Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland vs España

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Barlett

It's not a lack of passion, the majority of players want to play for their country. In Irelands case the players are just no where near the level they need to be to compete at these tournaments.

People talk about France & Italy games but both teams were shown up to be a shambles in 2010. This is the weakest squad we ever had going to an international tournament, it's amazing we qualified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

The free birds are flying!!!! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

**** the contracts and what ever else!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,858 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

amazing fans. in fairness Spain are euro and world champs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

4-0 down and singing cringe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,037 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Newsflash: We are small fry.
    Futurama-Phillip-J-Fry-icon.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

7 goals conceded. This here is the difference between the World Cup and the Euros. We at least get a team who are worse than us at the World Cup!

If we beat Italy we will finish 3rd and you'd have to call this tournament a success as a result oddly enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

CiaranC wrote: »
    Is it the crying in the stands, the leprechaun outfits, the titlicking, the funny flags or the rugby songs you are proud of?
    You really are a tiny, pathetic little man.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Is it the crying in the stands, the leprechaun outfits, the titlicking, the funny flags or the rugby songs you are proud of?

it's a load of self indulgent nonsense to be honest, aren't us irish great when we are abroad. the singing isn't even being directed at the team in fairness. lets see how great support is at the aviva next time out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Tough game for Ireland but the support has been first class. Other countries would be proud of that support. Spain a different class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Fans doing us proud, which is more than can be said for the players

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

The real tragedy was Torres taken off when he was on for a hat trick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

sure lets have an open top bus tour for them through Dublin after this shambles

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

one of the reasons these fans are "so vocal" is they are pissed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

dsmythy wrote: »
    If we beat Italy we will finish 3rd and you'd have to call this tournament a success as a result oddly enough!

err no, not really :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,595 ✭✭✭✭CSF

lookitsme wrote: »
    IRISH SUPPORTERS: 1 REST OF THE WORLD: 0
    Where are they all going to be when the qualifiers come around? Nowhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

CSF wrote: »
    Coming back as heroes is the last thing that should happen. No way should this sort of thing be glorified.

There needs to be a serious post-mortem at the end of this to determine what the best way forward is for 2014, 2016 and more importantly the long-term footballing vision of this country.

There should be a homecoming party for the fans, let the players head straight back to England to their clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

O_O The girl! She's back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Soups123 wrote: »
    Irish fans really puts some of the 'fans' in this thread to shame
    Yea, I feel pretty bad giving shíte about our players, they deserved to go through from the effort they put in, but we we're just outclassed completely. Trap has been good to get us here, but he should have changed his tactics when we were put into this group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

How is it cringe. The lads gave their all. Comments like this do my head in tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

does it not seem a bit strange to anyone else that people who aren't at the game are going on about how great irish fans are? would you not rather take pride in your own achievements rather than those of a group of strangers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

First Team out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭closeline

Dont see why it is so great to see the fans singing. I would rather be a good team and **** fans. The majority are just pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Haters on this thread gonna hate

Fair play to the Irish fans for making the best of it and having the craic regardless.

Beaten 4-0 by the best team in WORLD football......sack the wholelot of them.....:pac:
    I'm out

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    How is it cringe. The lads gave their all. Comments like this do my head in tbh.

Can't get ideas above our station like taking it to big nations, can we?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭A-Train

Ireland were useless, but sure we can have a moral victory as such that we're the best fans in the world! Great, other countries win matches, we win singing contests!

jive wrote: »
    err no, not really :-/

OK success too good a word. To finish 3rd in a group we are expected to finish last is still exceeding expectations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

There should be a homecoming party for the fans, let the players head straight back to England to their clubs.

stick the 20,000 fans on an open top bus and have the squad line o'connell st :)

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭cristoir

Yes the Irish fans whould be booing and should only ever cheer when their team is doing well. :rolleyes:

Fans should stand by their team always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

10 minutes of non stop singing of The Fields of Athenry makes this terrible loss a little bit easier to take.

Some people are acting like they got they dumped by a supermodel when they didn't even have her number. We're a poor team up against the best, fcuk it, at least we got there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

closeline wrote: »
    Dont see why it is so great to see the fans singing. I would rather be a good team and **** fans. The majority are just pissed.

But they are there! In huge numbers. Without many great expectations to be fair. Just to support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Blatter wrote: »
    4-0 Spain. Iniesta MOTM.

If we're lucky. I don't think this will be pretty for us at all.

Pretty much as I expected :pac:

A-Train wrote: »
    Ireland were useless, but sure we can have a moral victory as such that we're the best fans in the world! Great, other countries win matches, we win singing contests!

They should make a Europe wide singing competition, we'd destroy it! Actually wait a minute........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Schorpio

Trap must be the most frustrating manager to support. BUT - he got us to the tournament and I don't think we could have fielded any team to compete with that Spanish team.

Amazing fans though, we showed the rest of Europe what it means to support your team.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭lookitsme

Don't know where they will be but probably not in the aviva watching this irish team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

RTE have no HD in the studio due to cutbacks in the make up department.

If the Irish fans booed the players, no doubt CiaranC would have something negative to say about them.

If the Irish fans didn't react, no doubt CiaranC would have something negative to say about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Coming back as heroes is the last thing that should happen. No way should this sort of thing be glorified.

There needs to be a serious post-mortem at the end of this to determine what the best way forward is for 2014, 2016 and more importantly the long-term footballing vision of this country.

Yes, celebrating failure is a f*cked up concept. We need to stop it. Seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

AMEN to that

theres a core group of fans who go everywhere. i'd have so much respect for them and their passion.

take the partying and drink out of the equation and the support would be alot less willing to partake in a sing song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

The supports there getting mad props all over the internets! Reddit match thread: http://www.reddit.com/r/soccer/comments/v1lhy/match_thread_euro_2012_group_c_spain_vs_ireland/

first team knocked out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Roy Keane ripping into Ireland on ITV.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Best fans ever. Only positive really. Still singing, fair fcuks to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

seen this on fb :)

Polish fans have been warned if they cause anymore trouble at the Euro's 2012 that they wil be deported back to Ireland ...

cheer up lads :)

flyswatter wrote: »
    hes dead right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Adolf Hipster

Just listen to our fans, one thing we can we can still be proud of tonight anyway.

If you saved your pocket money you might have been able to go and be a shining example of how to be a proper fan :rolleyes:

Spain had 859 passes, a European Championships record :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Spain 859 passes a new record

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

859 passes from Spain...championship record.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

flyswatter wrote: »

Fcuk Roy Keane.