Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Beginner question

• 09-06-2012 12:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭

Im new to Archery and picked up a petron leisure bow last week. Very basic bit of kit but wanted to start small before getting a recurve. I havnt joined a club yet as I live in Laois there are no clubs near me.
    Most of my shooting is in my back yard/field. I was just wondering what is a good distance to shoot from? Im only shooting from 15 metres now but my accuracy still isnt the best. Should I shoot from closer until my accuracy and power increase or stay hallenging myself?

Another question I would like answered is where is the best place to get a target. I have been looking online and the cheapest targets are about €50. Is it worth creating a home made target?

Comments

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Kilkenny hosts an archery club that does beginners lessons. Some form of instruction would be a major leg up in technique and safety matters. It would be very hard to get a decent start without some form of help.

Lardy has a thread about how he made a carpet bale for shooting into. It's a few threads below this one. Tale a read of it.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert