Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro 2012 RTE Panel Watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Ray "hindsight" Houghton :rolleyes:

He'll always complain that whenever a player does something, and it doesn't result in a favourable outcome, that it wasn't the right decision.

Player shoots and it goes wide? Should've passed the ball!

Player passes the ball and nothing comes of it? Should've taken a shot himself!

He's the most frustrating commentator of the lot for me. His hindsight commentary is relentless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Imagine Ray Houghton as an underage coach :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

All the talk of Bill reminded me of this, he's some man. Last line is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,449 ✭✭✭✭briany

Dempsey wrote: »
    Imagine Ray Houghton as an underage coach :eek:

careful_now.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

All the talk of Bill reminded me of this, he's some man. Last line is brilliant.

"I will in my arse. Are ya mad?"

"Do you want to get an ice-cream?"
    "I do in me arse"

"I don't want to hear you singing, I don't want to hear you talking, and I don't want to see you doing any goals"

"What kind of a ****ing eejit"

Sheer brilliance from Billo. He has a touch of a Brian Kerr to him. Would love to hear him commentating on a match. He'd be a laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Dempsey wrote: »
    I find Ray Houghton the hardest to listen to. Nothing is ever good enough in his eyes, EVER!

remember this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Hopefully Kerr gets the nod for tonight. You'd imagine Hamilton will be commentating on Ireland's match.

**** off Ronnie. We want Brian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Ronnie is the worst commentator ever

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

Samich wrote: »
    Ronnie is the worst commentator ever

Kerr > Whelan > Houton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

If Kerr had co-commentated we'd have won easily :mad:

Neil3030 wrote: »
    If Kerr had co-commentated we'd have won easily :mad:

Yeah, terrible selection by Trapattoni.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Thought Dunphy was a bit mellowed earlier, but he's gettin warmed up now :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Dunphy complaining about no McCarthy. He's unbelievable

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Dunphy complaining about no McCarthy. He's unbelievable

To be fair I don't think he meant it like that. He was just mentioning that McCarthy and Coleman have been over-looked in the last two years or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Didn't think I'd ever agree with Dunphy, but spot on when he says Traps methods are redundant and stone age.

I wish John would agree to come back and manage Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

I can see Bill doing some severe sh1t stirring after the break

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Not really in the mood for Apres Match tonight. :(

Lapin wrote: »
    Not really in the mood for Apres Match tonight. :(

Seems like Bill looks forward to Apres Match more than the actual games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

This is starting to feel a bit like "death by RTE" - just lie how Sean Gallagher got taken down before the presidential election.

No harm imo.

They mentioned Roddy Collins earlier - a great opportunity (given today's demise of Mons) to discuss the relationship between the weaknesses in the LoI and the disgrace of a national team that we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Did Craig Doyle just say that Dunphy is on his show tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

I think the only way forward for this team is : Manuela + "some other Italian manager"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Manuela looking sexaay.

born2bwild wrote: »
    Manuela looking sexaay.

As always,she was our best performer at the Euros

born2bwild wrote: »
    They mentioned Roddy Collins earlier - a great opportunity (given today's demise of Mons) to discuss the relationship between the weaknesses in the LoI and the disgrace of a national team that we have.

Bill called him Ronnie Collins. At least we got one mispronunciation tonight.
    Did Craig Doyle just say that Dunphy is on his show tonight?

Yea he did. Surprised to see Dunphy in there. Thought he'd head straight to the pub.

Did Dunphy just say Paul Pilkington or was that me? And Coleman? He should be nowhere near our team frankly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

I love when Dunphy talks about the players that have been excluded from the squad, he talks like he is the only person who has heard about the player before and has discovered them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

''The great Fabregas of Spain.''

You'd swear he's talking about someone of Maradona/Pele's status.

Let Chippy talk Eammo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

SarahBM wrote: »
    Seems like Bill looks forward to Apres Match more than the actual games

Don't we all!!
    In other news - Dunphy's on a roll!

Go ahead. Go ahead. You're on a roll.

Go ahead, Go AHEAD! You're on a roll, you're on a roll.

Brilliant.

Dunphy is off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Did Dunphy just say Paul Pilkington or was that me? And Coleman? He should be nowhere near our team frankly

He is overdoing this, he could have named 2 or 3 players who should have been on the pitch. No need to be going down the list so far (and making up players!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

look at gshuy, he can score in an open goal from 7yrds, genuis.

look at this fella, he can get fouled on the halfway line and win a free kick what a player

poor ireland :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Good man eamonn! On a roll, heart on a sleeve stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Ahahaha!! Liam is trolling the sh!t out of Dunphy!! Eamo is running out of things to say so he is says to Liam "do you want to take it here, Liam?" Brady: Now you keep going there Eamon!!

Dunphy showed a clip of Coleman winning the ball from a desperate pass and then passing the ball to a teammate about 5 yards away and then making a run. Bloody hell anyone could do that. Would love to see what team he'd pick cos he appears to be just throwing out names.

AT least Brady is talking sense by acknowledging a system change will be needed if Hoolahan/Pilkington are to be included

Every time Chippy says Going Forward the Irish team take a step backwards. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Would you talk to trap chippy....please?

We definitely need to sign more Spanish and Italian lads......going forward like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

My fellow Irish. As a young boy, I dreamed of being Liam Brady. But tonight I say, we must pass forward, not backward; upward, not forward; and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,591 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Nice showing how Swansea play with ordinary players but do they really expect a stubborn Italian in his seventies is going to change his philosophy?

No chance!

Haha Dunphy referring to Liverpool fans applauding Swansea when it clearly showed the Swansea fans celebrating :D

Do the panel know any player names other than the Irish and the big stars? "look at the number 7" etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Uh oh, the depressing video package.

(Don't cry, you're stronger than this...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,591 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Haha Dunphy referring to Liverpool fans applauding Swansea when it clearly showed the Swansea fans celebrating :D

Maybe so but Liverpool fans did applaud them off the field though.

Do the panel know any player names other than the Irish and the big stars? "look at the number 7" etc

"that's the Swansea player who was in the middle of the park, there"

Even a tiny bit of research would not go astray Mr Giles

murpho999 wrote: »
    Maybe so but Liverpool fans did applaud them off the field though.

AH yeah I know but he said something like "look at the Liverpool fans there" and it a sea of white :D