Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

France v England Match Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Hart shouldn't of been beaten there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,052 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Cracker from Nasri!

England really need to stop sitting back.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

The RTE commentary is very poor.

England deserve to be ahead?
    Abou Diaby?

I changed over when I heard Ger Canning

Great goal by smiley face Nasri

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Poor from Hart IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Great strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Well worked, nice finish Nasri

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

kitakyushu wrote: »
    France just made Hart make one of the saves of the tournament.

Then should be a quiet Euro for GKs. It was hit straight at him. Good save, but save of the tournament? No.

Now Nasri scored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Not really sure why England sat back as far as they did, inviting trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Man City 1-1 Man City

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Nice finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭DanTheMan91

Lovely stuff just what I wanted... Go on now France this game is yours for the taking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

How predictable was that?

Arseing about on their own 18 yard line for wayyyy too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

What happened to the ''best goalkeeper in the world'' there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

noodler wrote: »
    Savman wrote: »
    Thoroughly deserved tbh.

I honestly wonder if some posters live in an alternate universe.

BTW, not a carbon copy of the 2004 header - Lamaprd's was near post I believe!
    Yes they had the brighter start, France were sloppy IMHO. But the goal has woken them up and voila, Nasri delivers, also deserved.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Poor from Hart IMO ?

Tad unsighted I felt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Thoroughly deserved tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

Its things like that which will win this game for France. Players capable of individual pieces of quality.

Anyone but Nasri though. A nasty, smug little man.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

great finish but England were inviting it by starting to revert into a defensive shell ala Ireland. This game has potential now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Blatter wrote: »
    What happened to the ''best goalkeeper in the world'' there?

Bit harsh, he saw it very late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Who was Nasri moaning at by the way??

Poor from Hart IMO ?

Yes it is definitely your opinion :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,907 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Two City players with the goals :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

-Ade- wrote: »
    Tad unsighted I felt.

Suppose , bit like Given last night .

More than France being capable, it's the English lack of confidence that kills them. Soon as they got the goal, they started getting lax in attack, instead dropping deeper and deeper. They don't need to do that, it's only going to undo them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Nasri's celebration was so goonish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Second goal coming for France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Roy Hodgson teams will always sit back on their 18 yard line.

Watch France never get an offside against them.

New-England-Goalkeeper-Kit-2012.jpg

That is one horrendous piece of kit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭tigger123

France are looking great, can easily see them scoring another.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Benzema not getting involved enough, needs more support though. France keep getting in good crossing positions and there's feck all to aim at.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Huge gap between wellbeck and the rest when England try to counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,250 ✭✭✭✭briany

England had something about them for the first 25. I was starting to think that Hodgson had done some good work but England are teetering on falling into old habits and giving away another needless goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

England very poor in midfield.

England sitting back is only making France grow in confidence.

This is the problem with Roy teams. I actually really like the 11 and the shape he came out with. There was a huge amount of scope for dynamism, like we saw with some early moves and interplay amongst the front four. But now it's just reverted to two banks of four, deep defending and hoofing it away. Have a bit of ****ing faith in your players like! And as far as the players are concerned - have a bit of faith in yourselves and your teammates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭markc1184

Was Nasri's "celebration" aimed at the dugouts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Cabaye got pictures of the Ref with a hooker or something, overdue a booking second half. Hart looking decidedly iffy at corners. Second half, Wellbeck off, Carroll on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Half time came too soon for France there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Then should be a quiet Euro for GKs. It was hit straight at him. Good save, but save of the tournament? No.

Then fair play to him for making a good save on something that wasn't even a clear cut chance, according to you anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

monkey9 wrote: »
    Who was Nasri moaning at by the way??

Piers Morgan ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

niallo27 wrote: »
    Bit harsh, he saw it very late.

He did, but still had just enough time to react imo. Shouldn't really be conceding at you near post from that distance, especially seeing as it wasn't struck right into the corner.

Not the worst mistake in the world but he dropped a ball early on that should have been caught comfortably which was very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

Very happy with that first half performance. I thought England gave the French, arguably the best side in Europe coming into this, as good as they got. If Milner had slotted his chance away it could have been even better.

I actually expect France to get a second and probably a third but as long as England don't change what they are doing then they still have a very good chance of getting the points needed in the games against Ukraine and Sweden.

I hope Rooney is feeling suitably annoyed at himself right now. Probably the only player England have fit who can provide a spark of genius in the final third in the same manner as any of the french forward line.

I wanna punch that England fan in the sharp ad.

Games so far in Ukraine been poor enough atmosphere-wise, haven't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

France have much better options off the bench also. As in miles better options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

France look more dangerous and a better footballing side

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

kitakyushu wrote: »
    Then fair play to him for making a good save on something that wasn't even a clear cut chance, according to you anyway.

I dont know what are you on about, when I was writing the post, set piece was not taken, so only I added it later.

So when I made that post France didn't create clear cut chance. Hope this settles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Evra is a liability at LB, as was shown by his rash tackle for the England goal.

Hart should have done better for the Nasri goal. Having said that I thought Gerrard should have stood up more to Nasri. He turned his back on the shot. If he hadn't then he'd have blocked it.

Benzema needs to get into the box a lot more.

France to win it for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Rebel Have a bit of ****ing faith in your players like! And as far as the players are concerned - have a bit of faith in yourselves and your teammates
    Something I / we would like to see the Irish team adopt to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

The fall of Joe Hart beginning today it seems :)

He was poor for the goal and the flap earlier, thankfully he is the golden boy so shouldnt get much stick yet.

Speaking of goalkeepers, Lloris was poor also, the ball was inside the 6 yard box before Lescott connected with it, poor from the keeper and the defender there, ball went a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What is it with pitches in far away places? Its flaming June and the thing is cutting up quite a bit.