Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

greek mp punched rival on tv debate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

"ah shure his blood was up"

Never take a naked flame to a stick of dynamite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

Daniel S wrote: »
    If men and women are equal, why is it wrong to hit a woman and alright to hit a man? :confused:

From a biological perspective, men and women are not equal. Men are physically stronger than women and are less receptive to pain. Therefore, a man hitting a woman is far more cruel than a woman hitting a man. A man who hits a woman, like that MP did in that video, has no honour.

From a legal perspective, however, men and women are equal. However, I think that a man who hits a woman should get penalised more than if a woman hits a man because of the aforementioned physical and biological differences. For the most part, we are equal but different.
    Daniel S wrote: »
    To be fair, it's pretty stupid throwing paper at someone a lot bigger than you and clearly on edge. He was pissed off at the woman who claimed he was involved in an armed robbery in 2007, which he hasn't been proved innocent/guilty in yet so that's pretty unfair to bring that up. He was also wrong to be violent, but they're all pretty f*cking stupid.

It doesn't matter what he was being accused of, he didn't have a right to go around physically assaulting people on the set. You know, looking at the way he acted I wouldn't be surprised if he was previously involved in an armed robbery. He's a thug, he's a member of a neo-Nazi organisation for crying out loud.

People with ideas like his don't deserve a voice on national television, let alone being treated fairly in a debate. Personally, I'd make every effort I could within the law to bring about the destruction of his party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Golden Dawn are seriously shady. They removed any journalists who wouldn't stand in reverence for their leader at a press conference recently.

And, their flag...looks familiar, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Pedant wrote: »
    Only cowards hit women.
    FIRST

Ronin247 wrote: »
    FIRST

No, at all.

No, at all.

I would never hit a woman first but if a woman feels she has the right to hit me then I have the right to hit back.Simples innit.

No. It would afford you great dishonour.

It would afford her a fat lip.I will retaliate if anyone hits me,male or female.To refuse to punch the head off a b*tch who is trying to hit you is sexism.
    People with ideas like his don't deserve a voice on national television, let alone being treated fairly in a debate. Personally, I'd make every effort I could within the law to bring about the destruction of his party.

Democracy gives him the right to his opinions,you dont have to like them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Ronin247, do you think the fella in the clip was justified in hitting that woman?

No,she didnt hit him.I am not trying to defend men who beat women,but if a woman feels she has the equality to hit a man then surely she has the right to be treated as equal to a man and be hit back?Would you agree?

Democracy gives him the right to his opinions,you dont have to like them.

He has a right to his opinions, of course. But in the interest of protecting the rights of others, his opinions should be suppressed in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Why did she hit him first though? What did she expect back?

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭kate.m

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Why did she hit him first though? What did she expect back?

It doesnt look like she hit him? Looks like she threw some paper. I saw that blurry video on the Irish times web site though...I'll look again but I didnt think she hit him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

From a legal perspective, however, men and women are equal. However, I think that a man who hits a woman should get penalised more than if a woman hits a man because of the aforementioned physical and biological differences. For the most part, we are equal but different.

Ok, I think I got it. We are all equal, but some of us are more equal than others. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

How the fcuk does a Neo Nazi make it into politics these days?

When **** hits the fan like it has in Greece, people loose faith in the more moderate parties.

He has a right to his opinions, of course. But in the interest of protecting the rights of others, his opinions should be suppressed in the media.

Sorry but suppressing opinions just makes things worse. Letting people see them and their policies for what they really are is a much better option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Golden Dawn sounds like some kind of weird ****ing cult tbh.

Didn't Hans Gruber try to free those lads?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

She hit him with the book 1st. It was self defence

Sorry but suppressing opinions just makes things worse. Letting people see them and their policies for what they really are is a much better option.

Why then are Golden Dawn gaining in the polls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

No,she didnt hit him.I am not trying to defend men who beat women,but if a woman feels she has the equality to hit a man then surely she has the right to be treated as equal to a man and be hit back?Would you agree?

I understand what you're saying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

UPDATE: The man is now on the run.

From tonights The Times (England) website: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/world/europe/article3438646.ece
    A far-Right Greek MP is being hunted by police after slapping a woman in the face on live television as a debate on next week’s elections became heated.
    Shocked staff at the private television station Antenna escorted Ilias Kasidiaris, the aggressor, off the set and locked him in a room at the TV studio, but he broke down the door and escaped.
    Now Mr Kasidiaris, the official spokesman for Greece’s neo-Nazi Golden Dawn party, is a wanted man after a Greek prosecutor issued a warrant for his arrest for assault.

Another part:
    Golden Dawn said in a statement on its website that Mr Kasidiaris had been provoked.
    “If anybody wants us to condemn our party fellow over this, indeed unfortunate moment, they should first condemn Kanelli’s attack and slandering,” the party hit back.
    Mr Kasidiaris, who is a member of parliament, is sought for attempting to inflict dangerous bodily harm, which carries a sentence of up to ten years in jail. The sentence can be turned into a fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Once it was clear she wasn't going to hit him with paper again (sometime around his first punch) it stopped being self-defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭kate.m

I agree that if she hit him that she should have expected to be hit back but it looks like she threw paper at him. Not a book.
    I dont know what sort of reaction she was expecting. He was quite clearly angry if he threw water at the presenter.

As can be seen with the video, she swiped the man with sheets of paper, to show her disgust as the man threw the water at someone else.

As I said earlier,
    ...he hit the woman once - paused (time to think!)- and then hit her twice more.
    That would be deemed in Irish legal terms as possible (too) far excessive force being used alone!
    He can't even claim self-defence I think.
    He paused after he delivered the first slap - saw she was not retaliating or aggressive towards him - and then he started still again and delivered two more wallops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Why then are Golden Dawn gaining in the polls?

The more moderate parties haven't been able to get Greece out of the mess it's in so some people have turned to the extremes.
    Suppressing their opinions is counter-productive, they would just use it to their advantage. Let them say their piece, as per the video in the OP and the quote Biggins posted from the party they will do more damage to themselves than any suppression of their views will.

• Registered Users Posts: 511 ✭✭✭delad

Once it was clear she wasn't going to hit him with paper again (sometime around his first punch) it stopped being self-defence.

He had no way of knowing she was not going to strike him again. It would only take a split second for her to hit him again with the paper, you can't blame the man for not wanting to give her that opportunity. She could of slit his throat with the paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ItAintMeBabe

We should just be thankful this didnt happen in Ireland, we'd all hate to see Joan Burton getting a clip like that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

delad wrote: »
    He had no way of knowing she was not going to strike him again. It would only take a split second for her to hit him again with the paper, you can't blame the man for not wanting to give her that opportunity. She could of slit his throat with the paper.

Aye, fair enough -- paper cuts. And with the economy so poor, they probably couldn't have found an ambulance to take him to A/E for the band-aid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

just saying. the argument was verbal. she made it physical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

lmao :pac::pac::pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Just imagine what they would do if they managed to hoodwink substantially larger numbers than the eejits who have allowed themselves to be swayed by their false promises, got real power and were able to put their xenophobic, Islamophobic, homophobic, anti-multicultural and find-a-convenient-scapegoat for everything "policies" into practice. :)

Since when did "moderate" and "extreme" get mixed up? Islam IS wrong, gayness IS wrong, multiculturalism IS wrong. Its thanks to the goodie-goodie brigade that the entire Eurozone is the way it is.

...She could of slit his throat with the paper.
    Fair play, you made me smile! :pac:

Biggins wrote: »
    UPDATE: The man is now on the run.

From tonights The Times (England) website: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/news/world/europe/article3438646.ece

Another part:

Shows you what a pathetic coward he is. First, joining a neo-Nazi party, then beating women, then going on the run because he's too afraid to face justice.

newmug wrote: »
    Since when did "moderate" and "extreme" get mixed up? Islam IS wrong, gayness IS wrong, multiculturalism IS wrong. Its thanks to the goodie-goodie brigade that the entire Eurozone is the way it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

B*tch please.

slit his throat??

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Daith

We should just be thankful this didnt happen in Ireland, we'd all hate to see Joan Burton getting a clip like that :rolleyes:

Joan would be the one punching. It'l be a male TD throwing the paper

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

--- Islam IS wrong, gayness IS wrong, multiculturalism IS wrong. Its thanks to the goodie-goodie brigade that the entire Eurozone is the way it is.

ROFLMAO. Are you sure it isn't all because women nowadays have the vote?:rolleyes::rolleyes::):):D:D

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    ROFLMAO. Are you sure it isn't all because women nowadays have the vote?:rolleyes::rolleyes::):):D:D

They have the vote:confused: When did that sh*t happen?.Next thing they will want to enjoy sex and then its all down hill from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

B*tch please.

slit his throat??

Really?

People have been watching the Bourne identity too much

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Fascist in resorting to violence shocker.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Woman "hits" man with paper(after he acted like a child throwing water at another woman), man then roundhouse slaps woman three times? Man my hole.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Ms.M

Normal reaction to throw a few pieces of paper at a dude after he chucked a glass of water over someone. It's just an action borne out of shock. Any man or woman could have done the same. If it was a man flinging a few bits of paper he wouldn't deserve to get clocked either. Chucking water at someone is a nasty pig-headed thing to do. Also, he's a loo-la.
    Far-right parties are absolutely terrifying.
    I feel sorry for people living in countries where they've gained power.
    As bad as things are for us atm, we could be worse.

By the "goodie-goodie" brigade you mean people who are not thick morons or hate-filled vicious self-important cnuts. If it wasn't for the "goodie-goodie" brigade we'd all be f*%ked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,974 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Free speech for everyone that I agree with!

Who decides what political parties should be suppressed? The current government? Maybe some "agency for state security"?

Employing fascist tactics to try to suppress fascism usually leads to increased support fascism (in one form or another)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

blackwhite wrote: »

Who decides what political parties should be suppressed? The current government? Maybe some "agency for state security"?

the guardian, obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Mickey Dazzler

In all fairness they did interrupt him while he was speaking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

washman3 wrote: »
    They also invented civilisation and democracy.
    What did we invent?? apart from gombeenism and cronyism.??
    Being philosophical leaders in the world, thousands of years ago, Doesn't mean that current day Greece is in anyway similar. 'Gombeenism and Cronyism' is present in Greece to the same degree as it is here. In fact, they seem to be going in the direction of being far more corrupt. The Greeks have fallen massively since the days of Plato.....
    You hear of many suicides by paper alright.....
    In all fairness they did interrupt him while he was speaking.

Do you normally attack people who interrupt you? If people started punching women or men for that matter, every time there is an interruption, everyone would be knocked out. As an example; Vincent Browne's show is based around people constantly arguing with politicians yet they haven't been reduced to violence yet. Politics requires you to argue and interrupt the opposition, still doesn't mean that it should be reduced to violent idiots.

It's somewhat worrying that many posters seem to be defending the actions of this tw_at... I guess it sort of fits with the mentality of many posters. Only a few weeks ago on the fiscal treaty topic, someone was saying how we should do what the greeks do in defending their democratic rights.... Openly violent Nazis is apparently what some of the people of Ireland want. Thankfully not all of Ireland as of yet. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Corkfeen wrote: »
    It's somewhat worrying that many posters seem to be defending the actions of this tw_at... I guess it sort of fits with the mentality of many posters. Only a few weeks ago on the fiscal treaty topic, someone was saying how we should do what the greeks do in defending their democratic rights.... Openly violent Nazis is apparently what some of the people of Ireland want. Thankfully not all of Ireland as of yet. :pac:

The political views of a lot of posters here tend to be pretty right-wing, hard-right even - see any thread in relation to immigration or multiculturalism. Had the lady from the Communist Party thrown the punch I'd doubt if they would be something understanding. Violence of that sort regardless of the source is completely unacceptable and hopefully those who voted for Golden Dawn will see that the way to defend democracy is not to vote for those who would destroy it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

i thought it was a shocking display personally speaking i would have opted for the round house scissor kick followed by a full nelson working into a ddt

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Ms.M wrote: »
    Normal reaction to throw a few pieces of paper at a dude after he chucked a glass of water over someone. It's just an action borne out of shock. Any man or woman could have done the same. If it was a man flinging a few bits of paper he wouldn't deserve to get clocked either. Chucking water at someone is a nasty pig-headed thing to do. Also, he's a loo-la.
    Far-right parties are absolutely terrifying.
    I feel sorry for people living in countries where they've gained power.
    As bad as things are for us atm, we could be worse.

You must be delighted that Sinn Fein, a far-LEFT party, are gaining so much so. Gerry Adams is going to be our next Taoiseach.

You're making an assumption that anyone who isn't far-right has to be far-left. You're also making an assumption that anyone who is far-left must be a Sinn Féin supporter.
    You make a lot of assumptions about people. Probably how you ended up thinking that
    Islam IS wrong, gayness IS wrong, multiculturalism IS wrong.