Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland vs España

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    This is shockingly bad. Spain are literally running rings around us. I don't think it's left our half more than twice in the last 5 mins

Ah in fairness, did you expect any different? I expect Ireland to play almost no football this evening. A bit of luck at a set piece is about as much as we can hope for so we need to get some fouls out of them in areas we can actually threaten.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

kitakyushu wrote: »
    Only one way out of this
    6325434411_095d35bb29.jpg
    Discreetly thumbing the Spanish lads up the arse to distract them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

"If we could keep them level for 60 mins"

Let's try 6 minutes next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,961 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

why in gods name are we hitting 80 yard passes over the top to Robbie Keane?
    Because we haven't a hope of out-playing them on the ground?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Keane should never had started this match. Pointless having him on. We need height and muscle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Silly boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Pique skinning mc geady is it not suppose to be the other way round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Yillan wrote: »
    "If we could keep them level for 60 mins"

Let's try 6 minutes next time
    But if we keep them from scoring for the next 60mins...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

why in gods name are we hitting 80 yard passes over the top to Robbie Keane?

Might as well give it back to them in their box instead of giving it them it back at ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,961 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Ah in fairness, did you expect any different? I expect Ireland to play almost no football this evening. A bit of luck at a set piece is about as much as we can hope for so we need to get some fouls out of them in areas we can actually threaten.

True.. I thought they might actually play with more enthusiasm and effort though.. maybe I'm just wistful as they were playing "Put em under pressure" on the radio just before I got out of the car. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,386 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

What hope have we with one man up front, it's nearly going to be impossible to score with just Keane on his own up front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Trapping ourselves in a corner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I used to think Whelan was ok, he is absolutely shocking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,052 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

kitakyushu wrote: »
    Only one way out of this
    6325434411_095d35bb29.jpg

Ritual sacrifice? I agree.

Ireland look absolutely lost when they have the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

It is his job to stop it especially when it was just over head high and he didn't have to move only to block it. Poor goalkeeping.

Have you ever tried to stop something close to your body thats moving that bloody fast? Get set then have to try get your hands straight above your head in a millisecond?

No way he was stopping it, no way you can fault him for it tbh.

Discreetly thumbing the Spanish lads up the arse to distract them?

I read somewhere the Spanish don't like it up 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Oh dear god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

ambid wrote: »
    Ireland are ranked the 18th best international side in the world. That is not "exceptionally poor".

Proof that the ranking system is exceptionally poor.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Useless. Losing the ball. Can't pass, marking is non-existent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Samich wrote: »
    I used to think Whelan was ok, he is absolutely shocking!

Him and Ward are the worst players in the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Playing a dangerous game passing it around the back like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Given's distribution is f@@kin terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Spain for such a talented team work very hard to win the ball back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Defending is poor and when they do have the ball it's like they're panicking about losing it.

Few very frustrated looking players out there tonight.

Trappatoni: "justa chippi di ball uppa to Claudino"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Trapping ourselves in a corner
    I see with what you did there or should I say dunne there:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,250 ✭✭✭✭briany

Ireland trying to play a bit of tiki-taka near their own box but it's more like tika-masala.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

McGeady is some ****in eejit

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,278 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Christ Mcgeedy

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Jaysus McGeady

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

Get McGeady off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Is Manuela never down in the dugout to help translate what the coaches like Kelly say to Trap??

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Well done McGeady. Let's just let the ball roll post you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Clearly are unable to pass. Just put 2 big men up front and boot it up to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

McGeady is having a shocking game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Magic sponge treatment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

McGeady is having a shocking game

since 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

That's what she said last night George.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

'Oh my gooodddd!' she said

It's a pity we can only make 3 substitutions.

Yer one...

"Owww moyy God!"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

monkey9 wrote: »
    Is Manuela never down in the dugout to help translate what the coaches like Kelly say to Trap??

You think Trap wants to hear from coaches like Kelly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Ireland will be dead on their feet after 60 mins if they keep on having to chase the ball like this.

This could end 3 or 4-0

"No no Pique, after you!"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

How about we try to keep the ball?

**** crossing again from McGeady..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I had a 10er on Torres at 9/2....always a silver lining :D

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

This quote sums it up.
    Spain toying half-heartedly with the Irish like a gifted child forced to entertain himself with some very limited toys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Get McGeady off.

woeful McGeady