Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Republic of Ireland vs España

• Registered Users Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

plasmaguy wrote: »
    If we played Coleman, McClean, Ireland, Houlihan and any other combination of players, we might have lost 4-1. That's it.

Anyone who thinks we could have done better with any other group of players or combination other than started tonight is deluded.

We were always going to get hammered by Spain regardless of what team we put out, even if it included Mclean, Long, Coleman, etc.

This Spanish side imo and many others is the greatest ever international football team, better even than Brazil in 1970.

Well done Spain.

Maybe Messi

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Awfully sad about tonight's game. Feel genuinely bad for the people who spent a lot of money to go out to Poland, but on the other hand, it was those same lads and ladies who were defiantly singing the Fields of Athenry right to the end. Fair play to them, must have spent some amount of money to get out there. The fans did us proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

German TV commentators said nothing for last few minutes - Just listened to the Irish singing instead! #proudtobeirish

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Maybe Messi

Trap wouldnt have picked him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

To the League of Ireland @supporters@ hope the air and weather is great in your high and mighty area. Very bitter ye are. It appears ye don't like anything unless it come from the LOI. Of course there was players the Trapp should have brought (but seriously Harte must have been a joke). McCarty I do agree with. People are out the supporting the team and yes a piss up but there supporting the team.

I am a supporter of the Irish team or maybe that's a FAN as I don't support a LOI team.
    I'm a LoI supporter and I'm not bitter.

People are entitled to a holiday if they want one.

It's not bitter to point out that you reap what you sow - the Irish football public does not support the development of football in Ireland - consequence: Spain 4 Ireland 0.

There's very little 'high and mighty' about that.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Hmmmm...

Yes I am a supporter why cant I critise something. Makes no sense

• Registered Users Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

jacool wrote: »
    Is Tony O'Donoghue in training for a Geoff Shreeves type role?
    He seemed a bit harsh in both post-match interviews.

O'Donoghue is a bit of a muppet alright. I think he was trying to imply that Trap was at fault or something stupid like that.

Maybe in future RTE might get someone to ask the questions who actually understands football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

brady looks like he is gonna cry

I think he's having flashbacks to the day he lead a very weakened Irish side out to Brazil and we got hockeyed.

You could almost sense what this goal meant to him 5 years later.

But now ....

Trap wouldnt have picked him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Have a season ticket but don't bother going to the games?

Sounds like a barstooler to me.

You might want to read Helix's posts again, and note his location.
    He had LoI season tickets which he used, when he lived here.

German TV commentators said nothing for last few minutes - Just listened to the Irish singing instead! #proudtobeirish

For a change the Germans listened to us ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,409 ✭✭✭McGrath5

I was at the game earlier myself.

Keith Andrews and Robbie Keane both worked there socks off. Spain where simply too good for us.

They showed us how to play the game tonight, but by god we showed them how to support your team.

Anyway I'm off to bed, feeling a bit numb after that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

This is incredible;
    Spain completed an AMAZING 860 passes vs Ireland, no team has ever made that amount, not even after playing 30 mins of EXTRA TIME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

To the League of Ireland @supporters@ hope the air and weather is great in your high and mighty area. Very bitter ye are. It appears ye don't like anything unless it come from the LOI. Of course there was players the Trapp should have brought (but seriously Harte must have been a joke). McCarty I do agree with. People are out the supporting the team and yes a piss up but there supporting the team.

I am a supporter of the Irish team or maybe that's a FAN as I don't support a LOI team.

Why not?

He was in the PFA team of the year the last few years.

He goalscoring record is 1 in 5 for club and country.Great at penalties,free kicks and headers.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Soups123

We should have sent messages to the fans to tell them we had the Germans ears for 4 minutes we could has sung in mass for a reduction on the cost of the bailout

born2bwild wrote: »
    I'm a LoI supporter and I'm not bitter.

People are entitled to a holiday if they want one.

It's not bitter to point out that you reap what you sow - the Irish football public does not support the development of football in Ireland - consequence: Spain 4 Ireland 0.

There's very little 'high and mighty' about that.

That was not the points or message I was on about. It was a message from a LOI fan who said the people who were supporters of Ireland were just fans as they were not supporters of the LOI.

But in response to you how can the development here bring about too much change as if they are good enough the go and play in other teams anyway (eg. not a lot of the Brazilian players play in Brazil). The teams or the players would not be any different if they were in the LOI or not. Or please explain how it would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Outside all the arguments, it is a shame that some of the people that made such a great noise over there couldn't support the domestic scene here. Most of us.have that on a smaller level all season and even more so in Europe. The more people that go, the bigger it would be and people would see it can be a way of life and not just a trip every ten years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,914 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Yes I am a supporter why cant I critise something. Makes no sense

I'd have thought a supporter would know why McCarthy isn't in the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,878 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Putting on Paul Green was really taking the piss

Unforgivable

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Mr Alan wrote: »
    This is incredible;

Indefensible, tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

CiaranC wrote: »
    Do you claim to be the best boxing fan in the world?

no i dont but if she has a mare , gets tko'd or picked up off the floor, I will still be cheering her and enjoying my time at the olympics if I was lucky enough to be there.

Besides its more often than not other nations, tv commentators, foreign pundits etc who claim we are the best supporters, we are good at something, get used to it I know its come as a shock to your inferiority complex.

I think Trap did an Animal Farm on it, traipsed out the old horses Dunne,Given,O'Shea and just asked one 90 mins too much from them when they needed some new young blood to help carry the load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

We are way behind Spain, so most are correct in saying player selection tonight made little difference. But manager has to get the best out of the players available, and trap and co havent done that and thus critism is legit imo. He effectively pulled a lad off the dole to play tonight ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Putting on Paul Green was really taking the piss

Unforgivable

Up there with taking Muller off in the CL final. A real game changer for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,526 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Great support tonight, but where are all these people when I'm sitting in the half-empty morgue that is the Aviva for most home games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,843 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

stovelid wrote: »
    it is a shame that some of the people that made such a great noise over there couldn't support the domestic scene here.
    It's a shame that some people on here just can't get behind the national team considering that many of the players have come from the domestic league.

CSF wrote: »
    Nobody was criticising them en masse, just merely laughing at the description of them as the best supporters in the world.

Id agree were probably not but were probably the most civilised which is rare today. If there is one good thing about Spain's dominance its that they are taking the game in a positive direction which the rest of the world will try to emulate rather then stifle please god. If we are going to be hammered then thank god its by their standard of football which is a joy to behold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,153 ✭✭✭jacool

NUTZZ wrote: »
    Am I the only one who would actually like to see that?
    No. I've turned over and hate Doyle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

fullstop wrote: »
    Great support tonight, but where are all these people when I'm sitting in the half-empty morgue that is the Aviva for most home games?

Stop being superior,. It makes people cry.

Yes I know why he was not in you are still not making much sense. Trapp does not think he can play like he wants him to play. Is your point if you are a supporter you should follow without question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

O'Donoghue is a bit of a muppet alright. I think he was trying to imply that Trap was at fault or something stupid like that.

Maybe in future RTE might get someone to ask the questions who actually understands football.

Oh so Manuela picks the squad is it.Consistently picking Whelan,Ward,Green and McShane amongst others is bull$hit and O'Donoghue is dead right to try and pull him up for a performance like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

fullstop wrote: »
    Cheaper to go to Poland :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

On the bright side, RTE are running a social media poll to see if Ireland will win the 2014 World Cup and 91% say we will.

Oh so Manuela picks the squad is it.Consistently picking Whelan,Ward,Green and McShane amongst others is bull$hit and O'Donoghue is dead right to try and pull him up for a performance like this.

See this post

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=79212880&postcount=1146

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Possession 76% v 24%
    Corners 9 v 2
    Goal attempts 27 v 6
    On target 15 v 2
    Fouls 10 v 16
    Offside 5 v 2

Man City v Blackburn would be closer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,914 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Yes I know why he was not in you are still not making much sense. Trapp does not think he can play like he wants him to play. Is your point if you are a supporter you should follow without question

You said you are a supporter yet you don't know why McCarthy isn't in the squad.

Clue: It's nothing to do with how he plays.

Apologise I was not thinking 2 many beers there. My bad. Hope his father is doing well

On the bright side, RTE are running a social media poll to see if Ireland will win the 2014 World Cup and 91% say we will.

Whoever came up with those polls should be shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

That still doesn't mean you should sit back and accept the shocking team and squad decisions like Trap has routinely made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Outside all the arguments, it is a shame that some of the people that made such a great noise over there couldn't support the domestic scene here. Most of us.have that on a smaller level all season and even more so in Europe. The more people that go, the bigger it would be and people would see it can be a way of life and not just a trip every ten years.
    Fair enough comment because if anything ,despite all the blips ,dodgy scores among the highs of Irish soccer over the last few decades ,it might be wrong to say after tonights performance that Irish football has gone backwards but it sure has gone into stalemate and the beginning of that change or ' New Era' in Irish football has to start back in Ireland in the home league .

I heard FIFA have the same guys who banned the vuvuzelas on the orgainising committe. They informed Brazil that sambas, conga lines, girls in skinny bikins, funny costumes, drinking, singing and general having the samba craic will be banned to make the tournament better.

There a whole bunch of boardsies heading over its going be great :P.
    im not sure who they will support though, probably America, its only winners they support.

mike65 wrote: »
    Possession 76% v 24%
    Corners 9 v 2
    Goal attempts 27 v 6
    On target 15 v 2
    Fouls 10 v 16
    Offside 5 v 2

Man City v Blackburn would be closer.

Yeh says it all. Doesn't matter who we would have put out tonight, a midfield of McClean, Ireland or McCarthy, Andrews and Coleman, the result would have been similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

That was not the points or message I was on about. It was a message from a LOI fan who said the people who were supporters of Ireland were just fans as they were not supporters of the LOI.

But in response to you how can the development here bring about too much change as if they are good enough the go and play in other teams anyway (eg. not a lot of the Brazilian players play in Brazil). The teams or the players would not be any different if they were in the LOI or not. Or please explain how it would
    If we had academies attached to LoI teams, which in turn, were part of countrywide push to involve schools in the way that the GAA is embedded we'd have more and better players being developed.

If those LoI teams were supported better (I'm talking about at least a 300% increase in the numbers of people willing to hand over 15 euros a week to get in) they'd hold on to more, better players longer.

This would have knock-on effects: LoI teams getting in to the Champions League Group stages; Premiership clubs having to hand over much larger transfer fees to get the likes of McClean, Doyle, Coleman, Hoolahan; and finally, the international squad benefiting from the improved structures and talent.

I don't have all the answers but start with something really crude: 10,000 of the 20,000 people in Gdansk spent 200 each on LoI season tickets it would make a positive difference.

G.K. wrote: »
    That still doesn't mean you should sit back and accept the shocking team and squad decisions like Trap has routinely made.

There wasn't much shocking about tonight.

Take McClean for example, he came on did some good stuff, but lost the ball a lot too. If he played 90 minutes it really would have been the same. Would have been the same for Coleman. Coleman and McLean are good players but they really aren't fit to lace Xavi and Inniesta's boots, even you have to admit that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,386 ✭✭✭twinytwo

id actually like that. all of the above annoys me.

Your one of the select few who knows nothing.... but has an opinion on everything....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,376 ✭✭✭RoryMac

It says a lot to me that most of the more vocal LoI supporters here are online complaining about praise for our fans rather than supporting our team.

Yes it would be nice if more fans attended LoI games but the guys over there have done their country proud sticking by their team when things were tough. They have been praised by media in several countries and have been one of the few positive things to come from this tournament from an Irish pov.

It's these kind of positive stories that encourage kids to play the game and in turn play LoI football, can we not just enjoy the ride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,526 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Helix wrote: »
    what?

why would i have a season ticket if i didnt go to games? being a season ticket holder implies going to every home game to anyone with an ounce of sense i'd have thought
    Important part in bold. You do know who you were replying to...
    Stop being superior,. It makes people cry.

Maybe I'll just skip the qualifiers next time and save the money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Well that's that. We needed a result from Croatia, we were never getting anything from Spain. They were miles ahead of us in every department. The players done their best but we were pissing into the wind, especially when you give away a soft goal when it was their first attack.

I think we need change. It's all good and well qualifying for these tournaments but there's no point in being there and playing every game with this "system".

We aren't a very hard team to break down, I think a lot of people bought into that myth when we were never tested against decent teams. Maybe the Moscow game clouded peoples judgement when we were lucky not to have 5/6 taken off us. I wouldn't have given Trap a new contract. I respect the man but it's only a short term fix. We need new players coming through and we need to attack teams, I've never been a fan of the old Italian game where you soak the pressure up, we don't have a good enough defence for that.

Also, anyone laying into the Irish fans has some nerve. The country is in a big fuc*ing mess and we still took that support with us, what a backing they gave the team tonight. Yet some on have the brass neck to lay into them, they should get to fu*k. Why not applaud them for getting out to Poland and giving that backing to the team? Naw you'll just slate them for not attending a LOI game. Embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,734 ✭✭✭✭CSF

RoryMac wrote: »
    It says a lot to me that most of the more vocal LoI supporters here are online complaining about praise for our fans rather than supporting our team.
    Sorry what, nearly all of the abuse levelled at the team has been from the other camp (the dark side). There have been few more supportive of the team in this thread than myself

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Spain maybe the best team in the world, but the goals we gave away in this and the last game is not forgivable. Every one of the goals could have been avoided if there was not such a fear of having the ball.

I hope traps position is reassessed and if he doesn't change things we change manager. He got us to a major tournament, now he needs to blood players so we can compete in one.

born2bwild wrote: »
    I don't have all the answers but start with something really crude: 10,000 of the 20,000 people in Gdansk spent 200 each on LoI season tickets it would make a positive difference.

That makes 4 million. sure it will make a difference it will pay for
    John Delaneys wages and expenses for 5 years and cover his pension entitlements . and im not joking here either.

Look at Shamrock Rovers the crowds come when you bring some success and up your game. Even back to Cork City V Bayern munich in the 80s when we nearly beat them after Dave Barry hit the cross bar.

The players are there, the fans are ready and waiting , but the organisation from FAI thru to the LOI clubs is the joke.