Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs Croatia - Match thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,914 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

yeah-great shame we arent a really top team like Man Utd or Barcelona
    We could wear the jersey and everybody would think we are cool

This is your country-dont put it down!

Id hate to have you beside me in the army.

Not everyone has to be a patriot, green tinted glasses are part of the problem at times like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

RE Training.

Only have done the Kick Start 1 and 2, but it is clear the FAI want to change to making it about fun.

However, that will take a long time to happen. In specific, games like Piggy in the middle do wonders for a persons short passing game and it is a game used all the time by Spanish/Dutch underage coaches
    +1 to this
    too many grassroots/schoolboy clubs with the "only winning is good enough" &
    "you learn our way"
    IMO not enough young kids allowed express themselves with a ball but that's just my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

It's things like this we need to see consigned to the past:

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/junior-senior/ruddy-hits-four-in-u9-title-romp-2201492.html

Article:
    By Paul Dowling
    Monday May 31 2010

With the curtain coming down on the 2009/10 Heatons/Sportsworld Wicklow District Schoolboys League season, three more side's entered the league winners enclosure this week.

Conrad Ruddy was the four-goal hero as Wolfe Tone Youth Club A secured the Under 9 Division 1 crown.

Having drawn 1-1 away to rivals Ashford Rovers last week at BallinaleaPark - Ashford would have won the title if they'd taken the threepoints - Wolfe Tone beat Bray rivals Ardmore Rovers 9-0 last Wednesday to take the silverware by two points.

Alan Hayden also blasted in a treble for the Blue's with Dan Waters and Ben Murphy also rippling the net at the Temple Sportsfield.

Meanwhile at Whitegates last Thursday, Wicklow Rovers B came from 2-1 down at half time to defeat Aughrim Rangers 3-2.

And capture the Under 11 Division 2 crown.

Both teams had identical records of 11 wins, one draw and one defeat before kick-off.

It appeared as if Aughrim would take the trophy after the opening half hour, but goals by Kevin O'Halloran (2) and Robbie Dunne saw Rovers become champions in the make or break last league fixture.

Rathnew AFC completed stage one of a proposed treble as they overcame Arklow Town 4-3 to lift the Under 16 Premier Division silverware.

Already guaranteed a play-off with Greystones United if they'd lost, the Villagers led 2-0, 3-1 and then 4-2 last Tuesday at the

Bridgewater Centre Park thanksby Shane Doyle (2), Stephen Olohan and Paul Ellis.

We should never be talking about an 8 year old child, boy or girl, being a "4 goal hero" for securing "the league title". We should never be describing an u-11 match as a "make or break fixture".

Boys and girls of that age should be having fun, playing the game, not waiting for the Herald to see the League table. They should be encouraged to pass the ball, dribble with the ball and come off after the game not caring if they have won or lost. I'd rather see an 8 year old try beat someone running with the ball or attempting a tricky 15 yard pass and make an absolute meal of it, than to try be a "4 goal hero" because he might be faster or taller than boys/girls his own age.

I strongly feel under age football is ruined by parents, mainly fathers, who want to live vicariously through their children and see them win and do well at football. For all the "4 goal heroes" out there, there are some poor young fellas going home nearly in tears because they got beaten 11-0 and that can't be fun for any child.

We seriously need to act and act now. Otherwise in 20 years time we'll be at the Euros having this same conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,806 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Spread wrote: »
    There was an element of luck in Croatia's 3 goals. Having said that, I think Given was a bit late off the mark for the first one. The penalty should have been given. But our fellows lack the fire in the belly of Charlton/McCarthy's lads.
    All is not lost but even if we get results, the old goal difference is the divil.

Goal difference is the problem alright. We need Croatia to not lose to either team, and then we need one win and a draw. If Spain or Italy get 3 points from here on in, we will probably need 2 wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

look at how rugby is taught in new zealand.

at under age, i think its u-14 they dont play to win. They dont even keep score. and thats not by choice its the regulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Loling at the overreaction to Ireland's performance. Ireland played one good team in qualifying, Russia, and were hammered off the park both times while miraculously managing to get one point in Moscow. People went into these games with a false sense of confidence. Croatia aren't a great team but they're a class above Ireland, the result isn't exactly shocking and it's a fair reflection of the difference between the two sides. People expect results against these teams by convincing themselves that we can duke it out with the big boys due to some kind of inner optimism that has been instilled in us. I expect Spain and Italy to beat Ireland relatively comfortably but it's not always that simple, look at Denmark and Holland. Having said that, we must be realistic and admit that qualification is beyond us. Hopefully we can at least give a good showing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,734 ✭✭✭✭CSF

delw wrote: »
    +1 to this
    "you learn our way"
    IMO not enough young kids allowed express themselves with a ball but that's just my opinion

Where are you getting this from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    What a pathetic attitude to have towards your own team.

I'm only in it for the few days of drinking tbh. Nice results would be nice, but otherwise it's better not to get your hopes up and get disappointed by mediocre results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

kryogen wrote: »
    Nope, had completely forgotten, sure why would I not just say he was there, couldn't think of the guy in the middle at all

My bad so, I was thinking you had MANU specs on;)
    Really is a tough group, I had hoped we would nick a win, while being very hard to beat. Still optimistic we might get a point or four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,806 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Tellox wrote: »
    I'm only in it for the few days of drinking tbh. Nice results would be nice, but otherwise it's better not to get your hopes up and get disappointed by mediocre results.

You can drink whenever you like? Thats kinda what I was alluding to anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

My initial reaction is that we were poor.

Didn't expect much but that performance was very disheartening.

Going to finish my cup of tea and make further comments then...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I do agree that the emphasis at underage level should be on development and not on winning. The FAI are trying to change how football is coached in Ireland afaik but it will take time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

It's got little to do with other sports. Every country has competing sports. In Ireland it's GAA and rugby, in England it's rugby, cricket, in places like Croatia it's basketball, ice hockey........

It's how we look after our own sport. Sticking 9 year olds out on full sized goals with parents screaming at the ref from the sidelines and the manager picking the big lads for their age up front and at the back. It's **** like that which is damaging our ability to produce the technically gifted talent.

We should follow Englands recent decision.

I'd be all for:

1. Limiting it to 7-a-side matches until u-14 age group.
    2. Proportionate goal sizes to kids heights.
    3. Scrap league tables.
    4. Give a kid a run in every position on the pitch.

What does it teach kids if we have them in full sized goals with parents screaming their heads off on the sidelines calling the ref a wanker or the manager a tosser for not picking their kid?????

We need our kids to have fun, f*ck winning or losing, play the game, have fun. It should never be about who can kick the ball furthest or hardest as a 9 year old or who is tallest to head the ball. It should be about being able to pass the ball from A to B, being able to run with the ball from A to B, expressing themselves having fun.

Population has little to do with all this.

At moments like this I'm almost more excited at the prospect of training young (7/8 year olds) players than I am about playing myself. In a way I've kind of plateaued in my own development. I've accepted that I'm never gonna play for United.

Thankfully though there are young players that have a great chance of doing that. I'm delighted that I'm training to become a primary teacher, and that I'll have access to these kids for a lot of my life.

I know full well that I'm not gonna change the Irish team through my own training, but if I can kind of influence the team 15 years down the line then that'd be an absolute privilege.

Everyone on here should take something from watching Spain. Playing without a striker and being afraid to shoot was an awful decision, but the rest was perfect. Keep calm and pass, pass, pass the ball. Encourage the young children of today to play with their heads up, and to be aware of the situations around them.

If we do that then we'll be in a very good position in 10 years time.

We really aren't a bad team. Unfortunately, we don't have the tactical nous to play the ball in such a way that it opens up teams. If we did then we'd be flying.

Hopefully 10 years down the line we'll be more in tune with the Spanish way of playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

+1 to this
    "you learn our way"

A major problem is the lack of qualified underage coaches. So many are just parents who fill in and seriously don't have a bulls notion about coaching techniques and proper practices.

People simply aren't willing to put the commitment in, especially in the winters.

CSF wrote: »

To be fair he is pretty much on the ball. I played Soccer for my local village when i was a kid. i was told by my own uncle once when i came on in the second half that "i had 30 minutes to prove myself".
    I was 11. :rolleyes: I used to love playing in attack but it is only later on that i discovered i wasnt a bad defender and it was only by accident i discovered it.

At moments like this I'm almost more excited at the prospect of training young (7/8 year olds) players than I am about playing myself. In a way I've kind of plateaued in my own development. I've accepted that I'm never gonna play for United.

Thankfully though there are players that have a great chance of doing that. I'm delighted that I'm training to become a primary teacher.

I know full well that I'm not gonna change the Irish team through my own training, but if I can kind of influence the team 15 years down the line then that'd be an absolute privilege.

Everyone on here should take something from watching Spain. Playing without a striker and being afraid to shoot was an awful decision, but the rest was perfect. Keep calm and pass, pass, pass the ball. Encourage the young children of today to play with their heads up, and to be aware of the situations around them.

If we do that then we'll be in a very good position in 10 years time.

We really aren't a bad team. Unfortunately, we don't have the tactical nous to play the ball in such a way that it opens up teams. If we did then we'd be flying.

Hopefully 10 years down the line we'll be more in tune with the Spanish way of playing.
    So outside of the cliche that Irish schoolboy coaches just want players to hoof the ball, what do you think coaches aren't doing that they should be, and what do you think they are doing that they shouldn't be? Specifically.

To be fair he is pretty much on the ball. I played Soccer for my local village when i was a kid. i was told by my own uncle once when i came on in the second half that "i had 30 minutes to prove myself".
    I was 11. :rolleyes: I used to love playing in attack but it is only later on that i discovered i wasnt a bad defender and it was only by accident i discovered it.

The only thing this proves anything about is your uncle.

CSF im only going on what iv seen for a few years,kids play really well at a young age at a small club
    They then get to go to a bigger schoolboy club only not to be good enough & then don't want to play ball again,confidence knocked,it does happen &yet it's supposed to be fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Just a final point on this:

If it were up to me, it would be forbidden to do any training session with kids without a football up until u-14. It's an absolute nonsense asking 10 year olds to run around a field without a ball to "get fit". They can get all the fitness they need running with a ball or to a ball.

What on earth does it achieve starting an u-11 training session by asking kids to do a lap of the pitch? Their bodies don't even develop properly until puberty. Everything should be done with a football. It gives them enough exercise and helps develop their technique.

The points im making on this thread are directly related to the match tonight and the gulf in class in technical ability between ourselves and the Croats. It's high time we got real. Every child should get an equal amount of time on the pitch every game and always rotating positions. Stick the small lad in goal for 10 mins, stick the slow lad up front, let them all have fun and develop their skills and grow a love for the game that is far beyond winning & losing.

Not only will it promote technical ability but it will instill a lifelong love of the game and playing the game and not see the massive drop-out in participation after being demoralised by the game at a young age because you're sitting on the bench getting splinters because you're too small or too slow.

Go to the FAI coaching seminar and in the first 5 minutes they will admit to this problem.

Seeing as you dismiss proof of individual examples, I'm not sure anyone can really present you with a statistic of the amount of managers who believe "winning comes first".

So outside of the cliche that Irish schoolboy coaches just want players to hoof the ball, what do you think coaches aren't doing that they should be, and what do you think they are doing that they shouldn't be? Specifically.

Simply put, too many of the coaches that I've encountered at a basic level are just parents. Parents that were "dragged along" when their kids were 10/11. They stay up until the young lads are 15/16 but they haven't a clue.

They've played the game, but they've never had the necessary training that might try and set them out from another u-13/14 manager.

I'm not talking about drilling players in the tiki-taki way, as enticing as that may be. I'm merely saying that there has got to be more of an emphasis on youngsters getting their head up and being comfortable on the ball. It's not a difficult thing to teach or to learn. It only becomes difficult if lads try to learn to play that way when they are 18/19.

If kids are taught that way of playing football when they are 9/10 then we should have no problems.

The points im making on this thread are directly related to the match tonight and the gulf in class in technical ability between ourselves and the Croats. It's high time we got real. Every child should get an equal amount of time on the pitch every game and always rotating positions. Stick the small lad in goal for 10 mins, stick the slow lad up front, let them all have fun and develop their skills and grow a love for the game that is far beyond winning & losing.

Not only will it promote technical ability but it will instill a lifelong love of the game and playing the game and not see the massive drop-out in participation after being demoralised by the game at a young age because you're sitting on the bench getting splinters because you're too small or too slow.

Huge point raised there. See it all the time. Manager has their favourites, the ones who might be more physically gifted or able to do a step-over. These are championed while other kids are left on the bench. Most kids will get disheartened quite quickly by this. Sometimes all they need is a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,422 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Jesus, this discussion is poxy lads. The FAI ARE addressing this issue as best they can. The coaching courses up to 'A' Level preach the right things. They are churning out decent coaches every year. It will take a lot of time but they've started the process.

Don't forget that there is a massive amount of vested interests in grassroots football and the FAI don't actually have administrative control over underage competitions.

CSF im only going on what iv seen for a few years,kids play really well at a young age at a small club
    They then get to go to a bigger schoolboy club only not to be good enough & then don't want to play ball again,confidence knocked,it does happen &yet it's supposed to be fun
    Do you think kids all make the grade in the academies of the bigger clubs in other countries?

Oh its not just my uncle.. its the general way of things believe me and it went alot further than our club. I played for two clubs at u12 and u14 respective. The emphasis was on winning and player development never came into it and its not just soccer that was guilty of this. Lads were getting roared at from the sideline. There was a gombeen of a referee in our county and we were 'fortunate' enough to have had a training session or two with him. He was like a Sgt Major. Barking orders, all about his authority and discipline and criticizing players. No banter or camaraderie tolerated

Most of the coaches i came across was all about winning and putting a feather in their own cap. Now there is alot of good coaches out there i do realise that but this problem exists in Ireland or at least it did during the 90s anyhow and judging by the recent fortunes of the national team and the vast majority of players produced on this island (with the exception of a few) these times, very little has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,769 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Keep the ball primarily on the ground,use both feet to kick the ball ,practice with your weaker foot .
    Drills to practice first touch ,control ,one two's .
    Matches should be 5-7 a side on small pitches with small goals.

There is an obsession with long ball in Irish footbal and giving it welly.No risk football .
    What on earth does it achieve starting an u-11 training session by asking kids to do a lap of the pitch? Their bodies don't even develop properly until puberty. Everything should be done with a football. It gives them enough exercise and helps develop their technique.
    lol,the memories .

Simply put, too many of the coaches that I've encountered at a basic level are just parents. Parents that were "dragged along" when their kids were 10/11. They stay up until the young lads are 15/16 but they haven't a clue.

They've played the game, but they've never had the necessary training that might try and set them out from another u-13/14 manager.

I'm not talking about drilling players in the tiki-taki way, as enticing as that may be. I'm merely saying that there has got to be more of an emphasis on youngsters getting their head up and being comfortable on the ball. It's not a difficult thing to teach or to learn. It only becomes difficult if lads try to learn to play that way when they are 18/19.

If kids are taught that way of playing football when they are 9/10 then we should have no problems.

This is exactly the problem, but its not the one that we're all referring to. If we as a nation, had the same proportion of qualified coaches as the countries whose youth systems we're lauding, we'd be in a great situation. The people who are coming in having a pop at the current coaches though just come across as ignorant.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Jesus, this discussion is poxy lads. The FAI ARE addressing this issue as best they can. The coaching courses up to 'A' Level preach the right things. They are churning out decent coaches every year. It will take a lot of time but they've started the process.

Don't forget that there is a massive amount of vested interests in grassroots football and the FAI don't actually have administrative control over underage competitions.

It is very frustrating, but we'll only see the benefits a few years down the line. Most of the guys I've seen that are coaching lately are very good. Mainly because they've gotten certificates/training from the FAI.

10 years ago there was nothing really. I've a lot more confidence now in the coaches that are training our future stars.

Keep the ball primarily on the ground,use both feet to kick the ball ,practice with your weaker foot .
    Drills to practice first touch ,control ,one two's .
    Matches should be 5-7 a side on small pitches with small goals.

There is an obsession with long ball in Irish footbal and giving it welly.No risk football .

I don't know where you get the idea that this doesn't happen. Have you much involvement with schoolboy football?

If it were up to me, it would be forbidden to do any training session with kids without a football up until u-14. It's an absolute nonsense asking 10 year olds to run around a field without a ball to "get fit". They can get all the fitness they need running with a ball or to a ball.

Not only will it promote technical ability but it will instill a lifelong love of the game and playing the game and not see the massive drop-out in participation after being demoralised by the game at a young age because you're sitting on the bench getting splinters because you're too small or too slow
    Yes

Oh its not just my uncle.. its the general way of things believe me and it went alot further than our club. I played for two clubs at u12 and u14 respective. The emphasis was on winning and player development never came into it and its not just soccer that was guilty of this. Lads were getting roared at from the sideline. There was a gombeen of a referee in our county and we were 'fortunate' enough to have had a training session or two with him. He was like a Sgt Major. Barking orders, all about his authority and discipline and criticizing players. No banter or camaraderie tolerated

Most of the coaches i came across was all about winning and putting a feather in their own cap. Now there is alot of good coaches out there i do realise that but this problem exists in Ireland or at least it did during the 90s anyhow and judging by the recent fortunes of the national team and the vast majority of players produced on this island (with the exception of a few) these times, very little has changed.
    Telling us about the 90s before an actual program was put together by the FAI (which almost any useful club will demand any coach has gone at least 2 steps into) has pretty much no relevance whatsoever.

Do you think kids all make the grade in the academies of the bigger clubs in other countries?

The point is that those who do make it are better equipped for the next level and those who don't can look back at their footballing days with some fondness. Yes there will be disappointment but it should be at a stage when players are mature enough to handle it.

Granted i imagine the FAI etc have recognised the need to change the way we approach the game and fair play to them if they did. Its been a long time coming.

Nobody is too small or too slow. Great lengths have been gone to, to ensure that there is a level for everyone of any physical situation (disabilities included). The problem arises when kids play at the wrong level.

Not because they're not good enough, or because they'll harm the chances of winning the double this year. But because other kids may have developed earlier and it'll result in the kids getting less touches of the ball, and not developing the way they should.

This is exactly the problem, but its not the one that we're all referring to. If we as a nation, had the same proportion of qualified coaches as the countries whose youth systems we're lauding, we'd be in a great situation. The people who are coming in having a pop at the current coaches though just come across as ignorant.

I don't mean to sound arrogant, if that's what you think. I know I've a lot to learn about the game myself.

If it was possible I'd like to see a criteria imposed on coaches of under age teams. The main criteria being that they've completed the necessary under-age coaching qualifications.

The people that emerge from the program may not be the next Pep Guardolia, but they will be 100% better placed than the coach that I had when I was 11 years old.

The point is that those who do make it are better equipped for the next level and those who don't can look back at their footballing days with some fondness. Yes there will be disappointment but it should be at a stage when players are mature enough to handle it.

Granted i imagine the FAI etc have recognised the need to change the way we approach the game and fair play to them if they did. Its been a long time coming.

So you're actually just guessing here based on what things were like 20 years ago?

I don't mean to sound arrogant, if that's what you think. I know I've a lot to learn about the game myself.

If it was possible I'd like to see a criteria imposed on coaches of under age teams. The main criteria being that they've completed the necessary under-age coaching qualifications.

The people that emerge from the program may not be the next Pep Guardolia, but they will be 100% better placed than the coach that I had when I was 11 years old.

A problem emerges here though. We in Ireland don't have a football culture, and can't get the amount of people interested in being qualified coaches. The amount of coaches who will progress to Youth Cert level, just wouldn't meet the demand created by the amount of kids who want to play football. All we can do is hope more and more people gather an interest in making a difference.

No

No obviously not CSF

Then why are you using it as a stick to beat us a nation with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,769 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I don't know where you get the idea that this doesn't happen. Have you much involvement with schoolboy football?

It must be slow to take effect because the vast majority of schoolboy matches I have seen over the last few years are still long ball .
    I havent seen any change in attitude in younger players I have played with in recent years either.

It must be slow to take effect because the vast majority of schoolboy matches I have seen over the last few years are still long ball .
    I havent seen any change in attitude in younger players I have played with in recent years either.

The standard of our coaching isn't very high. For the record, I see no long ball football at the agegroup I coach at. I don't watch the older lads much so I'm not going to pass comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

fucjik ti anywaqys :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

one of the worst coaches ive ever played under had his pro licence

some of those responsible for nurturing some of the best players in the world had no "badges". some coaches with qualifications are only simply interested in winning at all costs

not saying its not a worthwhile exercise (getting coaching badges), but those who feel that this will solve all of our problems, are kidding themselves.

Our problem is population coupled with competition from other sports.

Something wrong with the game if Wes Hoolahan can't get in that squad.

Players like that are seen as luxuriant by our coaches but in other countries are seen as stars.

So you're actually just guessing here based on what things were like 20 years ago?

Fair enough perhaps the ship has been turned around and we can expect to see a more technical player come out of Ireland in the future regardless of his size or build. That would be great.

i would be skeptical things have changed without seeing it for myself i suppose and i would be a cynic where the FAI are concerned in any situation. Still im open to be proven wrong.

Jayob10 wrote: »
    one of the worst coaches ive ever played under had his pro licence

some of those responsible for nurturing some of the best players in the world had no "badges". some coaches with qualifications are only simply interested in winning at all costs

not saying its not a worthwhile exercise (getting coaching badges), but those who feel that this will solve all of our problems, are kidding themselves.

Our problem is population coupled with competition from other sports.

Those coaches would have been ex-pros/semi-pros or coming from before the age of a proper system.

Any coach who takes themselves seriously who isn't attaining badges stinks of neglect. The more coaches we have doing these courses and getting the badges, the better we will be. These courses aren't box-ticking exercises and have alot to offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

The fitness statement is too true. A 10-14 year old that isn't overweight is going to be fit enough to play any schoolboy game just from running around the playground playing soccer or any other sport and from whatever match they might play at the end of training.

On top of that actual fitness training probably isn't even the best way of making young players fitter. From personal experience that hardest training sessions I ever had for the local club were the ones when it was pure passing and moving for the entire training session (although that could have been from being so unfit at the time :P). Sadly the focus on trying to play passing football instead of just hoofing the ball came when it was too late to change anyone's style of play.

Apparently the FAI are trying to change the way coaching is done in this country so they should be applauded for that. Sadly it is going to take a long time to see the results of that.

Something wrong with the game if Wes Hoolahan can't get in that squad.

Players like that are seen as luxuriant by our coaches but in other countries are seen as stars.

Its just Trappatoni really. Pretty much the whole country disagrees with him and most things but accepts it because his results have been better than the rest of those for a good few years beforehand.

Kevin Doyle must be asking himself what he did to be substituted, while Robbie "the misunderstood" Keane waved his arms around.

Cox for McGeady.

**** OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad

We were ****e.

A problem emerges here though. We in Ireland don't have a football culture, and can't get the amount of people interested in being qualified coaches. The amount of coaches who will progress to Youth Cert level, just wouldn't meet the demand created by the amount of kids who want to play football. All we can do is hope more and more people gather an interest in making a difference.

I don't know who you could blame that on. I'm odd I suppose in that I enjoy the prospect of coaching almost as much as I do playing.

To be fair the trained coaches in our club are brilliant. I've seen it in the last few years. Guys have been asked to coach the Kennedy cup team, and it's not a hollow gesture.

At the end of the day coaching will never be as glamorous as playing. We can only hope that enough players invest the necessary time in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

The standard of our coaching isn't very high. For the record, I see no long ball football at the agegroup I coach at. I don't watch the older lads much so I'm not going to pass comment.

People assume theres a lack of willingness to let young lads "express themselves" in games at underage level in Ireland.

And that the Xavi's an Iniesta's of this world did nothing but express themselves.

Its actually the complete opposite. Your bog standard irish underage setup has no structure so young lads do nothing but express themselves. And its counter productive.

Receiving the ball and looking up is not a natural instinct for a young player, even a young Xavi. These lads are drilled on the fundamentals of the game, repetition until its second nature. Its not expression is drilling them on the basics of the game. Over and over and over.