Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Best fans in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

And also, I said rubbish. I never stated alcohol.

the cover of le perisien which i presume is the the article we are discussing is essentially a bottle covered street at the hands of irish people

i am in the loire valley

Oh lovely.

Stayed in Nievre for a couple of summers, in the Parc du Morvan.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,443 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

there are restaurants all over paris. with a huge metro system.

there are dedicated fan zones for them to congregate in. but they eschew that option as you can't drink there .

but they choose to stand in squares and streets with boxes of beer and then they choose to put the beer on the ground. they could choose to buy bin bags while in the shop but they choose not to.
    And the bin bags full of rubbish go where?

I dunno, sure start a thread on an Irish internet forum about how we're all **** at debating. It's no different to what you are doing here.

I just can't get my head around the motivation to constantly try to prove that Irish fans are, in fact, not the best in the world. It's such a meaningless thing to get worked up about. It reminds me of that "but there are people who are wrong on the internet" cartoon.

but equally posters like you come into the thread and get worked up about me getting worked up about fans.

you are telling me to chill out, why don't you chill out.

either come in and debate the drinking culture/lad culture/ banter culture or don't.

don't come in and go " hey you , i don't like what your saying, why are you posting here , whats your motivation for this"

And the bin bags full of rubbish go where?

up against the wall in a collectable civilised fashion. i was at mayday celebration in germany this year. never seen a more civilised piss up in my life. place was spotless. people take ownership of their own mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

the cover of le perisien which i presume is the the article we are discussing is essentially a bottle covered street at the hands of irish people

Link please if you will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

but equally posters like you come into the thread and get worked up about me getting worked up about fans.

you are telling me to chill out, why don't you chill out.

either come in and debate the drinking culture/lad culture/ banter culture or don't.

don't come in and go " hey you , i don't like what your saying, why are you posting here , whats your motivation for this"

You know what, you're right, I won't engage with you anymore.

Omackeral wrote: »
    ''Yay we're getting tonked 3-0 and probably getting knocked out!'' I'd be dejected as f*ck.

13423716_1208683315838578_7788849413170938889_n.jpg?oh=9d9ca3d2a2c9716fa16bf6ebc33638ec&oe=57C8097D
    People generally act like gobsh!tes when TV cameras go on them. Everyone else around them: are they dejected enough in your opinion? Or should they be near suicidal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Zxclnic

it eats into drinking time. an english/irish/scottish/ welsh affliction

Sure, drinking copious amounts of foaming beer prior to a sporting event is part of the culture of the above mentioned countries. It is what it is, for better or worse.
    Personally I think an hour and a half before kick-off is far too early to be seated at a stadium, but two minutes before k.o. isn't great either. As in most things, there's a balance to be struck.
    Btw, 'eats into drinking time' is funny!

up against the wall in a collectable civilised fashion. i was at mayday celebration in germany this year. never seen a more civilised piss up in my life. place was spotless. people take ownership of their own mess

I'm sure the attendance was similar...

couple of thousand people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

People generally act like gobsh!tes when TV cameras go on them.

You've certainly hit the nail on the head there buddy.
    Everyone else around them: are they dejected enough in your opinion? Or should they be near suicidal?

Was commenting one that one chap (guy on the bottom left) in particular. 3-0 down and on the way out. I'd be f*cking distraught personally, not mugging for a camera. I saw my team lose 0-4 at home recently and was really really in the horrors, no TV camera would've undone that.

Not a bin in sight.

They should faciliate better.

people should take ownership of own mess.

Not a bin in sight.

its an interesting article if you have the time.

Unfortunately moi francais is terrible

Edit: Nvm, google did a translate.

To me it just seems like the locals are giving out nothing further.

So you want them to leave their rubbish on the street.....

Certainly helps that in Germany you get the "pfand" for bringing back your glass bottles. I've been to bundesliga games and German people don't clean up as much as you think. It was actually homeless people going around picking up the glass bottles for the 10c or so each.

So you want them to leave their rubbish on the street.....

Certainly helps that in Germany you get the "pfand" for bringing back your glass bottles. I've been to bundesliga games and German people don't clean up as much as you think. It was actually homeless people going around picking up the glass bottles for the 10c or so each.

i lived in germany.

Not a bin in sight.

we definitely know 100% that there is rubbish on the street from the photo.

we know it was the irish fans as that is where they congregated in the videos and based on eye witness accounts.

that was not a fan zone.

that was an area that unfortunately for the locals had an irish bar in it.

we do not know if there are 50 bins or zero bins out of shot.

we are guessing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/second-captains

ken early says belgian fans were better. more punctual, louder, passionate.in greater numbers.

from 33 mins if you don't believe me.

late to the stadium as all in the pub ( the real reason they are there)

beaten on the pitch and in the stands.

For someone who clearly has beef with the Republic Ireland, fair play to you for swallowing some of that pride by listening to an Irish podcast and posting in an Irish forum.

Serious respect, kid!

we definitely know 100% that there is rubbish on the street from the photo.

we know it was the irish fans as that is where they congregated in the videos and based on eye witness accounts.

that was not a fan zone.

that was an area that unfortunately for the locals had an irish bar in it.

we do not know if there are 50 bins or zero bins out of shot.

we are guessing.

No need to guess sir. I was there.

Blatter wrote: »
    For someone who clearly has beef with the nation of Ireland, fair play to you for swallowing some of that pride by listening to an Irish podcast and posting in an Irish forum.

Serious respect, kid!

its a fabulous podcast. one of irelands best exports.

and this is a great forum in the main , once you do not criticise anything local.

but donald trump, jade goody etc. fill your boots.

very good.

and this is a great forum in the main , once you do not criticise anything local.

Bono, Jedward etc all also allowed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Give it a rest. There is plenty of criticism of local things. You sound like a very bitter old man.

keith16 wrote: »
    Give it a rest. There is plenty of criticism of local things. You sound like a very bitter old man.

back on to attacking the poster.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Bono, Jedward etc all also allowed :)

Criticise Bono and your labeled a begrudger.

back on to attacking the poster.

Same as yourself then.

very good.
    i lived in germany.

Very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

It's sad people are turning on our own fans.

If people want to blame something for this best fans in the world nonsense, blame the disgraceful standards of Journalism and Media in this country. That and the ridiculous nonsense on social media. Its fairly ridiculous there is more discussion on our fans than the Irish team and set up, by the media and the nonsense on social media. This crept in at Euro 2012 and is not the fans fault at all, they done their best and represented our country well.

That said please end the Kolo Toure song nonsense. Ive seen it sang regularly at the Darts in England and nights out here, its years past its sell by date.

i lived in germany.
    Good for you. Doesn't negate the point I made.

Same as yourself then.

Very good.

I'm not sure that is the same. Where are the disparaging personal remarks aimed at the poster?

Same as yourself then.

Very good.

who did i attack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Hopefully the Irish fans learn their lesson for the next time we qualify. Go straight to your hotel and stay there. Refrain from interacting with people as much as possible, don't socialise and make friends. Go the match. Go straight back to hotel. Do not, i repeat, do not be happy to be there. Go home quietly.

Good for you. Doesn't negate the point I made.

i cannot negate what you said. i wasn't at the same game as you. i am taking you for your word.

i was at a game in the commerzbank arena and they kept it spotless.

i cannot negate what you said. i wasn't at the same game as you. i am taking you for your word.

i was at a game in the commerzbank arena and they kept it spotless.

Apples and Oranges.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Hopefully the Irish fans learn their lesson for the next time we qualify. Go straight to your hotel and stay there. Refrain from interacting with people as much as possible, don't socialise and make friends. Go the match. Go straight back to hotel. Do not, i repeat, do not be happy to be there. Go home quietly.

how about this:

do interact with other fans.
    do have fun.
    try and be at stadium on time.

go to designated fan zones
    do not jump in fountains
    do not climb signs
    do not climb on peoples cars
    do not block traffic
    be quiet in residential areas particularly at night

if you wish to drink excessively outdoors bring a black bin bag with you and put empties in it. when finished put it off the road against an existing bin or somewhere to one side for proper disposal. common sense will dictate the most appropriate place for said bin bag.
    a garden would be innaproparite , against a municipal wall. more appropriate.

i think that is reasonable criteria no?

Apples and Oranges.

i dont understand? he was at a game that was dirty. i was at a game that was clean. neither of us have proof.

its germany ,I'm not sure how we even arrived at this juncture.

i dont understand? he was at a game that was dirty. i was at a game that was clean. neither of us have proof.

its germany ,I'm not sure how we even arrived at this juncture.
    You brought up Germany! You said people there take ownership of their own mess. I pointed out that wasn't as clearcut as you portrayed.

....oh and don't burst into a group chorus extolling and exclaiming 'Yaya Toure' to the first random black person who appears on the scene..because, however innocent and playful it might seem, it's kinda racist don't ya think, not to mention how intimidated or even belittled the song's recipient might feel despite his calm exterior.
    Just a thought.

You brought up Germany! You said people there take ownership of their own mess. I pointed out that wasn't as clearcut as you portrayed.

i apologise .you are right.
    at the events i was at they did. you countered it.
    both our stories are anecdotal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 344 ✭✭Kobe248

this is essentially all i am trying to say. and what keeps happening is people question my nationality, motivation , enjoyment of my own life etc.

nobody actually discusses the issue.

I just presumed you were from NZ

And back to being relevant :D

Zxclnic wrote: »
    ....oh and don't burst into a group chorus extolling and exclaiming 'Yaya Toure' to the first random black person who appears on the scene..because, however innocent and playful it might seem, it's kinda racist don't ya think, not to mention how intimidated or even belittled the song's recipient might feel despite his calm exterior.
    Just a thought.

this has been glossed over by all and sundry

how about this:

do interact with other fans.
    do have fun.
    try and be at stadium on time.

go to designated fan zones
    do not jump in fountains
    do not climb signs
    do not climb on peoples cars
    do not block traffic
    be quiet in residential areas particularly at night

if you wish to drink excessively outdoors bring a black bin bag with you and put empties in it. when finished put it off the road against an existing bin or somewhere to one side for proper disposal. common sense will dictate the most appropriate place for said bin bag.
    a garden would be innaproparite , against a municipal wall. more appropriate.

i think that is reasonable criteria no?

Yep, there are some who can take things do far/do things others don't agree with.

But it's good to see the fans over there create a positive impression and i'm sure the country will attract a lot of visitors on the back of it.

Zxclnic wrote: »
    Just a thought.

Yep, something i wouldn't have got involved in.

this has been glossed over by all and sundry

No it hasn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

LiamoSail wrote: »
    You're obviously a fan of a club that are expected to win every week. Losing hurts, but if you're going to insist on a mourning period after every defeat, you're going to have one very depressing life. Imagine being a Villa fan; they'd have to talk you down from a ledge every couple of days.

I am a Rangers fan, so I've had more than my fair share of bad times over the past few years. A bad defeat shouldn't take over your life but you shouldn't be acting the eejit during the game or afterwards. If I see a supporter playing up to the camera, a la the fans yesterday, for example, it makes me think that they couldn't be that bothered if their team wins or loses.

No it hasn't.

in the main it has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Berserker wrote: »
    I am a Rangers fan, so I've had more than my fair share of bad times over the past few years. A bad defeat shouldn't take over your life but you shouldn't be acting the eejit during the game or afterwards. If I see a supporter playing up to the camera, a la the fans yesterday, for example, it makes me think that they couldn't be that bothered if their team wins or loses.

Well if you're a Rangers fan obviously rioting would be more par for the course for you obviously following a defeat, but not all groups of fans let their disappointment manifest itself through vast civil disorder

Belgium charged with crowd trouble after yesterday's game. As were Hungary.