Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pepper/chilli plants flowering looking for advice

• 12-06-2012 12:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭

I have decided to grow a variety of peppers and chillis this year, its my first project really , i have an conservatory so they get plenty of light/heat.

They were planted from seed at the end of feb and i now have 12 plants of different varieties :D

Heres where i need advice, some have grown nice and tall at this stage, i repotted them all as they grew and they are strong healty looking plants.

The tallest are 2 feet tall the shortest 1 foot.

The tallest are now beginning to flower which im fine with as they seem ready for it, however the shortest look like they might flower next week or two.

Im not looking to produce big yields or anything but want nice healthy plants, i have been reading that if you leave the small ones flowers and they fruit the plant may never grow as tall as the others ??

Should i prune these flowers off on the shorter plants and give them a extra few weeks to gain some height ? or leave well alone ?

Also would anybody be familiar with the availability of organic liquid fertilizers in woodies etc??

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭redser7

Some people say to nip out the growing point to bush the plant out and get a higher yield. But it depends on the variety. Sorry i cant be too much help as it's my first year too. I am just leaving mine to grow on and see what happens. As you have tall and short, why not leave them be and learn from this season? Maybe someone else can advise ...