Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you tuck your shirt into your jeans?

• 14-06-2012 12:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

If so, why?

It looks stupid.

Do you tuck your shirt into your jeans? 144 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    27% 39 votes
    I have no arms.
    72% 105 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Only farmers do that these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Used to do it years ago when first started going out
    Now don't bother wearing shirts just nice tshirts does the job

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

No i dont want to look like napoleon dynamite:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I tuck mine into my boxers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

still i see lads on a night out with shirt tucked into jeans, big black confirmation shoes and a gold chain...@ least 10 years out of fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

if i have a jumper on over the shirt
    otherwise out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Normally the type of person that does this is wearing Wranglers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭frag420

Hell no!!

I left school early so I wouldn't have to tuck my school shirt into my trousers.

And by early I mean half three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

only a little bit at the front and back so I don't look like a nacker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 gavinbell

all ye muppets must be wearing ben sherman shirts, ye pack of cream crackers

Depends on the shirt and the look I'm aiming for.

Long shirts have to be tucked in as they look stupid otherwise. I also tuck in my shirt if aiming for a slightly more dressy look.

If the shirt is the correct length to not tuck in (which should be planned when buying said shirt) then I leave it out especially when aiming for a more casual relaxed look.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

I knew a guy who tucked his sweatshirt into his jeans.

Emphasis on 'knew'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

brown boots, wranglers jeans and ben sherman shirts tucked in

culchies finest :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I love this thread, guys ye are so funny. I want pics of all of ye who have posted before me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

Theres noting more irish than a fella on a night out, with a fresh shaved face, new tight hair cut, short sleave shirt tucked-in, earing and massive timberland suede boots. oh!! and a subaru jacket.

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

We're the land that style forgot.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Soemtimes yes, for a "smart casual" look and sometimes no if just being casual.

What's really annoying are shirts that are too short to be properly tucked into your trousers and keep coming out over your belt.:mad:

BTW lots of older gay guys on the scene always wear their shirts tucked in over very tight jeans to maximise their "assets." Just sayin like...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

hondasam wrote: »
    I love this thread, guys ye are so funny. I want pics of all of ye who have posted before me.

Looking for cheap thrills again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Looking for cheap thrills again?

Reading the comments from ye are so funny, ye are all into fashion I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Depends on the shirt and the look I'm aiming for.

Long shirts have to be tucked in as they look stupid otherwise. I also tuck in my shirt if aiming for a slightly more dressy look.

If the shirt is the correct length to not tuck in (which should be planned when buying said shirt) then I leave it out especially when aiming for a more casual relaxed look.

You think too much about it, bordering on teh ghey there. Be careful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

if i have a jumper on over the shirt
    otherwise out
    I know a guy who tucked his jumper into his jeans.

And yeah, I know.

sweater tucked into pants.. check
    pants tucked into socks.. check
    waist line pulled up high enough to graze nipples.. check

ready to go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I knew a guy who tucked his sweatshirt into his jeans.

Emphasis on 'knew'.
    Was he at Tesco? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If you do it, here's a video that you may find useful:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

My brothers do this, they also close both buttons on their polo necks.

Fcuking eejits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Honestly depends on the fit of the shirt. But I prefer to wear tshirts etc anyhow.

In other news there seems to be an awful lot of boardsies with no arms !!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Depends. 99% of the time, no.

But if it's a smart shirt, and I'm wearing shoes and a nice belt, then possibly. After asking other people's opinions.

It's terrible so many of the members here have no arms. Can we do a fundraiser?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

syndeyfife wrote: »
    My brothers do this, they also close both buttons on their polo necks.

Fcuking eejits

It's a ploy to keep shirtlifters away:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

brummytom wrote: »
    It's terrible so many of the members here have no arms. Can we do a fundraiser?
    Sure, who'd hold the buckets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Anybody else read the title as "Skirt" tucked into jeans?
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Sure, who'd hold the buckets?
    The rest of us could give them a hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I'm not American...

brummytom wrote: »
    The rest of us could give them a hand

still need an arm to attach it to, no point having a hand on your shoulder

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

syndeyfife wrote: »
    they also close both buttons on their polo necks.

Buttons on Polo Necks, what'll they think of next..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

In interviews; tuck in shirt or you'll look like a knacker.

Not in interviews; leave shirt outside of trousers or you look like a farmer.

All depends on how badly you want the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

Carson10 wrote: »
    still i see lads on a night out with shirt tucked into jeans, big black confirmation shoes and a gold chain...@ least 10 years out of fashion.

More like it was never in fashion ... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

It depends on shirt and jeans. Belt and footwear also dictate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I tuck mine in with absolutely no overhang and then pull my belt stupidly tight to make my 34 inch waist look like 28. I have no dress sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'm not a cowboy, so no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Normally the type of person that does this is wearing Wranglers.

Two observations.

1. It is almost impossible to see what brand of jeans someone is wearing unless the shirt is tucked in.

2. I dont think I have ever noticed what brand of jeans a guy is wearing. Maybe I am not spending enough time starring at guys' arses.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

its all dependent on what look your going for

in work it shirt tucked in

T's always out

casual shirts out

fitted shirts/formal shirts in our out dependent on look

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If I'm wearing a shirt buttoned up, I'll tuck it in, not buttoned up, it'll hang over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Best username ever

Nah, tucking your T-shirt into your jeans makes you look line van damme, and your conkers buldge out each side of your zipper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭dmcronin

Half tucked in, the big metal belt buckle is cauld on the belly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Shirt into jeans, round neck wooly jumper into the wranglers also. Shirt collar put out over the round neck wooly jumper. Jeans tucked into the socks then hobnail boots (covered in muck n' shite) put on over the socks. County colours round me wrist in one of those pathetic two coloured woolen wrist bands. Straw hat on me head, two hang sangwiches in tin foil in me pocket!

All set for Coppers now.....

• Administrators Posts: 54,114 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Don't tuck in usually.

On the other hand, a lot of guys wear shirts that are too long on them. If you are going to wear a shirt untucked it can't be so long that it covers your jean pockets, otherwise you look like a tit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Only if this is playing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I almost always tuck in my shirts; the only exception would be very light Summer shirts.

I always thought it was more of a bogger/17-year-old-at-a-disco thing to actually leave your shirt hanging out over your trousers. It doesn't look very tidy, especially when it's a slightly heavier fabric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Christ no! I'm not a culchie on the pull in Coppers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Black Leather

I always tuck in shirt into my jeans as it is tidier and I like to show off my bum! If I am wearing a tee-shirt or short top, then it would look better to leave them outside the jeans.