Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green Cards for America

Options
  • 07-06-2012 11:32am
    Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭

Hi All

Just on the US Department of state website (https://www.dvlottery.state.gov/) having a look around and have a few questions maybe someone can help me with.
    I am beginging the process of looking into making a move to America at some stage for maybe a year to work.
    At the minute I work in IT but I am looking for a change and am thinking of making the big jump but the website mentioned above is saying that the ballot for 2012 AND 2013 is already complete - does that mean that when Oct/November comes around again that the visas would be granted for 2014??
    Anyone with some help would be great thanks :D:confused:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Yes, the next round will be for the 2014 allocation

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Kaz88

Thanks BuffyBot

Cant believe there is that much of a wait :(

Do you know is Canada as long of a wait?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭sharper

It's extremely unlikely you'll get a green card via the lottery, in addition to waiting for the 2014 allocation the odds are you just won't get one.

As far as I know there are two ways to go work in the US if you're in IT: