Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro 2012 RTE Panel Watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

While the cats away the mice will play ...

Hamann and Cunningham just broke Ayatollah Dunphy's anti-Ronaldo fatwa and started praising Ronaldo's play and goal at half time. Tellingly, Giles sat stony faced throughout. Wouldn't have happened if Dunphy had been there, but at least they've shown that they might be able to think for themselves.

Dunphy only adds comedy value to the panel these days, you get far better analysis when he is not there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Where are we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

'if portugal meet germany in the semi final....'-hamann
    ffs do these guys know anything, teams from the same group cant meet until the final

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

adamski8 wrote: »
    'if portugal meet germany in the semi final....'-hamann
    ffs do these guys know anything, teams from the same group cant meet until the final

Maybe Germany will just push the rest of Europe around and unilaterally make that decision. :D

It'll be bad for the quality of the tournament when there are 24 teams ... because more teams like Ireland will be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Skid wrote: »
    It'll be bad for the quality of the tournament when there are 24 teams ... because more teams like Ireland will be there.

At least we'll blend in a bit better next time with a few more poor teams in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

What's with the crazy eyebrows on the panel...blinky hamman and kenny's random eyebrow raise...it's putting be right off my beer.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Jesus H. F'n Christ if I see this f**king competition blurb one more f**king time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭RayCon

del88 wrote: »
    blinky hamman ..

Oi .. leave Didi alone ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

24 teams with best third place teams going to the last 16 is very messy. Current format is ideal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Wish Dunphy was on tonight so he could try to argue Ronaldo is shíte.

Johnny has much praise for Ronaldo.

Dunphy must be a bad influence on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

24 teams with best third place teams going to the last 16 is very messy. Current format is ideal.

It gives us a better chance of making it but it's a shambles really. UEFA have let far too many teams into the qualifying stages.

Similar to allowing far too many countries into the EU :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

Didi is wrong there. Germany won't play Portugal in the semis. Thats not how the draw is laid out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Benimar wrote: »
    Didi is wrong there. Germany won't play Portugal in the semis. Thats not how the draw is laid out.

Euro 88, 96 and 2004 the group opponents met in final only. Good way of remember this is the general outcome in this format.

Johnny has much praise for Ronaldo.

Dunphy must be a bad influence on him.

Giles is much better when Dunphy is not there. If you listen to him on Newstalk on Thursday nights he gives some great insights into the game.

On the RTE panel he spends most of his time trying to put Dunphy's rants into more coherent terms.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Bill makes no secret of his dusgust for Roy Keane.

Another little dig at the end there tonight, fair play to him !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Lapin wrote: »
    Bill makes no secret of his dusgust for Roy Keane.

Another little dig at the end there tonight, fair play to him !

So? Roy knows 100x more about the sport than Bill does.

His lack of knowledge is a complete facade. He knows a hell of a lot more than he lets on.

Bill is a cute hoor who plays the clueless host in order to stir the pot and get the debate going.

If he was Ireland manager tomorrow he be like "Okee-doke .... it's 4-2-3-1 today lads and Shay you're dropped".

Watching him last night and he clearly did not know, or had forgotten, most of the bigger names from Group A.

Know it wasn't the most star studded group, but he is meant to know even the more obscure players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

Giles: "I think Holland have had a bad tournament."

There are countless ex Ireland players with a greater knowledge of the game than Bill, you and me combined, but they don't seek attention by coming out with contraversial comments for the sake of it.

I used to be a big fan of Keane and admired his attitude as a player, but now I'm just sick and tired of his outbursts.

I understand his views are sought by reporters whenever Ireland play, but there is nothing to stop him from maintaining a dignified slience and learning the meaning of the phrase no comment.

He is becoming a pointless thorn in the side of the Ireland set up since he departed and is fast becoming known as a pain in the arse rather than a person with a valuable contribution to make.

It would be a shame for him if he was remembered by younger generations for being a big gob with a chip on his shoulder rather than the gifted player he was.

Watching him last night and he clearly did not know, or had forgotten, most of the bigger names from Group A.

Know it wasn't the most star studded group, but he is meant to know even the more obscure players.

I'm not making excuses for him but he is 73. The majority of people around retire when they're in their early 60s nowadays. I think he can be forgiven for forgetting some names now and then.

My dad is a couple of years younger and he's definitely no slouch, but he still has problems remembering names. He pretty much forgets almost everyone unless he has known them for years.

Lapin wrote: »
    There are countless ex Ireland players with a greater knowledge of the game than Bill, you and me combined, but they don't seek attention by coming out with contraversial comments for the sake of it.

I used to be a big fan of Keane and admired his attitude as a player, but now I'm just sick and tired of his outbursts.

I understand his views are sought by reporters whenever Ireland play, but there is nothing to stop him from maintaining a dignified slience and learning the meaning of the phrase no comment.

Don't want to drag this into another discussion, but what is to be gained by saying nothing - if it is Roy Keane, or an ordinary fan like myself?

Holding our heads in the sand about an utterly crap tournament performance does not help in the long run.

How do you think the ITV execs who expect him to live up to his name, would feel about a 'no comment' response on live TV?

By expecting him 'to live up to his name' those ITV execs want him to come out with something contraversial simply to boost their ratings. They don't really care what he says as long as it turns a few heads in ITV's direction.

And Roy will happilly oblige.

A good reason in my opinion not to take him too seriously anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

I have LMFAO reading this thread.
    Here is what I think. Richie I like, easy on the eye, knows what he is supposed to, and doesnt pretend to know stuff about a game he isnt covering. Also loved when Darragh came back to him after showing a clip and he admitted he wasnt paying attention instead of trying to blindly wing it, like an ejet.
    Kenny drives me mad, I cannot stand him. he tries too hard IMO, he wants Giles's job. and he doesnt show Giles enough respect when he is on with him IMO.
    Dunphey is letting himself down big time, and Liam isnt far behind.
    Love Didi. He is so knowledgeable and is certainly not going to tow the party line.
    Bill - well he is the biggest sh1t stirrer ever. I bet he has a big wooden spoon under the desk.
    Kerr is hilarious, Houton is annoying, and Whelan is competent.
    Canning should not be allowed to commentate on anything ever!
    The Dream Team - Studio - Bill with Giles, Hamman and Sadlier
    Commentary Hamilton with Kerr. :)
    sorry for the long post.

PS WTF with the lack of new apres match!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

SarahBM wrote: »
    I have LMFAO reading this thread.
    Here is what I think. Richie I like, easy on the eye, knows what he is supposed to, and doesnt pretend to know stuff about a game he isnt covering. Also loved when Darragh came back to him after showing a clip and he admitted he wasnt paying attention instead of trying to blindly wing it, like an ejet.
    Kenny drives me mad, I cannot stand him. he tries too hard IMO, he wants Giles's job. and he doesnt show Giles enough respect when he is on with him IMO.
    Dunphey is letting himself down big time, and Liam isnt far behind.
    Love Didi. He is so knowledgeable and is certainly not going to tow the party line.
    Bill - well he is the biggest sh1t stirrer ever. I bet he has a big wooden spoon under the desk.
    Kerr is hilarious, Houton is annoying, and Whelan is competent.
    Canning should not be allowed to commentate on anything ever!
    The Dream Team - Studio - Bill with Giles, Hamman and Sadlier
    Commentary Hamilton with Kerr. :)
    sorry for the long post.

PS WTF with the lack of new apres match!
    Didn't like Kenny before but have been very impressed with him this tournament tbh. He's a very good analyst in my view. Not a fan of Sadlier tbh. Bill is very good in my view as another poster said he knows a hell of a lot more than he lets on. It's his role to stir it as such.

There will never be a dream team without Dunphy simply for the controversy factor. Ya need Brady for the old arguments too! That dream team you have while knowledgable is a bit too boring for RTE imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

SarahBM wrote: »
    Here is what I think. Richie I like, easy on the eye,

Says it all really :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Kenny's top drawer imo, Sadlier is regressing if anything sounds like he's trying his hardest not to cry most of the time.

Bill as always is the puppetmaster, says something stupid to try and stir it and when the lads don't bite he just pisses himself laughing gives an "Okey Doke" and moves on. You can't help but love him.

I like Darragh Maloney but it'll be a sad day when Bill goes. As long as we never see Peter Collins in that seat ever again i'll be a happy man, i reckon aul Peter has a few skeletons in his closet and bodies out the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

What dig did Bill give to keen tonight.

Hate listening to Giles and Brady. Dunphy is the best of those trio. would love to see his views on Ronaldo tonight.

Didi-Very good
    Sadlier -very good too. like listening to him.
    Kerr and Kenny-Cant stand listening to them.
    Canning-described Dutch back four as full back line last night. Ok to listen to do.
    Peter Collins-Awful. so is Kerr.
    Stephen Alkin/Houghton/Whelan-Really tough to listen to.

closeline wrote: »
    Canning-described Dutch back four as full back line last night. Ok to listen to do.

Hah. He also said at one point that the Dutch had won a throw-ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

I find Kenny pretty boring. He has no humour and regularly relies on replays saying it was bad defending, which the dog on the couch would know. Giles has the same habit. He is also v touchy and doesn't like being challenged. Saw Didi tonight for first time and have to say he is impressive. Sadlier is ok I guess but again not very exciting. Dunphy can be a total diva and fixates on certain things but he does come up with some v good insights. Bill is very good. He plays the innocent fool but is as tough as murder and well able to put Dunphy in his place. He knows Giles will get thick so just says..."In your day John...." to placate him.
    Houghton and Whelan come across as gentlemen but don't offer great insight.
    Ger Canning is capable of the odd blunder but there is a likeness about him. Had a bit of memory loss tonight when he couldn't remember where the match was being played (Ukraine) but everyone is entitled to the odd lapse like that.

Bill as always is the puppetmaster, says something stupid to try and stir it and when the lads don't bite he just pisses himself laughing gives an "Okey Doke" and moves on. You can't help but love him.

Hahaha summed him up perfectly. He's brilliant.

I think Didi is great and very fair. No bias towards Germany and also takes an interest in the Irish team.

One thing that annoys me with a few of them Kenny, Giles etc. is that every goal scored is from very bad defending and not good play.

Ray Houghton when paired with Ger Canning just seems to constantly disagree with him, sees each incident with the opposite view Canning first described it as.

Trevor Steven should get more than just England games.

Ronnie is an idiot.
    Sadlier is a whinge bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2012/0609/sport/more-than-okey-jokey-196846.html

One thing that annoys me with a few of them Kenny, Giles etc. is that every goal scored is from very bad defending and not good play.

To be fair a lot of the goals have been because of that. Today was a disgrace. A few lads from 6th class would defend better.

Richy06 wrote: »

I'm looking forward to that book. I'd say he has some amazing stories to tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I think it was good today that Didi talked about Trap's rant at Bayern. He clearly has great respect for the man but also not afraid to criticise him about certain things

Trevor Stephen is an awful commentator.

I think Didi is great and very fair. No bias towards Germany and also takes an interest in the Irish team.
    Haha. Of course he does, he's getting paid to do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I'd love to hear Bill curse. I wish he threw out an aul "fúcking bollix" once in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭Justin10

Didi is good, good knowledge of the Irish team too.
    Kenny Cunningham the defensive mastermind. Breaks everything down to the last blade of grass. As said above, can never be a good goal.

Giles if he would watch games and learn about modern footballers he would be great, good at breaking down what he sees, but annoying he has no clue about the teams.

Dont like Houghton at all, dont mind Kerr could be better. Shocked Ronnie even has a job, offers very little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Remember when Bill was being interviewed before, he said he asks the questions the people at home would ask. And it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I find Ray Houghton the hardest to listen to. Nothing is ever good enough in his eyes, EVER!

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Didi is good, good knowledge of the Irish team too.
    Will people stop using this as a virtue. It's his bleeding job to know about the Irish team, he's working for Irish TV!!!!

Samich wrote: »
    Remember when Bill was being interviewed before, he said he asks the questions the people at home would ask. And it's true.
    The braindead people.

Dempsey wrote: »
    I find Ray Houghton the hardest to listen to. Nothing is ever good enough in his eyes, EVER!

For example tonight in the second half Nani got on the end of a Ronaldo low cross and hit a low shot that Steklenberg saved. Houghton was criticising Nani for not trying for a high shot. That's great in hindsight, but I'm fairly sure that the generally accepted thing to do in that situation would be to keep the shot low.

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Will people stop using this as a virtue. It's his bleeding job to know about the Irish team, he's working for Irish TV!!!!

It is a virtue when he knows more about the Irish team than any of the regular pundits(who coincidentally are all from Ireland)