Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**History 2012...Before/After**

• 12-06-2012 1:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭

What seems to be the tipped topics to come up? Could we see another Pleaney but with the Eucharistic Congress instead? You'd think the french election would mean that racial tensions would be a given, but the way SEC is making the exams this year you almost rule it out because it's so obvious.

How's everyone feeling before the exam? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Dapics

I doubt Eucharistic Congress would come up.
    Its too damn obvious.

As for this paper....well.... I think the questions will be very specific. I reckon most people wont be able to regurgitate their pre-prepared essays. I think there will be a lot of curveballs as well.

I have a bad feeling Pursuit of Sovereignty will be extremely hard and very specific.
    As for U.S.A, well thats obvious, I aint gonna mention my opinions.
    N.I - Should be a nice question, They should have a good choice, more than likely be two case studies but i would think they would be specific, i.e- Impacts, formation, Effects.

As for Document based question, well no one knows, I think i have an idea of what might come up based on how many people dont think it will come up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

I feel like ****...I feel like I cant remember any dates or anything. Really nervous and this is my favorite subject :confused:

Considering the exams were made out in October I doubt that would affect their decision to include french racial tensions....However I do think that they're aware that India is the section most people would be confident with am I right? so I think it'll be something like ''why was katangas secession a failure?'' or ''How did the french government deal with immigration in the 1980's?'' :o

For D&D I think a Question solely on Hitler may pop up, amazing as it sounds....it never has.....Musso and Stalin/Lenin have however...

Collapse of Weimar Republic/inter war years in Britain and France 1920-40 seem likely too....I have only covered Weimar myself in my own spare time :/ we haven't touched those in class. My teacher seems to focus on the dictatorship part only.

For 1912-1949 I could see a Question on cosgrave or Collins. Sf has to be up there aswell. Carson is a big one this year....unfortunately haven't covered it in class...

for 1870-1912...well HR comes up every year in some shape or form....too big of a section to leave out.....I think a question on ''how did consecutive British governments deal with land agitation during the period 1870-1912?'' may pop up otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭haro124

This is the one I'm really worried about :(
    I'd say the doc will be France or Katanga
    This is the other stuff I'm hoping for :
    Ireland section 2 : Land , Strike and Lockout
    Ireland section 3 : WW2, Economy, Anglo Irish Relations, Northern Ireland
    USA: Affluence, Civil Rights , Foreign Policy
    I hope it's enough !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Viken

I was dreading the appearance of this thread. I'm still trying to convince myself that we have plenty of time left to go over notes :rolleyes:

My ideal set of questions would be:
    -The Rise of Sinn Féin or anything on the Third Home Rule Bill/partition.
    -The rise of Fascism in Europe/Germany in the inter-war years.
    -The growth of the Civil Rights Movement in NI.
    -Race Relations in France/India.

Here's hoping.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 A Fine Gent

Why have people mostly ruled out India for the documents? I thought that was supposed to be the most likely?

Due to the fact that the exams this year have been more unpredictable than ever, ever before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

This is exam would be grand if it wasn't for French

• Closed Accounts Posts: 684 ✭✭✭haro124

donvito99 wrote: »
    This is exam would be grand if it wasn't for French

French isn't over til ten to one we don't even have a long break!

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Magloko

really feeling like crap for this exam, feel like i haven't anything studied
    i've gone over french race relations, katanga..not too sure bout India. it was in our mocks but it could come up?
    worst thing is this year is far too unpredictable so i have kind of given up trying to predict anything...
    Ideal of course would be Congress or Rise of Sinn Fein, fall of weimar/rise of facism or propaganda, apprenticeboys/coleraine and I'd like to see France come up.
    Knowing my luck none of these will! :confused::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 24 orangesoranges

AHHHHH freakin out here lads...

this is what ive done.......

pursuit of sover....
    >eucharistic congress
    >anlgo irish treaty
    >anglo irish treaty responsible for civil war

politics and society...
    >anglo irish agreement
    >coleraine
    >civil rights
    >might do sunningdale..

NO IDEA FOR DICTATORSHIP....

HELP ME PLEASSSSSSSSSSSSSSEEEEEEEEE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

Magloko wrote: »
    really feeling like crap for this exam, feel like i haven't anything studied
    i've gone over french race relations, katanga..not too sure bout India. it was in our mocks but it could come up?
    worst thing is this year is far too unpredictable so i have kind of given up trying to predict anything...
    Ideal of course would be Congress or Rise of Sinn Fein, fall of weimar/rise of facism or propaganda, apprenticeboys/coleraine and I'd like to see France come up.
    Knowing my luck none of these will! :confused::mad:

Just me, but personally I would relegate India, katanga and apprenticeboys/coleraine. I mean, they might turn up, but they are also kindof... obscure. Is there something I'm missing?

France (3rd/4th Republic), Germany (end of the 2nd Reich) ... lead up to WW1 & WW2, post WW2 in Europe, Ireland and Home Rule, Ireland and Unionism, Ireland at the turn of the century (social and economic - national-socialism and workers' movements), Wake of the Easter Rising, Ireland and early Independence. Possibly a bit on Russia. Surely if you have these you are sorted? :confused:

But you are right about predicting! Nothing worse to say 'has to be France, has to be France' go into the exam and spend a solid half hour in despair not seeing your favourite subject (Sylvia Plath anyone?). Then again, next worse thing is to worry too much and try and cover everything - just in case! With the latter, you end up being able to say... not very much on anything!

You can't win I suppose. :pac:

lads relax it'll be grand , I just went over the papers and every year there is at least one of the Q's I could've done in each topic . I feel relaxed now :pac:

Just me, but personally I would relegate India, katanga and apprenticeboys/coleraine. I mean, they might turn up, but they are also kindof... obscure. Is there something I'm missing?

France (3rd/4th Republic), Germany (end of the 2nd Reich) ... lead up to WW1 & WW2, post WW2 in Europe, Ireland and Home Rule, Ireland and Unionism, Ireland at the turn of the century (social and economic - national-socialism and workers' movements), Wake of the Easter Rising, Ireland and early Independence. Possibly a bit on Russia. Surely if you have these you are sorted? :confused:

But you are right about predicting! Nothing worse to say 'has to be France, has to be France' go into the exam and spend a solid half hour in despair not seeing your favourite subject (Sylvia Plath anyone?). Then again, next worse thing is to worry too much and try and cover everything - just in case! With the latter, you end up being able to say... not very much on anything!

You can't win I suppose. :pac:
    hm no i understand..both of them came in my mocks, i was suprised !i have a feeling india won't come up but sure we'll see
    i'm just trying to cover everything! i'll be pulling and all nighter tonight anyway
    so disappointed with the length of our break as well, barely an hour between exams!
    oh don't even mention plath!

Magloko wrote: »
    hm no i understand..both of them came in my mocks, i was suprised !i have a feeling india won't come up but sure we'll see
    i'm just trying to cover everything! i'll be pulling and all nighter tonight anyway
    so disappointed with the length of our break as well, barely an hour between exams!
    oh don't even mention plath!

How on earth do ya manage to do an all-nighter?!

I need to do one tomorrow for buisness ... :(

Dapics wrote: »
    How on earth do ya manage to do an all-nighter?!

I need to do one tomorrow for buisness ... :(
    haha i don't know but im gonna have to do it !
    aw same ! gonna be horrible

• Registered Users Posts: 2 tombnation

lads look this is the best bet... 1870-1914: m.davitt, land acts, hannah sheehy skeffington with isabella tod, e.carson compared to redmond. 3rd hrb

1912-49: eucharist congress, 3rd hrb, factors partition, wt cosgrave with eye as key personality, main issues under discussion at treaty, causes of civil war, 1918 sf rise, cumann na ng and fianna fail economic with eye to being asked how the wall street crah contributed to it.

Europe: rise of facism in europe/germany, propganda comparing 3 leaders, show trials, home front, ec and social polices ger/eng, anti semetism,..

documents: lads they are only 40 marks have a quick look over them the essays are most important..

could some one please tell me the internal policies of hitler?? seems like a very likely question since its came up on stalin and mussolini in the past 2 years

• Registered Users Posts: 11 hallieP

Soverignity -
    Eucharistic Congress
    Rise of Sinn Fein
    Cumann na nGaedhael and Fianna Fail economic polices (agriculture, industry, social policy0
    Impact of ww2 on south
    To what extent was treaty responsible for civil war
    Impact of ww2 on north

Northern Ireland
    How southern governments responded to troubles
    how ira tactics changed
    coleraine controversey
    sunningdale and anglo irish agreement
    welfare state

America
    Foreign policy
    truman
    domestic factors influencing foreign policy
    foreign policy influencing domestic factors
    moon landing
    vietnam
    civil rights

document
    france or india

hallieP wrote: »
    Soverignity -

Rise of Sinn Fein

what do you write about for the rise of sinn fein?

rise of sinn fein/decline of HR

off the top of my head.....

You talk about The rising impact ,the changing opinion of the irish public after the executions How Dillon had asked the british not go ahead with them ''you are washing our whole lives work in a sea of blood'',Plunkett winning a by election followed by the releases of Griffith and Dev.
    Dev winning a by election in east clare, the risk of conscription.
    Dillon leading his party out then talk about the volunteers willing to refuse conscription by force etc,
    then the advantages of SF over HR going into the 1918 election, younger members,more enthusiastic how there were new voters now who had never voted HR before , men could now vote over 21 and women after 30

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Beware

Since Hitler and his pals always come up, does anyone think it's likely that they'll cut him out completely? This year's Leaving Cert is being so unpredictable that I wonder if they'll throw something like that at us. Though, Hitler does make up a big part of the course, so maybe not.

Otherwise, I feel like I have prepared for the history exam and have done my work. I'm just really afraid the questions they ask us will be impossibly hard.

Beware wrote: »
    Since Hitler and his pals always come up, does anyone think it's likely that they'll cut him out completely? This year's Leaving Cert is being so unpredictable that I wonder if they'll throw something like that at us. Though, Hitler does make up a big part of the course, so maybe not.

Otherwise, I feel like I have prepared for the history exam and have done my work. I'm just really afraid the questions they ask us will be impossibly hard.

no its extremely unlikely that they will cut Hitler out, considering a question specifically about hitler has never come up. We've had nazi characteristics and propaganda/goebbels/riefenstahl etc.... whereas there have been specific questions regarding the other two chaps...if they cut anyone out,its mussolini this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Beware

HowAreWe wrote: »
    no its extremely unlikely that they will cut Hitler out, considering a question specifically about hitler has never come up. We've had nazi characteristics and propaganda/goebbels/riefenstahl etc.... whereas there have been specific questions regarding the other two chaps...if they cut anyone out,its mussolini this year.

Thanks for that bit of reassurance.

Do you have any guesses what the Nazi based question will be? I'm hedging my bets on Nazi foreign policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 hallieP

basically how they won the 1918 election, how the 1916 rising gave them a surge of support because the country were horrified by executions, their attitude towards the conscription crisis gained them support, the expansion of the electorate in 1918 helped them get more voters and the fact they had countess M led to women voting for them. the ineffectiveness of the IPP made them look good so on so forth

• Registered Users Posts: 1 brianjr

How many pages, have ye're teachers told ye to write per essay?

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Danny94

Does anyone here know what you would write about for Irish cultural identity ? and how it was consolidated ?

• Registered Users Posts: 9 sean o r

Danny94 wrote: »
    Does anyone here know what you would write about for Irish cultural identity ? and how it was consolidated ?

that essay could be endless man! for that you could bring in all about the gaa, gaelic league (yeats and douglas hyde) with cultural nationalism and the irish "ethnic" identity. what it means to be irish what sets irish people apart from english people etc etc. thats just off the top of my head.

EVERYBODY STOP MAKING PREDICTIONS THEY WILL HEAR US :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DepoProvera

This bloody exam.. I've put the most amount into history and it's the one I'm least confident in the A1 for : / they are going to **** us in the ass

Beware wrote: »
    Thanks for that bit of reassurance.

Do you have any guesses what the Nazi based question will be? I'm hedging my bets on Nazi foreign policy.

That could be a possiblity. I don't want to be making preditions really but I think Hitlers internal and external policies is a possiblity or maybe the Rise of Hitler.
    Well I love history and dont take this the wrong way, but I would love for all the questions to be extremely specific and narrow, that would stop people who just learn off 100 essays and regurgitating them getting A1's and thus result in people who actually have an interest/ability for it get an A1.

History will be hard, and so it should.

"Learning the past is not easy, envisioning the future is even harder"

Well I love History too, I'm all for it being hard or however you put it but,but are you telling me youre genuinely interested in every single chapter in those two books?I'm interested in most of it but all that sufragette and lockout ****e, no thanks.

specific and narrow is not a good idea...IMO... History is all ready dying ,it wont be compulsory for junior cert soon. It needs to be approachable to all levels.
    But anyway lets not get into a heated argument best of luck tomorrow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DepoProvera

Well I love history and dont take this the wrong way, but I would love for all the questions to be extremely specific and narrow, that would stop people who just learn off 100 essays and regurgitating them getting A1's and thus result in people who actually have an interest/ability for it get an A1.

History will be hard, and so it should.

"Learning the past is not easy, envisioning the future is even harder"

Gosh, you sure do love the whole 'integrity of learning' spiel. With the way the History exam has turned out nowadays it's simply impossible to write in any detail deserving of an A1 without having prepared the essay or a part of previously. I say good luck to you sir! :rolleyes: