Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers Who Lunch - The Off Topic Thread (All Chat Goes Here!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

I read one page of it in the airport and it was a dirty page I managed to open it on! I wanted to see if the first page I opened would have a sex scene and it did. Your usual poorly written sex scene with odd metaphors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

For those of you who fancy Sheldon, you're welcome :)

julian-clary-totally-looks-like-jim-parsons.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

I've contented myself reading some of the hilarious reviews of it on goodreads and amazon. They're just so funny, and I can never believe that the quotes used actually come from one of the books!

ETA: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10818853-fifty-shades-of-grey

Some of these are just gold. Especially the ones with gifs! :D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Boardsie, EileenG's erotic fiction novella was published today. Probably a much better read than 50 shades.

http://www.amazon.com/Angels-Demons-...7704416&sr=1-3

WinterSong wrote: »
    I've contented myself reading some of the hilarious reviews of it on goodreads and amazon. They're just so funny, and I can never believe that the quotes used actually come from one of the books!

ETA: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10818853-fifty-shades-of-grey

Some of these are just gold. Especially the ones with gifs! :D

Recommended to Alicia by: I'm actually still talking to her.
    Shelves: pathetic-and-or-stupid-female-lead, wtf-is-this, caused-me-rage, disappointing, lurking-pedobear, ugh-first-person, speshul-snowflake, judging-you, i-hope-the-mayans-were-right, apparently-theft-is-okay, lowest-common-denominator, we-deserve-the-apocalypse, wtf-is-wrong-with-you-people, trees-died-for-this-crap, rh-supports-theft, chris-brown-would-be-proud, this-is-not-a-romance, male-lead-who-needs-a-junk-punch, me-and-ranty-mcgee, drank-the-haterade, author-needs-a-muzzle

lol.

edit:
    Christian ... is just a sexist, abusive bastard. Did I mention that besides all the creepy sex stuff, he makes Ana sign a ****ing contract (which is like ten pages long) basically turning her life over to him. This contract allows him to choose what she eats and wears, how much she exercises, and how often she shaves/waxes. He also forces her to take contraception, and he forbids her from masturbating because he "wants all her pleasure."
    really?
    that is actually disturbing
    I knew it was bad fanfic but I didn't know it was that bad

okay, no more interest now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Raven_Melody

Once there was a girl, who moved abroad, and then had to take a gaff in the Bronx when she came back to Ireland. This involved a trek into work everyday, a break in, and drunken eejits having midweek parties and walking into her room at 3am. But now she has found a ****ing awesome place with awesome people,10mins from her work right smack in town and will know on Monday if she has it...... in which case she will live happily ever after! :)

bluewolf wrote: »
    Recommended to Alicia by: I'm actually still talking to her.
    Shelves: pathetic-and-or-stupid-female-lead, wtf-is-this, caused-me-rage, disappointing, lurking-pedobear, ugh-first-person, speshul-snowflake, judging-you, i-hope-the-mayans-were-right, apparently-theft-is-okay, lowest-common-denominator, we-deserve-the-apocalypse, wtf-is-wrong-with-you-people, trees-died-for-this-crap, rh-supports-theft, chris-brown-would-be-proud, this-is-not-a-romance, male-lead-who-needs-a-junk-punch, me-and-ranty-mcgee, drank-the-haterade, author-needs-a-muzzle

lol.

edit:

really?
    that is actually disturbing
    I knew it was bad fanfic but I didn't know it was that bad

okay, no more interest now

And according to reviews I've read of the third book, she spends most of it begging him not to be mad at her/to let her drive...

SO ROMANTIC :rolleyes:

And according to reviews I've read of the third book, she spends most of it begging him not to be mad at her/to let her drive...

SO ROMANTIC :rolleyes:

yeah, the "please don't be mad at me" and "you can hit me as therapy" and being afraid of him all the time and realising he's a creepy psycho stalker isn't D/s, it's just plain abusive
    ugh
    no idea why that's so popular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Ah so it's like Twilight for grown ups so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

It was originally Twilight fan fiction so essentially yeah!

My mother offered to lend me her copy for an upcoming flight :eek: she said it's so badly written she can't finish it :D way to sell it!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I read Fifty Shades because all the girls at work decided to and we figured it'd be a good giggle.

I didn't think it'd be much good, but it's not even very dirty or explicit- which is what I was expecting the way people are carrying on about it! The girl has about 40 orgasms when she loses her virginity and the phrase 'inner goddess' is on nearly every page. Am I the only one here who doesn't have an 'inner goddess?' :(

Plus, the main fella is just an asshat- treats yer wan like crap, frequently makes her cry, orders her food for her in restaurants, buys her a new car because he doesn't approve of what she drives, chooses her clothes for her... Am I in the minority by not finding behaviour like that 'awesome' and 'dreamy?' :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You guys aren't selling this book very well...

apparently you can find her original version of the fanfic online for free, they didn't really change much other than the names :pac:

think ill stick with literotica though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Posy wrote: »
    I read Fifty Shades because all the girls at work decided to and we figured it'd be a good giggle.

I didn't think it'd be much good, but it's not even very dirty or explicit- which is what I was expecting the way people are carrying on about it! The girl has about 40 orgasms when she loses her virginity and the phrase 'inner goddess' is on nearly every page. Am I the only one here who doesn't have an 'inner goddess?' :(

Plus, the main fella is just an asshat- treats yer wan like crap, frequently makes her cry, orders her food for her in restaurants, buys her a new car because he doesn't approve of what she drives, chooses her clothes for her... Am I in the minority by not finding behaviour like that 'awesome' and 'dreamy?' :pac:

If I wrote a book with a guy like that in it, it would end up a murder mystery...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You have to wonder what's appealing about the book then? A lot of people just buying and reading it now out of curiousity but what gave it a start all of a sudden? There's three books right? So they've been out a while and it's only now people are talking about them, or where all three released at once?

Surely no women, certainly not many women would be attracted to that sort of relationship. Places are sold out of it, doesn't seem like the type of book I'd read even out of curiousity. Apparently it doesn't even come under the erotica genre?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

You guys aren't selling this book very well...
    That's because it is one of the worst books ever written. It makes Twilight look like A Tale of Two Cities.

You have to wonder what's appealing about the book then? A lot of people just buying and reading it now out of curiousity but what gave it a start all of a sudden? There's three books right? So they've been out a while and it's only now people are talking about them, or where all three released at once?

Surely no women, certainly not many women would be attracted to that sort of relationship. Places are sold out of it, doesn't seem like the type of book I'd read even out of curiousity. Apparently it doesn't even come under the erotica genre?

I have a feeling it could be an intro for a lot of women to either (what they think is, because it definitely isn't) D/s, bdsm, that sort of thing, or even raunchier novels in general?
    I don't really know though, I have no idea why someone would think it's good

• Registered Users Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

A friend of mine sent me a pdf of it to check it out, so it is available online....

I wanted to throttle main character from the first couple of pages, worse than I've ever wanted to hurt yer wan outta twilight...

In other news, if anyone wants to put a roof on Cork, I will make cookies for them...

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'd borrow the book from someone out of pure curiosity, but I wouldn't waste any money on it

I'd be the same lol.

Over the last few weeks I've had the most intense cravings for things. I've been mad for a caramel square since Sunday and yesterday I would have sold my soul for some garlic bread. If I didn't know (much :P) better I'd think I was pregnant!

I reckon it's curiosity mostly. Most of the people I've talked to who read or were reading it said that they wanted to see what the fuss is about. Although I did get that vibe from them that it was that they wanted to read a dirty book that was mainstream.

If it's the only porn they've ever read, I feel sorry for them really. There's nothing sweeter than well-written porn with no jarring metaphors or phrases. Maybe it'll be gateway porn for some women, get them into better stuff. But I feel as though it's going to be sex and the city all over again and most won't stray off the well trodden path.

What I hate most about 50 Shades, I think, is the unhealthy portrayal it gives of a D/s relationship. Consent and mutual enjoyment are at the centre of a proper D/s relationship, and when your lead character's internal dialogue is telling the reader that she's only putting up with being abused because, OMG, he's hot, it paints a grim picture D/s to people not familiar with it. D/s can be incredibly loving, and I feel that the book does a lot to negate that in the eyes of the mainstream reader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Over the last few weeks I've had the most intense cravings for things. I've been mad for a caramel square since Sunday and yesterday I would have sold my soul for some garlic bread. If I didn't know (much :P) better I'd think I was pregnant!

I crave food all the time because I'm a glutton (gluttony and sloth, how many more of the deadly sins do I do?!), just means you want some, don't gotta be knocked up to want yummy foods :D

Das Kitty wrote: »
    What I hate most about 50 Shades, I think, is the unhealthy portrayal it gives of a D/s relationship.
    after reading the reviews, i'm starting to feel the same way :(
    Consent and mutual enjoyment are at the centre of a proper D/s relationship, and when your lead character's internal dialogue is telling the reader that she's only putting up with being abused because, OMG, he's hot, it paints a grim picture D/s to people not familiar with it. D/s can be incredibly loving, and I feel that the book does a lot to negate that in the eyes of the mainstream reader.

I've seen a couple posts saying "oh we're into D/s and if you like the books you should check it out" eh no
    this isn't Gor ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭pinkheels88

Just found out I'm upgraded to business class on my Ethihad flight to Jordan on Sunday :):D

Makes up for my crappy morning!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

Yeah.. I think I'll finish up the Hunger Games trilogy and start one of the books I already have here. I was going to get 50 Shades of Grey but don't think I'll bother. Unless I can get it for free and I'll read some of it just out of pure curiosity.

I managed to find a book online called The Big Book of Knitting, maybe I'll read that instead.. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Oh Asos sale, how I have missed you :) 2 pretty dresses for €50, love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

Am I the only one who actually liked them books??

It'll probably get me into kinkier stuff but hey it's a start!

I got an interview for a p/t sales assistant job but in the same store they are advertising for an assistant manager which I would probably be good at. Should I mention that I'm interested in that role as well during my interview or phone up beforehand and ask them to put my name in the ring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

I read all 3 books out of curiosity. I was hoping that Ana would change from her stupid self in the rest of the books but sadly it was not to be. I wouldn't recommend them at all, certainly not as erotic fiction and certainly not as any great literary treat :P I do think they give off the wrong impression of that type of relationship but I don't think they're damaging to women like a lot of feminists are claiming. There are plenty of other books out there with far more damaging to women storylines.

@ Dolorous, those dresses are lovely.

Courier has just delivered the first of 2 packages due from Dorothy Perkins this week. I picked up a good few bits for work in their sale in anticipation of my return in a few weeks' time. Got 2 blazers for court time and got a few office dresses and a few court dresses :D

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Boardsie, EileenG's erotic fiction novella was published today. Probably a much better read than 50 shades.

http://www.amazon.com/Angels-Demons-...7704416&sr=1-3

Feck I posted a broken link. Here it is in all its glory.

http://www.amazon.com/Angels-Demons-and-Doms-ebook/dp/B00851VXXO/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1337704416&sr=1-3

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

I've bought the three 50 shades books, only because there was a cheap Kindle deal and I was curious about what all the fuss was about, but am in no rush to get round to them!

On the subject of "sexy" books, has anyone else read In The Cut, by Susanna Moore? I saw the Meg Ryan film of it years ago when it came out and hated it but one of my flatmates had the book and I loved it...it is really not for the faint-hearted though:eek: The ending was much sanitised in the film version (and by God that was bad enough!). V unsettling book, it stayed with me for ages.

As a sign of how naive I am, I wasn't aware that it was actually known as A Sexy Book (an erotic thriller, it calls itself) and was under the impression that it was just another novel, albeit one was was rather *ahem* fruity at times. So I read it through my week-long work induction! God knows what people must have thought...me with my professional hat on, trying to make a good impression, then lunchtime comes and out comes my tuna sandwich and my violent porn!