Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Casually killing creatures

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Violafy

You wouldn't make a very good gangster or warrior. What's up with you man, would you ever man up? It's perfectly normal, perfectly au naturale, to want to taste one's enemies.

Why would I consider animals to be enemies? They've never done anything to harm me, and I somehow doubt that they're conspiring against you either. Like us, they're simply trying to survive.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

garv123 wrote: »
    I enjoy going out shooting pheasants within their season and a bird never goes to waste, same goes for deer, duck and other animals.
    I also enjoy eating them because they taste way better than any meet you'll buy in the shop and the animals live better lives too.

The only ones that aren't eaten are foxes, grey crow and magpies, shooting these will protect birds whose numbers are quiet low and allow their numbers to grow

Even though I'm a self confessed tree hugging animal lover :D who would have real trouble killing anything myself, as you say you eat what you kill mostly, I completely respect your view on this matter.

I don't know about pheasant but I had wild rabbit a while back and it tasted delicious. And yes absolutely animals in the wild who are killed by a hunter have a far higher quality of life than most factory farmed animals reared for their meat often in inhumane and cruel conditions-battery hens for example or pigs tethered in pens that are too small for them to exhibit any natural behaviour, never see the light of day and have a very low quality of life.

I actually hate the hypocrisy of those who rail against hunting yet have no problem with or ignore animal welfare issues with the rearing of these factory animals.

Magpies and grey crow numbers are not in any way threatened and they can be a pest to farmers and growers so I'd have little problem with them being killed.
    Especially magpies, a bird who's nature I really dislike.

Foxes ok again if they're numbers aren't being threatened and they're causing real problems for local farmers or smallholders.
    My ex had chickens and came out one morning to a blood bath when a fox had got into the hen house overnight. I think they're numbers should be controlled.

I'd have a problem with them being hunted on horseback by hounds as I think it's cruel, but a single shot that kills the animal instantly? no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Fairplay greentopia good to see someone looking at it with an open mind for a change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

loobylou wrote: »
    Would the hunters on here please just be honest and say it as it is. You kill animals for entertainment.
    Just spare us the fig leaves you hide behind, ie you need to hunt to feed your family, you do it out of a sense of civic duty in order to rid the country of vermin, blah de blah.
    Honestly, we'll respect you more for it.

Yes thats it, well said, they are just pure evil. Anything that you don't like doing is wrong and should be made illegal. Why can't they buy there meat in the shops like everyone else, that way no animals get hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Greentopia wrote: »
    I enjoy going out shooting pheasants within their season and a bird never goes to waste, same goes for deer, duck and other animals.
    I also enjoy eating them because they taste way better than any meet you'll buy in the shop and the animals live better lives too.

The only ones that aren't eaten are foxes, grey crow and magpies, shooting these will protect birds whose numbers are quiet low and allow their numbers to grow

Even though I'm a self confessed tree hugging animal lover :D who would have real trouble killing anything myself, as you say you eat what you kill mostly, I completely respect your view on this matter.

I don't know about pheasant but I had wild rabbit a while back and it tasted delicious. And yes absolutely animals in the wild who are killed by a hunter have a far higher quality of life than most factory farmed animals reared for their meat often in inhumane and cruel conditions-battery hens for example or pigs tethered in pens that are too small for them to exhibit any natural behaviour, never see the light of day and have a very low quality of life.

I actually hate the hypocrisy of those who rail against hunting yet have no problem with or ignore animal welfare issues with the rearing of these factory animals.

Magpies and grey crow numbers are not in any way threatened and they can be a pest to farmers and growers so I'd have little problem with them being killed.
    Especially magpies, a bird who's nature I really dislike.

Foxes ok again if they're numbers aren't being threatened and they're causing real problems for local farmers or smallholders.
    My ex had chickens and came out one morning to a blood bath when a fox had got into the hen house overnight. I think they're numbers should be controlled.

I'd have a problem with them being hunted on horseback by hounds as I think it's cruel, but a single shot that kills the animal instantly? no.

Against hurting animals but sees the logic in "hunting" if there is a purpose ,this poster has just gained my up most respect in what he just said. Thank you for a well balanced reply and keeping the hope alive that people have some thinking abilities.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Violafy

sheesh wrote: »
    Yes thats it, well said, they are just pure evil. Anything that you don't like doing is wrong and should be made illegal. Why can't they buy there meat in the shops like everyone else, that way no animals get hurt.

Factory farming of animals is obviously a problem as well, but it doesn't lessen the issue of hunting or make it any less significant. Again, I am stressing that my main problem is when people hunt for FUN. The hunters on here are insisting that they do it for food or to look after their farms, but I've still yet to hear an argument for those who hunt animals purely for entertainment. Not that any possible argument for slaughtering animals purely for amusement could ever be vaild.

you actually have no clue what your talking about, lads have their ground they hunt and most of them spend more time there not hunting, they know the heard they hunt down to individuals and alot of the time know which animal they are going out to shoot. Im talking about goats and deer now

What was it I said you have issue with? the fact that goats who are within the boundaries of a national park are already actively managed and culled? this is a fact, can't see what you have to dispute there. Check it out if you don't believe me.

I don't know what "lads" you're talking about, where they hunt and what the viable population numbers are within the area you're talking about. Do they? is their knowledge backed up by good conservation practice and scientific evidence that killing x-numbers of those species will not endanger the long term viability of the herds? if they have that knowledge and work within those boundaries then I have far less issue with them hunting these animals than going out and killing goats or deer without taking into account that vital information.

edit-By the way I'm not being confrontational in this post, hope you don't think that. I know it's hard to judge tone in the written word ;) just debating in what I hope is a civilised manner.

Violafy wrote: »

Factory farming of animals is obviously a problem as well, but it doesn't lessen the issue of hunting or make it any less significant. Again, I am stressing that my main problem is when people hunt for FUN. The hunters on here are insisting that they do it for food or to look after their farms, but I've still yet to hear an argument for those who hunt animals purely for entertainment. Not that any possible argument for slaughtering animals purely for amusement could ever be vaild.
    i think you need to read the last few pages again! No one is insisting they do it to feed themselves, we have said we do it for fun, the free food is a bonus

kildare-just to let you know I edited my last post at the end to add something in case you don't notice!

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Against hurting animals but sees the logic in "hunting" if there is a purpose ,this poster has just gained my up most respect in what he just said. Thank you for a well balanced reply and keeping the hope alive that people have some thinking abilities.

Thank you, I appreciate that.

I should clarify though-I'm female ;) I can understand my username doesn't lend itself to knowing that though. Should've picked a different one I guess that more accurately reflects the fact given the majority male membership here. Ah well...

What was it I said you have issue with? the fact that goats who are within the boundaries of a national park are already actively managed and culled? this is a fact, can't see what you have to dispute there. Check it out if you don't believe me.

I don't know what "lads" you're talking about, where they hunt and what the viable population numbers are within the area you're talking about. Do they? is their knowledge backed up by good conservation practice and scientific evidence that killing x-numbers of those species will not endanger the long term viability of the herds? if they have that knowledge and work within those boundaries then I have far less issue with them hunting these animals than going out and killing goats or deer without taking into account that vital information.

edit-By the way I'm not being confrontational in this post, hope you don't think that. I know it's hard to judge tone in the written word ;) just debating in what I hope is a civilised manner.
    im not talking about national parks.

Im talking about hunting ground that lads work hard to get and keep. They will observe the animals on the land and come the season the sick, old and outcasted animals who are of no benifit to the herd or are a burdan on the herd will be culled. Dont get me wrong this is not everybody but would be the majority. This helps keep the heard healthy by not having to compete for food with as many others. This in turn keeps the hunters past time going because no one wants to kill everything.

I am on my hunting grounds nearly every day, have a gun maybe 3 days and sometimes wouldnt pull the trigger. Iv watched deer for hours, watched foxes hunting, buzzards hunting (cool thing to watch) i know areas alot of them will be at specific times ect and dont over shoot it. Its an area of maybe 300 acres or more.

Just noticed your edit at the end, didnt take you up wrong after your last post i know your a reasonable person and have no problem with a debate about it ;)

im not talking about national parks.

Ok.
    Im talking about hunting ground that lads work hard to get and keep. They will observe the animals on the land and come the season the sick, old and outcasted animals who are of no benifit to the herd or are a burdan on the herd will be culled. Dont get me wrong this is not everybody but would be the majority. This helps keep the heard healthy by not having to compete for food with as many others. This in turn keeps the hunters past time going because no one wants to kill everything.

That's perfectly reasonable, in those case I would have no problem with hunting under those conditions as it's not affecting the long term health and viability of numbers. Those who kill willy-nilly with no thought to long term population numbers-those are the hunters I have a real problem with and they should not be given licence to hunt I strongly feel.
    I am on my hunting grounds nearly every day, have a gun maybe 3 days and sometimes wouldnt pull the trigger. Iv watched deer for hours, watched foxes hunting, buzzards hunting (cool thing to watch) i know areas alot of them will be at specific times ect and dont over shoot it. Its an area of maybe 300 acres or more.

Sounds like a fantastic way to spend your time. I love nature and all the creatures we share out countryside with; watching foxes, deer and buzzards hunting would be a delight to me. I envy you sitting here in my apartment in the middle of a town!
    That's good to know that hunting is controlled and regulated in your area. Very important I feel.
    Just noticed your edit at the end, didnt take you up wrong after your last post i know your a reasonable person and have no problem with a debate about it ;)

Thank you for that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Well I'm looking forward to gettin some rabbits tomoro hoping to get at least 20 with the ferrets looking forward to havin bit of rabbit on the plate

Good hunters are they, ferrets? I'd seriously think about having a few if I lived out the country-which I hope to. I believe they make good pets too! they're seriously cute little fellas I think, although I've never seen one IRL.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Flies ... Nothing more satisfying than crunching one, especially those fast little feckers, the tickly ones that annoy ya

Good hunters are they, ferrets? I'd seriously think about having a few if I lived out the country-which I hope to. I believe they make good pets too! they're seriously cute little fellas I think, although I've never seen one IRL.
    Well ferrets are like gundogs you cn get good or bad I've always had good ones I actually have a 8 week old one on me lap now tryin t chew through my jeans he will one day be chasing or killing rabbits in few months
    I usually hunt with the ferrets and the hawk great combination ferrets go in holes rabbits run out and hawk catches them

Well ferrets are like gundogs you cn get good or bad I've always had good ones I actually have a 8 week old one on me lap now tryin t chew through my jeans he will one day be chasing or killing rabbits in few months
    I usually hunt with the ferrets and the hawk great combination ferrets go in holes rabbits run out and hawk catches them

Wow, I'd love to see that. Not the killing I mean but the spectacle of the ferrets and the hawk chasing and hunting the rabbits. I never got a chance to see anything like that spending my whole life so far living in towns and cities.

I guess how they (the ferrets) turn out is down to how you treat them and socialise them, like most domesticated animals really. The fact that you have one playing on your lap sounds like you see them as a little more than just working animals, even if you wouldn't go so far as to see them as pets.
    Some day hopefully I'll be in a position to have some myself.

I recall seeing a programme on Channel 4 a while back about a woman in England who takes in ferrets who've been abused by their owners (some awful stories there like one of them having had their ears cut off :() and re-homes them then when they're fit and well again. It's the only charity dedicated to those animals in England I believe.

It was touching to seeing them slowly gaining trust in humans again after their mistreatment. They'd come in being quite aggressive-biting mainly, and end up after about 6 months of loving care and attention being completely different animals, -healthy and happy to be handled and petted.

Well ferrets bite HARD! And if they don't get trained to stop biting from being very young they'll do it all their life and trust me you don't want to go hunting one day and put your hand down to grab a rabbit the ferret killed and for him to latch onto your fingers it's very sore me mate had to get stitches when my old ferret latched onto his thumb
    It's not nice
    So you need to develop a bond with them as with every animal but when it's an animal you hunt with the bond and trust comes into play big time and then you develop a team of hunters that work together like hunting with ferrets and a hawk there's a bond even between them
    The hawk won't attack the ferrets as it knows what the ferret does and knows when ferret goes underground a rabbit will come out so it knows it's pretty amazing to watch

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭ItAintMeBabe

Spunk84 wrote: »
    so you killed an animal with your car but didnt eat it? i think you just completely wrecked your self righteous post!!! You killed a rabbit on a road whilst you were operating a "dangerous tool/weapon" ( it is a term that is used in law:D for a car) and you didnt harvast the animal, so you killed an animal with a weapon and now your complaining about hunting folk. The only difference is that you didnt have licence to kill the animal and you committed a crime:pac::pac::pac::pac:

Not trying to come across as self righteous at all my friend, merely expressing an opinion. The difference between me hitting the rabbit with my car and hunting the rabbit, is that I didnt set out with the intention of killing a rabbit that night. I dont hop into my car and think "Hmmm what animal will I deliberately mow down tonight". A person who hunts for does so with the intention of purposely harming and catching the animal for fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

Burnt alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,679 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

sheesh wrote: »

Ever been to a slaughterhouse? Or to a mart and see how some people treat the animals?
    How do you think the steak on your plate got there?
    IMO cattle that die in slaughterhouses go through alot more stress than an animal that is taken out with a clean shot and didn't even know what was happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Violafy wrote: »

The problem I have with the above is that it is a moral judgement on the people doing it using your personal morality these people have your own personal moral code and its just as valid as yours, this is what you cannot accept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

As I said Im not anti hunting in most cases but I have a massive problem with some trophy hunters who hunt endangered animals or intelligent animals.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    As I said Im not anti hunting in most cases but I have a massive problem with some trophy hunters who hunt endangered animals or intelligent animals.
    Are you talking about hunting lions, elephants, gerraffes ect? Most of these are done in game reserves and the animals are chosen well in advance and culled for a specific reason and it would not affect the group. Its in their interest to maintain populations because their business depends on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Why do I need a reason?
    I hunt that's my reason it's my pastime

So if we where to throw you out into the wilderness and a bear ate you, that would simply be his "business" or "pastime" and nobody would have cause to try and stop him? :mad:

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Why do I need a reason?

So if we where to throw you out into the wilderness and a bear ate you, that would simply be his "business" or "pastime" and nobody would have cause to try and stop him? :mad:
    How does that even make sense? Seriously what has that got to do with this topic
    Think you should go back to huggin that tree of yours Mate! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,924 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I would rarely kill anything casually. Some people are able to see an animal in their gunsight & happily pull the trigger. Some will justify it as a cull or the removal of a pest but most enjoy the process. Culls are very rarely required & when they are they should be carried out by licensed, expert operators. I have attended Deer culls in the UK & the shooters were not doing it for pleasure & the Deer were not going to be sold for a profit.

The killing of so called pests such as Crows, Rabbits, Magpies, Foxes etc is unjustifiable as a control measure. The nature of territories means that any vacancy will soon be filled so any reduction in numbers is very short term. So in reality these animals are primarily shot for entertainment. Once we deem an animal as "vermin" then all the normal protection goes out of the window. So, for example, we can use cruel Larsen traps for Magpies & we kill animals that are feeding young so they starve to death.

Some shooters will admit that they kill for pleasure but most will claim that they are serving a useful purpose. In any event no one should be allowed to hold a license until they have proved their ability - rescue groups can list countless cases of animals that have been found wounded.

The hunting fraternity, as in hunting with hounds, casually kill as an entertainment. The Greyhound racing crowd also casually kill in huge numbers. Whether we object depends on whether we perceive the animal as nice & whether we witness or see the consequences. Provided this is hidden many don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I can't kill anything, don't like spiders and bugs, but would feel terrible killing one. Once we had mice and himself put down a trap, a mouse got caught but wasn't killed. I was traumatized by it's squeals of pain. Once when we didn't have a trap, himself shot a mouse in the kitchen with a pellet gun. I came home to a little mousey crime scene. I always imagine their Mam or Dad or whoever looking for them:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I just shot a rat with the air-rifle, no problem at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Discodog wrote: »
    The killing of so called pests such as Crows, Rabbits, Magpies, Foxes etc is unjustifiable as a control measure. The nature of territories means that any vacancy will soon be filled so any reduction in numbers is very short term. So in reality these animals are primarily shot for entertainment. Once we deem an animal as "vermin" then all the normal protection goes out of the window. So, for example, we can use cruel Larsen traps for Magpies & we kill animals that are feeding young so they starve to death.

I'm genuinely surprised and disappointed by the above, I thought you had more sense than that drivel.

johngalway wrote: »
    I'm genuinely surprised and disappointed by the above, I thought you had more sense than that drivel.

Well maybe I have a lot of sense & it's not drivel - in fairness I wouldn't expect a shooter to agree with me. Rather than referring to a post as drivel why don't you argue your own point or counter mine ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,679 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I would rarely kill anything casually. Some people are able to see an animal in their gunsight & happily pull the trigger. Some will justify it as a cull or the removal of a pest but most enjoy the process. Culls are very rarely required & when they are they should be carried out by licensed, expert operators. I have attended Deer culls in the UK & the shooters were not doing it for pleasure & the Deer were not going to be sold for a profit.

I don't see anything wrong with keeping the populations of grey crows and magpies in check. It also makes life easier for smaller birds as well. I've seen grey crows peck the eyes out of sheep and that's not a nice thing to see either.

Well maybe I have a lot of sense & it's not drivel - in fairness I wouldn't expect a shooter to agree with me. Rather than referring to a post as drivel why don't you argue your own point or counter mine ?

You and I have argued the points over for years, we've both read what each other has to say umpteen times, that is why I made my comment.

Killing "pests" to reduce their numbers being unjustifiable is beyond nonsense. Reducing the numbers of a population which causes damage reduces the amount of or incidence of that damage.

Greycrows can and do peck the eyes, anus, soft skin inside of the legs and around the genitals and tails of sheep that get in trouble either through illness, injury or misfortune, as well as attacking lambs that are in the process of being born - animals which often are perfectly treatable, just in that moment they're sick, in labour, or stuck. Magpies are often in attendance at these events as they're not as strong as greycrows in inflicting injury and opening the animal to get at the internals. Trapping and shooting to reduce the numbers reduces the incidences of "attacks" happening, less greycrows and magpies mean less chance of "attack".

Rabbits do destroy farmland. They dig burrows all over the shop, they tunnel, they cart earth/sand up from below creating mounds and holes. Large heavy animals like horses and cattle are at risk from ground which can give way under their weight. In my area there are certain places which on Google Earth are completely white, so many rabbits eating the grass and digging holes that the sand is blowing away right down to the rock, they're that numerous they're like rats in a dump.

All foxes have the ability to kill certain livestock like lambs and fowl. Not all foxes do, but all foxes have the ability. Killing the offending fox, the vast majority of the time, eliminates the problem. Not all foxes which kill those animals are feeding young, most will be, but the problem still persists. Shooting, snaring, and trapping of foxes are perfectly reasonable ways of removing the offender. You're saying in your paragraph that if a fox is taking lambs on me, and I shoot that fox that the next fox that moves in will also take lambs on me, it doesn't automatically follow, but the ability is there.

There is no use is giving a wild animal a stern talking to, they just don't listen. There are no shortages in the populations of the species you mentioned in that paragraph, none are with in an asses roar of being in any way threatened.

We've done this to death over the years, I'm gobsmacked by your paragraph which I quoted.

I don't see anything wrong with keeping the populations of grey crows and magpies in check. It also makes life easier for smaller birds as well. I've seen grey crows peck the eyes out of sheep and that's not a nice thing to see either.

Nature will keep them in check as it has done for millions of years.

Killing "pests" to reduce their numbers being unjustifiable is beyond nonsense. Reducing the numbers of a population which causes damage reduces the amount of or incidence of that damage.

Greycrows can and do peck the eyes, anus, soft skin inside of the legs and around the genitals and tails of sheep that get in trouble either through illness, injury or misfortune, as well as attacking lambs that are in the process of being born - animals which often are perfectly treatable, just in that moment they're sick, in labour, or stuck. Magpies are often in attendance at these events as they're not as strong as greycrows in inflicting injury and opening the animal to get at the internals. Trapping and shooting to reduce the numbers reduces the incidences of "attacks" happening, less greycrows and magpies mean less chance of "attack".

What reduces the incidence of "attack" is proper stock management. Ill animals, injured animals & newborn lambs should be monitored. My neighbour has lambs every year & he sees no problem with Crows or Magpies. My friend in Wales rears thousands of Sheep every year & he has no inclination to kill them either. As you may recall I have met hundreds of Farmers in a previous occupation & the majority didn't shoot anything.
    Rabbits do destroy farmland. They dig burrows all over the shop, they tunnel, they cart earth/sand up from below creating mounds and holes. Large heavy animals like horses and cattle are at risk from ground which can give way under their weight. In my area there are certain places which on Google Earth are completely white, so many rabbits eating the grass and digging holes that the sand is blowing away right down to the rock, they're that numerous they're like rats in a dump.

And you know that nature will control the numbers provided that we don't get rid of their natural predators. Given the breeding rate of rabbits you could shoot dozens a day & not impact on the population. As you reduce numbers you just provide more food for the remaining females & litter sizes rise. Rabbits naturally stabilise. Three years ago all the rabbits in my area disappeared & they are only just starting to come back.
    All foxes have the ability to kill certain livestock like lambs and fowl. Not all foxes do, but all foxes have the ability. Killing the offending fox, the vast majority of the time, eliminates the problem. Not all foxes which kill those animals are feeding young, most will be, but the problem still persists. Shooting, snaring, and trapping of foxes are perfectly reasonable ways of removing the offender. You're saying in your paragraph that if a fox is taking lambs on me, and I shoot that fox that the next fox that moves in will also take lambs on me, it doesn't automatically follow, but the ability is there.

Snaring any animal is a cruel & totally unacceptable way of killing it. Foxes are incredibly widespread & their territory sizes are reducing - urban Foxes pretty much no longer have territories. So kill one & another is ready to take it's place. But why is it that no one near me sees any need to kill foxes even though they keep hens, ducks, lambs etc ? I have met many farmers that have never killed a fox. One minute you complain of pests like Rabbits & then you kill an animal that feeds on them.
    There are no shortages in the populations of the species you mentioned in that paragraph, none are with in an asses roar of being in any way threatened.

We've done this to death over the years, I'm gobsmacked by your paragraph which I quoted.

Exactly the "pests" are so abundant that shooting a few is only going to make you feel better - it won't solve the problem. Many farmers prefer to work with nature rather than killing it. The recent case in the UK is a classic example where Pheasant farmers wanted to "cull" Buzzards - the public outcry stopped their plans.

So to get back to the topic of the thread it seems that most shooters kill for pleasure rather than a need to control numbers.

If we have "done this to death" then you shouldn't be surprised by my reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Snaring any animal is a cruel & totally unacceptable way of killing it.

Snares dont kill the animals, snares by law have to have a stop on it to stop the animal chocking itself.

The ones that I removed last week didn't & neither did the guitar string that a Vet friend of mine surgically removed from a cat's neck. But lets say that all the snare does is terrify, possibly starve & restrict a wild animal. "Terrifying & infuriating" a domestic animal is illegal so why should it be any different for a wild animal that has exactly the same ability to sense fear & pain ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Knine

Why do I need a reason?

I would love to hunt too.... hunt people like you with a big shotgun.:mad:

The ones that I removed last week didn't & neither did the guitar string that a Vet friend of mine surgically removed from a cat's neck. But lets say that all the snare does is terrify, possibly starve & restrict a wild animal. "Terrifying & infuriating" a domestic animal is illegal so why should it be any different for a wild animal that has exactly the same ability to sense fear & pain ?

Well people who do it properly use proper snares and check them on a regular basis. They use trail cams to find the time the fox passes the area at so they know when to put it out and when to check it.
    But like everything there's some people who don't care about doing things properly.

I'm completely against animal cruelty and wouldnt hesitate to remove any snares i came across like that either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭Knine

Where To wrote: »
    I try not to kill anything.

Apart from rats, mice, magpies, crows, cats, minks and hedgehogs.
    I'd kill em all but they don't count as animals.

People like you should be taken out of the human race.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭CajunPenguin

I never kill anything unless there's a necessity. For example, a spider causes me no harm so I release it. A wasp is aggressive and could injure me (no matter how small) so I have no qualms about killing it. It's a dumb insect and probably doesn't even know I'm trying to kill it.
    When it comes to larger, more intelligent animals, I wouldn't kill a mouse, maybe a rat because I know they can get pissy and something like a cat or dog I would never ever kill unless someone is in danger.If a mad dog bites me, he better hope for a quick death, because I will take pleasure in beating the **** out of him. This only goes for pitbulls or rottweilers, if a puppy bites me I'll say ouch and give him a kick (if it even hurts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭Feisar

I hunt rabbits, ducks, pheasants and deer.

I don't get a kick out of killing as such but I am deriving some form of satisfaction out of hunting which includes the killing. I eat what I kill but I don't need to hunt, there is plenty of food available in shops. I feel people who eat meat are running a double standard when they castigate my pastime. They are directly causing the death of a creature, they're just a step removed from the killing.

Also, humans are hunters, not having sharp teeth, claws etc. does not make us any less of a hunter than other animals.

I can't understand how someone would say they'd love to kill/exterminate someone like me for hunting/killing. Surely that person would love to kill foxes/weasels/wolves/any other carnivore?

More arguments! People in the first world due to our lifestyles are doing untold damage to the world/environment: http://www.myfootprint.org/
    Have a look and see what sort of footprint we have. This puts a massive amount of pressure on ecosystems around the world. Far more than me shooting a few rabbits of a Saturday afternoon.

I don't feel hunting makes me any more manly than I already am. I don't run around boasting about it or feel a bigger man after I shoot something. Hunting is just something I do. I don't use it to validate myself in any way.

On the other hand, some weird stuff in this thread about taking pleasure for killing goats, sounded a bit trollish to me. The animal didn't know why it was being tortured to death.
    I don't take pleasure from the killing as far as I can make out. The first time I was going to shoot a deer, I thought I'd feel something as it was the largest animal I had ever killed. As soon as I saw the animal and got in position I was purely focused on the shot and was quite calm and cool. I went down on one knee and placed the crosshairs on the deer's head/neck and gently squeezed the trigger. The only emotion I felt was a slight touch of relief that the shot was good and the animal just dropped.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    The first time I was going to shoot a deer, I thought I'd feel something as it was the largest animal I had ever killed.

Recoil? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

So to get back to the topic of the thread it seems that most shooters kill for pleasure rather than a need to control numbers.

To be fair many of them have admitted this here already.

What reduces the incidence of "attack" is proper stock management. Ill animals, injured animals & newborn lambs should be monitored. My neighbour has lambs every year & he sees no problem with Crows or Magpies. My friend in Wales rears thousands of Sheep every year & he has no inclination to kill them either. As you may recall I have met hundreds of Farmers in a previous occupation & the majority didn't shoot anything.

That part in bold will not be so obvious to an outside reader who may not know better, but you should. You know that animals BECOME sick, GET injured, ARE born, in the great outdoors. You also know that no farmer spends 100% of his/her day and night sat beside each animal to wipe it's nose. You know that these things HAPPEN and that they are not planned events. More nonsense.

I know many farmers who have had problems with crows and magpies, as I've outlined above, animals that come down with some illness and are discovered on rounds possibly the next day. We had a lamb which investigated a stone wall, pushed it's head through, the springy young horns on it's head acted like an anchor and held it there until one of us checked that field again on rounds, the greycrows had been and bored several holes into it's back while the lamb was still alive. I have a ewe last year that went on it's back between a stone and an anthill and could not right itself (note, sheep find it particularly hard to get back up on all fours in some circumstances), greycrows came almost pecked one of her eyes out, pecked the skin open inside of her tail, pulled at her anus, and bored a hole in her cheek. Proper stock management is not a magic pill that cures all ills.

The point that the majority of farmers don't shoot anything is misleading, it gives the impression that most farmers don't want or need pest control carried out. Anyone who wants to visit the Hunting forum on this site or any other site will be able to see for themselves how many hunters, shooters, and trappers there are. These people actively seek out permission from farmers to shoot, hunt, trap on the farmers lands. So, in many instances a lot of farmers don't have the need to do the pest control work themselves as it's been done for them by others.
    And you know that nature will control the numbers provided that we don't get rid of their natural predators. Given the breeding rate of rabbits you could shoot dozens a day & not impact on the population. As you reduce numbers you just provide more food for the remaining females & litter sizes rise. Rabbits naturally stabilise. Three years ago all the rabbits in my area disappeared & they are only just starting to come back.

Come off it, rabbits can do serious damage in short order. I know of another place in the hills that's alive with both foxes and rabbits. There are too many rabbits for the foxes to deal with. Myxomatosis (rabits) or Mange (foxes) will come along eventually I'm sure, to cause long term and painful suffering to both species. A properly set snare, a properly placed shot, a properly set trap, or a well trained dog will all be kinder, quicker and more humane.

Rabbits can be removed from an area if a properly integrated and implemented strategy using a number of different methods is employed. Foxes are different, they're a control issue, even in the days of leg hold traps, poisons, bounty, and money for the hide they weren't wiped out so it's certainly not going to happen now.
    Snaring any animal is a cruel & totally unacceptable way of killing it. Foxes are incredibly widespread & their territory sizes are reducing - urban Foxes pretty much no longer have territories. So kill one & another is ready to take it's place. But why is it that no one near me sees any need to kill foxes even though they keep hens, ducks, lambs etc ? I have met many farmers that have never killed a fox. One minute you complain of pests like Rabbits & then you kill an animal that feeds on them.

Snaring is perfectly legal in many countries including this one. It maybe unacceptable to you but to many including myself it's a valuable tool. Increasingly snares are being redesigned and reclassified as "holding / restraining devices" including many features like deer stops which stop larger animals (like deer :rolleyes:) from becoming trapped in them.

Other advances include break away swivels, meaning that the loop of the snare - the part that holds the animal - will open and no longer be a loop in the even there is an accidental catch of a non target larger animal. Swivels are incorporated to stop the animal twisting the wire and possibly becoming entangled. Snares set on fence lines can be anchored to a type of "zip line" which is set perpendicular to the fence with a non return stop on it, this means that once the target animal is restrained in the snare it's only option of movement is farther into the field, always moving away from the fence to prevent it becoming entangled in the mesh or wires. All of these advances developed to humanely catch and hold a target animal until the snare is checked by the hunter who can humanely dispatch the animal.

You're back to this thing again of new foxes moving into territory once an existing fox is removed. No one is disputing this, it happens. If you're a sheep farmer who lambs in December indoors while the foxes have their young in March, you won't have so much trouble. If you're a farmer who lambs outdoors, God forbid, in May, while the foxes young are out of the vixen and growing well, you'll have problems. But, again, you already know all this.

I've already given the example of how a rabbit population isn't kept in check by foxes. Foxes do not live exclusively on rabbits. They eat a wide variety of foods from shell fish to fruit, carrion to live animals, worms to frogs and a hell of a lot more besides.

I know of many farmers who love to see foxes, they're mostly in tillage :D
    Exactly the "pests" are so abundant that shooting a few is only going to make you feel better - it won't solve the problem. Many farmers prefer to work with nature rather than killing it. The recent case in the UK is a classic example where Pheasant farmers wanted to "cull" Buzzards - the public outcry stopped their plans.

I've no interest in or issue with buzzards.

Yes, it will.

Postman came to my door one day, a Wednesday I think, a farmer a few miles away had lost 16-18 lambs that week to foxes. I was dying of a chest infection and managed to get over to survey the scene on the Friday afternoon with a view to going shooting on the Saturday night. There were lambs legs, skins, tails all over the shop. This is a farmer who can mind her sheep well, can manage her grass well and has good stock.

On the Saturday night I shot one vixen who wasn't rearing young and wasn't pregnant. In the next week she lost one more lamb, so I went back the next Saturday night and shot one more vixen of the same description. After those two foxes were removed in the space of that week she didn't suffer any more losses.

Years ago I put 32 in lamb ewes in a field of ours (Dad was having a hip replacement so I was looking after both farms), expecting 40 lambs to come out. During lambing I was seeing new lambs but my lamb count wasn't rising. This is before I had a gun, I met a local man who had a name for shooting and asked for his help. We went to another field which overlooked the lambing field, he done one sweep of the field with the lamp and we counted five or six pairs of fox eyes in that one 20 acre field at the same time, the field our ewes were lambing in. In the next seven nights, in an area of around 200 acres at the far end of an island joined by bridge to the mainland he shot 13 foxes with a side by side shotgun, lamp and no caller. After that I had no problems. We have a very fragmented farm and I wasn't losing lambs on my own farm or on the other parts of Dads farm.

Another man rang me, he had lost four lambs in three nights I think. We went that night, it was extremely stormy and we sheltered in a little dug out quarry while watching the lambing field the losses had been in. We saw a fox come over the hill to the left - from the area which is alive with rabbits in the hills - and run across the bog towards the lambing field, shot him just as he got to the fence, no more losses from that field.

Your theory that shooting/trapping/snaring a problem animal, or shooting/trapping/snaring problem species being unjustifiable, or ineffective as it just "makes me feel better" is just plain wrong.

It's like saying sure don't bother that thief, murderer, or rapist, sure they'll die of old age or cancer or get run over by a bus, just stay in you house, boarded up forever where you'll be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,762 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Thats a bit of a sweaping statement!! - I'm a hunter myself, most of the time through necessity(vermin control) and the fact that I like the taste of wild game(mallard, wood pigeon) etc. Vermin control is also carried out by various conservation bodies as well as your regular hunter eg. removal of mink from various offshore sea-bird colonies or fox/crow control in and around important wader breeding sites on the Shannon callows etc.

PS: I think some basic understanding of ecology would help the layman understand why such things as vermin control is important in an Irish context. In Ireland species like foxes,grey crows and deer etc. have no natural predators so their numbers tend to reach unnaturally high levels. In other countries such species are controlled naturally by top predators like wolves, Lynx, large raptors etc. Ireland has lost most of its top predators so it requires man to step into the breach. Not an ideal situation I grant you, but we are where we are on that score.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    removal of mink

One ecologist I know would merrily murder every mink she could lay her hands on if possible, episode of a bird colony on a little island being practically wiped out had something to do with it I think.

I'm not suprised - I spent the last week of May minding a sick relative in the North Roscommon lake region. During free periods I took the time to do a little birding in the area. It was striking the lack of breeding wildfowl and waders (apart from Swans which can just about fight off mink attacks most of the time) in what looked like decent habitat. Speaking to local farmers - they told me that since Mink appeared in the 80's the number of breeding wildfowl/waders had collapsed, in addition formly large colonies of Common Gulls and Terns had more or less disappered from lake Islands in the same period. This is a pattern I know has been repeated on most of the large lakes in the West.

On particular farmer told me that since mink cleaned out the local wetlands, , more and more of them are turning up in farmyards in search of food. The whole thing is a slow ecological/economic car crash:(

Yes, they need to be removed ASAP. I was particularly disappointed with the meagre bounty put on them and it being conditional as well! It may have motivated some to get out and do more.

Yeah, all too little too late - such measures should have kicked in decades ago. Sadly the best we can hope for now is containing the problem as best we can!!