Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2012 RTE Panel Watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Casino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Brian called it right. To the right of the keeper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Everytime Stephen Alkin says 'Chiellini' it sounds like he is saying 'Cian Healy'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Like this tournament, the RTE panel just keep delivering!! The metaphysics comment was brilliant! And then the discussion about hoodoo's! Dunphy goes "Johnny said to me once in a private conversation...." and you could see Giles sit forward thinking "ah here, what's Dunphy gonna come out with here!!" Great start to the day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

74% of the Irish Public are drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Bill's face said everything he thought about that poll really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

74% think we'll get a result against Spain. I feel a lot better now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Get those eejits off my tv!

Good to see a couple of consistent Irish failures just to get us in the right mood for tonight.

I like Bill's shrug of the shoulders when he read that one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

These social media polls and fcukin jerseys.....wtf next????
    Btw is there anything those twats are not OMG soooooo xcited about ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Bill's face said everything he thought about that poll really!

There's only three possible outcomes to any 90min match.

The poll asked can Ireland get a result, well yes they can.

I always thought Bilbo figured he was being watched by a shower of eejits, but he never realised the extent until this poll thing started.

Brian Kerr just said Muka Lodric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

The way the polls have been worded is stupid.

"Can Ireland beat Croatia?"

"Can Ireland get a positive result tonight?"

The answer will always be yes they can, in all probability they won't, but they "can" of course

Bill's face was priceless though. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

kitakyushu wrote: »
    74% think we'll get a result against Spain. I feel a lot better now.

74% will want Trap sacked come 9.30pm tonight.

Possibly even by 8.30pm :rolleyes:

That Social Media Poll nonsense reminds me of USA 1994, where the RTE Panel were joined by about 15 people sitting in a mocked up stand after the matches.

This forum included a few knowledgable football heads, but it also has people who knew nothing about the game. Probably a vain attempt to appeal to non Football fans (who have no place watching post match analysis IMO)

A sample exchange:

Bill says to a woman "Mary, what did you think of Mexico tonight?"

Mary "Ah, I don't know but the Goalie's jersey was lovely"

Thankfully, the Forum was dumped and never tried again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Brian Kerr just said Muka Lodric

Brian kerr is probably drunk. I cant stand listening to him commentating as hes an arrogant p***k!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Yeah clearly RTE have really progressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Skid wrote: »
    Thankfully, the Forum was dumped and never tried again.
    Nah, I think it became the Boards.ie Soccer Forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Kamjana

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Get those eejits off my tv!
    These social media polls and fcukin jerseys.....wtf next????
    Btw is there anything those twats are not OMG soooooo xcited about ?
    kitakyushu wrote: »
    I always thought Bilbo figured he was being watched by a shower of eejits, but he never realised the extent until this poll thing started.
    Sergio wrote: »
    Brian kerr is probably drunk. I cant stand listening to him commentating as hes an arrogant p***k!

Have you all lost the remote control or something,dont like it then changed the channel,simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Kamjana wrote: »
    Have you all lost the remote control or something,dont like it then changed the channel,simple as.
    Thats what ive done, nobod should be putting up with the likes of Alkin, Canning, Collins, Kerr commentating on games, they are woefully bad, names wrong all over the shop. They even make Mark Bright sound intelligent on the Beeb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,052 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

"Certainly Trappatoni likes Cox" - Kerr.

Lol.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Agreed about Kerr,he's a Total dick.Thankfully bbc are covering Italy v Croatia too, can't stand listening to kerr

Thats what ive done, nobod should be putting up with the likes of Alkin, Canning, Collins, Kerr commentating on games, they are woefully bad, names wrong all over the shop. They even make Mark Bright sound intelligent on the Beeb.

Nobody will ever make Mark Bright sound like a good co-commentator.

Kerr is doing alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

Sergio wrote: »

He's many things but arrogant isn't one of them.
    Quite a humble man actually

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Skid wrote: »
    Nobody will ever make Mark Bright sound like a good co-commentator.

Kerr is doing alright.

He let us down a bit by not calling Croatia goal in advance, went to sleep there.

"Looks like he kneed him with his arm" BBC commentator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

He's many things but arrogant isn't one of them.
    Quite a humble man actually

So you know him well do you?????I had a personal bad experience with the man and trust me hes far from humble!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

Strange comment by Alkin there referring to Eduardo as "the little Brazillian"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Eduardo is a little Brazilian now according to Stephen Alkin :D

Samich wrote: »

As opposed to the big Brazilian in the Italy team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭BKC

wonga77 wrote: »
    Samich wrote: »

Eduardo is Brazilian born lads.

wonga77 wrote: »

Well he's little and he's Brazilian. Not sure what's so strange.

Croatia keep their "80 year" undefeated streak intact.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Spain will only have 3 points if they beat Croatia, interesting maths by Dunphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭wonga77

I know he's born in Brazil but unusual to hear it phrased the way it was. The same way it would be strange if they referred to Cox as an englishman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

How on earth does Dunphy work that out as a good result for us? We're as good as out now unless we win tonight.

BKC wrote: »
    Eduardo is Brazilian born lads.

Plays for Croatia, which in my reckoning, makes him Croatian

Dunphy says Cox shouldn't play in midfield because he's not a midfield player, yet says he's picked because of his mobility. Contradiction at its finest :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

fullstop wrote: »
    How on earth does Dunphy work that out as a good result for us? We're as good as out now unless we win tonight.

If Croatia had won, then no matter what the results in our last 2 games, if Spain won their last game against Croatia then both of them would go through.

At least this way it's still partially in our hands.

I've heard of "must win matches". I've never heard of a "mustn't lose match" though. Bill as cutting edge and innovative as ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

I've heard of "must win matches". I've never heard of a "Mustn't lose match" though. Bill as cutting edge and innovative as ever.

Have you not :confused:

fullstop wrote: »
    Have you not :confused:

Of course I have. It was a joke. Never heard it really being mentioned by a commentator or someone else.

I've heard of "must win matches". I've never heard of a "mustn't lose match" though. Bill as cutting edge and innovative as ever.

Fairly common. Liverpool even had a "must not lose by too much match" once. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liverpool_0%E2%80%932_Arsenal_(26_May_1989)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

The Spanish may be distracted as they check out the rumours about a long Cox !:p

blinding wrote: »
    The Spanish may be distracted as they check out the rumours about a long Cox !:p

Playing in the hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

lol that was funny :) poor Billo

Christ, Mario Rostenstock has let himself go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

That girl waving the flag was nice.