Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

why oh why does my husband put his maggots in our fridge

• 07-06-2012 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭

woke up this morning to bluebottles in my fridge.
    wtf why cant he throw out the maggots when hes finished fishing.
    They are not that expensive.
    what do they be thinking , saving a few euro.
    Had to throw out all the stuff in fridge because eggs might be there
    men what are you thinking uggh:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭Fenian Army

you should be thanking him, doesn't he bring you home fish to gut and cook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

Oh that is so gross....

Has he no notion of hygiene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I would be throwing out the fridge if there was bluebottles and maggots in it and the husband would be going as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

If he asked you for money for new maggots you bitch him out for spending all "Your" money, i mean "Our":rolleyes: money....Leave the man alone and go to bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Maybe if you were a better wife and bought him new maggots you wouldnt have this problem ?

LordSmeg wrote: »
    Maybe if you were a better wife and bought him new maggots you wouldnt have this problem ?

Yea try harder woman!!!! Clean the kitchen and get him his chicken pot pie:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

That's nasty.

Solution : Buy a mini fridge solely for fishing paraphernalia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Men eh! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

My sympathies, that's rotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Great nutrition off those maggots. You should finish them for him, maybe throw in a bit of chilli sauce to improve the taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I'm sure the Blue Bottles have taken care of his next batch of maggots...enjoy breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

dollyk wrote: »

You're sleeping with some bloke who keeps maggots in the fridge?

Schism wrote: »
    That's nasty.

Am I the only person who thinks the two of them need psychiatric help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I dread to think how long they've been in there if they have turned into bluebottles. That takes about 3 weeks at the ideal temp. Your fridge isn't cold enough regardless of the maggots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

What is an "Out Fridge"? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Why in the the good holy jaysus are you allowing him store fishing maggots in the fridge??????:eek:

Get him a €30 mini fridge (or get him to buy it the feck himself) from Argos and let him hatch his own blue bottles.

Schism wrote: »
    That's nasty.

its his fridge that he bought for his house:eek: DONT do it man, put the foot down and tell her where to stick the maggots:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

squod wrote: »
    Am I the only person who thinks the two of them need psychiatric help?

Gots to keep your maggots somewhere, right?

...right?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

You should've made him maggot stew.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭EI2011

ah thats sick

Brendog wrote: »

Like an outhouse I spose except colder. And full of bluebottl........yeah just colder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

It's what happens when you find maggots in your fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Let him put his maggot in your fridge and it might keep him from going off fishing:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

AH burning issues check list:

Recession
    Syria
    Fiscal Treaty
    Gender wars
    Internship scheme
    Maggot storage in fridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

The "t" key is right beside the "r" key on a QWERTY keyboard. I think it's safe to assume that the OP meant "our fridge".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Go make him a sandwich.

A maggot sandwich.

The "t" key is right beside the "r" key on a QWERTY keyboard. I think it's safe to assume that the OP meant "our fridge".

Lets not jump to conclusions now, no good every came of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

How were they stored in the fridge? If they were just on a plate then fair enough that's a bit gross, but if they were in a sealed Tupperware container then I really don't see the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

He's putting them in the fridge because the cold temperature puts them in a comotose state and slows down the process of them turning into flies.

Seriously though, he shouldn't be putting them in the same fridge that you have your food in. You can pick up fridges for free these days if you look hard enough. I got two of them last year for my bait and they didn't cost me a penny. Also your fridge is way too warm if the mags were turning in there. Even if they were in there for six months they should only crysalise(sp) not turn to flies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Make him breakfast tomorrow and bring it to him in bed. You need to blend those flies / maggots and mix them into buttery scrambled egg. Advise him of their presence after digestion, and against abusing the fridge. Let him know that the next time he puts that shít in the fridge again, it's what he's going to get on the plate.

/fin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭dan185

in out in out shake it all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

insist on a bait fridge. or better still tell him to give up coarse fishing and start sea fishing he might at least bring home something decent then.

I believe it is a "homosexual" fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Super-Rush wrote: »
    He's putting them in the fridge because the cold temperature puts them in a comotose state and slows down the process of them turning into flies.

Seriously though, he shouldn't be putting them in the same fridge that you have your food in. You can pick up fridges for free these days if you look hard enough. I got two of them last year for my bait and they didn't cost me a penny. Also your fridge is way too warm if the mags were turning in there. Even if they were in there for six months they should only crysalise(sp) not turn to flies.

I was going to say the same. My hubby has a bait fridge in the shed.
    Sometimes men are a bit silly and dont think theres a difference between the food fridge and the bait fridge.
    I call shenanigans on the bluebottles OP ;) unless your food fridge is broken,theres no way the maggots would turn into bluebottles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

Next time, mix them into his rice. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭Mickey Lover

Oh God that would be one of my worst nightmares - I would have to throw everything in the fridge out and scrub it like it's never been scrubbed before. My stomach is turning thinking of that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

he should have lowered the fridge temp then no bluebottles ,

and as for the maggots , get a cheap old fridge and put it in the shed and just plug in when needed , don't want to be keeping those esb shower sh1tein money :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Elvis_Presley

you've given me an idea. my flatmates nick my food the whole time so i might just blend some maggots into a nice delicious lasagna. although i could come home drunk and eat it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Sooo many solutions here!
    - Make a bluebottle/maggot pie, and feed it to him
    - shoot him
    - get drunk
    - throw out the fridge
    - divorce him
    - blast him with yore ma
    - give him a grope & slip a few maggots into his jocks
    - move back in with your mam
    - move out
    - kick him out

.... I'd kick him out, myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

My Missus is the same she hates what I have in fridge
    Rabbits, rats, mice, day old chicks, fish.and maggots the odd time but puts up with me

Ps I think your fridge is broken there's no way in that temperature would maggots hatch its way too cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Dont people just throw the rest of the maggots to the fish at the end anyway?

I know I do when I go drinking with the long stick things and hooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

How else are are you supposed to keep your maggots fresh?

Also, it slows them down, developmentally, so it takes longer for them to become bluebottle flies.

Once they are in a secure container, I don't see what the problem is!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Seriously what is the problem, if something is kept in a sealed clean airtight container in a fridge how is it going to effect anything else? :confused:

Doc wrote: »
    Seriously what is the problem, if something is kept in a sealed clean airtight container in a fridge how is it going to effect anything else? :confused:

Shouldn't be airtight. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭Paulie Gualtieri

you've given me an idea. my flatmates nick my food the whole time so i might just blend some maggots into a nice delicious lasagna. although i could come home drunk and eat it myself.

just do it you won't eat it by mistake , reminds me of a fella my da worked with in a garage who kept on getting his maltesers stolen ( loved his sweets) anyway he got sick of this and did something about it, left his maltesers in his in his tool box as usual , went back an hour later and they were gone , lunch time came an the staff were all around the lunch table and he said something like , " now boys just so yiz know i had those maltesers wedged between my arse so whoever ate them i hope they were nice , revenge is sweet <evil laugh>

nummnutts wrote: »
    Once they are in a secure container, I don't see what the problem is!?
    Doc wrote: »

Maggots in secure sealed container or not should not be in the same fridge as food. I would seriously freak out if that happened.
    I know they can't get out or anything but still I could not do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Surprisingly maggots are very clean.

It's just the thoughts of them wriggling around that creeps me out.

hondasam wrote: »
    It's just the thoughts of them wriggling around that creeps me out.

Eat some and let them wriggle around your mouth and belly. Wriggling in the fridge wont seem so bad then.

Maggots in secure sealed container or not should not be in the same fridge as food. I would seriously freak out if that happened.

Just because you "could not do it" doesn't mean that it should not be done.

Edit:

And if you couldn't handle a few maggots (chandlers) in your fridge, do not, under any circumstances, EVER google ragworm. :pac:

You will have nightmares. :o

Sorry for the double post. I accidentally clicked backpage and my browser went a bit strange.