Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What age does internet dating become socially acceptable?

• 15-06-2012 2:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

I mean - would you subconsciously think 'bad social life' if you heard a young guy aged eg: 21 was on one? I would, to be honest. If it was a girl I would be trying to work out if she was one of those romantic types trying to find the sterreotypical 'perfect guy' or she herself has a bad social life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

people have been using dating sites for years... i don't see anything wrong with it tbh... particularly if u live in remote areas where everyone nearby is a relative... internet dating is probably a good thing then.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Godot. wrote: »
    I mean - would you subconsciously think 'bad social life' if you heard a young guy aged eg: 21 was on one? I would, to be honest. If it was a girl I would be trying to work out if she was one of those romantic types trying to find the sterreotypical 'perfect guy' or she herself has a bad social life.

That question is so 2005

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Not really, a few of my friends are on dating sites.
    It becomes acceptable when you stop seeing it as odd I guess.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Each to their own and all that shiz.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

people have been using dating sites for years... i don't see anything wrong with it tbh... particularly if u live in remote areas where everyone nearby is a relative... internet dating is probably a good thing then.

I disagree :cool::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I disagree :cool::pac:

You like dating your relatives!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

It's slightly depressing that getting sh1t faced drunk and not remembering a person is a more socially acceptable way of meeting someone then finding people with similar interests and goals over the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

On the subject of internet dating being socially acceptable ...

There was a social stigma about meeting someone online for years.
    IMO, it generally disappeared around 2007-2009. Guess internet dating just became even more popular around then.

But I still believe in privacy. If two people meet over the net, why should they tell their friends they did? :confused: Just say they met in a shop (or whatever) Don't give people ammo to slag you behind your back or think you are "incapable of getting a girl/man in the real world" etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

21. That was my age anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Godot.

It's slightly depressing that getting sh1t faced drunk and not remembering a person is a more socially acceptable way of meeting someone then finding people with similar interests and goals over the internet

But it's true! Possibly sad but true. The amount of people on internet dating sites is a drop in the ocean compared to the amount of people that go to bars/clubs with the intention of meeting someone to get laid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭BluntGuy

Don't see why or how being on an internet dating site is indicative of a bad social life.

Perhaps amongst your circle of friends and acquaintances there just isn't someone you "click" with in that way.

'spect though that many people just see it as "for losers" or desperate people so I don't know if there really is an answer to the OP's question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

There is no age, it should always be acceptable people should just get over the stigma of it :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭BluntGuy

But I still believe in privacy. If two people meet over the net, why should they tell their friends they did? :confused: Just say they met in a shop (or whatever) Don't give people ammo to slag you behind your back or think you are "incapable of getting a girl/man in the real world" etc.

I can see where you're coming from and they certainly don't have to say they met online, but to be honest if their friends would judge them for that then they're probably sh*t friends. As for everyone else, "people" in general, they're going to think what they're going to think regardless of what you try and do. Prob best just to not care.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

18, consenting adults and all that.

When you think about it. There should be no reason why a 21yo should be on a dating site. Unless they have a bad social life.
    Cause at that age with college, random joe-jobs, going out, etc. You are in a position to meet alot of different people compared to a 31 year old stuck in a job, while his mates are married and dont socialise alot anymore (etc)

So why are alot of 21yo's on dating websites? :confused:
    They cant all have bad social lives.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

To try and hook up with a hot single mom looking for no strings attached sex. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

But it's true! Possibly sad but true. The amount of people on internet dating sites is a drop in the ocean compared to the amount of people that go to bars/clubs with the intention of meeting someone to get laid.

but that is the thing , you go to bars/clubs to get laid , and more people go to internet dating sites looking for "love"

two different places for 2 different things

as for the OP's question , if you want to use a dating site at any age then go for it , not everyone can talk to a randomer in a bar or club
    if it fits you and your life style then ignore what others think
    far to much emphasis is place on what other random people think - F2uck them

dj jarvis wrote: »
    but that is the thing , you go to bars/clubs to get laid , and more people go to internet dating sites looking for "love"

Truth be known majority of people on dating sites are only looking for sex too. Despite what they may say on their profiles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Whatever age a person stops giving a sh1t about unimportant stuff like the above. People don't need to broadcast they use internet dating anyway.
    It's not possible to give a specific age, it depends on the individual, but I suppose it becomes handy when a person's social life starts to dwindle. I don't think someone younger than their late 20s, generally speaking, needs internet dating but if they'd like to use it, it doesn't say anything to me about them whatsoever other than they want to use internet dating. :confused:

Strange there's still a stigma for some. Meeting people via the internet in any other way would be deemed fine...

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭validusername1

30/40+..
    I guess that's just when I wouldn't think it's as weird.
    I just don't see why people in their 20s would need to, as they typically have very active lives compared to 30+, because they go out more, meet more people through college etc
    Of course people are different but that's just the general way I see it
    But at the end of the day, if it's what you want, go for it I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Mance Rayder

When you think about it. There should be no reason why a 21yo should be on a dating site. Unless they have a bad social life.
    Cause at that age with college, random joe-jobs, going out, etc. You are in a position to meet alot of different people compared to a 31 year old stuck in a job, while his mates are married and dont socialise alot anymore (etc)

By socal life you mean getting drunk right?

Some people don't do pubs/clubs. Some people don't like that culture at all and if they choose to use the internet to seek out like minded individuals looking for love then more power to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,308 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

40 something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Yakult wrote: »
    Each to their own and all that shiz.

Not everyone is as outgoing as you OP :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

The information age...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

17....does grindr count?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

If you're fat, a closeted and/or rural gay or a ginger, internet dating is the only way for you to get some.

So as a fat ginger closeted gay, I see internet dating as a god sent.

Pedant wrote: »
    If you're fat, a closeted and/or rural gay or a ginger, internet dating is the only way for you to get some.

So as a fat ginger closeted gay, I see internet dating as a god sent.

Annnd block! Happy hunting on Grindr:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Pedant

1ZRed wrote: »
    Annnd block! Happy hunting on Grindr:p

No, no. I use a special website where my flab is appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Half your age +12 -3/2

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭trick

For me age is irrelevant as is the theory of the "typical person" who Internet dates. It has absolutely nothing to do with a bad social life or another theory that Internet daters are desperate or "looking for love" as upposed to hooking up with someone in a bar & taking them home for a shag.

For me anyway I was sick of going out to the usual haunts getting the same chat up lines "so are we going back to your place or mine". Seriously!
    I was sick of falling for the same guy. Metaphorically the same guy not physically the same person. Didn't realise I was doing it until I ventured onto a dating site in 2007. I wasn't looking for love, or a shag, or any of the other stereotypical things that people assume you are looking for on a dating site. I was just interested in what all the fuss was about. If I met someone then that was a bonus. I did find that it was a lot of fun. I met lots of different types of guys I generally wouldn't have looked twice at in a club.

Next month is my 2 year wedding anniversary :D
    I was 23 when I joined. Lasted on there about 2months before hubs swept me up. Totally different guy to any guy I have ever dated in the past in a good way obviously. I found with Internet dating there was just that bit more depth to things compared to meeting someone drunk on a night out.

I'm sure there are people out there that think Internet chat rooms are strange & the people who frequent them are "odd" :P
    Not everything can be to everyones taste.

OP if you are interested in Internet dating go for it.
    See it for what it is. Another mode of communication to meet someone. Ignore the cynical comments (if you are getting any) and have fun. OH and choose a reputable site ;)

(sorry for the essay this night shift is dragggggggggging)

By socal life you mean getting drunk right?

Some people don't do pubs/clubs. Some people don't like that culture at all and if they choose to use the internet to seek out like minded individuals looking for love then more power to them.

You state 'looking for love' - well as a person who has used dating websites, but not only that, knows others who have used them.... dating sites are an 'extension of pubs' - by that I mean you still get alot of people only looking for sex or a fling.

Had a look on one of the big dating sites and a lot of the women start by saying they're looking for a decent guy. Kinda ruins the whole thing for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,954 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭cazzak79

Internet dating isn't that bad
    I meet my boyfriend on Internet we are not weird or anything we just don't go to nightclubs anymore I'm 31
    My friend just got married she met on a website last week
    I did find some strange weird people there was quiet a few married men I wouldnt go near
    I think each to their own some people date marry people they work with
    Just its getting more acceptable these days

cazzak79 wrote: »
    we are not weird or anything

we just don't go to nightclubs anymore

That's exactly what a weirdo would say

Further proof! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

I'm 21 and I use internet dating, but not as the sole way of meeting girls. I really don't see a problem with logging in for half an hour every day or two, with the possibility of finding someone you really like, as opposed to sitting on facebook for half an hour reading things like "Rachel has checked in at home" I head out once a week usually so I get the best of both worlds. Which isn't saying much these days :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

but getting sh1t faced and meeting people is so much fun. emailing girls on POF and other sites just feels like work. it's like the boredom and work of the first date without the drunken, fun kiss the week before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

but getting sh1t faced and meeting people is so much fun. emailing girls on POF and other sites just feels like work. it's like the boredom and work of the first date without the drunken, fun kiss the week before

I think this is a good point. Despite my above post saying that I use internet dating, it actually does feel like work and can be frustrating. In fact it's rarely enjoyable at all. BUT, if you meet someone you really like, and end up with them, then wouldn't it end up being worth the hassle?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

If I was single and didn't want to be I'd be straight onto a dating site. Just seems like you're far more likely to meet someone right for you on a site where you can search than in a pub filled with randomers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭christmas2012

its easier to hide stuff when you are internet dating i think thats half the attraction of it..but when it comes to the meet up or six months down the line you cant hide half the shite you hope to..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

It's genuinely shocking how often people use boards to ask if certain behaviours or choices are "socially acceptable". Jaysus, I'd hate to give such a fuck that I have to ask that before barreling down the first route of action which occurs to me. What a weak way of living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

The real question is at what age to people stop judging internet daters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

17, it's all legal then :P

I find it weird there's still a stigma attached to it and I think that stigma is probably more associated with older people. I mean I'm only 24 and things have changed so much even in the last few years, would only be the odd person in my class that even had a laptop when I started college 7 years ago, so different now.

My cousin married a guy she met online. They were in early twenties and now happily married with kids.
    My best friend is a person i started chatting to online many years ago in the days when IRC was popular.
    There really is no age limit for it. Do you know who your 14 year old is skyping with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I met my girlfriend online, was grooming her for months before we finally met.
    So happy now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,374 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

its easier to hide stuff when you are internet dating i think thats half the attraction of it..but when it comes to the meet up or six months down the line you cant hide half the shite you hope to..

I thought you used it to pm people and arrange dates. Which would seem to allow you to go on more dates than approaching randomers in pubs.