Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland vs Croatia - Match thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

It was always going to be an uphill task but we've let ourselves down badly tonight. Too many way below par performances. Hasn't helped that we haven't got many decisions.

Thoughts of facing Spain in 4 days is fairly grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Jesus we are some miserable shower of ****ers in here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

The least they should be doing is having a ****.

With long & cox on it could happen,

Don't kid yourself, Ireland are losing because Ireland has a very limited group of players. No manager in the world is going to change that.

Even more limited by the fact Trap chose loyalty over bringing new personnel into the panel. The players Trap picked were limited and not the players he could pick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I only hope we do our usual 'up our game against the big teams' gig, otherwise a painful week ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Croatia are beating us in first gear here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Does Given ever throw the ball out to an Irish player instead of kicking it long and it just coming straight back ? FFs can we not try and keep possession and build up at all..

But the system, or something.

Despite the fact that creative players such as Hoolahan, McClean, Pilkington who have proven themselves against some of the best players in the world don't get near the pitch or into the squad at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

tdv123 wrote: »
    Yay, were 3-1 down, lets celebrate & make some noise.

Nation of bandwagoners more like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

So I wonder will the defeat result in more or less "Soccer Babies"? It was on the radio today that tonight would result in most baby making all year. I wonder will the defeat pour cold water on it or will the defeat lead to more procreation as wimmens try to cheer up their boozed up broken hearted lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Does Given ever throw the ball out to an Irish player instead of kicking it long and it just coming straight back ? FFs can we not try and keep possession and build up at all..
    The thing is our players can not pass the ball around the back

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

yomtea98 wrote: »
    This is why Trap should not have got a contract until after the tournament.Now we are stuck with him for the next few years
    Don't kid yourself, Ireland are losing because Ireland has a very limited group of players. No manager in the world is going to change that.

Spot on, anyone slagging off Ireland should have a look at Scotland, in my opinion player for player they are slightly better than us but they are a long way off qualifying for anything, we are hitting above our weight.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Can we ask the Croatian FA for a rematch?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

That's more like it Mr. Wayne. Come on lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

-Ade- wrote: »

I think we should be the 9th team in the quarter finals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Tbh I think I get more enjoyment watching England in big tournaments. The drama is fantastic. We just go out with a whimper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

What is up with Bilic and his hat?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭the realpigiron

Long should start the next day.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

-Ade- wrote: »

Or maybe our youth team could come in to be number 17.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Eathrin wrote: »

He's sellin yokes

V480 wrote: »
    Nation of bandwagoners more like.

Led by Mr. Dunphy.

He's sellin yokes

Much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

The opposite of Spain now, we've given all our strikers a run out, and now have nothing to deliver to them except the hoof we've been trying all game to perfect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Obviously. And Walters, and McClean, and Wilson should have made the squad and started. And that is just keeping within the parameters of our system. But sure look..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Good to see they gave tickets to the locals, fair play to her for supporting Ireland, I think the polish gave us a few Eurovision points also IIRC.

Spot on, anyone slagging off Ireland should have a look at Scotland, in my opinion player for player they are slightly better than us but they are a long way off qualifying for anything, we are hitting above our weight.
    I am not slagging anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

Tbh I think I get more enjoyment watching England in big tournaments. The drama is fantastic. We just go out with a whimper.

I'm sorry but thats a silly comment. In 4 previous tournaments we've been knocked out with 8 minutes to go, in a QF by the hosts and on penalties..sounds like you just want a moan to be honest...probably enjoying the fact we are losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Very sad way for the game to end.

We've been 2 down with 40 minutes of the game left and the kitchen sink never really came.

Miracles (of an even greater degree) required now.

Much?

Low cost Eastern Europe stuff.
    We're losing jobs here.

Eathrin wrote: »

We had the 'wally with the brolly' and now we have the 'twat in the hat' :)

He should have strated today but thats not the point at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Do we ****, we have a great record in tournaments.

tdv123 wrote: »
    He should have strated today but thats not the point at the moment.
    Strated?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Given
    --O'Shea--Dunne--St.Ledger--Ward
    --McLean--Whelan--Hoolahan--McGeady
    --Walters--Keane---

Why not ffs?

Good cross

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭steveLFC24

Impressed with the Croatian keeper, very dominant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Why don't you just marry the poxy queen then?

Bilic in that hat reminds me of my Irish friend. He used to wear a hat like that.

He became mentally ill and killed his mother. Now in a mental hospital. True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Given
    --Walters--Keane---

Why not ffs?

well Hoolahan is at home for one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Long lucky not to get red for elbowing pletikosa

Given
    --Walters--Keane---

Why not ffs?

Because Hoolahan is not in the squad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

Fantastic instincts, doesn't even know she's on camera and still able to pull duckface.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

So who's calling in sick tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Will be a fair amount of extra time now...cue an Irish goal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Ireland seem to be getting a bit niggly now in a game that's already lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭pjmn

Given
    --Walters--Keane---

Why not ffs?

Because you've put that ****in bollix Keane in the team!

Thats not true, we unlucky in 2002 against Spain, narrowly beaten by the host nation in 1990 & were minutes away from reaching the quarters in 88.

94 is the only time we went home without a real fight. And now 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Why don't you just marry the poxy queen then?

Mm she is taken for.

Relationship with Pippa maybe?

Better team this half, though Croats have more left in the tank.

Fair play to those still chanting.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

I'm saying that's what should happen, obviously Hoolahan is at home but if I had my way he'd be one of the first names on the team sheet.

Still, Trap knows best eh?