. Its bad now but it going to get worse in all aspects of criminality.