Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

More Revenue Shenanigans from Mick Wallace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

And so does a lot more like him, politicians and bankers who gambled our country down the drain.
    Our country will never recover without accountability.
    Accountability and justice is what is supposed to protect us from the criminals. But there is no accountability or justice in this country, so criminality will florish here. Its bad now but it going to get worse in all aspects of criminality.
    Banks didn't actually do anything illegal and nobody put a gun to the head of Joe Ondastreet, forcing him to take 100% loans or borrow upon borrowing.
    Wallace defrauded the Revenue Commissioners. This was highly illegal.
    He also welched on pension money of employees. Another illegal act.

The only common link between certain banks and dodgy developers like Wallace is woeful grasp of running a business with growth through sustainable means. Both got incredibly greedy and threw caution to the wind. When you think about it, in reality, everyone who borrowed through the nose got greedy.
    The banks however are necessary for the economy to function. The likes of Mick Wallace most certainly are not. Nor vital in Leinster House as representitives. However, typically for Paddies, Wallace would still get voted back to seat in an election. Some people never learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

Wexford seems to want to keep Wallace their criminal son.

Do they? Wallace has said several times that's it's up to the people in Wexford to decide whether he stays or goes, but how? The best way would be for him to resign the seat and stand for re-election, but instead he'll stay in place (giving noone the chance to vote on him) until the next election. By this time he hopes to have it all swept under the carpet.

He was very sly in his speech too, going out of his way to say how humble and surprised he was at the support he got back home. He has seen what Lowry has achieved in Tipperary and is following suit. The game now for Wallace is to make any attack on him look like an attack on the people of Wexford. That way he'll never loose the seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,456 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

All this is , is a cynical attempt by wallace to avoid jail time and hang onto his well paid job imo, he has admited to vat fraud which there is a max 5 year jail sentance, he said the settlement he made with the revenue would never be paid so by anouncing he will pay half his salary he is making a reasonable offer to pay.

cynical in the extreme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Scotty #

I wonder what goes through Merkel & Co's minds when they watch our news reports and see this man, unshaven and scruffy, apologising for his crimes with little or no risk of prosecution, keeping his Dail seat, and even gets applause??

They really must think we're a right shower of fools (and certainly not be allowed manage our own finances)!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

MadsL wrote: »
    VB has his own skeletons. Partners and Investors in Village magazine were not given accounts for over 2 years. Eventually he was forced out. He ended up selling his house Dalkey in 2011 for €2.7million. Village magazine has debts of €1.5million of which Vinnie had given a personal guarantee for €450k of it. Not sure if he cleared the 450k or the 1.5 million.

There's also a very interesting piece in the current 'Phoenix' recalling how VB got a huge tax liability run up by Magill magazine 'disappeared' following a personal meeting with then finance minister Alan Dukes. He's a snaky chancer just like the rest of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

Scotty # wrote: »
    I wonder what goes through Merkel & Co's minds when they watch our news reports and see this man, unshaven and scruffy, apologising for his crimes with little or no risk of prosecution, keeping his Dail seat, and even gets applause??

They really must think we're a right shower of fools (and certainly not be allowed manage our own finances)!!

Never fear, Michelle Mulherin TD has brought a motion at this week's Fine Gael parliamentary party meeting to implement a dress code in the Dail.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fg-td-michelle-mulherin-seeks-dail-ban-on-jeans-and-tshirts-3139262.html

She was on Newstalk talking about it today. As an afterthought the interviewer asked her whether she thought Wallace should resign his seat. But apparently she feels less strongly about deliberately under-declaring VAT returns than she does about dress code, because we were treated to a Bertie Ahern-esque monologue about there being other agencies responsible for this matter and it not being up to her, etc, etc, etc.

Yes, without a doubt, they must think we are a bunch of fools. Sigh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭MarkHitide

LLU wrote: »
    Never fear, Michelle Mulherin TD has brought a motion at this week's Fine Gael parliamentary party meeting to implement a dress code in the Dail.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fg-td-michelle-mulherin-seeks-dail-ban-on-jeans-and-tshirts-3139262.html

She was on Newstalk talking about it today. As an afterthought the interviewer asked her whether she thought Wallace should resign his seat. But apparently she feels less strongly about deliberately under-declaring VAT returns than she does about dress code, because we were treated to a Bertie Ahern-esque monologue about there being other agencies responsible for this matter and it not being up to her, etc, etc, etc.

Is there something in the water in Mayo that makes their TDs operate in a different time-zone; one where the appearance of respectability trumps ethical rectitude?

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭Paddy De Plasterer

latenia wrote: »
    There's also a very interesting piece in the current 'Phoenix' recalling how VB got a huge tax liability run up by Magill magazine 'disappeared' following a personal meeting with then finance minister Alan Dukes. He's a snaky chancer just like the rest of them.

That is fairly common knowledge, Browne got into direct contact with Garret Fitzgerald who obviously intervened. I thought it was with Tribune though.

LLU wrote: »
    As an afterthought the interviewer asked her whether she thought Wallace should resign his seat. But apparently she feels less strongly about deliberately under-declaring VAT returns than she does about dress code, because we were treated to a Bertie Ahern-esque monologue about there being other agencies responsible for this matter and it not being up to her, etc, etc, etc.

I think this is what I find most sickening about the whole thing. They shouldn't be asking if he should resign his seat. That should be a given. They should be asking if he should be jailed ffs! It's incredible that not one of our elected members are calling for a criminal investigation. Shame on the lot of them!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

It's incredible that not one of our elected members are calling for a criminal investigation. Shame on the lot of them!!!

Why would they. They don't want that kind of attention to become routine. They would prefer criminal investigations into politicians to be rare extraordinary events, not par of the course.

Yea Dirk that's what I suspect. Wallace himself said last week "let he who is without sin cast the first stone". Well it seems that that has ruled everyone of them out.

If you read that article I linked to above you will also read that he doubled his company salary to €300k in 2008. The same year the books were fiddled. Funny that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,994 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

I think this is what I find most sickening about the whole thing. They shouldn't be asking if he should resign his seat. That should be a given. They should be asking if he should be jailed ffs! It's incredible that not one of our elected members are calling for a criminal investigation. Shame on the lot of them!!!

but that would be up to revenue dpp not the dail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

Absolute joke, throw in him prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭StudentDad

ferike1 wrote: »
    Absolute joke, throw in him prison.

Interesting attitude ... the man needs to be charged with something and convicted and then for a judge to decide a term in prison is warranted.

How about all the other dodgy politicians who have thus far dodged gaol? Should we just ignore due process because you don't like Mick Wallace?

SD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

I ask again, why are we so surprised about this?

We have continually elected corrupt, tax-evading, brown envelope men/women to Dail Eireann.

Everyone knew that wallace was a developer, everyone knew his company was in trouble, everyone knew he owed the banks €40 odd million before he was elected.

He was still elected, by the good people of this country!

We get the politicians we deserve.

StudentDad wrote: »
    Should we just ignore due process because you don't like Mick Wallace?
    Of course not, I think it was just a figure of speech, but Wallace has already publicly pleaded guilty. I have no doubt (:rolleyes:) that any judge in the country would jail him if he were to be convicted. Even in the case of the garlic guy the judge said it pained him to jail such a decent man but his hands were tied. People have been jailed for evading a lot less tax.

gerryo777 wrote: »
    Everyone knew that wallace was a developer, everyone knew his company was in trouble, everyone knew he owed the banks €40 odd million before he was elected.
    There is a major difference between (1)A developer taking an honest gamble on a bit of land or a development and losing, compared to (2) one who knowingly and willingly defrauded the state by submitting false VAT returns (while at the same time doubling his own salary)...
    1. This is perfectly legal and is part and parcel of almost all businesses.
    2. This is highly illegal and is a very serious criminal offence.
    but that would be up to revenue dpp not the dail
    Yes I'm aware of that. But that should not stop them publicly calling for a Garda investigation when asked, especially seeing as Revenue don't seem to be arsed to do it. They're quick enough to waste our money calling for tribunals and reports in to this that, that, and the other. Can not one of them say "well I think the Gardai should investigate"?

Of course not, I think it was just a figure of speech, but Wallace has already publicly pleaded guilty. I have no doubt (:rolleyes:) that any judge in the country would jail him if he were to be convicted. Even in the case of the garlic guy the judge said it pained him to jail such a decent man but his hands were tied. People have been jailed for evading a lot less tax.

There is a major difference between (1)A developer taking an honest gamble on a bit of land or a development and losing, compared to (2) one who knowingly and willingly defrauded the state by submitting false VAT returns (while at the same time doubling his own salary)...
    1. This is perfectly legal and is part and parcel of almost all businesses.
    2. This is highly illegal and is a very serious criminal offence.

Yes I'm aware of that. But that should not stop them publicly calling for a Garda investigation when asked, especially seeing as Revenue don't seem to be arsed to do it. They're quick enough to waste our money calling for tribunals and reports in to this that, that, and the other. Can not one of them say "well I think the Gardai should investigate"?

Revenue and the Garda would be better off investigating Seanie fitz again considering him and pj mhara or whatever his name is can be at Irish games in Poland, staying in €550 a night hotel rooms and then a couple of days later swanning around druids glen playing golf.

Or maybe they should be jailing Sean Quinn considering he owes us almost €3 billion.....

What wallace did was wrong, very wrong, but there's worse ****ers in this country than him.

But sure we all love a good witch hunt don't we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Revenue and the Garda would be better off investigating Seanie fitz again considering him and pj mhara or whatever his name is can be at Irish games in Poland, staying in €550 a night hotel rooms and then a couple of days later swanning around druids glen playing golf.

Or maybe they should be jailing Sean Quinn considering he owes us almost €3 billion.....

What wallace did was wrong, very wrong, but there's worse ****ers in this country than him.

Yeah, because there's no posts on this site condemning Seans Fitz and Quinn, and calling for them to be jailed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

That's pure idiocy; lets take that principal to it's logical conclusion: sure lets not bother convicting anyone for anything because there are worse ****ers out there!

That's a simple non-sequitur, and it's a purely ignorant way of defending Wallace's actions, and arguing for turning a blind eye to blatant fraud.

That's pure idiocy; lets take that principal to it's logical conclusion: sure lets not bother convicting anyone for anything because there are worse ****ers out there!

That's a simple non-sequitur, and it's a purely ignorant way of defending Wallace's actions, and arguing for turning a blind eye to blatant fraud.

Where have I defended wallace's actions?

Let's start convicting the ****ers at the top and work our way down.

Or even start by not rewarding with massive payoff's and pensions the elite in our society who got us to where we are.

I also refer you to my post no.266

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

FINE Gael has re-opened the debate about banning TDs from wearing T-shirts, jeans and runners in the Dail.
    The issue had lain dormant for the past year, but has been revived following the controversy over Independent TD Mick Wallace's non-payment of VAT.
    He has attracted attention for his fondness for wearing jeans and pink shirts rather than the slacks, jacket and shirt and tie sported by most male TDs.
    Fine Gael Mayo TD Michelle Mulherin brought a motion at this week's Fine Gael parliamentary party meeting to implement a dress code in the Dail.

We dont give a monkeys, what way he dresses.
    A wolf is still a wolf no matter what way hes dressed.
    What we do give a monkeys about is accountability.
    So Michelle stop talking about silly things and call for justice.
    ACCOUNTABILITY is what the Irish people are looking for.

Where have I defended wallace's actions?

Let's start convicting the ****ers at the top and work our way down.

Or even start by not rewarding with massive payoff's and pensions the elite in our society who got us to where we are.

I also refer you to my post no.266
    You describe seeking prosecution for Wallace as a "witch hunt" which obviously implies you think it is unjustified to prosecute him, that doing that would be comparable to going on a "witch hunt" i.e. to irrationally punish someone without first determining guilt.

Nobody has argued that we shouldn't go after others like Sean Quinn for their actions, but you are effectively downplaying what Wallace has done in comparison to these other people, and implicitly arguing against holding Wallace to account.

It's correct that there are others who have gotten away with worse, and it's bad that they are getting disproportionately less attention than Wallace, but it's not right to downplay the attention against Wallace due to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭Paddy De Plasterer

and its so funny to hear some fools describe Wallace as "having left wing views" and being sort of socialist. Only for the crash he would be a Galway tent man. I see he had neck also to park his merc in staff car park at Dublin Airport, it had to be towed away.

I don't think Quinn & Co actually set out to defraud the state??? I think they are using legal loop holes now alright to hold on to what they have and these holes should be closed.

But what Wallace did was willingly commit a serious criminal offence. There should be no question regarding a Garda investigation. I think Revenue should be legally obliged to report him and indeed anyone they find to be committing tax evasion.

Interesting attitude ... the man needs to be charged with something and convicted and then for a judge to decide a term in prison is warranted.

How about all the other dodgy politicians who have thus far dodged gaol? Should we just ignore due process because you don't like Mick Wallace?

SD

I am all for due process but there doesn't seem to be any in this country. White collar crime is just "white collar antics" and "ah sure its not that bad".

And to be fair I think there should criminal investigations into a few people such as Sean Fitz too. Mick Wallace is an elected representative who doesn't have the decency to resign after being caught out. He committed fraud.

I would go to jail for non-payment of my tv license but this guy is still a TD. Come now, absolute joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

SD

Moral relativism doesn't excuse the illegal and fraudulent activity of Wallace.
    He defrauded the Revenue Commissioners.
    Lied about volunteering his situation as he was only given time to cough up once snared in the first place.
    Diddled his workforce out of pension funds, in another issue.
    Welched on loans he could not afford from the outset.
    Now the latest insult of offering to pay back over 90 years with money earned from the Irish exchequer funded by the taxpayer??

Suggestion by certain folk? As usual, look at somebody else instead while he plays the victim because they're as bad if not worse . . . :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

You simply dont get it. Its not that he owes the state money, or the banks money, its that he committed a straight forward and easily proven (already proven infact) crime.

You describe seeking prosecution for Wallace as a "witch hunt" which obviously implies you think it is unjustified to prosecute him, that doing that would be comparable to going on a "witch hunt" i.e. to irrationally punish someone without first determining guilt.

Nobody has argued that we shouldn't go after others like Sean Quinn for their actions, but you are effectively downplaying what Wallace has done in comparison to these other people, and implicitly arguing against holding Wallace to account.

It's correct that there are others who have gotten away with worse, and it's bad that they are getting disproportionately less attention than Wallace, but it's not right to downplay the attention against Wallace due to that.

How does describing something as a witch hunt imply it's unjustified to prosecute the guy?
    If what wallace has done is proven to be illegal, then throw the book at him.

The point I'm making is that the people who caused the bubble and burst ( the politicians, the regulators, seanie fitz, david drumm, people like quinn who played CFD's in anglo)
    walk away with massive retirement packages and pensions and there's no call for accountability.

Where's the banking enquiry, where's the enquiry into the regulator?

If they hadn't screwed the economy, maybe wallace would still be employing people and paying his taxes.

No excuse for wallace, I know, but I would prefer to see a couple of these ****ers banged up first.

I don't think Quinn & Co actually set out to defraud the state??? I think they are using legal loop holes now alright to hold on to what they have and these holes should be closed.

But what Wallace did was willingly commit a serious criminal offence. There should be no question regarding a Garda investigation. I think Revenue should be legally obliged to report him and indeed anyone they find to be committing tax evasion.

Are you serious about Quinn, really?
    They are trying to use loopholes to defraud the state as we speak.
    He and his family owe the people of this country, (you and me) almost €3 billion.

You simply dont get it. Its not that he owes the state money, or the banks money, its that he committed a straight forward and easily proven (already proven infact) crime.

Well then, tell me why revenue haven't reported that crime to the Garda?

I reckon there's more to this than meets the eye.

Well then, tell me why revenue haven't reported that crime to the Garda?

Politics, influence, resources - I dont know why but those are my guesses.

I can tell you though as an accountant who worked in tax and liquidations that a crime has been committed and confessed to.

Politics, influence, resources - I dont know why but those are my guesses.

I can tell you though as an accountant who worked in tax and liquidations that a crime has been committed and confessed to.

But we live in Ireland, one law for the elite and a different law for the rest of us.
    Always has been, always will be.

How does describing something as a witch hunt imply it's unjustified to prosecute the guy?

The point I'm making is that the people who caused the bubble and burst ( the politicians, the regulators, seanie fitz, david drumm, people like quinn who played CFD's in anglo)
    walk away with massive retirement packages and pensions and there's no call for accountability.

Where's the banking enquiry, where's the enquiry into the regulator?

If they hadn't screwed the economy, maybe wallace would still be employing people and paying his taxes.

No excuse for wallace, I know, but I would prefer to see a couple of these ****ers banged up first.
    Okey, excuse my misinterpretation and attack so as I had taken your post wrong.

While all the others should go to prison as well, for the crimes they have committed, and their crimes are indeed worse, Wallace's is more important to focus on now while it has the public spotlight, because it would be easier to hold him to account before it fades out of public vew.

Because thats what the phrase means!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witch-hunt#Metaphorical_usage

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=witch%20hunt

But we live in Ireland, one law for the elite and a different law for the rest of us.
    Always has been, always will be.
    No, you were just wrong, and now you're changing your story.

Post 281 = Well then, tell me why revenue haven't reported that crime to the Garda?

Are you serious about Quinn, really?
    They are trying to use loopholes to defraud the state as we speak.
    He and his family owe the people of this country, (you and me) almost €3 billion.
    As far as I am aware Quinn did not set out to defraud the state. He borrowed €3b from Anglo which we (you and me) have paid back for him so he now owes it to us. Which we in turn borrowed from the IMF/Europe and we now owe to them. We had a financial regulator asleep at the wheel but Quinn did not commit a criminal offence in borrowing the money. Likewise, he is using legal loopholes to move assets beyond NAMA. This again, as it stands today, is not illegal. It should be. But it's not.

What Wallace did was different though. He purposely set out to commit a crime and dupe the state out of €1.4M. He has been caught and should face the full force of the law (as should Quinn & Co for any actual crimes they have committed).

There has been a massive outcry, or have you been living under a rock?
    Where's the banking enquiry
    http://www.bankinginquiry.gov.ie/
    where's the enquiry into the regulator?
    “The Irish Banking Crisis Regulatory and Financial Stability Policy 2003-2008” commonly referred to as the Honohan report. We sacked the regulator, you may recall.

Bull SH1T!

You're using pyramid scheme logic. He used money that wasnt his (its money collected by the company on behalf of the government) to double his salary once it looked like the company was going under. He has a record of tax evasion.

Making mistakes is not the same as committing crimes.

And since judging by your questions above you are clearly clueless; there is an on going criminal investigation into Sean Fitzpatrick and the goings on of Anglo Irish Bank to see if any crimes have been committed.

Jesus, you'd be well ****ed without google.

As for your above post, if you want to get personal go ahead.

Google,google,google......

BTW, if the regulator was sacked, why did he get €400,000 odd as a payoff and a pension of, if I remember correctly, €110,000 per year?
    I'll google that later, or you can if you like, you like things like that.

You think I had to google it to know what it means?

How one makes intelligent debate is to provide a source for ones arguments. If I had simply written a reply:

Lol - what a ****wit, how many times have you heard / used that phrase and not known what it means, I would have been banned for flaming.

I could have explained the origin with reference to salem et al. But why waste the time? And you may not have believed me. Best give you independent info

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

This thread is about Mick Wallace, not about Seanie Fitz or the Quinn family - they have their own threads, as do Ray Burke, the regulator and the rest of those that have cheated Ireland.

Mick Wallace is a self-admitted tax cheat who owes the Irish taxpayer millions, yet he is still at it. Parking his car in the Aer Lingus car park while the rest of us use the short-term car park (not good enough for his BMW, wow, how many of the rest of us can afford that?) before jetting off to see tonight's match while the rest of us non-BMW owners are stuck watching it on TV. If he sold his car, bought a 20-year old banger and didn't go on trips to football matches for a couple of years, then I might think he was serious about paying us back what he owes.

What I don't get is that if he has admitted to this how has he not been suspended from the Dail? No wonder countries like Germany look at us and roll their eyes when stuff like this happens.

ferike1 wrote: »
    What I don't get is that if he has admitted to this how has he not been suspended from the Dail? No wonder countries like Germany look at us and roll their eyes when stuff like this happens.

Honour among thieves.

Can not one of them say "well I think the Gardai should investigate"?

some of them have

Have any demanded an investagation? and who?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

Have any demanded an investagation? and who?

If members of FG or Labour demanded a Gardai investigation, it would cause huge political turmoil as SF and the likes would go on the rampage about it being a dictatorship or some other waffle. It would look political and a stunt.

I seem to recall some senator last week said that the Gardai would investigate if a member of the public made a complaint. That's what has happened in other political cases. If parties make a complaint to the Gardai, there is always going to be another party willing to jump on that.

So any person in this country can make a complaint about Wallace to the Gardai. How about you demand an investigation celticcrash?

As far as I am aware Quinn did not set out to defraud the state. He borrowed €3b from Anglo which we (you and me) have paid back for him so he now owes it to us. Which we in turn borrowed from the IMF/Europe and we now owe to them. We had a financial regulator asleep at the wheel but Quinn did not commit a criminal offence in borrowing the money. Likewise, he is using legal loopholes to move assets beyond NAMA. This again, as it stands today, is not illegal. It should be. But it's not.

didn't he use his insurance deposit to buy shares and lend himself money and others to buy shares

Not how I recall it, but if you have a source I can read that would be helpful.

As I recall Anglo lent money to a golden circle of 10 individuals to invest in their shares. I thought this was an infraction of the Companies Acts, the DPP did not (after investigation by the Garda fraud squad).

Quinn Insurance was put into Administration by the Central Bank (not the same meaning as an Administration in UK insolvency law) so that it could not be used to prop up an ailing group of companies - the danger being that it too would be sucked into insolvency.

How about setting up a petition to prosecute Wallace? (and spreading that around online)

Even if it wouldn't result in anything, would put pressure on politicians, and give TD's supporting prosecution a stick to beat with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wallace isn't the first to confess and commit tax fraud, indeed many even didn't confess and they didn't get prosecuted or arrested.

I've no problem with Wallace getting prosecuted, but I want that to become the standard for these offences, not some example that isn't followed through on, or because some don't like his politics.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Wallace isn't the first to confess and commit tax fraud, indeed many even didn't confess and they didn't get prosecuted or arrested.

I've no problem with Wallace getting prosecuted, but I want that to become the standard for these offences, not some example that isn't followed through on, or because some don't like his politics.
    True, very true. But as a TD, Wallace (and the other 165) need to be held to a "higher standard".