Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

1-4-5 formation with vidic back by himself? plenty of games for the wingers so

Be a few gaps alright but sure we'd be grand! Feck it, throw him in goal too!

Anyway, with all these wingers potentially coming in, we need to make a bit of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

ARGH!! Why can't Chris Smalling just catch a break!?

He is such a good CB, and when he was at RB last season we played our best football, but the poor kid is always injured. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,803 ✭✭✭✭kippy

TheDoc wrote: »
    I guess if your into the hussle and bussle of transfer windows, with a bit of digging you can find out what the hell is going on. Essentially they are some people who just rehash existing rumours, but there are some people that generate chatter from source.

Alot of pretty reputible rumour merchants, and even journalists have put their name on RVP been wrapped up this week, and that has pretty severe consequences[/b wrong.

The same on the moura thing, the guys reporting the first hand material, have been pretty spot on, even outlining SAF walking away while papers are still saying deal is done.
    Really? Severe consequences as in getting fired?
    It'll be front page news tomorrow if a journo gets fired for getting an unconfirmed transfer wrong..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cdb

In case anyone missed it, Cleverley expected to make his England debut in next week's friendly against Italy.

From the Guardian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

kippy wrote: »
    Really? Severe consequences as in getting fired?
    It'll be front page news tomorrow if a journo gets fired for getting an unconfirmed transfer wrong..........

Course they wouldn't get fired.

I'm led to believe that it is , internally, a pretty blunderous deal, when a journo blasts out confirming a deal and it then doesn't materialise.

There is a difference between speculating idly, and then saying a deal is done. Even the ****e about offers is fine, but when someone puts their name to a done deal that turns out bollox, wrists are slapped.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    ARGH!! Why can't Chris Smalling just catch a break!?

He is such a good CB, and when he was at RB last season we played our best football, but the poor kid is always injured. :(

Quite a few of our very promising young players are in and out of injury

Anderson, Cleverley, Smallng...

The Anderson and Cleverley injury woes have really punished us the worst though:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,803 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Course they wouldn't get fired.

I'm led to believe that it is , internally, a pretty blunderous deal, when a journo blasts out confirming a deal and it then doesn't materialise.

There is a difference between speculating idly, and then saying a deal is done. Even the ****e about offers is fine, but when someone puts their name to a done deal that turns out bollox, wrists are slapped.

They are saying a deal will be done by the end of the week, not that one has been done.

For the red tops, reporters spew bullsh1t all the time, even up to saying that a "deal is done". They are no more reporters than gossipers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

tumblr_m8dg8cdxaw1r89ohwo2_1280.jpg

The site of Berba makes me happy, more hes on pre season, less chance he will leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

The site of Berba makes me happy, more hes on pre season, less chance he will leave.

He looks likes he's scoping out the exit door in that pic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Saw him and his socks before i scrolled to your comment. Hope he stays and gets and get a decent amount of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Not sure about anyone else, but I don't want Berbatov at the club if we are just going to treat him like we did last season. Either give him a consistent shot, or let him leave so I can salivate over his wizardry on MOTD every week.

HE'S A PEACOCK! YOU GOTTA LET HIM FLY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

Love that film :)

Very hard to see Berba getting much game time this season to be fair. Which is a shame for him, and football fans in general.

If the much mooted 4-2-3-1 is used this season, Berba won't get a sniff unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

I know its the daily fail and all but with Rodgers previous links with Mourinho it could be a possibility.

Sahin to Liverpool

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2179841/Nuri-Sahin-join-Liverpool-instead-Tottenham.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I know its the daily fail and all but with Rodgers previous links with Mourinho it could be a possibility.

Sahin to Liverpool

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2179841/Nuri-Sahin-join-Liverpool-instead-Tottenham.html

Instead of Spurs? I thought he was supposed to go to arsenal? Why aren't we linked!

I couldn't see Sahin go to Liverpool, definitely not in their current state with lack of Champions League football, can't see him go to Spurs either. A player of his calibre will have much more attractive clubs sniffing. It wouldn't be surprising to see him go back to one of the top German clubs.

If he can't cover one or both wings Fergie won't want him so that's us probably out of the running :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,669 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

I'll be ****ing sick if he goes to Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭bernardamaac.

Jame Gumb wrote: »
    Open my eyes?

Fletcher has Crohn's Disease, Cleverley's unproven and injury prone, Giggs and Scholes are 38, Jones is a centre half and Anderson (who you haven't mentioned) is injury prone, unproven and erratic. Carrick's United's "main man" and to say that he divides opinion is an understatement.

We've one right back (Rafael) and one left back (Evra). The back up in those positions consists of players who can "do a job" but really play in other positions (e.g. Valencia, Smalling, Jones, Brady etc).

United's squad is weak at fullback and in midfield.

It astonishes me that people can ignore the above. Be a boring world though if everyone agreed all of the time!

Enjoy the last few hours of your bank holiday weekend Folks...

J

Cleverly's unproven united were unbeatable at the start of last season.Because of the link up play between cleverly thats why scholes came back example man city vs united charity shield.Scholes age has nothing to do with it.Scholes could easily outplay gerrard at his age.I never saidjones was'nt and he could fit in as a defensive mid in 4-2-2-2.Anderson was also brilliant in that charity shield match before getting injured who care's if he's erratic player's need fire.We,ve one right back and one left were did smalling and jones mostly play last season ? Brady got a bit of irwin in him.Ignore your making a stupid point it's a versatile team who wants a squad of player's who can only play in one postion if that was the case you would need 44 players "who can do the job" 4 in each position.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

Cleverly's unproven united were unbeatable at the start of last season.Because of the link up play between cleverly thats why scholes came back example man city vs united charity shield.Scholes age has nothing to do with it.Scholes could easily outplay gerrard at his age.I never saidjones was'nt and he could fit in as a defensive mid in 4-2-2-2.Anderson was also brilliant in that charity shield match before getting injured who care's if he's erratic player's need fire.We,ve one right back and one left were did smalling and jones mostly play last season ? Brady got a bit of irwin in him.Ignore your making a stupid point it's a versatile team who wants a squad of player's who can only play in one postion if that was the case you would need 44 players "who can do the job" 4 in each position.

Your post is very difficult to read.

Why would you need four players in every position? Who suggested that? Having two left backs is pretty basic stuff.

Anderson was "brilliant in that Charity Shield match"? Well that proves that everything is fine.

Just so we're clear, I'm saying that United need to sign at least one midfielder and at least one fullback and you're not just disagreeing with me...you're treating my view with contempt? And I'm saying that for specialist positions, it makes sense to have a specialist understudy and you're again treating that view as being ridiculous?

Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

"It's not like he could have done any worse than some of the players who played cm last year (Giggs"

man i hate this slagging off giggs from a few united supporters.

hes ****in awesome.

player of the season only recently.

has the highest chances created per game played last season!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

jame gumb, maybe if you made it simpler for people.

e.g.

If evra gets injured, who will start left back?

If your answer includes a guy playing out of position or "doing a job" then thats not really good enough for Man United.

im expecting thats the exact reason fabio is gone on loan. to speed up his development so next year its problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

"It's not like he could have done any worse than some of the players who played cm last year (Giggs"

hes ****in awesome.

Will rightly be remembered as a club legend, and a true hero of mine. But unfortunately he is not up to the level that we need from a central midfielder any more. If indeed ever he was.

I would argue that the POTY award he received was at a time when he was a much better player than he is now, and that there was a bit of a "we better give it to him before he retires" attitude to it. Cristiano Ronaldo and Steven Gerrard were both on the shortlist that season (2008/09) and both of them, and possibly others, had better and more influential seasons than Giggsy.

Will play a bit part role only this season, I'd reckon.
    I hope.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Fergie needs to open the check book! Arsenal bought another player today and we are the club that needs new players. Get your finger out Fergie:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

We've already signed one classy player, only Chelsea, and arguably arsenal, have made ground on us in terms of squad strength and depth. If RVP goes, as is expected, that goes out the window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

My brother who is 10, just said why don't you ring the hospital and ask them if there is a medical booked :P Not a bad idea actually

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,438 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

How is Anderson's pre-season going, I have only seen clips of the pre season games?

I am really looking forward to seeing how Cleverley gets on at the start of this season. 4 competitive games in a week and a half should give him a good chance of starting fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

NinjaK wrote: »
    Fergie needs to open the check book! Arsenal bought another player today and we are the club that needs new players. Get your finger out Fergie:mad:

Arsenal are assembling a pretty decent squad while we wonder if we'll ever get a midfielder.:(

And just to really cheer me up,the most despised player in the league signs a new contract at Liverpool-was hoping he'd feck off to Juve or somewhere & we wouldn't have to endure his antics again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Sam lyon of bbc was mouthing off today that if no more signings are done, city will walk the league arsenal will be stronger than united. i assume that means he believes chelsea are ahead of united also.

To be honest i dont think he is far wrong. next two weeks are vital for united, if we dont get in some new quality i think we are in big trouble next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

Sam lyon of bbc was mouthing off today that if no more signings are done, city will walk the league arsenal will be stronger than united. i assume that means he believes chelsea are ahead of united also.

To be honest i dont think he is far wrong. next two weeks are vital for united, if we dont get in some new quality i think we are in big trouble next year.

I think you could be right but you night be placing too much stock in some of the players that they have brought in.

Chelsea are seriously short of quality up front. Injury to Torres and goals will be tough to come by.

Arsenal need to bed in all these new arrivals and are likely to lose their key player and top goalscorer in Van Persie.

Man City are the real danger again. All their players are now seasoned Premier League players.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

We've strengthened a squad that lost out last year on goal difference, I can understand scepticism, but to say we are in very big trouble if we dont get the cheque book out is over the top in my opinion.

Its well documented that we had a freak season regarding injuries, and I can't see us being *that* unlucky again this season.

I have absolutely no doubt that we will be in the mix come next May, regardless of weather or not we bring anyone else in.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,609 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Fenix wrote: »
    We've strengthened a squad that lost out last year on goal difference, I can understand scepticism, but to say we are in very big trouble if we dont get the cheque book out is over the top in my opinion.

Its well documented that we had a freak season regarding injuries, and I can't see us being *that* unlucky again this season.

I have absolutely no doubt that we will be in the mix come next May, regardless of weather or not we bring anyone else in.

Agreed here. Even with no one brought in for the CM position, we're in a stronger position than this time last year, with a young squad who are a year older and Kagawa. It seems likely we'll get at least one more player in as well. Only Arsenal look to have drastically improved their squad so far, but that will balance if they lose RVP.

But this doomsaying seems to be a default mechanism on the net and with some journos so...

Fenix wrote: »

Only if we move away from a reliance on carrick, and i like the guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Anderson was also brilliant in that charity shield match

I wish people would give over holding the charity shield up as an indicator of anything at all. Its a bloody friendly, and performances in it are about as relevant as the quality of performances on this Norwegian tour.

How can you find joy in the charity shield when City then absolutely schooled us when it actually bloody mattered, in the league games!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

hes ****in awesome.

Giggs away is a liability in a 4 4 2. I think it was the Wigan? game we lost where he could barely find a man all night, losing runners left right and centre. Not for the first time either. He should not be starting, impact sub at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭bernardamaac.

I wish people would give over holding the charity shield up as an indicator of anything at all. Its a bloody friendly, and performances in it are about as relevant as the quality of performances on this Norwegian tour.

How can you find joy in the charity shield when City then absolutely schooled us when it actually bloody mattered, in the league games!

Because if you know anything about that match other than its relevance you'd know that both team's wanted to win even with mancini claiming a day before hand that his team would take 2 year's to glue together.Omg so many sunshine supporter's on this.Getting schooled mean's getting beaten on goal difference...

Getting schooled means being beaten six goals to one when there are actual points at stake. Or rampaging through us in the FA cup semi the year before. Or toying with us at Eastlands when even the most optimistic United fan went there in hope rather than expectation.

But hey, you enjoy your little charity shield game.

I enjoyed the FA cup game myself. Well most of it anyway.

it was good to come back from the bad results v Blackburn and Newcastle, going to eastlands and Scholes coming back.

was a good day.

I wish SAF had the same attitude for the league game.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    I enjoyed the FA cup game myself. Well most of it anyway.

it was good to come back from the bad results v Blackburn and Newcastle, going to eastlands and Scholes coming back.

was a good day.

I wish SAF had the same attitude for the league game.

I agree. United went into the league game scared and it showed. If they had opened up like in the cup things might be different, but even Fergie knew he didn't have the midfield to cope, so he tried to put Park et al in and play defensively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,424 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

I agree. United went into the league game scared and it showed. If they had opened up like in the cup things might be different, but even Fergie knew he didn't have the midfield to cope, so he tried to put Park et al in and play defensively.

United didn't go in scared, that performance was mainly down to Fergie imo, playing Park in his first game in ages and both Giggs and Scholes with Valencia on the bench. City still only won 1-0 and that was from a corner so it still nearly worked.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Now that it looks like the Moura deal will fall through and with Real failing to meet Spurs Valuation who would like to see us throw the Lucas 30m plus another 10m towards getting Modric?

Fergie then might have to spend 10m or 15m more than he expected if he wants RVP also.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

So, everywhere I look City have won the league next year already. Chelseas new found attack will launch them up 4 positions from last year into second. United will struggle and finish third.

Personally I think we will win the league this year barring another major injury crisis. Kagawa has the potential to be the key player. Rooney is Rooney. De Gea, Rafael, Jones, Smalling, Welbeck etc have more experience. Cleverly and Anderson hopefully to have a injury free season.

VIDIC IS BACK!!!!

If we sign RVP we will be pretty hard to beat imo. Maybe I'm biased though :)

They schooled us head to head in the league. No doubt about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Rio Ferdinand ‏@rioferdy5
    @usainbolt the boss has just said for u to let me know when u want to come down for the trial..get your studs ready after the olympics bro!!

OMG OMG OMG we're signing Usain Bolt!!!! :D:D

Who needs RVP or Moura.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

They schooled us head to head in the league. No doubt about it.

The thing is though, they were freak results. City are not going to beat us home and away every season.

Had we won those games, we'd have won the league by 12 points.

Had we just won our home game, we'd have won the league by 6 points.

2 draws would have us champions by 6 points.

A draw and a win would have us champions by 9 points.

City should be much stronger next year though which is worrying - That "first" one is the hardest to win as we well know...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,944 ✭✭✭KH25

OMG OMG OMG we're signing Usain Bolt!!!! :D:D

Who needs RVP or Moura.

Imagine if it actually happened. Strange to say the least :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

If we sign Bolt, that'll be out midfield problems sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

KH25 wrote: »
    Imagine if it actually happened. Strange to say the least :p

The trial (or some form of a training exercise/match) will almost certainly happen. It's far too good of a publicity opportunity to pass up. The PR people at the club will do everything to milk it, and rightly so.

As for him signing for us? I reckon I've a better chance and I've a dodgy hamstring that feels like it'll tear every time I do the warm up at training, never mind trying to run a 100 metres in under 10.

So....

When do ye think we'll hear the auld "no value" yada yada fom Fergie?

I'm gonna guess middle to end of next week!

The thing is though, they were freak results. City are not going to beat us home and away every season.

Had we won those games, we'd have won the league by 12 points.

Had we just won our home game, we'd have won the league by 6 points.

2 draws would have us champions by 6 points.

A draw and a win would have us champions by 8 points.

City should be much stronger next year though which is worrying - That "first" one is the hardest to win as we well know...

What is your actual point there?

they won't beat us every year home and away but at the same time they will be much stronger next year. I got the first part but the second part makes it sound like they could well win both games since they are much stronger:-).

(I'm not sure losing the away game was a freak result by the way)

do you think United have improved at all after last season and signing Kagawa?

Here is another if - if we beat Newcastle once we would have won the league by 2 or three points depending on which game we won. If the away game was a draw we would have won by a point. Not sure how thats relevant to anything but sure i'll throw it out there since its in line with the city examples.

The thing is though, they were freak results. City are not going to beat us home and away every season

They most certainly were not freak results, and pretending they were is just ignoring the reasons why.

Ever since the FA semi last year myself and others have known that we are always going to struggle against City for one reason and one reason only, their midfield will piss all over ours. We know damn well that Yaya Toure is going to rampage through Carrick, Giggs, Park, or whomever Fergie chooses.

I remember the buildup to the last league game, and never have I seen a bunch of fans so apprehensive, with many actually clinging to the hope that we might be able to snatch a draw. A draw!

They are not freak results, because the fact is that come the next big league game we will still have the same midfield and the chances are high that City will do the exact same thing again. Just like Barca will still tank us if we meet them in Europe, and just like Real will destroy us should we meet them.

Its all well and good to be happy that we beat all the small teams and ran City close, but to win the big prizes you have to win the big games and United will not do that with their current midfielders. They couldn't do it last season and Fergie still hasn't addressed the reasons why, so how on earth do you think it will be any different this season?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Quandary wrote: »
    So....

When do ye think we'll hear the auld "no value" yada yada fom Fergie?

I'm gonna guess middle to end of next week!

Do you think SAF should pay whatever it takes to get Moura to OT? I certainly don't. If you like a pair of gutties, do you pay whatever it takes to buy them? No, you only buy them if you think you are getting value for money.