Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland vs España

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

Has the spanish keeper touched the ball yet???

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Given doesn't look able at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    do the midfielders want the ball?

We have to be the least mobile team in the euros..even bloody greece have a some movement in them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Torres is great tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

kitakyushu wrote: »
    You have to admire Spain. They are just a diff class.

Italy seemed to handle them quite well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Brilliant tackle from O'Shea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Half time please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Ward gave Torres all the space he wanted there at the start of that passage of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Spain are amazing though!! Just like Barca, their passing game is unreal, but the closing down and the pressing game high up the pitch is brilliant!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Hoping and praying that they'll go in at half time and someone will give an inspirational talk and they'll at least put on a better display than this. They have been terrible so far.

If they continue like this their best hope is just to keep the score low.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

RVP 11 wrote: »
    Iniesta is like a boss out there.

Majestic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,037 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Was sure there was another goal there..

.. we're fecking horrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

I get a little frightened every time an Irish player goes to ground in the box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,961 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

DEVEREUX wrote: »
    Has the spanish keeper touched the ball yet???

Yea they landed it right in his arms about 20 mins ago

How did that ball make it all the way through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

Spain seem very relaxed. If we can hold on to 1-0 the last 10 minutes we might have a good chance to get an equaliser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,460 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Good tackle from Granny O'Shea there. She's waking up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Hard to imagine this Irish side has a Champions League and Premier League winner in it's ranks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

you'll never beat the Irish, but sure we'll drink 20 pints tonight and have the craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

a shot!

Are my eyes decieving me or was that attacking play from Ireland?!

Keane FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

FFS Keane, too slow !!

Not another goal before half-time..

.. please God!

EDIT: Good save from Given tbf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Robbie Keane, he is such a liability tonight, the yellow card generator.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,414 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Hard to imagine this Irish side has a Champions League and Premier League winner in it's ranks...

What a retarded statement. Hes' only one player.

Please don't concede

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Thank god it's not a boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Well nearly half time. Time for a goal.,

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I can see the Italy game being the last in an Irish jersey for a few on this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,460 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Good save there by Given in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

half time, Spain ahead by the narrowest of margins

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

Not sure if Torres is playing very well tonight, or the irish defence is just very open and easy to manoeuvre in for him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

What a retarded statement. Hes' only one player.
    You can count, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,497 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

If we don't lose or draw there is agood chance we'll win,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,304 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

At least it is still only 1-0,

There is always a chance at that.

I don't care, I'm clinging to it!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Camera man will be suffering what I call "Irelanditis". That's caused by pointing the camera at one side of the pitch for 95% of the time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

I can see the Italy game being the last in an Irish jersey for a few on this team.

good tbfh and hopefuly traps one as well this craps been going on since he took over its awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Keane has been terrible. Take him off.

Miracle it's only 1-0, hopefully we can punish Spain's lack of conviction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,052 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I actually really like our defensive system. A row of 4, then rows of 3 and 2 which attack the ball in swarms, attacking the man and blocking options.

If the midfielders show for the ball a bit more, we might be able to hang onto the ball just a little longer...long enough to not have to punt it long to Keane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

We are only 1-0 down, we have been terrible yes, but what did ye expect? No point in constantly giving out about the players and the tactics, we knew what this was going to be, we were hardly going to turn up and match Spain. We have made a huge error and gifted them a goal, other then that it has actually gone to plan funnily enough.

Spain have not scored again, yet, if it stays that way till late in the game Ireland will have a chance to get something out of this game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I never thought i'd ever say this, but i wouldn't mind if we brought on Darron Gibson in the second half, just because he has a shot on him which could be useful in those slippery conditions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

They're giving their best lads, but we need someone to hold up whatever ball we get. Walters for Robbie please. Mclean for Cox, he'd be right up for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

In boxing you can throw in the towel. :(

Keane has been terrible. Take him off.
    Problem is he's barely registered as a presence at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

1-0 could be worst but they have total possession and we look totally outclassed. If we can keep it to 1-0 and of course get a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭kitakyushu

Well that went pretty much as expected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

That's the hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

bizmark wrote: »
    good tbfh and hopefuly traps one as well this craps been going on since he took over its awful

Not a chance Trap will be sacked and why would he walk? He's on a great salary.