Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loungers Who Lunch - The Off Topic Thread (All Chat Goes Here!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Fell off the wagon today. I've just scoffed 2 funsized bag of Malteasers and two Lidls doughnuts., a total of 589 calories. I blame me hormones. Gonna walk it off tomorrow as I'm too tired to do it tonight. :(
    Gonna flick through my diet books and plan out tomorrow's meals in advance so I don't slip. Feel terrible but these things happen. Damn my monthly chocolate cravings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭WinterSong

Hope you feel a bit better soon rebel girl, you must be so frustrated :( *sends you a delicious tea and ice cream*

American Psycho is so fecking funny, I'm still in stitches!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

Hugs for rebel! Hopefully you'll be back on your feet soon

My god, the worst thing about a family of women all living near each other is the bitching! This is why I've always gotten on better with my dad. Catalyst sister has gone sailing for 2 months thankfully, peace will return for a while.

this story is so bad it's like pulling teeth :rolleyes:

upon consultation with someone else, story is going to be shelved as a novella/novel project

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

WinterSong wrote: »
    Hope you feel a bit better soon rebel girl, you must be so frustrated :( *sends you a delicious tea and ice cream*

American Psycho is so fecking funny, I'm still in stitches!

I went to see that in the cinema and was in tears laughing, but nobody else seemed to understand it was a comedy. which it is. Bale is amazing in it.

krudler wrote: »
    I went to see that in the cinema and was in tears laughing, but nobody else seemed to understand it was a comedy. which it is. Bale is amazing in it.

I loooove it, it's so quotable and Bale is fantastic in it, just fantastic. When he's walking into the office listening to Walking on Sunshine with a poker face and when he does the dance to Hip To Be Square, brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

My housemate is awesome, I didn't know what to make for dinner so she gave me half her takeaway. :cool: <---- that's her.

Also I stayed late at work cos there was a fairly severe shortage of staff, but now I'm really tired, and wish I had finished when I was meant to because it was so sunny. But only a few weeks left! Got a "real" job, hurray!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

My housemate is awesome, I didn't know what to make for dinner so she gave me half her takeaway. :cool: <---- that's her.

Also I stayed late at work cos there was a fairly severe shortage of staff, but now I'm really tired, and wish I had finished when I was meant to because it was so sunny. But only a few weeks left! Got a "real" job, hurray!

When I used to work in retail I would always talk about the day when I get a "real job" and then realise I'm talking to people who have and will work there their whole lives :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ilyana

When I used to work in retail I would always talk about the day when I get a "real job" and then realise I'm talking to people who have and will work there their whole lives :o

One guy I work with is 27 and he has a degree but he just can't find a job, despite trying for the last three years. It must be completely soul destroying!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Thanks girls, used to being laid up, but not used to feeling so crap and tired - dunno whether to try and get some sleep and hopefully feel a bit better, or to try and ride it out and sleep later. Hope I'm not after coming down with something else on top of everything else

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Men's swimming is for women what women's beach volleyball is for men.

My god, the bodies.. *swoons*

Ilyana wrote: »
    One guy I work with is 27 and he has a degree but he just can't find a job, despite trying for the last three years. It must be completely soul destroying!

I'd say almost all the younger staff where I worked had degrees! I left in December to do my masters, since then one girl has moved to Australia and 2 others have now left to start masters in September, and one girl managed to get a job in her field! One of the department heads left the year before me to do her masters, and another department head left to work in a bar in London. It really is soul destroying, even for the managers who are making decent money!

Gonna look for a job in my field in Ireland after Christmas, and if I can't get one I'm emigrating again. I don't think I can ever go back to retail again. I did 7 years, that was 6 too many!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭ihsb

I am 23, degree, more qualified in paper then the other three people I work with. I am the one on the least money and get the least hours. In retail. It is a little destroying, but I don't think I could work at a desk.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Men's swimming is for women what women's beach volleyball is for men.

My god, the bodies.. *swoons*

I was eating a chinese flicking around the channels last night and the swimming was on, its not junk food appropriate viewing :pac: wanted to put down the fork and go do some situps.

I didnt though.

krudler wrote: »
    I was eating a chinese flicking around the channels last night and the swimming was on, its not junk food appropriate viewing :pac: wanted to put down the fork and go do some situps.

I didnt though.

I had that last night. Watching the women's swimming I really wished I had the discipline to be an athlete.

Mind you, I suspect I'd be disappointed if I took up swimming, expecting the pool to be full of Olympic-esque bodies.. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Polloloca

I really enjoyed retail when I done it. My first job, at 16 was working in the shoe department of a really large store. I'll always blame that job for my shoe porn. :D Got paid every saturday by cheque and would often need to put money towards my wages to bring home the shoes. :D My manager used to joke she was going to ban me from buying any more shoes. The joy of rushing into work on a thursday evening, after school,when a new order had been delivered, and you would spend the rest of the evening trying them on er putting them away. ;) That will always be my favourite job, without a doubt.

I'm working in my field now, at the minute, and I love it. But I wouldn't mind going back to retail if I had to. The only job I would never ever take, would be a waitressing job. The most graceful, I ain't.

Polloloca wrote: »
    I'm working in my field now, at the minute, and I love it. But I wouldn't mind going back to retail if I had to. The only job I would never ever take, would be a waitressing job. The most graceful, I ain't.

What's your field now?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

I had that last night. Watching the women's swimming I really wished I had the discipline to be an athlete.

Mind you, I suspect I'd be disappointed if I took up swimming, expecting the pool to be full of Olympic-esque bodies.. :o

Yeah, not too many of those Olympic-esque bodies at all!

Heading out into the sun a while, bringing the laptop with me, and notebook, must get blog up to date! :D

Mens 4x100 coming up, think I'm gonna stay put :D:D

I loved everything about retail except when you had to serve customers, and the crappy pay and hours :pac:

Have applied for my off campus work permit so might be working in retail again soon till I finish college! Need the money, and it will only be part time anyway, I wouldl be happy for it :)

Couldn't do food service either! But after Christmas I'll have a masters, and be at an age that its about time I get some sort of experience in my field!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Im genuinely worried about my future! I need to do my masters but i dont even know when i can do that now that post grad funding has been cut severely!

Im terrified that im going to wake up 10 years from now in the same position as i am now...broke and living with the parents with a level 8 that i can do nothing with!! :(

Yeah, that's why I said it on the internet and not in the shop! And put in the inverted commas...tbf if people can work in retail for years, and they like it, that's grand like. It's handy for lots of women who work with me - they can just work mornings and get the afternoons with their kids when they're finished school, so it suits them. I'd go mad though, really couldn't handle it long term. Although where I work at the moment is a big shop, I used to work in a little hardware shop at home, max of 6 or 7 people working at a time, I really loved it there.

I had given myself a year to find a job, while working there, then I was gonna go back and do a masters. Job got a month exactly after my results!

Edit: I get the fear you're talking about Pixie-Fairy, I was pretty lucky. It'll work out for you though. Do you know what masters you want to do?

Enjoyin the commentary of Ian Thorpe on BBC - love the chariots of fire during every medal ceremony :D

Ahhh the customers weren't TOO bad! :D I remember this one lady, who fell in love with these very out there mint green knee high round toe irregular choice boots, with little japanese people on the sides of them. They were hideous, but she loved them. And she told me that she was going to treat herself to them and asked me if I would hold them for her until the following week. I did, the following week, the week after, the week after that, but she never came back for them. My manager put them back out as there was no deposit paid. Christmas came and went and the boots were still there. So, in the sales, and because they were so um, adventerous, they were reduced ridiculously cheap and someone else bought them. About two months later, the lady came back in looking for them and LOST her sh1t like a sh1t collector with amnesia,because we sold her boots on her.

TAXI! to crazytown.

Im genuinely worried about my future! I need to do my masters but i dont even know when i can do that now that post grad funding has been cut severely!

Im terrified that im going to wake up 10 years from now in the same position as i am now...broke and living with the parents with a level 8 that i can do nothing with!! :(

Same here :( I'm also trying to get used to the idea that even if everything somehow goes as I'd like it to I'll probably be living off beans on toast until I'm 50 :pac:

Polloloca wrote: »
    Ahhh the customers weren't TOO bad! :D I remember this one lady, who fell in love with these very out there mint green knee high round toe irregular choice boots, with little japanese people on the sides of them. They were hideous, but she loved them. And she told me that she was going to treat herself to them and asked me if I would hold them for her until the following week. I did, the following week, the week after, the week after that, but she never came back for them. My manager put them back out as there was no deposit paid. Christmas came and went and the boots were still there. So, in the sales, and because they were so um, adventerous, they were reduced ridiculously cheap and someone else bought them. About two months later, the lady came back in looking for them and LOST her sh1t like a sh1t collector with amnesia,because we sold her boots on her.

TAXI! to crazytown.

And that's your story about how customers are not too bad?? :pac:

I like crazy people! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Sleepers is on, love n hate this film...

Walk like a man, talk like a man. Love that song...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ilyana

I think everyone assumes that third level training will lead to a job in one's chosen field but I guess it isn't always the case. I went into a degree for a dwindling industry but it's what I wanted to study, I'll just have to make the best of it!

As for working with the public, I hate it. I like my colleagues and the comraderie but the customers themselves can make me want to jack the whole thing in. I do think everyone should experience it at some point in their lives though. To learn how crap it is if nothing else!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

Yeah, not too many of those Olympic-esque bodies at all!

Heading out into the sun a while, bringing the laptop with me, and notebook, must get blog up to date! :D

Mens 4x100 coming up, think I'm gonna stay put :D:D

All those tanned, waxed torsos, sweet dreams tonight..... :)

cynder wrote: »
    All those tanned, waxed torsos, sweet dreams tonight..... :)

The muscles... oh the muscles...